(2002) Brides of year 2002

linda

Hi Freshpoison,

I know...The gloves are not old fashioned. I personally love the look of gloves, makes one more elegant. But my gown is spaghetti...so I dun think I can achieve the Audrey look..

I am with Thomson Wedding D'sign. Have booked outdoor on Jan 18. The gown not ready yet, wonder how it will look like....

Is yours MTM or what?

arctic_har

Hi Linda, Hi Freshpoison.

pardon my ignorance, but how does the Audrey look look like?

thanz

wylynn

Hi carol,

my wedding same date as u too !

lucky u got sponership, so nice. It sound like it's going to be a beautiful event.
and i being in the hotel line, i'm sure it will turn out perfect !
since u got the experience, got any romantic and unsual to add to the wedding be it church ceremony or dinner ?

linda

Hi Arctic hare,
Hmm....quite difficult to describe to you leh....Personally I find her look very english, very royal looking lor. I think the last isuue of Her World Brides feature several looks of brides ie. glamourous, sexy, sulty, uptown girl etc.....

I read your last posting that you have selected your gown already... So nice...I can only see the rough mock up of my gown on 21st...
So gan cheong but yet cannot do anything....

F

freshpoison

Hi Linda,
I can only choose to MTM either the WG or EG. I've tentatively decided to MTM my EG cos got a pic fr Her World of an EG and I kind of like the looks of it.

Hi artic hare,
Well, the Audrey look is a bun-up hair with a tiara. A bustier gown with gloves. A diamond studded choker (but mine is costume not real...)All must b in white. Can show u pics cos my scanner down. Hope tis helps.

regards

ck

CK here, 1st joined this tread 12 Oct & have been MIA since!! gosh .. so caught up with so many things that I dont have time to come into this site at all & have not done anything for my wedding (even think or plan) since!! gish .. reading all your threads made me feel so inadequate & so backwards!! since we are all 'targeting' towards the same mth (& I should be the earliest cos my church wedding is FIRST june & dinner 2nd June!!!), can anyone tell me wat i should be busy with now? I have only done the following :
1) Bridal - booked with ALlure, going for 1st fitting in Dec
2) Photography - booked with Benny Ang, photo shoot in March
3) Church - booked
4) Dinner - booked , booked with Rasa
5) House - selected one at Bk Panjang (but they have not ask me to go & sign / pay downpayment yet) & ouse would only come in Sept 2003!!
what else do I need to do? I want to be busy with the prepartion cos it's only once in a lifetime & i want it to be nice!!!
But just dont know what else to do ... ;(
Any advice, girls? Can let me know what you are busy with at this time??

arctic_hare

Hi CK,

What about actual day photography? Is Benny doing that for you too?

well, I settled items 1, 2 and 4. (3 and 5 not applicable). Still I find myself busy looking around for:
- shoes (must be at least 3", my designer says)
- wedding band (haven't buy yet)
- corset
- bridal car (coz we think bridal shop charging us exhorbitantly)and driver
- Master of Ceremony
- Justice of Peace (we are having solemnisation at the dinner itself)
- wedding favours
- facial packages
- manicure package
- wedding cakes (for distribution to relative)
- people who can be Ah Yees and bridesmaids

& thinking about:
- actual day programmes
- wedding invite inserts

Phew!

arctic_hare

ck

Hi arctic_hare,

whao ... you have given me things to think about & get my butt off the seat!!!

actual day photography - nope, not getting BA to do.. still have not sort this out, so here's one to do... any good & cheap ones to recomm?? BA is quite ex!!

- shoes : ha, think i can do with shorter heels cos i am about 1.7 and my BF is about 8cm taller only so easier to find shoes later lah..

- wedding band : now buy also a bit too early right? thot this can leave till one of the last say May then buy?? but hopefully got enuff time for inscription & all!

- corset : yah .. must start thinking which kind & all ...

- bridal car and driver : yah.. this one must source, hoping some good fren would strike it rich & buy some big car in 6 mths time!

- wedding favours : i had once thot of a pair of chopsticks, any idea where to find nice & cheap ones?

- facial packages : got mine!!!
- manicure package : must package meh? think this one just go a day before photo shoot & a day before actual wedding can already .. hee...

