(2002) Brides of year 2002

jenjen

Angelia, I thot I sent u a mail regarding him quite sometime ago?? U din get it ah?? I forgot I sent to yahoo or hotmail leow... :p

mo

hi kittycat...
hey, I did the same thing too...asking friends before giving out the cards...haha

Right now, I am in the process of sending out the cards, finding music, finalising details with hotel at Marina Mandarin, actual day programme, church prog sheet. Err...this reminds me, there are soooo many things to do...arrggghhhh...

How abt u? where's your dinner? won't be surprised if u are at MM too...hehe...but actually, my dinner is on the 7th, the church ceremony on the 6th.

florence

I've just registered my account... previously user name - Twinkle, now re-introduced as Twinkleflo!

Qtn here: Any one know the how and where of getting a Justice of Peace?

I intend to hold solemnisation out of ROM, at the dinner venue. So do I source for JP myself before registering date at the ROM?

Pls help.... many thanks!

cherly

It's me again. I have called the make up artist, Kelly but her charges is too high for actual day make up, has make appointment with Sarah Tan to go thru her portfilio but my hubby is asking me to get another make up artist to stand by for my ROM day, do u all have anyone in mind or have u tried any good one for recommendation.

kittycat

Hi Mo,

Mine is at Orchard Parade Hotel - Club Chinois. We haven't worked out the details of the actual day programme yet - altho' my married frens hv given me their itinery template and I juz need to adjust from there!

What music are you using? I like Only Time by Enya, Canon in D and my fren recommended The Enchanted Garden which is quite nice too.

Gng to relax and take it easy....

angeline

hi bluechin & Irene

Finally my meeting over, can come in to kapo kapo liao

Thanks for all your concern, so touched
Im felling better liao but throat still painfull, cannot anyhow eat heaty food liao

i just called Jennifer, she said my gowns still not ready, she will call me once its ready
Guesss i have to continue waiting.... U gals must be very excited liao hor??

jinette

heehee..... pinkapple

twinkle, here is the procedures if i remembered correctly

My JP's contact :
Mr David Loh Choon Lim (PBM)
Tel:6785 8292
Hp: 9742 5005
Pg: 9509 5005
Fax:67858893 / 64893003
email : [email protected]

1. u can download the consent form from here
http://singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/539/consentform.doc

2. u can either fax the consent form with the details on it or meet up with ur JP

3. get the consent of ur JP first before heading down to the ROM Centre. You will have to indicate the premise, time and date on the consent form.

4. then u bring the signed consent form to the rom centre, need to have both ur witness's ic ( photostat copy also can ) both ur ic. n the $26. u can call them to double confirm also.

5. the rom centre will pass u some documents and ask u to come back maybe 3 weeks later to collect ur marriage cert + cannister.

6. photocopy 1 set of the marriage certs

7. After the rom: if u r having David Loh, he will bring back the photostat copies back to the rom centre. if not, u will have to bring them back urself to the rom centre the day after the rom date
=================================================

during the rom :

1. He will brief u on the procedures before the actual thing.
2. witness sit at the side with their ICs on the table
3. the bride n the groom have to stand and listen to the person read the things
4.then the bride and the groom will face each other and hold each other's hands(both hands) and read theirs vows together
5.then the exchange of rings
6. kiss the bride
7.the bride and groom will be seated and sign the documents followed by the witnesses
8.Pronounced man n wife and the JP will then present the cert to the couple

================================================

tink that's about it
hope u will find it helpful

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Candy</FONT>
u may like to refer to the Paris Thread. but wld advise u to go shop shop and look around at other boutiques before deciding on 1. everyone will hv FOC stuff, but u must decide whether u like their gowns, their photography or whatsoever... impt thing is DO NOT sign up on 1st visit, even if they tell u only give u that offer that day. dun worry, u'll find another who can match their offer.

then, after u've done ur "window shopping", come in here and browse thru the threads on the various boutiques and get comments b4 u actually sign up. brides here are very kind pple, they'll definitely advise/help u.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jen</FONT>
heheh.. i forgot i got fr u b4.. pai-sei.. now looking for contractors/ID, so see who got juz ask them for ref...

mo

hi kittycat,

oh heard a lot of good reviews of Club Chinois, their food is well known

haven't decided on the music yet...still in the midst of finalising that. Prob going for a jazzy theme.

yup...intending to go for a short hotel stay before the wedding, so that can rest well and look radiant on that day

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Cherly</FONT>
try Tracy from Summernail..
think her charges for ROM is $80 if u do it at her salon at Great World City, $100 if u want her to do it at ur place. Not sure if she does actual day makeup.. can give her a call..

