(2002) Brides of year 2002

hi all nov brides,

i've booked my bridal and banquet venue. guest list about 80% done. meanwhile, will source for our love nest and looking forward to our ROM in Feb.

oh yes, will be going for a trial facial with FH this fri at Sothy's @ City Hall. it's high time to look for a good facial pkg...

Hi Seashell:
Welcome back.....
Yah, you must be very excited about your fitting right.

Well, I have to wait till my wedding album to be completed before I can you you the photos.
I'm very pleased with the pics. Very excited about looking at the album.

carol

Me also a Nov bride. I am very kiasu, both banquet venue and bridal package already booked

But my guest list still not done yet, now concentrating on my reno and after that will concentrate on furnishing my house. Wat about the rest of the Nov brides?

Hi Shunkuey & all May brides,

Yes..yes, very interested to hear more info abt yr photoshoot, like make-up, gowns selection,etc!!! Talking abt it makes me feel excited olreadi.......

Is Xiaoqing really gd? I'm looking at natural,pastel kind of make-up. Was yr make-up in that range?

U know something, Shunkuey...we have alot things in common! We share the same bridal shop, oso buying resale flat & the most interesting is.... we share the same wedding date!!! WOW!!!
Hey... now,we have 1 more reason why we shld share our experiences here!!

Jan

Hi all bride-to-be:

Wondering if there's any March brides around in this forum?

My wedding is in March and I'm now at a lost as to what to prepare next. Thus hoping to chat wif March Brides to see what you have done so far.

Thanks,
Joker

Hi Joker,

My wedding is in 16 Mar 02, & there's another bride-to-be (mocha) here shares the same wedding day as me. What abt u?

Hey, I've just had my photoshoot & now waiting anxiously to see how it turns out.
U?

Hi Pegsfur,
hahaha......
. All 3 of us shared the same wedding date. Can celebrate together liao.

I have taken my foto shoot in Nov and have chosen my fotos oredi. fotos to be collected only in Jan 02.

So what are the preparation you have done so far? It's really great to discuss wif someone on the same date. Did you just choose the date or you get it from geo?

Joker

Hi Kelling, ahhh..I'm in the kiasu category too...
I had booked my Chinese dinner, ROM reception Dinner,Bridal, my name list ready, Bridal package almost all. Just bought a fully furnished house too. But beos I will be staying with my in laws, I will be renting my unit out...
My wed day is in October 02. One month or few weeks earlier than you..so can I join this conversation.

i'm going to be a nov bride as well...10 nov...so far, have not done much except go round scouting for wedding dinner venues....

as for bridal package, I have accompanying some friends who are getting married early next year on their selection trips...but have not shortlisted any for myself yet..

wah...you guys so on....maybe it's time for me to speed up...

I've been thinking that I am the only one in this forum getting married in Oct 02! And too anxious! Well lollipop, I'm happy to say that we are the Oct 02 Brides!

Hi m2m,

Been wanting to ask you this. You got your nick from the bubble-yum sweet pop-grp issit?

When's your wedding? Mine's in Oct 19.
Care to tell me a little abt yourself?

Hallo to all May 2002 bride to be...

6 months more to go gals...so fast ya...feel kind of excited and nervous must be...

Let me share about myself,

Wedding date : 11/05/02 ( same as Jan & ShunKuey )
Wedding Dinner : Fullerton Hotel
Bridal Package : J&C Collection
Honeymoon : Europe

Hi ShunKuey, do tell me how to diet, cos instead of maintaining my weight, I am gaining weight from 45 kg to 50 kg. Really need that as my bridal told me to lose some weight in order to look pretty for both the photo shooting and actual day. Thanks.

Joker,

U've already chosen yr photos??? I thot I was fast, didn't know u were faster
So where did u have yr photos taken?

Preparation .....er.... so far only the bridal thing has settled (finished photo session). As for my dinner, have booked the hotel, now in the midst of confirming guest list and is going to paint my temporary love nest these few weeks.

As for the date, didn't really check out from the geo but I looked up the website to see which date is ok for wedding. We had to choose the early part of 2002 cos my sis was also going to be a bride in 2002 but her's is in sep/oct. Then we had to choose a date which is after chinese new year but b4 the ching ming. So it's 16 Mar!

Hi Dee,
guess that we are in the same category... I thought I still have a lot of time!
Seems that I need to speed up fast too!! My wedding is fixed at 16 Nov.