- wedding cakes (for distribution to relative) : oh yah .. haven thot of this at all. don't even know what is the procedure like, what to do at all for the 'traditional side' .. wat dowry, wat roast pig, wedding cakes & all ... sigh .. now getting worried already

- people who can be Ah Yees and bridesmaids : kinda got this in place already

- actual day programmes : oh no!
- wedding invite inserts : and this too!!

see, now i gotta start working on all the prep! thank you so much, you have been so kind & so helpful, making me the list!!!

hey arctic_hare, when is your wedding?? and bridal? and dinner? & photographer?? tell me about it can??

arctic_hare

Hello!! Glad I am of some help...
hopefully did not stepped on your panic button.

My wedding: 2 June 2002 (Sunday)
Bridal Shop: Bridal Zone (@IMM, soon will be @Marina Square)
Dinner: Four Seasons Ballroom, Four Seasons Hotel
Actual Day Photographer: Andrew Tay, The Edge Photography

Andrew is a nice guy, has the ability to make you laugh. & I like his work very much. First saw it from Sunny's wedding photos. Slightly ex but professional photographer mah... manage to "convince" my FH to engage him for the actual day.

hazel

i'm back to this thread again... now, i'm really worried... though my wedding is oso in June, all i can confirm now is the wedding venue oni... haven't gone for any bridal scouting yet... juz a check, how long did it take most of u to decide on the bridal shop since the start of the 1st visit... if i visit 2-3 shops w/in a day, is it too much dat it won't leave much impression?

hwee

Me oso a June 02 Bride. My wedding is on 1st June 01! Have also done most of the necessary like booking of bridal package, banquet and actual day photographer. Wedding gown design has also confirm! Will be taking my photos in Dec. House Renovation has also completed already, except for some paint work to be done by ourselves.

CK- If I'm not wrong, I think my hubby know either u or your bf, cos he ever mentioned to me that his friend wedding is on the same day as ours and holding their dinner next day at Rasa!

emilia

Hi Hazel,

I'm also getting married on 8 June and haven't signed up with a dress maker yet. All I have is the venue, the church and a dress for my ROM. Haven't had the time yet to visit bridal shops, but will hopefully start this month. I'm not that worried about the 'little' things like shoes, accessories, rings, etc. My main headache is the dress and the invites now.... will I get really bad service if I go and source for bridal shops on a Saturday? I am always working too late during the week...

hazel

hi emilia,

like u, i'm oso worried abt. my gowns, i was advised to confirm one soon, cos' sewing and all takes time, was told could take up to 3-4 months, then gotta take photos, give allowance for touch-ups, make sure they can b ready on the big day...

i haven't gone bridal scouting yet, cos' veri busy, oso gotta OT almost everyday, dun even have time 4 dinner, smtimes, weekends oso gotta b burnt... niway, i've take a day's leave juz to go and shop for my gowns, cos' worried dat Sat will b veri crowded, will update u again.

carol tan

Hi Wylynn,

Well, actually I specialises more on corporate events, although I'm starting to handle wedding soon.

Having wedding dinners in hotels can be quite "norm" , the procedure is pretty much the same. In fact, some wedding couples are doing it more D n D style. E.g request for candle labras on the table, instead of normal vases of flowers.
Create a few activities during your wedding. One of friend actually sang alove song with his wife during their church wedding, it is such a nice touch.

As for my wedding, planning on a Garden theme wedding at Fort Canning Park with Balloons, flowers and candles, and Peranakan Food. It might be warm, but who cares. It is my wedding and the most important thing is for me to like it. Always keep in mind, that you are suppose to enjoy your own wedding. I was thinking of playing Latin Music of Dance numbers, so that it can be more happening. For us, it is more like a party and a family gathering. Very Fortunately, our parents leave everything to us, since we are paying for it.

wylynn

Hi carol,

ic. i always think singing takes such big courage. I don't think i would dare. Admire couples who does it. It's really nice and romantic.

Your wedding sure sounds fun ! Diff and really happening, how nice. Must be expensive too.
Think would be very fun. But must have contingency plan just incase it rains
though June should be pretty alright.

carol tan

Hi Wylynn,

I'm trying to curb down the price to be around hotel pricing or lower. Connections here and there helps a lot.

Just a question,have you chosen you wedding gown? my bridal studio told me to go only in Jan or Feb. I am worried if it is going to be too late or too rush.

wylynn

Hi Carol,

Yup have choosen my WG and EG.WG confirmed but EG still tentative.
i think it will be abit rush. Gives u very little time for much choosing. And there is no allowance for anything to go wrong. Quite risky.
If got time, better to settle earlier.
If the studio ask u to go in Jan or Feb, maybe taking photos only in Apr or May, wouldn't that be very tight ? They need to time to make the gown as well as develop the photos.
Maybe u can check with them what is their work process like.

