(2002) Brides of year 2002

chemson

Hi rachel and Jolene,

Like you both.. had my photoshoot on Friday too... Started at 11 am and finished at 3.30 pm.. cos i had no outdoor. In fact was at the studio at 10 am for my make-up.. like you Jolene.. smiled until my face became numb !! Did not know the focus for photoshoots are always on the bride and not the groom.. :p Did shots for kwa,EG and WG.. a lot of time was spent on the WG photos... but hey.. ain't complaining..

I had loads of fun.. my photographer was wonderful ! He is so good at cracking jokes and making us laugh !

Photos should be ready for selection in abt 2 weeks as well..

jenjen

hi bluechin, that shouldn't be the case right?? Were ur gowns confirmed oredi?? i.e. they are ur actual day gowns rite?? If they are, u have the right to photograph it leh... the reason why they dun allow photos when trying and choosing gowns is that u may show others many designs and leak out their design secrets...

mo

hi all July brides,

Guess u must all be real busy now with wedding preps since I hardly see any postings here anymore...haha

Anyway, hope u are all taking good care of yourselves and resting well...look radiant on that day. Just bought myself bird's nest to drink coz have heard that drinking that will give good skin and radiant cheeks. Wah...really cost me a bomb man...spent like $100 on small pieces of bird's nest for boiling. Well, since it's gonna be only once in a lifetime wedding, so betta invest in it for now...hehe

Am also thinking of going for a spa retreat to do body scrub, coz my gown is very low back, so was thinking of giving myself a good back scrub to make the skin look cleaner and radiant. Anyone tried scrub before??? I've never tried and wonder what it's like. Also not sure if it really works wonders...any advice?

angeline

hi bluechin,

Thanks, hope to hear from Jennifer soon. My PS on 12 July ( Friday )

Yup, they do told me that we r not allowed to take any photos during fittings & trial make-up! They said its their company policy....

bluechin

JenJen,

i had already confirm my gowns.... but was told just like wat they told Angeline....

Angeline,

Yr photo shooting is 3 days earlier than me....

angeline

bluechin,

Have u think of where to go for PS?? I might be going to Sentosa & hopefully nite shooting at Fullerton, have to negotiate with them during my fitting!

bluechin

Angeline,

Thot Fullerton's quite nice too!

Have not thot of where to go yet....

My hubby thot we should go Punggol Marina since my dad has a yacht parked there (could take pics in the yacht) and it's quite pretty there too....

But i have not decided whether to go there for photo shooting or to only go on my actual day for some shots......

Do u have any idea when should we confirm the locations with Paris?

jolene

I attended a wedding dinner at Grand Corpthorne Waterfront last night and thought I share some comments:

Service: Generally good. Drinks were refilled promptly and plates were changed at every course. Waiter was attentive and polite. I think its 1-1 table serving. Quite happy with their service.

Food: Rather salty. All the guests seated at my table commented that the food was rather salty and had to drink a lot of tea to relieve the thirst in our mouths. Dunno if its the MSG or the oyster sauce too much... But portion was generous and ate till we were rather full. I think the food is nice, but too salty.

Ambience: Fanastic! Really grand and romantic.. the groom even serenade to the bride on stage... very touching!!! Having a big ballroom with no pillars is definitely very romantic.. esp with flowers all round and the long march-in.

Acoustics: Rather good too. We could hear the MC and the music loud and clear.

Overall, I think GCWF is rather grand and nice. Just need to inform them about the saltish food. Other than that, I think the bride and groom will definitely enjoy their dinner!

kat22

Hi, gals

So happy to see our thread alive again!
So this is the photoshoot month for the Sept02 brides huh
Glad you all enjoyed your phototaking session. Mine is end of this mth so hopefully it turn out well too

Rachel - wow...your photoshoot ended so late! I suppose you did nite photography rite? Where did you go for your outdoor shoot? me now gathering feedback for outdoor venues 'cos my photoshoot will be outdoor only

Cant wait to see all your photos!!

angeline

bluechin,

Wa, take fotos on a yacht, so romantic..... ^-^
Actual day, i have 2hrs allowance to take foto, my photographer told me that can go 3 places, so happy
i love taking fotos, very " qiao "

I think shd be final fitting, we must confirm where we wnat to go for outdoor shooting. Are u entitle to nite shooting? Anywhere in mind for nite shooting?