Hi Pegsfur,
Me had the foto-shooting in JB and due to festive seasons coming, the bridal shop advised us to have it early. Fotos-shooting is defintely hectic. Me ROMed on 10 Nov and had my shooting on 11 Nov. Really regret becos really tiring, somemore got to work the next day. But really glad that it's all done for the moment. So when are you choosing the fotos?

Me now busy wif our resale flat. Should have completed the reno by this week but it seems like still got quite a lot of outstanding things. A bit worried liao becos FH will be moving in next Tues. Scare not in time.

Now like don't know wat to do next liao. Have start on guest list at all. Think got to start liao la.

wha.. good to see such great response in this thread. for a moment, i tot i was the only bride in Nov 2002. Anyway, my wedding in on the 4th of NOv.

Dreamy : me two days away from urs.

haha.. well, looks like we are all KS Nov brides. hehe i too have book my banquet and have placed a deposit for my bridal. =}

so where have u gals book ur bridal and hotel. I booked a packaged with Milan. been quite active in the MIlan thread too.

anyone need to do a church wedding? i ahve some contacts to share.

hmm... i'm a week aft all of u
mar 23 dat is.
well, i've got nothing done yet other than the necessary booking heehee.. and we're still going ez abt that :p
now, we're kinda bz with the new house which is under reno. sld be ready by 2nd wk of jan...
foto is on 2nd wed of jan too

nice know you pple

oh.. realised that there another alpha posting in the EV&WG section...

More to add....

Dee and Janfyp : u can ask us for advise on bridal boutique.. we'll sure to give u lots of feedback (both positive and negative).. hehe

dreamy: what about u? starting confirming any hotel and bridal places yet?

Rascal : of cos u can join in thsi thread. Its nice to get another person's view on things.

angph38 : see that u r going for a trial makeup, is this for ur coming ROM?

kelling : when would ur reno be ready? i just completed my reno not too long ago. still furnishing my home now. hmm.. come to think of it, did we exchange comments in the home reno forum topic?

This is so exciting! dun u all agree.

Joker,

Can show us yr photos? (think there is a serious craze here wanting to look at every brides' photos
) Yr bridal shop so good, ask u to do everything early.... mine said I still have a lot of time & ask me to take it easy
But I just want to settle it fast, cos I've heard of pple who didn't managed to collect their album in time.

alpha,

Wah... u not 'kan cheong' izit?

hi pegsfur,

worrying doesn't add another day to the planning mah... so go ez lor
so we decide not to let stress take over :p
haha... even our contractor was like saying ' wa your wedding so soon yet see you 2 like not han cheong one leh'... i suppose we're the happy go lucky kind and was blessed with that character lor :p well, we've in fact got most of the necessary thing for our house already.

as for my gown, suppose to go tomorrow to do the detailings and EG but cos BF goto make an urgent trip to japan, so push to next week again lor... well, i suppose no problem one lah...

oh, hv you pple source the invites printing yet? any suggestions?

Hi Alpha,
Nice to know you r getting married in Mar 02 too.

So where's your new place? How's your reno liao?

If there's another Alpha, then you better update yr nick to avoid confusion.

Joker

was hoping to fix the venue first and then worry about the rest later...i think as long as we give a lead time of 9 months to the wedding date, it should be quite safe right??

so far i've visited emanuel b and ted wu but have not tried on any gowns yet...i think once i settle on the venue, I'll make some appointments to seriously try on some gowns...

any good places to recommend??

hey lollipop! mine is the same date as yours!! what a coincidence
found your wedding venue and bridal pkg liao?? hahaha..u must be wandering how come my nickname is novbride ;)

Hi Pegsfur,
Ya loh, if the bridal shop never ask us hurry up, we still sitting down doing nothing. They called us at least 3 times b4 we went down to choose the gowns. But they need a lot of time to collate the album lei. I chose the fotos on 15 Nov and I can only collect it on 13 Jan becos they need more time for the design. In fact lucky that we took the fotos early.

Actually me don know how to show the fotos here lei. I think need scanning, rt? or is there other methods?

