(2002) Brides of year 2002

jenjen

hahaha... naturally, that's really funny... i wonder how slow I must go... but will u pple like the guests to throw confetti or something when u march in?? then have to put those really on pple in the centre aisle... :p

angeline

JenJen,

Im considering whether to throw confetti, blow bubbles, pulling pops or spraying crazy ribbons. still cant decide yet but pulling pops maybe out coz scare kena shoot by it, tables are quite near to the aisle.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Angeline</FONT>
i oso not sure leh.. but think cannot wear WG to 2 places lor.. u better confirm with ur folks at home, in case got any discrepancy, then listen to them better.

as for throwing of confetti, blow bubbles, etc.. pls remember to check with the hotel co-ordinator whether they allow or not? do u need to clean up the mess after the event, etc?

pinkapple

Hi pisces,

me more or less like u. still got those things u mentioned to settled. + my church deco + caterer. more or less decided liao but haven't comfirm w them.

Flo,

how u shortlist them one huh?

flo

hi pinkapple,

hmm, by going thru their websites, getting feedback from other BTB, checking their rates, checking whether they're available on my actual day!

Who are you engaging?

jan_fyp

I guess no matter how much u rehearse the march in, some will lose their cool and walk quickly to so as to get over with it. Hope that it will not happen to me. hehehe...
Jenjen, i dun tink that i will enjoy pple throwing confetti at me when walking in. Recently, I went for a wedding dinner and saw the couple's frens throwing the confetti in their face cos they can't throw high enough!!! At the end, the couple has shiny bits on their face and hair and its difficult to remove. Another big no-no are the poppers (those that look like champagne) cos frens in their excitment will unconsciously aimed at you or children may get to excited and popped at each other, very dangerous.

naturally

wat do u all think abt showering rose petals? Like xian1 nu3 xia4 fan2, hee!

behappy

like to check whether which brides hold their wedding in Concorde Hotel during coming this Sept 2002.

because me too! see whether anyone got the same date as me.

flo

hi pinkapple,

I'm looking for specifically b/w photojournalistic style, at the same time, some location shoots at Shang itself. that means I want a finished product of b/w prints in story board format...

so the Photographer gotta be versatile.

will check out... Thk u

angeline

Angelia,

Think i better check with my mum!

All,

i agreed that poppers are dangerous coz i attended one wedding &amp; one guys were shoot by poppers, his ears immediately turned red &amp; swollen, so scary!!
As for throwing confettis or flower pedals, what happen if stuck on hair, will it look ugly with those extra colourful papers when the bride already have hair accessories?? How har, how to solve all these problem?? headache leh.....

pisces

my wedding is on 27 dec. anyone same as me? :D
is gng to have it in my dream hotel... Grand Copthorne Waterfront.
hey, really appreicate my hubby for allowing me to hv it there leh...

jinette: my bday in march

flo: wow, not bad huh, u actually manage to come out with that list of photographer... i've not even decide whether to get help fm friends or to engage pro... any idea how much they charge for actual day photo?

i'm thinking of hving this flowergals + pageboy to walk in front during the 1st march in (during dinner time)... but we've oredi ROM and hence, i'm not sure what should i ask the pageboy to hold (other than ring pillow)..

angeline

Hi Pisces,
Welcome to the group. Sorry gals, work as been really busy so no time to check the forum all the time.
I need to find my dream car to rent and a florist to decor. Any recommendations.

Also I am going to try my gown again this weekend. I will try to remember to bring my camera this time round.

kat22

Hi, girlgirl

Mine is 10 days after yours! 22 Sep
My wedding dinner will be at Sheraton Towers. Hey, my colleague is getting married on the same day as you! Hers will be in York Hotel
How's your prep??

Looks like Sep 02 will be a busy mth with couples getting married on various days in Sep!! I heard people saying this is not a gd year for wedding..not true what...so many people ARE getting married this year
Fun fun...we will be seeing bridal cars zooming around that mth..hehehe

cherly

I afraid I will be too "Gan Cong" and legs won't move. Anyway, really headarch abt the March in song. Have to decide 1st March in and 2nd March in lei.

janfyp

Hi naturally,

i read from somewhere that petals dun float down gracefully but instead drop like a stone...but it is definitely easier to remove than confetti.

All:
BTW I have decided to ban all sprays, poppers and all other confetti from my wedding.

But what do u gals think about bubbles? Issit unhygenie??

mo

hi carol,

u can say that again man...really super busy now too. There seems to be so many thousand and one nitty gritty detail to settle. Getting stressed man...

hi julybride,

heard that the contraceptive pill got a lot of bad side effects, is that true??? how many days/weeks before honeymoon should one take it???

jenjen

dunno leh... I initially wanted bubbles too... but wat if kids go crazy and started blowing at each other... maybe they blow at the tables and all the food will be soapy... yucks!!

carol

Halo Mo,
No choice lah, wedding is once a lifetime..... Guess even long after our wedding, we'll still remember all the effort &amp; hard work we have put in.

