(2002) Brides of year 2002

Islandpub,
My makeup artist advised me not to do any colouring to my hair cos they will have some temp colour spray-on....

Hi Cheers!

U r welcome!

Ya lor....Baby Dokie, u haven't tell me who is
your make-up artist?? Who is she??? I may bump into her!

My package is $2988, not $4k+. That will be MTM.
Me also booked bridal package in 2000. A yr ago!
We both liked their photos very much & d mkt is more or less offering such prices...so fiance confirmed lor. I must say their wg has a lot of varieties, but, eg limited! I still pondering which piece of wg to select!! :p

Rolly1,

Isn't it too early to print cards now??

Hi Hi

June02bride, Yah, I agree. I LOVE those journalistic photos too but so expensive. near to $1K is the cheapest I can find. Have you heard of The Saints Photography?

Honeymoon wise, I wanted to do a self drive to the States at first but since the 911 incident....Well.....
So prob go NZ and Australia lor.

hi linda

no, have not heard of the saints photography, r they gd??? must be expensive

initially, we intended to go to australia, but have changed our minds, we r planning a free & easy trip to london & scotland, me very excited now, sourcing for things/places to do/see, which htls 2 book, etc.

Hi everyone, I am a Jul bride too.
July 6, 2002. So far we have booked the church &
the dinner place & the villas on Bintan (for post celebration). I guess I will look at the dress after CNY .

Hi delany:
So happy to see you in this thread...
Woh, your dinner will be in Bintan...
So nice....

Have you decided on any bridal boutique?

carol

Har?! Did she say why? Cos my sis-in-law during her wedding also had temp hair colour sprayed on which is washed out after a wash. No waste $ and no scared damage hair. Furthermore, if you go ourselves, I scared the colour might not suit the look of the gown.....

she juz say nicer lor if highlight... maybe coz now my hair colour is with fading colour from my last highlight that's y lor...

hi islandpub, baby dokie, rolly1, linda and jan

i have signed up wif Emanuel n Utopia
i got many assurances from them pix will b ready but its juz me that is really worried coz i have heard from so many that it takes a long time to arrange the album.... mayb i will call Travis up and speak to him directly to find out more
i have yet to speak to him...
hey rolly1... who have u signed up wif for ur bridal and photography?
my house reno is like 60% done and now really hard on cash... how abt u gals?
have u all booked ur actual day photogs already?

Hi Cheer,
I signed up with Margaret and Benny Ang.

Will be going down for the measurement n confirming the desgin after Hari Raya.

We have not engage a photographer for the actual day.

Hi Jan,
the chinese lunar calendar for May is April. Some older generation are quite particular abt receiving/issuing invitation cards during the qing ming season.
So just asking lor.

Hi Islandpub,
seems that we are in the same hair situation

I'll be going to US for honeymoon. It is likely that we'd be moving there if his posting there is extended. Can't imagine that I'll be staying put at my honeymoon destination! :P We'd just be going to the west coast.

CSY

Hi Jan,
The make up artist is LiLen. Try her and see. Her skills are alright.But your package quite alright wat. Not expensive. Milan has rather nice gowns.

Hi Islandpub, you are thinking whether to highlight, I am wondering whether I should do rebonding after my bridal pics in Dec. I really feel doing it. Neater and the texture seems healthier. What do your gals think?
The makeup artist discourages me from doing even though my wedding is 5 months aways from Dec.

Hi Cheer,
Actual day photo not booked yet. So far the prices
rather expensive. Meeting two to see their work this Sunday near my place before I confirm. Probably able to conclude by Sunday.

BTW where did your gals book your wedding dinner??Who knows we may happen to share the same hotel ballrooms? :P

I'm also a May02 bride. time really flies... only half a yr more to my wedding!

I had confirmed most of the services required, such as booking for hotel, bridal package and actual day photography in Oct. now still sourcing for a videographer....

Lucky for me, my hse reno had just been completed recently. Preparation for the wedding will be much easier since we have a burden lesser, and we can use our hse as a preparation ground then.

Actually, I have kinda lost track in my wedding preparation... ever since I channelled my full concentration to the hse reno 2 mths ago. now got some problem in restarting my engine once again. wonder wat I shd do now?