Joker

Hi Dee,

its basically up to u, ur budget, the type of gowns that u like I sign upw ith Milan cos 2 of my very good frens were Milan's brides and i am quite satisfied with their services. The deciding factor for was was actually the photographer at Milan. I luv the photos taken by Jaki ( their photographer) so he was one of the main reason why i choose them.

so glad to find Mar 02 bride. Mine is on 2 Mar 02, start to feel jittery, always think I hv not done fast enough. So far, I hv booked my venue and will be collecting my photo in mid-dec. However, still a lot more to do, as I have not planned for my church solemnisation and dinner guest list not settled. Also need to source EG elsewhere and my WG is kinda loose now and needs few rounds of alteration and fitting. Luckily, I found one restaurant who does card printing FOC for us, only need to print for church. What I am most afraid is my WG. My bridal shop nowadays very bz with Dec brides, so everytime I call, they always ask me to call them later, saying that I should not be so kan-cheong. They were very friendly in the beginning but realised that ever since we paid for the photos and left only S$88 outstding bill, they started to change attitude. So a lesson learnt for all, if you top up photos and need to pay extra, don't pay all. I regretted :-(

Hey Nov bride,

Yes, pls tell me why your nick is such. The suspense is killing me!

I have booked wedding/banquet venues. I have also booked a pkg from the bridal studio. Most of the things are more or less settled, left with nitty gritty stuff... so kancheong hor, settled everything so soon....dun want it to clash with the hse tt might be coming next year you see.

What about you? Done yours already?

Joker,

U r right. need to scan 1st. So how many photos do u have & wat do u mean by they have to design? How much did u pay for all?

Mar Bride,

Hehe... that means u r loosing weight is it?
How come u need to source for EG elsewhere? Care to let us know which is yr bridal shop?

Wow, hee hee, guess we all quite KS

Starfruit: mine wedding in 12 Nov.. Have booked the dinner venue but not the bridal boutique. Any good suggestions?

I have been to quite a few and feeling quite confused now.

Dee: I've visited EB. Quite like their style. Any Nov 02 brides who've signed with them?? or Bridal Veil? Quite like their clean design too.

Hi Mar Bride,
Nice to see you in this forum and glad that I'm not the only one panicky as in what to be done.

Wow you choose your actual day gown so fast ah? My bridal shop says they will have a lot of new stocks so ask us not to choose so early. If yr WG loose, that means you lose weight liao loh, so nice. Me wan to lose weight also.

Actually would suggest you don alter yr WG so early till closer to you wedding date becos still got about 3 mths for you to expand and contract, so don waste the effort la.

Don think bridal shop will allow us to hold on to the payment. My bridal shop states that we got to pay up by the time we collect the fotos. Maybe your bridal shop really busy wif Dec brides and I believe they will also fuss over you when your date is nearer. Don worry la.

Me haven't even start to think of the guest list, not to say think of printing.

Have you all discuss wif the person in charge of your dinner venues? Wat are to thing to note? Me haven do anything yet.

Hi Pegsfur,
My package cost RM3299. It only have 21 pcs of fotos. Total no. of fotos I took is 77 and I chose 56 pcs out of it. So in the end I got to top up another RM2100 for the additinal fotos in which they will collate them with designs, like a magazine. All these charges excludes bridal car and actual day make-up.

starfruit : aiya, me going for the trial facial at Sothy's, not trial makeup lah.

kelling & starfruit : am sourcing for hse now, prob will need ur advice on reno later, hehe..

janfyp, dreamy & dee : yup, like starfruit mentioned, it depends on ur budget and preference. but do give at least 9 mths if u'r taking MTM pkg.

seems like i'll be the last among nov brides.
. but then, can get more tips from u gals as the day gets nearer, hahaha

Joker,

That means u paid abt S$2600++ only? Hey, that's a good deal leh, u got to choose so many photos
So how did the photos turn out? U like it?

Starfruit: I think we did exchange some comments in the home and decor topic.Even went to see your contractor but din use him in the end cos another contractor has been following up with me for very long. In the midst of my reno now, hopefully can complete in early Jan.
My wedding is 1 day before you! Mine is on Nov 3rd (Sun) and do you know that yours is on a Public Holiday

Hi Shunkey!

Thanks for the information! Will keep that in mind!
Another question, is it necessary to have the ampule thiggy? Michelle say most likely I need to "prevent" make-up from running...dunno how true. did you purchase the ampule?

I din request for any particular make-up artiste but will probably ask for Xiao Qing when I go communicate with the photographer... BTW did you go for a second fitting before your photoshoot?

And yes! Please share your diet plan! Although I dun have much time to lose weight for my photoshoot but still have actual day to think...

Hi Islandpub!

Have fun shopping! Me going to follow in your footsteps soon... Going to shop for toilet bowls this weekend...

Hi Jan!