Summernail @ Great World City, #03-05
Tracy Loh : 6732 5449

bluechin

Angelia,

do come down and join us if u r able to make it....can show u my gowns....

Irene,

My make up artist is Ann....

Angeline,

Did Jennifer give u a rough estimation of when
yr gown will be completed?

i'm also having sore throat....

mee very excited...how about u?

Candy,

I agree with Angelia that u should shop around before settling on a package. The most important thing is that u must be comfortable with the package u select.

Also look at their gowns, portfolios, and speak to their coordinators, list down questions to ask them.

I'm a Paris Bride and am so far quite happy with my coordinator Carmen and my gowns.... In fact quite a number of us r Paris Brides, i'm sure they will give u feedbacks too!

angeline

bluechin,

Jennifer told it will will only be ready after mid June or end June lor, she will call me once it's ready, so i have to wait for her call

of course excited, i wanted to see my gowns badly, keep thinking how would it turn out to be!!

Candy,

Im a Paris bride too, so far im happy with their services though i heard alot of negative comments abt them. my coordinator is May, designer is Jennifer, make-up artist is Ann &amp; photographer is Delon. U may wish t refer to Paris thread but recently there's some unhappy issue going on, u may wish to those past issues posted by me, bluechin, Dance40 (irene)...
Btw, when is your wedding?

jenjen

Hellow... so when are u gals popping down to Paris?? Let me know... I should be going down one of the days too... coz yet to choose my gowns for photoshoot... do u gals encourage taking the costumes har?? I thinking dun want leh... but heart a bit gian oso... hehehe...

aclim

Hi pinkapple,

Where are you going for your outdoor photoshoot?

Gals, Is ampoulse necessary for photoshoot? I signed up Julia WN and my friend (same bridal shop) told me that she had to buy the ampoulse from them at $30 1 bottle. Isn't it very expensive?

pinkapple

Hi Aclim,

Me going to Pasir Ris, fishmen's village and Changi area for outdoor. not sure where exactly is the changi area... my fotographer is bringing us.

not sure abt the ampoulse thing

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jen</FONT>
aiya, since they give, then juz take lah.. anyway u got another 1 mah.. so no need to worry.

corrie

Hi Pinkapple,

Wow....pasir ris as in the pasir ris park? Where is fishmen's village? As for changi area, think it is the colonial houses there is it? Think there are a few there, but one of them is known to be haunted. what kinda of mood will you be taking? As in nature or urban?

cafinia

I'm getting lost with all this preparations. When should we start food tasting, card printing, and sending invitation casds, if my wedding is on 15th Sept?

pinkapple

Corrie,

fishmen's village is where they have seafood by the beach... have u been there? I think it's near the playground... not too sure though.

Natire or urban... that's the prob... I like nature.. I like got lotsa trees, etc... but my bf don't like.... cos the nature of his job lah... see trees all the time so he don't like.

that's why he wanta go fishermen's village... got some signs of civilisation... haha. but I still want my trees and grass and flowers so my fotographer will bring us to somewhere like dat lah. dunno where...

girl

hi pinkapple,

never knew there was a fishermen's village in s'pore.... sounds fun

who's your photographer? the places you're going to seem pretty unique

facials.... do you think it's a must? was wondering about doing without, cos I hear that once you start, got to keep going regularly....

jinette

hi girl,

$30 per bottle is very very ex ... i bought ampoules from Sothys and it cost mi $18 for 2 bottles.