Hi Carol,

sorry, MIA so long! How was your photoshoot?? We've booked Rasa Sentosa for the banquet and signed up with Silhouette. Our photoshoot will be sometime away, in late Feb or early Mar. I'm thinking of bringing along a camera so I can take candid shots of my FH posing - or trying to pose lah

How is the rest of your wedding preparation?

Caira

hi cheer,

if they ve already assured u then it shld be fine lor coz afterall they ve a reputation to maintain also mah.... so no need to worry lah...

hi rolly1,

u also got same prob ah? anyway for me i already decided not to highlight my hair liao lor.... my photoshoot will be next fri... one week from now....

hi Baby Dokie,

i wld discourage u to rebond ur hair as well until after ur wedding.... i mean ur photoshoot in dec then 5 mths later u will ve ur wedding n on ur wedding day ur make up artist will style up ur hair for u n dunno do wat else maybe spray some colour etc then ur rebonded hair after that dunno will still be as straight or not leh... y dun u wait till after ur wedding then u go rebond ur hair????

i booked my dinner with Dragon Gate at WTC, not in hotel ballroom coz no budget lah....

hi owl,

so ve u gone for ur photoshoot already? if not, then when will it be? maybe u can work on this lor... like ur gowns all ready? is it MTM or OTR? do u need to select any gowns for photoshoot?

then ur hse reno completed liao ve u bought all ur furniture and appliances already? if not then u still got lotsa work to do mah... lotsa homework i mean.... hhehehhee......

if not, juz come in here n share ur experience with us lor then by and by u will be able to start ur engine again lor....

June02bride

The Saints is cheaper than a lot of those mentioend here. but of course I dunno abt the quality of the photos and seemed like they are all coloured without the B/W we both liked so much. But they only charged $650 for both videography AND photography. So cheap.

Scotland should be a fantastic place to visit. I didn't want to go Aust and NZ cos I felt that these places are nearer and cheaper so prob can afford to go with our children next time. But England & States are quite financially immpossible with children next time.....
So dunno how leh.....

Hi Baby Dokie!

Which day is yr photo-taking har? Is LiLen gd?
How did u catch hold of her? recommended??
B'cos i find Ivy so-so only! She does indoor sales & make-up, prob tht's y!!

Do u happen to know the rest of the make-up artists at Milan? You knoe lah...it's better to fix one than end up with a pre-arranged by Milan.

Let me know hor...thks !

Hi Rolly1!

Can share when's the 'recommended' time to distribute wedding invities?

Jan

i'm also a May'02 bride. like islandpub, i'm also having my fotoshoot next mth, and am now busy sourcing for shoes, going for gown fittings, overseeing my reno progress, looking around for house furnishings etc ... v tiring!

meanwhile, aso going for my facials regularly, keeping fit (hee!) ... yah, think abt it, it's jus 6 mths away. or rather 5.5mths for me only. :p i'm too used to thinking it's still a long way to go ... not so anymore.

hi cheerios,

r u the one that i know?

how's everything? when is ur reno completing? when is ur exact date hah?

i also want to keep fit leh but hor.... lazy lah...

hi islandpub,

yes, i'm the one u know. heehee

my reno is expected to complete by end of next mth but we r not in a hurry for that, so will not rush him.

exact date is 14th May, will be going for my next gown fitting next thurs and then photoshoot brought forward to 20th Dec. still hvt found the shoes. was wondering if i shd wear my ROM ones for photoshoot, so even if they got dirty, it's ok? :p

i jus exercise occasionally and trying hard to control my diet(but sometimes will still munch away the snacks, hee). i'm aso the lazy type, but dun worry, u're v slim!

hi arctic____hare
juz london & edinburgh (free & easy), becos my hubby 1 2 watch the edinburgh military tattoo.
we intend to take either overnite coach or train to edinburgh fm london.

hi linda
we also have the same idea, since we dun have kids yet.

hi cheerios,

hehhehe.... so glad to see u here again....

wah! ur photoshoot so near christmas... can consider go take christmas photos hor.. hehhehe.....

my photoshoot next friday leh.... still dunno where to go for outdoor leh.... very scared will rain lah... then really no place to go liao....

i also want to control my diet.... my heart says lunch time go eat fish soup can liao but my mouth says juz eat watever u want...

eh.. u lagi slim leh....