Share with us where u gals will be going for PS?? Im very greedy leh, want building, seaside, sunset.... all i want lah ..... hehehhehe im very KS ah!! Share with me hor, plsssss??

carol

Hi Mo,
Ys, busy & busy.....
Just collected my wedding albums yesterday...
We are really pleased with the photos & were looking at them till 2am in the morning...
So sleepy now...
yawn.gif

thanks for reminding. I will take care of myself... Drinking lots of water & watching my diet as well.

Hey, a spa is really a good treat to yourself.. I'm thinking of going to one too..
I guess it will really make us relaxed & scrub off a lot of dead cell from the back.
Have you thought of going to which one?

Cheers:
Carol

rachel

ha ha...actually it's only 3 locations outdoors cos one of them was only for 10 minutes...we first went to this run down mansion someplace at Orchard Rd, kinda behind the Youth Park...very nice, but lots of mosquitoes!!!! I'm still suffering today...and then we went to Temasek JC, cos that's where my fiancee and I got to know one another, but it was closed!!! ruined my plans of taking photos inside and on the running track. but we took a couple of pictures outside the school, with the school sign, and cos we had some pics of us in our school uniform together, we actually held them up towards the photographer, and he took some shots that focused on the photos with us blurred in the background. After that we went to East Coast Park, near to the National Sailing Centre, cos it's one of our favourite haunts and finally, for our night shoot, we went to the area near to Boat Quay, by the Singapore River, with the Fullerton as our backdrop.

I'm a Grand Copthorne Bride,so Jolene, really glad to hear what you had to say about it. I'm going for food tasting on July 7, so will make sure that I remind them to put less salt...this isn't the first time I've heard about this salty food problem there.

bluechin

Angeline,

I love taking pictures too!

Does it mean that i must confirm the locations by this coming saturday when i go down?

Yes, i'll be having nite shots too!

I'm still so lazy to think of locations....hee

i think i will go thru pictures of other brides first before thinking of where to go....

Actually my hubby and i r thinking of whether we still want to go on with a overseas photo taking trip......

may or may not have the time to do that and our leave might not be approved too.... quite busy lately at work.... dun even know whether my leave will be approved in aug so i could follow my hubby to NZ for his working trip....

Next week he's going away again and i can't go....leave not approved!

angeline

bluechin,

Im not very sure too, have to check with Paris again.

Maybe we can get Delon to recommend us some places too so that we can decide where we want to go

Dun be sad, hope your leave will be approved for August!

jolene

Hi Kat,

I went Sentosa for my photo shoot. They have a sandsation exhibition now and we got to take pics of egyptian murals made out of sand! It was really fun and looks different from the normal Sentosa pictures. Heh. You might consider going there if the event is still on at month end. But its really, really very hot though... Sweat so much until the makeup artiste had to redo my makeup in Rasa Sentosa.

bluechin

Angeline,

yah, think will ask him for ideas.....

Hopefully it gets approved then....

U already know yr schedule for actual day? That's very efficient.....

julia andrew

Hi Rachel

Went to 3 places for my outdoor.......1st was St Teresa Church (it was closed so managed to take it from outside only) 2nd was Roberson Quay at the bridge & Marina South Park.

jenjen

aiyoh... I dunno lah... I thot can take pics... other bridal shops allow leh... nmind lor... I wait till ur pics then see...

angeline

bluechin,

i roughly told my photographer ( Monica Eng ) what time i will leave my house,follow by where..... blah blah blah, so she said i can have 2 hours of PS between going back to my parents house for tea-ceremony lor

What Precious Thots latest newsletter, can care with me? Sorry, i too kapo liao.

mo

hi carol,

was thinking of going to Amrita Spa. Personally, I've never been to one and do not know many spa places.
How abt u? Are u going and which one? Any good recommendations?

Happy for u that u liked your album...i've yet to get mine. Prob getting it end June.

Over the weekend, just finalised details with hotel. Getting really excited as it is less than a month's time

och

so glad to see everyone active in this thread. i selected my photos on fri. outdoor fotos turned out well, but the eg photos din look v. flattering. i think i'm just not suited for those mood shots.

kat22

Hi, gals

Thanks for sharing abt your photoshoot venues
Some of the locations sound gd..i like Robertson Quay

Jolene - your make-up artist also follow you to Sentosa har..so gd leh. For me, we will be taking shots around my photographer's studio in the morning first. After lunch and after my stylist re-do my make-up and hair, she will go off liao.