Cheers:
Carol

bluechin

JenJen,

Will show ya the pics when it's ready....

Angeline,

The Precious Thots newsletter is for members of The Precious Moment Collectors Club....

Angelia,

Wow, been only one day and so many msgs already.... seems like most of u have already rough know yr schedule while i'm still blur over here......u gals even know that u have 2 hours for PS and so on and already thinking of wat songs while i'm still happy go lucky with things......

I really dun know where to begin.....

liz

hi girlgirl,
finally I got someone getting married on the same day as me. So how is your preparation getting on?
I will be going to my hotel this week to collect the invitation cards for printing.

Hi Blossom,
how's your preparation since yours is 3 days earlier than mine. Actually I have not start doing much thing yet, feel a bit worried now.
Me waiting to see my photos and hopefully they are nice.

Hi Loreal,
busy with your wedding things? Did not hear from you for quite some time already. How's your photos and selection going on?

pinkapple

Hey Flo,

pardon my ignorance. I'm not sure what's a story board format leh. paisay.

the fotographer's Meng. mayb u can call them n talk to Meng...

caira

Hi July brides!

I can't believe that it's just a month to our weddings, less than that for Elaine, who is our first bride of the month, since her wedding's on July 1, and Mo and julybride, on July 6 &amp; 7, and nana on July 7. Then I guess it's me on July 20, Carol on July 21, Sparks on July 22, and hippo on July 28. Have I missed anyone out??

I'm a bit behind schedule since I'm only collecting my cards this week. But hopefully, I'll get them out by next week, which will still be at least a month before my wedding.

That leaves just my church and dinner programmes to settle. Now I'm trying to decide on my music. Girls, those of you having church weddings, what are you using for your processional/recessional??

I've also chosen my wedding pictures - I guess most of us would already have gone for our photoshoots? Wanna exchange pictures? I'd love to see all your beautiful gowns!

Here's a little reminder of what else we're supposed to do this month:

1 month before your Wedding Day (June 2002)
Send wedding invitations
Make a calendar of events on wedding day
Draw up a schedule for the dinner/reception, so that MC, banquet manager and wedding coordinator, know the order of things - cutting of wedding cake after entrance, followed by groom's speech, etc.)
Finalise any readings or songs to be performed by guests
Print wedding programmes and confirm with church wedding coordinator
Give list of songs to live band / music coordinator
Review final details with banquet manager.
Confirm the number of guests.
Get seating plan and prepare seating arrangement
Check arrangements with florist and arrange for a time and place for the flowers to be delivered.
Do a final check on your booking with the photographer, cake-maker and car rental company.
If you are having a church wedding, time the journey to church.

pisces

hi pinkapple

i'm not having a church wedding... i was thinking of having this flowergal and pageboy for the dinner march in.

does that sound ok? :p

angeline

Janfyp,

I think not wise to use bubbles too coz when your blow, scare the bubbles will rest on your plates, bowls &amp; even your drinks...thus very unhygenic aiyo, why so troublesome, looks ilke we have to ban eveything liao

Bluechin,

Thanks for telling me, im not a collector but do have a few, they're so sweet, i like them very much

I haevn really done alot yet, my guestlist still hanging in the air ah! Now renovation just finished so weekend always kena burned, have to go &amp; wash up
What abt u? Hey, going to Paris on 15 June, excited or not?? must tell me how's the trial make-up, okie?

cherly

Angeline,

Me too, my guest list also still hanging in air and I think have to start from somewhere to get it done. Inviting guest always is another headarch, I think I am going to collect my wedding photo somewhere end next month. Very fast right, but was thinking to keep it secretly then don need keep bringing the photos to show to fren, very heavy lei

I have not confirmed the make-up artist, initially using Sandy but due to some personal problem so she might not be able to make it and was thinking to get one more. March in songs and guest list has not decided and need to get one guest book too.

mo

hi Caira,

Wow...thanks for the listing of who's wedding on which date
Glad that at least we all have one another for reminders

U only got your cards this week??? Isn't that a li'l late? Have u gotten your printer? If u need any contacts, do let me know, I can pass u contacts for florist, caterer, printer, etc. Would say my florist is VERY nice to work with and she's not the calculative sort. As for caterer, I'm using Select/Stamford Catering, nevertheless, I have a whole list of caterer's contacts if u want, for printer, I don't have many recommendations coz mine weren't fantastic. My dinner insert printer is so so only, while my church invitation printer is really good but u may have to compromise on quality as it's VERY cheap. Ok...so let me know if u need anything.

blossom

hi liz,
same as u, i will be collecting the cards this week and probably sending them for printing next week. actually, i have not finish drafting the guestlist, dunno how many to print.

my "guo da li" is in august but most of the things have been settled by my mom, so no worries. i just finished my reno, so busy cleaning the hse and shopping for furniture.

angeline

Thanks Pinkapple.