F

freshpoison

Hi Lotus4

This thread very cold leh. Started off quite impressive but dunno where all the other June brides r now. Only manage to catch some of them in another thread.
How's ur wedding preparations going on? I still hav not chosen any gowns yet and neither has my hubby. Was told that photoshoot most probably in Jan but thinking of changing it to Feb as Jan seems too early. What do u think?
If u interested in e-mail, mine is [email protected]
regards

yuki

I agree, this thread seems a bit cold.......... let's start getting it warm again!

Btw, besides booking of restaurant and the bridal package, there's nothing much going on for now...........
kind of loss here, don't know what to do. Maybe the rest of the June brides can advise?

We can all share what's going on now or what to do or prepare.........

In short, keep in touch!

hwee

Hi all June brides,

I was just told that my bridal shop provide very traditional deco for my bridal car and over the weekend, me and my hubby were both looking out for ideas to deco our bridal car.

So far, we have bought some ornaments for the car handles and we are still looking for a pair of cute soft-toys. If you have any idea how to enhance the car deco, pls share-share okie?

linda

Hi girls!

Yah...I think it is time to start this thread going again.
I think I am so KS. I started to plan seating arrangements on my and my mum's side already. Allocating the seats the people can be so stressed. You have to be sure they click with each other, got common topics, etc...
I have not arranged for my actual day photographer yet.
Haven't convinced my hubby as he thinks they charged too high prices for that 10 rolls of film.
Hwee, I will be doing my car deco ourselves too! Let's share some ideas!

june02bride

hi linda
like u (KS, hee hee hee), i have 70% of my seating arrangements drawn up (but not my MIL's side of the relatives) aleadi, so i guess i won't be stress up closer to my date.
everything seems to be smooth sailing, ie, gowns selected, photo taking in feb, cfm banquet, etc.
however, we have not decided on the actual day photography, i m pretty interested in journalistic kind, but it's quite expensive, so we still need to source ard for a reliable photographer.

jan

Wondering if there's any May 2002 brides in the forum?

Care to share your wedding preparations wif me?
B'cos frienz told me that 6 mths away from my wedding is not far & yet I'm taking my own sweet time to prepare!! Hehehe....

Any advise?
Jan

arctic_hare

Dear Ginger Babe, welcome to the big family of June brides!

To save you some time in scrolling through all previous postings, let me do a quick summary here.
* My wedding date is 2 June 02.
* Bridal shop: Bridal Zone in IMM
* Dinner: Four Seasons Hotel
I have selected my WG and EG. Photo-taking will be in Feb next year - on the 8th day of CNY. Also selected the actual day photographer.

Right now, seemed to be pretty relaxed about the wedding preparation. Started going for facials and massage sessions. Am thinking hard about wedding favours for guests, and how to decorate my wedding card, which is white in colour. *headache*

Have not thought about where to go for my honeymoon. Maybe somewhere near. When we saved enough $$$, we are thinking of visiting UK, especially Alnwick Castle. (This is the castle where they filmed the Harry Potter show - it is just so beautiful.
) But for the coming trip straight after the wedding, it will probably be one of the SEA countries.

I will be staying with my FPIL and FH in the west of the island from next June onwards. Where will you be?

Love to hear from you soon.

arctic_hare

gerl

i am romed already but the traditional one is in june 2002. i am NOT doing anything at all so dont worry. of cosh, it depends on what you are doing for your wedding etc. my is just the normal tea ceremony and chinese wedding in singapore and then another dinner in malaysian coz hubby is malaysian. so far, we have booked both the venues and i have booked a package for the gown. however, its pretty straightforward coz i not custom-making the gowns, so no fittings or whatsoever required. am just going to take whatever thats available off the rack. no facial programs started, no lose weight program started...heehee

gerl

i am also a june bride. :D wedding date june 2 2002, which is the same day as i got ROMed this year. only things which i have done is to book the two dinner venues, one in singapore and another in malaysia, booked a package for the bridal gown. i not custom-making it; just getting it off the rack, save some money for the reno. going to start on reno soon and was contemplating lourve, then read all these horror stories about lourve here. sigh.

you girls seems to be doing really alot of things for the wedding, while i am still sitting here, doing NOTHING!!

csy

I'm a June bride as well.
My wedding date is 8th June 2002. Any brides out there with the same wedding date is myself? I just ROMed on 1 Nov this year. My hubby got posted to US, so our wedding plans have been pushed forward, because he was back for 3 weeks. We initially we planned to register for our marriage in April and have our photos taken in Jan or Feb.