Seems like a number of you went to Sentosa for your photoshoot
Gd choice 'cos there are many nice scenery to use as backdrop! Dunno if i will be going there...will discuss with my photographer and FH

Jolene - i will check out if the sandsation exhib is still on in end June. Thanks! wow...egyptian murals made out of sand!...sounds like taking pics in Eygpt desert! Nice

och - Nevermind that the eg photos din turn out well...take more on your actual day then!

jolene

Yup, my makeup artiste came along with us. He helped me wiped perspiration, neaten my hair, do touch up for my make up, etc. Really nice guy. Luckily he came along or I would have to redo my makeup on my own... hahaha...

Yup, the egyptian murals were really nice and unique. Like in a different place although its in Sentosa. Hahaha... I also took pictures at the big tree which they used in the film: "The Tree" or "hai(2) zi(3) shu(4)."

julybride

Hi, Mo.
I have signed up a back massage with scrub at Crystallis..i tink that's rite spelling.It;s actually on the 3rd level of John little and I paid $1300 for 10 times of back massage and body scrub with body wrapping too. Managed to bargain for 5 free facials too. If u want i can recommend. They are ok. I love the massage as it's so nice and comfortable.
they even have sauna and jazzcu.
Wow..planning for music oredi? I havent ...so much things to do and to think that we have less than 3 weeks to complete and get ready!
today i went to c my family and asked for contraceptive pills. Asked abt side effects even and all the doctor said was: (1) breast will get tender (2) slight weight increase (3) complexion will improve.
I bought 2 boxes so as to miss my menstruation too. He recommended Diane 35 to me.is there someone in this forum who had tried this before? Most likely i will try them tonite..
*Kittycat..my wedding dates are similar with urs and exactly the same with Mo. grin..we are all in the same boat. :p

mo

hi julybride,

hmm...never considered taking pill, feel that it may not be good since it's unnatural.
nevertheless, may consider for the honeymoon...see how it goes...hehe

thanks for the recommendation, maybe i'll go check it out since it's very near my office.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
so that means u going to IL's place, tea ceremony, than go PS in WG, than go back IL's place to change to kwa/tea dress, than go parents' place?!

i oso thinking of schedule like that leh... headache!!

pinkapple

wah jinette,

u gave a v good description of the place leh.

I thot of the pool table too. my fav game leh. hee.. but it has this obiang adv on the lamp on top of the table... so will see how loh

angeline

Angelia,

My schedule will be something like that :
- fh fetch me to my in-laws house
- tea ceremony at my in-laws house
- proceed to my new house
- outdoor PS in my WG
- EITHER go back to my new house to change OR return to my in-laws house for relatives tea ceremony, then change &amp; proceed back to my parents house for tea ceremony ( GOT TO CONFIRM LATER )

cherly

I am thinking to use Love Me this song, singer Collin Raye as my March in song, any advice. Both me and my hubby like this song but will this song suitable for the wedding occassion?

Any idea where can I get a album guest book?

naturally

Hi Cherly,
i'm a dec03 bride, but can't help posting here 'cos i'm absolutely in love with the song!
It's soooo romantic! Has that "sheng1 si3 xiang1 xu3" feel... i always lapse into a daze when i hear the song, it's touching beyond words! (my FH used to get jealous 'cos he thot some guy must have sung the song to me before! Until one day he couldn't tahan, asked me abt it, then he realised he was jealous for nothing! heehee!

But i don't know if it's apt for a wedding, 'cos u know, the song mentioned abt the grandpa mourning for grandma when she passed away....

If u get there before i do
Dun give up on me
I'll be there when my chores are thru
I dun know how long i'll be
But i'm not gonna let u down
Darling, wait and see
So between now and then
Til i see u again
I'll be loving u
Love me

Or maybe u can play a shorter version of the song, stop before the second stance where grandma pass away... hmm... a bit short for march-in... Or have the instrumental version, no lyrics!
Actually i was thinking of having this song (first part) for the champagne pouring, which shd be much shorter than the march-in, right?
Btw, u like the song "Longer Than" by Dan Forgelberg? Very soothing, "si4 shui3 chang2 liu2" kind... maybe this is more suitable for the champagne pouring? I'm so fickle-minded... hee!