Hi Linda,

Can i have the contacts of this straits photography ? I'll like to check them out. Have u seen their portfolio before ?

Thks !

Hi June02Bride.

Good choice. Edinburgh is a beautiful place, pretty easy to move around too.

I suppose the military tattoo will be held at the Edinburgh castle?

Hi Baby dokie,
Dun see any point to rebond ur hair unless u dun intend to "bun up" your hair leh.

Hi jan,
I also dun know whats the "recommended time" for the distributing the invitation. Well, if your parents dun mind, then its ok lor. I have yet to convince my mother lor. sad sad....

Islandpub & Cheerios,
By the way, my beautician told me to do mask daily for a week before my photoshoot. For my case, its bcoz i have oily skin. So mayb can ask your beautician whether is your skin suitable to do mask daily or not.

Hello Everybody!
Glad that all of us are responding fast.It makes the forum more alive and interesting.

Jan, you can try her. Liren. But don;t quote anything about my comment. When is your wedding date? She is alright. My friend who accompanied to my bridal makeover also commented that her make up is fine. She is recommended by my bridal centre as I do not like the make up artist assigned to me.

Islandpub, go labardor Park (near Pasir Panjang)

Cheerios, I am also sourcing for shoes. I hate it because of the weekend crowd. Tomo I am going to Leaping Lizard to look see look see and proceed to Orchard to source for a decent pair. Sigh!
lehchey...so many things to do. It is only the beginning because early next year still need to be busy with house renovation. Est key collection in Jan. Very tight time.

Hey I suddenly have a great idea. Actually some of us can consider going honeymoon together (ie book the same travel agency) Actually there are many benefits of doing so. First we can "bend their arms" as we can get better prices. Second, help one another to take pics. Third, the group will be more interesting as make up of youngsters.
can consider huh! The problem going in May is that there will be holiday surcharge assuming the travel industry pick up. In any case, can explore this idea. It is achievable.

What do you think?

Hello Let us share a little bit more by answering the following questions:
when is the wedding date?
where is the wedding dinner?
is there a church wedding?
where did we book our bridal package?
when taking the bridal pictures?
where are you taking your outdoor shoot?
where and when we plan to go for honeymoon?
our age? (no obligation)
our profession? (no obligation)
Location of our new home?
In this way, we can offer more advice to one another.

hi rolly1,

mask every day???!!!! *i fainting liao*... cannot lah... before my last facial before my photoshoot my beautician ask me to apply this cream every night before i sleep so that my skin will peel coz my face got lotsa freckles n it works on my mum mah.... sigh... sekali like that so simple task i also cant follow leh.... it's always either i forget or i lazy....
so u think lah.. daily mask of coz i faint lah.... hehehhehe.....

hi baby dokie,

Labrador Park is one of my shortlisted place for outdoor leh....

ok, i shall start the ball rolling by answering ur qns:

when is the wedding date?
** 27 May 2002

where is the wedding dinner?
** Dragon Gate @ WTC

is there a church wedding?
** No

where did we book our bridal package?
** French Bridal Studio @ Funan IT Mall

when taking the bridal pictures?
** Next Friday, 7 Dec 2001... YEAH!!!!

where are you taking your outdoor shoot?
** not confirmed yet... shortlisted Labrador Park and Changi area.... if rain then Singapore Arts Museum... but need to think of one more sheltered place in case of rain....

where and when we plan to go for honeymoon?
** Mauritius in early June 2002

our age? (no obligation)
** eh... me a tigress u go n count urself....

our profession? (no obligation)
** Human Resources

Location of our new home
** Admiralty Blk 7xx series...

Hello Islandpub,

Your wedding date is the same as mine 27.5.2002.
But I am holding my wedding dinner at Traders Hotel on 28.5.2002.

I have booked my bridal package at Clementi Brights. Initially fix my wedding shoot in 18 dec but now change to early next year as I have only decided to make to measure my evening gown TODAY. Sigh!

I am also planning to go Labrador Park for my shoot.

I am planning to go to Aust/NZ for honeymoon in July 2002. Not finalise yet

Well I am 28 years old and specialises in Finance.