Instead we had a hectic 3 days: 31st Oct (photoshoot), 1st Nov (ROM) & 2nd Nov (sent him off at the airport at 6 am).

There's nothing much left to be done now since my photoshoot has been completed and venue booked. It'll be at Goodwood Park. My wedding package is from In-Wedding.

Hubby only coming back in May next year. Will miss him lots.

Currently still not doing much except playing ard with my guests list...'shifting' people here and there. Think can be quite a headache too! :p

V

vee kee

Hi Jan!

Like Geri, I have ROMed already. Things that can be got ready early like booking wedding package, dinner venue and actual day wedding photgrapher I have done.

Things like actual day wedding program, wedding songs etc I have not done. But will look to it say sometime next Feb?

My opinion is that you should start preparing for your wedding. Dun later this dun have that not available... then you will be stressed out...

Just my two cents worth.. good luck!

baby

Hello, I am getting married in May 2002. Now I am troubled over whether to get my shoes custom made or buy it off the rack. Any advice? Where can I get wedding bands? Any recommendation?

I want to quickly settle so that I can have more time to plan other things. Thanks.

islandpub

hi Jan,

i ve also ROMed already this yr n my wedding will be in May 2002.

so far, all those that can be done early like booked bridal package n dinner venue i ve done already n will be going for my photoshoot next fri... coz my bridal said they need 3-4 mths to get my albums ready so it's either i do it in dec or jan coz feb got CNY then will be kinda rush if after CNY then ve photoshoot.. so i tot now since got nothing much so might as well take photos first lor...

my house reno also done liao now in the midst of furnishing lor.. basically we settled our house first then concentrate on our wedding prep lor...

if u ve not done anything yet then u better start preparing now coz 6 mths to go n will be kinda rush with all the festive seasons coming up...

jan

Hi geri,vee kee,Baby Dokie & islandpub,

Thanks for sharing your prep wif me.

It's great to be able to share our experiences wif each other thru this forum! At least, now I know my pace in my prep. As this is the 1st wedding in my family & I dunno much.

Can we continue to update our developments in our prep wif each other??

Jan

stella

Hi jan, geri,vee kee,Baby Dokie & islandpub and all may brides,

Me getting married in May and haven't even confirmed my venue!! worst right!! yah am very nervous. have make tentative bookings already but still finalising this week. Cos the hotel I like is very expensive! am afraid I will bleed a lot of $$. don't like to think of weddings in a such a way, it should be a joyous occasion, but after reading all the postings in there, can't help but feel this way. Got a friend who say just go for it and worry later. But 80 per cent of my frens disagree. What do ya think?

jan dun worry that much, most of my married frens it's just about getting the venue and bridal boutique. Then you can start planning gradually. But if you are a control freak like me and with a hubby who always say"anything dear, I'll like what you like!" then I'll say...start now! cos most of time,descisons will be made by you. You will be surprised how bogged down you are just choosing the colour of your gown, wordings on the card. Worst if you are a control freak and indecisive like me! Oopps... i hope I did not make you fell worse, sorri, please let me know what problems you have..like wedding venue or contacts, I did a bit of research so may be able to offer my two cents worth.

Btw, for May, is Europe the best place to go for honeymoon??

lotus4

WOW .....good !! This forum is getting warmer !!

For me, I have confirmed my WG & EG for my photo-shoot in Dec. And for the table arrangement, will settle it after the chinese new year.

baby

Hello
Actually I am even more stressed becos I am getting married and renovating my flat at the same time. Have to "cough" out significant amount.
May give honeymoon a miss until July 2002.

I think spend within your means. Don't splurge. With economic crisis in the air, most people are cutting down on your expenditures including your HongBaos. So don't book so expensive venue in case you cannot cover.

Decide on the Hotel first. Very important incase the date you want is taken up.

For me I have booked both Hotel and Bridal package. In fact taking my pics in Dec.

Now I am gathering information on printing services, wedding bands, invitation cards, etc. Stay in this Forum and share. I find it very useful. I am doing all these groundwork alone. My partner does nothing except decide. He told me I am THE GENERAL and He is the MAJOR and so I make general decisions and he makes major decisions. Sigh! Still have to do....

islandpub

hi Stella,

i agree with Baby Dokie.. spend within ur means n dun splurge unnecessarily... if u really like the hotel but really too expensive, maybe u can go source ard again n look at other hotels.. u never know u may juz fall in love with another one but much cheaper than ur initial choice... good luck on this....

n yes, middle of the year is supposed to be the best time to go Europe for honeymoon...

carol

Hi all July brides:
How's the preparation going on?
I've finished my studio shots.