Just a suggestion!

jenjen

oh yes... cherly... love the song too... however, dun think it's appropriate for wedding, as per wat naturally has said... I oso headaching abt wat songs to use... anyone has suggestions?? I was just thinking of instrumental ones... coz all the songs I like are those slow and "sad?" ones?? hehehe...

cherly

Thanks for valueable advise. In fact, also discuss with my hubby abt this and we both feel that not very good for the wedding as naturally has said the grandma has pass away. Very headache abt what song to use too, has anyone got better suggestion?

naturally

How abt shania twain's From This Moment? Quite popular song i think.... btw, there's a thread on wedding songs, u may want to take a look!

Cheers to all your upcoming weddings!

curious

HI Mo

Need your advice. I am getting married in early Oct and taking my photographs in late July. Is it too late?

Also how is the Edge? I guess you have collected your photographs. How was it ? Do they return the negatives?

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">naturally</FONT>
actually that's what i hv in mind initially - From This Moment On!! Kind of decided to use it as our march-in, the first time i hear this song.. but then hor, now very fickle minded... i like Enya, and the other day while listening to her CD, hubby mentioned can use 1 of her songs, he said very dreamy.... (but i forgot what's the name of the song liao, gotta go back dbl check)

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
o i c. that means u wearing ur WG to 2 places?! thought it's not auspicious or smthg like dat?!

mo

Hi Curious,

Maybe late July might be a little late, the best is to consult your photographer and ask him how long he needs to complete your album after the photoshoot.

Nope, the Edge doesn't return negatives unless u spend up to some amount, at least 1-2K I think. Well, I can't really say whether their photoshoot photo is good or bad, personally, I didn't like them very much, but not coz the photography is bad, just that my personal taste has evolved. During the time of booking, we like The Edge a lot as we were going for more natural shots, now if I were to choose again, i'd go for the more vogue and posie shots. So it's really personal preference. Nevertheless, Andrew is a very easy and fun person to work with. We enjoyed our sessions with him very much

pisces

i'm new here... are all of u here "dec 2002 brides"? my customary will oso be in dec this yr.

care to share wat are things to look for? as of today, i've not really prepare anything yet. i've my WG MTM (will be ready in early sept) then the dinner place has been settled. Other than that.. nothing has been done... i need to get some nice music/songs for tat night, then guestlist, the printing etc... any recommendation?

naturally

Hi angelia,
Is it Only Time? Read in the other thread on wedding songs, some gals found it nice too! Me can never remember titles off Enya's tracks, maybe the songs are just too soothing, makes me lazy to check... hee!

Hope

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">naturally</FONT>
no, not Only Time.. think it's the 4th or 6th (or dunno which number) on her Paint the Sky with Stars album.. but i juz cannot visualise marching in with that song leh... seems like too slow or out of beat...

blossom

so glad to see them most of us enjoy the photography session. i agreed that it was very tiring but i truly enjoyed every moment of it.

my photos are ready for selection. should be going down these few days to select. really hope the photos turn out well cos i dun have time for a re-shoot... although can have another round of fun.

carol

Hi Mo,
No so far, not decided which one to go to... Prob. will go to the one recommended by my friend.

Hahaha... this is really a busy month for us... Still got so much to do leh....

Hi Julybride,
I've never consider taking pills too.
But do heard from my friend that there are some side effects.

cheers:
Carol

angeline

Angelia &amp; all,

I tot this is what pple normally does, isnt is meh??? How??? Can wear WG to my in-laws house then to my new house or not but i will change to tea dress before going back to my parents house lah, can or not???

naturally

angelia,
i thot it's good idea to be slow?? Can slowly "glide" down the red carpet... savouring every moment... hey, maybe i shd look for a march-in song with the slowest tempo possible... haha!

I know of a couple, very shy, so when they're supposed to march-in, they started walking so fast towards the stage, that the march-in was over in a jiffy! I didn't even get to see them! Think they feel paiseh to draw too much attention to themselves lah.... but then the march-in song had to end halfway, so a bit weird... gals, so remember to time your march-in properly hor!

jinette

hi pisces !!

ur birthday in feb or mar ?

yap all of us in this thread is getting married in dec

care to share where u holding ur dinner or ur bridal shop ?

flo

hi pisces!

Which day in Dec?

There are few of us holding on the same day!

Your prep is better than my! I have only signed up bridal package, tentative booking at Shang, still searching for actual day photographer..

Gals, my latest shortlisted photographers:
1. Monica of www.vividshots.com (met and seen portfolio)
2. Tan Ngiap Heng of www.thepond.com.sg (not met yet)
3. Albert of everafter (not met yet)