My new place will be at CCK Blk 69 series....
any neighbour in the forum?

so many things to share today as it is a fruitful day for me.

went to the bridal shop and decided on a fusia pink EG MTM. Then went to "hunt" for shoes. Saw a reasonable pair at Taka for $89. But the heels is only 2.5 inch.Do you think it is OK?
The price is reasonable. I have only reserved.

I also saw a pair of wedding band at Aspial which I like. About $500 a pair. Affordable to me.

OK. That all. Pls advise me on the shoes. I am uncertain whether 2.5 inch is fine. I am quite keen to pick up.

Hi Lotus4, read that your photoshoot is in December? When exactly? Is your outdoor shoot on the same day or a different day?

I dunno if I should split it into 2 day

Was told that studio photography will be from the morning, until about 4pm... then we will go for outdoor shoot. Dunno if that would be a little late, and not enough time before the sun sets??

How's your gowns like??

Hi Baby Dokie,

The wedding band that you saw - which range is it? So, it's about $500 for 2? Is there a price difference in the ring for male and female?

Lastly, which Aspial did you see that? I always thought Aspial, with its changed image, is very expensive one leh...

Thank You!

Hi caira:
Welcome back.....
So you've confirmed your banquet venue & bridal boutique.

Yah, I've done my studio shooting, we had a very enjoyable time there & the photos came out great...
So glad, now waiting for the outdoor shots.
I think I'm already quite ahead of my preparations so most of the things would be carried out next year.

Carol

It think from Japan. You must ask them then they will bring out to show you. I saw it at Wisma. By the way, $500 is after 15% discount if you are Aspial cardholder. Yet to purchase.

I went to my neighbour's jewellery shop at Bukit Panjang Plaza Shopname "Sing Yi" located at Level one. The prices is even more reasonable. They are coming new range in two weeks time. The boss name is Mr Tan. Try and see. Highly recommended because of good service and reasonable pricing.

hi Baby Dokie,

heheheh.... finally found someone having the same wedding day as me....

but how come u only having ur dinner on 28 may leh? traders hotel not available on 27 may isit?

regarding the shoes, depends on ur ht and ur hubby ht lor....n also if u r comfortable with the ht of the heels or not lah.... i mean if u r more comfortable with a 3-inch or even 3.5inch heels n even after wearing 3.5inch ur hubby is still taller than u then by all means go ahead n get the higher heels...

Hi Baby Dokie,

Yr photoshoot early next yr hah...then same as me leh! Me also planning early 2002 but then, depends oso me can make up my mind on gowns.
Gown selection will be on 15/12/01, Sat.

Thks for yr info on LiLen/Liren(whatever)!!

Regarding the invities, u mean u r not particular abt the distributing time ( clash wif Ching Ming Fest)? I think my mum will share the same thinking as yr mum. I better check wif her 1st.

Now, in the midst of viewing flats.
I'm looking at resale flats in CCK(Yew Tee)area, high chance of being yr neighbour!!

Jan

hi July brides,

seashell is back here to join in the discussion again, been busy for the past 1 month.

I hv just confirm my WD and EG details......first fitting will be in dec
can't wait to see it and try it on...maybe will bring a camera and take some photos too.As for the photography should be late Feb.

hi Carol,

maybe u can share with us your photos here, we can all take a look and share your joy

cheers,
seashell

Know its almost a year away to the wedding.
But are there any Nov 2002 brides out there? We can share our wedding preparation details.

Hi, starfruit and angph38,

I am also a Nov bride, juz wondering when your big day?

Have yet to do any prep other than booking venue...

What about you guys?

Hello to all May-Brides,

I hope it's not too late for me to join this forum cos' I'm a May Bride too, 11 May '02 my wedding day ..... also doing renovation for a re-sale flat that i just got, juggling work and wedding preparations at the same time and feel really tired!!! Hubby to tired to listen to my excitement and in the office i'm the only female so nobody to share wif!!! Sisters also too busy with kids to listen to me!!! So glad to found this forum to share my excitement and worries with u gals.

Btw Jan, I'm a Milan bride too! Been thru' the photoshooting and hv chosen my photos olredi :o) I'll be glad to provide info should u have any questions.

Hi Islandpub, I hope u are the islandpub that i have met in the other forum?
Shunkuey

Hi all May 2002 brides!