How about the rest of you, this thread seems quiet...

Carol

jan

Hi Stella!

I've booked wedding venue & bridal package. It's jus tt I've book my date for studio shoots & am only going for gown selection end Dec.

Bridal boutique told me to do it b4 CNY b'cos photographer will be away for 2wks,however, fiance says c how.Dunno how fiance thinks!! He's quite similar with yr hubby's character! Whenever i approached him for opinions, be it clothings, shoes, dates for ROM etc, all he says is " ok,can, not bad, u decide lor ". Sigh!!

BTW, which boutique u booked? Mine's Milan. What contacts do u have hah? I'm all ears!

We also thinking going Europe for honeymoon leh.. but prob 2 countries only. Have a pretty tight budget!!

Hey, u better act fast 4 yr banquet...time's running out!!

Hi Baby dokie!
Ya..I agree wif u. This forum is really useful!!

Hey, I'm also doing research now! I feel i'm like back to schooldays..doing a project!! Heehee! : )
Jus that 'tis project' doesn't hav any project members!!

Happi sourcing!

baby

Hi Jan,

I am using the makeup artist from Milan. Her skills are alright. Just that she seems a little money minded. Take for instance, fake eyebrow and test tude liquid for the face, she charged me $18 and $20 respective. Be prepared. I also find her a little inconsistent in her words. But I have no choice as I do not like the makeup artist offered by my studio.

jan

Hi Baby Dokie,

What's her name? And can i know wat's test tude liquid & y do u need fake eyebrow? i thot eyebrows are usually drawn instead.

Dun mind i ask so many questions :p.... which bridal boutique u booked with?

usagi

Hi Carol,

wow your photoshoot is so soon... mine is only in march leh... maybe because i just booked my bridal shop 2 weeks ago lah... looking forward to my first fitting in mid-jan
maybe u can give us some tips on photoshoot preparation then ...hee

cheer

has been thinking of starting a column for May brides for sometime... glad Jan start the ball rolling
i m also having my wedding in May02
but only having my photo shoot in March... kinda stressed n worried whether its a lil late? but my designer assured me its alrite n everything will b in time ...

baby

Ha , Jan sorry I must be tired when I sent the message. It is fake eyelashes.

It is ampules (don know how to spell) to give moisture to your face. Costing $20

I booked with Brights Studio at Clementi.
So far I am still satisfied with their service and work. In fact I booked in Oct 2000 a year ago.
I did consider Milan but the prices were beyond me. How much did you pay? I guess $4000 plus rite?

Cheer, I think March is very late leh. Why don you take earlier? Who did you book with?

rolly1

I am also a May2002 brides. 6 more months to go!!

Cheer,
My photoshoot also in March. Hopefully, the photos will be ready by then.
Now my next headache is the timing to do highlighting for my hair. The photoshoot n my actual day is only 2 months apart. sign!

I have not even confirmed my wedding n evening gown design yet :p
Also, house reno not started yet. Lucky mine is the design n build.

So next 6 mths gonna be a busy period!

Has anyone started on the printing of cards?

islandpub

hi Cheer n rolly1,

March for photoshoot may be kinda rush leh... unless ur bridal say they dun need too much time to get ur album ready lor... did u check with them how long they need after ur photoshoot to get ur albums ready? n r u going to ve juz those normal 1 pce per page kinda album or u going to ve those magazine style one? coz if u want something different from the normal kind then maybe they need longer time to do up ur album... so maybe u check with ur bridal again just to be sure that ur albums will be ready in time before your actual day so that u wont be so stressed when nearing ur wedding n u still ve to worry whether ur albums will be ready or not...

i still thinking whether to go highlight my hair or not leh... next week is my photoshoot liao but i still undecided whether to spend the $$ on highlighting my hair or not leh....

hi Baby Dokie,

do tell us the name of the make-up artist u using from Milan leh... coz i think some of these make-up artists tie up with a few bridal and some of us may be using the same one so if u tell us who is the make-up artist at least we can take note lor.... thanks a lot hor...

carol

Hi usagi:
Yah, me a bit "kaisu" loh....
We wanted to have more time to prepare ourselves for the other things.

Sure, will give you tips from my experience.

carol