If any of you have had your trial and feel that you make up artiste is good, please do recommend. Thank you.

aclim

Hi Angeline,

Maybe you can try Jeannie from Devotion @ 97371918? I engaged her for my ROM in feb 02. If u interested, can give her a call and view her portfolio. She has a shop in Delphi Orchard.

behappy

Hi kat22

ok, but still doing the guest list. actually everything has already settled like wedding shoot, select of photo etc and now left with guest list and the finalize with the hotel. i mean the wedding banquet which i worry the most.

yes actually sept 02 quite alot people get marry i think should be a good month.

Sheraton is quite a good hotel and i think their sitting arrangment is 12 person i just attended a wedding 2 months ago quite ok not too bad. the food also good and big.

how about you did you attend any wedding dinner at Concorde Hotel?

Hi Blossom,

wow yours and mine are so near just 3 days away
yawn.gif

which hotel you choose for your wedding banquet?

weekday should be ok. now a day people hardly think weekday or weekend wedding!

Hi Liz,

Oh we got the same day finally found someone, ok but now looking at the guestlist and meeting up the hotel people this weekend to collect my card as well.

Which hotel you holding at?

Which month will you be giving out your wedding card because me still thinking our day is too near the Seventh month so maybe have to give end of next month and before the Aug 9.
new.gif

when your GUO SA LI?

Hi Sept brides

Me still looking for the bride that hold her wedding in Concorde Hotel the same date as me!
triangle_down.gif

Because on that day of mine wedding the other ballroom will also be having another wedding dinner just wonder because all in the same floor.
triangle_right.gif

do any brides face this problem? how to solve?

cheers,

angeline

Cherly,

Wa, so fast can collect your album liao, must be very happy &amp; excited

Me too, dun feel like bringing my album to office for my colleagues to see, too heavy liao!!
But then my colleagues keep asking &amp; reminding me leh! i told them to see my album on my wedding date, i will bring to hotel for them to see lor but they still insist to see first!

At first i tot of engaging Sandy too but hold back coz i want to see how my bridal make-up is like b4 i decide to engage one on my own lor
Have u found other make-up artist yet??

We oso haven decide on our March-in songs yet but i will leave it to my fh lah, i cant concentrate on some many things at a time, will collapse ah!!
As for guestlist, we will discuss with each other.
I tot hotel normally provide u guest book, yours doesnt provide meh or u want to buy a mei mei one?? Maybe u can try giftshop, i know there's one at Suntec which do sell but not sure the shop name

cherly

Yalor, very excited to collect my wedding photos. Will keep till my wedding day then bring it to hotel and show it to guests. The hotel will provide guest book but I am looking for 1 album guest book, so after guests sign in front page then I can insert the actual day photos, don waste and need not headarch where to keep the guest book. Not sure whether got this kind of guest book or not.

Have not find one make-up artist but going to meet Sarah Tan on Thursday to go thru her portfolio.

All brides,

Can forget abt booking Sandy as the actual day make-up artist as she is not able from Oct onwards. She actually agreed to be my make up artist on my wedding day last month but I called her to check whether she is available on Sept, she actually told me, she won't be availabe from Oct onwards.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
maybe can try <FONT COLOR="ff6000">Kelly</FONT>. dunno her contact, but think there's a thread on her.. check it out.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">bluechin</FONT>
aiya, i oso on-off do one lah.. when thought of it, then think a bit and put it down.. actually got a couple of schedule from other SB brides, so kind of modify from there lor.

march-in songs oso like that.. when listening to CD, radio, TV and hear a nice one, then jot down the name lor... later than do a final selection.. then u won't hv to listen to so many at the last min..

as for guestlist, mine can consider hanging in the air, can oso consider 80% fixed. cos we din hv so many tables, and the venue's max is 22 tables, so no worries.. hahaha..

pinkapple

Hi pisces,

erm... I reckon the flower girls are ok. but if u're the one who posted in the pageboy-vs-ringbearer thread then I think 2 flower girls + 1 pageboy is a bit of a overkill.

angeline

Cherly,

Think i cant help u, i dunno where to find this kind of guest book
Maybe try those shops selling bridal details, heard there is one at Marina Square.

Oh no, in that case, i must find out more abt others liao!Can u tell me how much does Sarah charge?

Angelia,

I have all my guest names liao but i dunno how to arrage them into per table of ten leh, some tables only got nine guests, dunno want to put who in ah... aiyo, headache ah.....

Tentatively we have booked 35 tables but we going to increase to 40 or 40+ lor