Seems like we are all pretty much in the same situation:
- preparing for wedding
- renovating new house
- restricted cash flow

*grin* Me oso...very tired, have to coordinate wedding plans and supervisng my reno at the same time...

Artic hare: There is a price difference for male and female bands if you are thinking of getting from Aspial...

Shunkey : Hie! Me also Milan Bride! How was the pictures? How many pictures did you choose eventually? Who was your make-up artiste? Any advice to give me when taking the pictures?paiseh...so many questions...:P

My wedding date is fixed on 26th May 2001, the dinner will be held at Raffles Marina Country Club.

Bridal package is booked wif Milan , photoshoot will be on 2 Jan 2002.

Photoshoot locations, thinking of Botanic Gardens and Raffles Marina.

Where for honeymoon...no idea yet...see have money or not...got money go London, no money go somewhere near...

Age? Me dragon...
Me in Finance sector. New house will be a resale flat in Bukit Batok which is currently under renovation...

so many posting within a day or two!

Jan,
My husband n I are not particular on the date of distributing the invitation. Dun believe such things as "good day" or not. Will cater to our convenience. However, still got to convince my parents.

Arctic hare,
the 15% discount only for items available. So if they have to do special order for your size, no discount one hor. Ask around n see whether your frens have Aspial disct card or not lor.

Islandpub,
Keep on reminding yourself that u want to look pretty for your photoshoots n u will be disciplined to apply the cream. I also lazy one. But yao mei mah!

Has anyone started dieting?

Hi vee kee and all May brides

vee kee : No need to be pai-seh lah, i'm glad to be able to share my experience with u so that ur photo taking day will be more perfect than mine. My photos, especially indoor, turn out to be good, both me and my hubby very pleased. Outdoor so-so cos' my smile not as natural, probably too tired. In the end, spend another $2K on top of the package price!!! Very kiasu hor?! Choose 80% of the photos from indoor shoot. Lost count of how many extra photos we had chosen.

My make-up artist was Xiao-Qing and she's quite nice. Before the make-up starts, she asked me what requset do i have? She also asked me what kind of hair do, what color of eye shadow and lipstick do i prefer? Quite professional and patient. While doing the make-up she chit chat with me and my hubby too! I find her quite friendly and i intend to request her to do my actual day make-up. She also made my small eyes look BIG during the photoshoot! My sis also commented that the make-up looked good.

When doing ur photoshooting, try not to let anything spoil ur mood cos' i found that the mood is really very important. Stay happy and relax and if there's anything that u do not like, just tell them to try to correct it. Sorrie if i sound too lor-so hor.

Hope u find all the info helpful. If there's anything else u need to know, just drop me a line. Btw, u requested for any particular make-up artist? How's ur fitting for the gowns? Everything ok 4 u?

Ok, let me do a proper intro of myself :

Wedding Date
*11 May 2001*

Wedding Dinner
*Hotel Rendezvous*

Bridal Package
*Milan Weddig Collection*

Wedding Photography
*Over olredi*

Outdoor Photography Location
*Labrador Park*

Honeymoon
*If got $ left, would like to visit NZ or Aust*

Profession
*Operation / Sales*

Location of new home
*Re-sale flat at Simei*

rolly 1 : dieting? I have been dieting and weight did drop from 50++kg to now 45kg. Let me know should u need my help

Stay happy everyone!!!
shunkuey

hi shunkuey,

welcome to join us here!

yes, i m the same islandpub that u know..

yes yes... pls let me know how u managed to lose weight to 45kg!!!!! thank u very much...

hi rolly1,

cannot leh... me like got more male hormones than female ones inside me so cant make myself do all these things one... only when die die no choice then i will do one....

recently dunno y my forehead got many "you pao" oil bubbles) leh..... die lah... dunno y also.. seems to start having it since my trial make-up last mth... dunno is it allergy to my make-up artist make-up leh... how ah?

seems like a lot of us here all getting resale flat instead of new flat....

btw, my reno already finished n now having fun n "fan(2)" furnishing my house coz on one hand very excited abt buying stuff for the house but on the other hand ve to worry abt the $$$ etc... mixed feeling leh... but always excited when got new things going to be delivered....

tomorrow night going to deliver my fridge n airpot..... hehhehhee......