How is your house hunting going?

Hi Lillipop,

Boss keep calling me just now so unable to open Netscape. You know lah! Budget! Budget! Budget!

I love m2m music, very trendy. No doubt I am not in my early twenties and m2m is a young team but I think it's okay. Can't call myself westlife if I like their music right?

My wedding date is on Wednesday, the 23rd and I have booked with GHA. I've read a lot of comments from this forum so I'll be extra careful!

I am now still at the searching stage for the banquet venue.

Lollipop and Novbride - I'd love to discuss the wedding details. Let's keep this forum active!

Hi Lollipop, Novbride & M2M,

Guess what? I'm a Oct 2002 bride too!

Finally someone started one on "Any Oct2002 brides". Thanks Lollipop!! I also thought I was the only one who is an Oct 2002 bride.

BTW, my wedding's on 26 Oct 2002.

Dawn1002

Hello Everybody!

Hi Jan! Hi Kinky!
So happy to find brides with the same wedding day as me! How's all the preparations? For me, now only waiting for food tasting for wedding banquet, printing of invitation cards, wedding album to be ready, final selection of WG & EG.... anything i miss out?

For Jan & vee kee,
I tell u hor I'm so excited on the night before the photoshoot hor I couldn't sleep at all! Aiyoh, the excitement can kill!!!!
Before the make-up starts, Xiao Qing did ask me what colors i preferred and what not. For me, i did told her that i don't like too brownish tone and she also suggested using eyeshadow colors like light blue, a little red (if u taking ur "kua"), natural colors or colors to blend with all ur gowns. I had this gold EG and she sprayed temporarily gold hair spray onto my hair and also applied gold shimmering powder to my arms for that extra glow which i feel that she's quite thotful to think of that or maybe that's the usual practice? She also asked me what kind of hairstyle i prefer. When i told her i no idea, she then suggested several styles, like letting ur hair down, attach "fake" long hair and stuff. At first she gave me an impression like she a bit "hau-lian" but later on as the make-up goes along she chit chat with me & my hubby and i find her quite ok lor. I saw the complaints about her on this forum about her attitude, so maybe she changed a bit better lor.

Jan, no worries, u can tell her u like more pastel colors and I'm sure she will try to accomodate to ur request.

vee kee, the ampule issue is the thing that i don't really like their approach - she didn't ask me whether i want to have the ampule thing or not, she directly opened it up and started to apply on my face! As i have sensitive skin i quickly asked her whether is it going to do harm to my face?!!! She assured me that it will do more good than harm to my face and make-up, which i find quite true lor. My make-up stays better and not flaky. U prepare for that hor. Ampule cost $25. But i find the price ok lor, i heard some bridal shop charge brides the ampule and also the fake eyelashes for more than $25!!!! Lucky Milan never charge cos' i used 2 sets of fake eyelashes on both eyes!!!!

Both u gals, if can, request for another fittings of ur gowns before photoshoot lor. I regret never request cos' one of my EG never got altered (i suspect) cos' my chest got this big lobang and it upset me a little so my mood a bit spoilt lor but able to recover a bit when Xiao Qing pinned the back for me.

I hope u all don't find me too lor-so lor, cos' it's really very exciting and fun thing to do for the photography! U must enjoy it ok?!

Ok, for rolly 1, kinky, islandpub and all who wish to diet :
These are the rules i followed and so far i'm maintaining my weight at 45kg. No guarantee lah but hope it will work for all my fellow May brides who wish to diet

1) Try not to take kway-teow, yellow noodles, too much rice and starchy food at all meals. Bee-hoon ok.

2) Only allow yrself to take a meat dish in one meal for the day only. Like example, if u take a meat during lunch, restrict yourself not to take meat during dinner and breakfast. Try to take chicken and fish only. Chicken without the skin hor and fish better steamed ones not fried ones.

3) If u can't stop yourself from eating char kway teow or fried carrot cake, u can eat but always share with ur friend or hubby. share the calories with someone.

4) Eat tofu, egg (not the yolk cos' that's where the fat is!), yong tau-hu and soya products.

5) Try not to eat 1 hour before sleepy time.

6) Drink hot soup just before you eat cos' hot soup fills up the stomach and will give you a "full" stomach feeling, making u eat less.

7) Try not to take curry gravy or laksa gravy.

8) Don't take more than 3 slices of bread for b'fast.

That's about all i can remember now. I guess must discpline yourself lor. I used to weigh at about 60kg (7 years back before i met my hubby!). I guess after a little stress from work and as i cultivate the above eating habits i was able to keep it at 45kg for the past 2 years. eh, i got photo to proof some more leh better than Expression!

Try to eat everything on moderate and see if it's works...... usually shows in 1 - 2 months' time depending on each individual.
Have fun dieting and stay healthy everyone!

Shunkuey

Hi Shunkuey,

Seems like u have a well preparation ahead of time...For me, still have a lots of things not settle, like my gowns r still in the process of being made, hopefully by this month I will be able to do the 1st fitting, so probably the photo shooting will be in Jan 02. Even though I wanted so much to be in Christmas season with all the nice2 decoration. Shoes not settle, dunno whether to made or just buy. Wedding rings not yet order cos still can't make up my mind for the design. Wedding car still deciding whether to rent one or borrow from relatives who own Benz. Wedding invitation got to find cos I kind of dun like the one provided by the hotel. I dun have a bridemaid yet cos all my girl frens are mostly married or have been bridemaid twice.Got Church wedding to arrange like the programs, decoration, caterer...

Wonder has anyone heard of holiday ownership? Offer by a company name LGM at Ngee Ann City Tower B. Any advice to purchse on the trial membership in order to make expenditure on accommodation, airfare, cruise? It cost about $3000 for 3 year.

hiyoo gals

paiseh... did not log onto SB for some time coz was really busy :P
wow... so many postings...this is getting exciting
yeap like many of u... i am busy juggling both reno n wedding together
oki... now my turn to answer...
when is the wedding date? =>18/5/02
where is the wedding dinner? =>Goodwood Park Hotel
is there a church wedding?=>Nopz
where did we book our bridal package? =>Emanuel B
when taking the bridal pictures?=>March02
where are you taking your outdoor shoot? =>not decided yet(any suggestions?)
where and when we plan to go for honeymoon? =>Japan or Scotland (dreaming :P)
our age? => a big Meow
our profession? =>related to Multimedia
Location of our new home?=>Bt Panjang

Hello Everyone!
So much updates! Excited!

Arctic Hare, I am sorry the discount card belongs to my boyfriend's colleague. If not I will surely loan it to you. Try to ask in the forum if you are really keen on a pair at Aspial. I believe there are some angels out there. If you really like something and can use the 15% and you really cannot find someone with care. let me know and I will speak to my bf.

Islandpub, becos I have a church wedding on the 27.5.2002. Anyway may cancel the church wedding and hold both customary and dinner on the 27.5.2002 itself.

Shunkuey, you are real fast. I have not even finalise on my church wedding venue. Very stress!
With photoshoot going to be postponed from Dec to Jan I am even more stressed.

Jan, distributing of wedding card can be set any dates as long as it is convenient for you. Don be suspicious. But do ask your mum in case she minds.
Let me know once you get your flat. Isn't it kind of late? BTW why YEW TEE or CCK???? Your parents' place?

Arctic Hare,

Oh yes...I think he will give discounts if you let him (Name Dave Tan Tel 8771929) know his neighbour recommended you to come. But call him first to ask him to keep you posted on the arrival of the new wedding bands. If you cannot find those that you like at his shop, he can source for you from the supplier categolue. He is nice and really no obligation. He is not pushy and he always tell me don't hurry in the selection of wedding bands. Look around and see before decide. His prices are also reasonable. You can try him and see....... Pls feedback to me.

Hi Baby Dokie,
Don't stress or else later pimples will start popping out, then take photos will not be nice. As long as u have everything organise and u know what u want, then no worries. Get girlfriends to help u out for sourcing out caterers and other stuff. Just stay healthy and beautiful for ur photoshoots and after that u'll feel much more relax. Take into the consideration of the Lunar New Year holidays as ur preparation might be delayed by the celebrations.
Should u need any help or suggestions, let me know and maybe can help source for u.
Take good care,
shunkuey

Hi bleuz

I will be a Sept 02 bride.
U too?

so have you selected your bridal shop and wedding dinner resturant/hotel?

Keep in touch! :-)

Shunkuey,
I have yet to find a pair of ivory shoes. You have any ideas where I can get it. I am considering custom making my shoes at leaping lizard. what do you think?

Hi bleuz & SSL,

Me also a Sept '02 bride. Glad this thread is started so we can discuss our wedding preps. BTW, my wedding day is on 28th Sept. How about the both of you?

Rgds, jellybeans