pinkapple, do u need to have permission from fisherman's village to take pix ? nice choice, never thought of that place. cool if u goingto have night shoots there ;p maybe u can take pix of u n ur hubby fishing for prawns ;p

cowie

Hi Cafinia,
Are you holding your banquet at a hotel? If you are, the hotel co-ordinator will actually advice you when you should go collect your cards etc. Mine is also on teh 15th Sept. My co-ordinator just called me up on Monday to ask me to arrange for a time to go collect my invites. After that, I will send them for printing. We will most likely send out the invites at the beginning of August, before the start of the seventh lunar month
Hoping to arrange my food tasting on the last week of June. There is no hard and fast rule as to when all these things need to happen. Just plan as according to your schedule. Hope this helps

bluechin

JenJen,

Irene and i are going down on the 15th....
Btw, who is yr coordinator?
I find that some of the costumes looked good while some doesn't.....it depends on yr preference..... perhaps u can check with yr coordinator which will look good on pictures.....do ask her to show u the pictures..... or ask to try them on.... that way at least u have an idea.....

rachel

Hi Cafinia and Cowie
My dinner is also on the 15th...I just sent cards for printing on Wed and can collect them next week...took the chance to print ang baos as well, just for fun...my church invites (church is on the 14th) will be slightly later...in July after I come back from my trip to NY ...hoping to send out cards like Cowie in early August. There's no real hurry, but with all the little details to have to worry about, it's just good to get this aspect of the wedding out of the way! My food tasting is on July 7

dance40

Hi Candy,.

I'm paris bride too.
So far they are ok.
My coordinator is May and designer is Ann.
Just need to communicate your ideas lor.

Hi Bluechin,

My Make up artist is Ann.

hi All,

went to thr 1st fitting of WG and EG last evening.
Quit Ok. Still need to do some adjustment in length and side (chest too skinny).
And also they ask me to maintain liao and try to trim down a bit of tummy so that it's nicer.

Beading not up yet. Should be ready next week when i go and try gowns.

Who wants go with me can join me?
15th Jun.2 p.m.
My FH is going, a friends or so.....

Irene

flo

what arethese ampoules for? for application on the face before the make-up? to prep the face for photo-shoot?

I understand that this Julia WN tend to have a lot of 'hidden' costs...

lingz

for photoshoots, hv u guys tot of alkaff mansion? seems a nice place...i remember seeing one of Imagegarden's portfolio and realli very nice.

btw..when is the best time to order wine? do u order in consignment?

cafinia

Cowie &amp; Rachel,

Thanks for your advise. How do I know how many invites to get from the hotel, when I have yet to confirm on my guest list? Hotel only give invites for 70% of gteed attendence.

pinkapple

wah Jinette,

u same idea as my bf leh... nite shots, take w prawns... hee...

but I feel that nite will b too dark... my fotographer discourage oso.

flowy n Girl,

my fotographer's Imagegarden.

Flowy, for ya info, u needa b having ya wedding din at Alkaff to take ya fotos there. I know which portfolio u're talking abt... really like that one.

pinkapple

Girl,

eh.. the fishermen's village ah... is a group of resturant... oso got like foodcourt.... that's along the beach at Pasir Ris. Sorry I dunno howta describe howta go... my bf drove each time.

Mayb Jinette the detailed girl can tell u... hee... *wink at Jinette*

facial ah... I thot no need too... my face's not fantastic but quite ok lah... but my cousin say if no facial the powder won't stay. mayb u can see how n consult ya makkup artist during ya trial makkup.

angeline

With all this talk about fisherman village I have an idea to take a boat out the the kelongs. Won't that be fun! Do you think this is possible?

cowie

Cafinia,
Give the hotel an estimate of the number of tables you will need. Based on that, the hotel will calculate 70% of the total number of estimated guests. Usually they will do some rounding up for you. If you find that you do not have enough in the end, you can always speak to your co-ordinator. Depending on the hotel, they may charge you for excess cards. But if you really need them, I guess you have no choice. Like my case, we are prepared to have to pay for some excess cards cos we need more than the 70% cos a lot of guests are individuals, not families.

girl

hi pinkapple,

oh, you're with imagegarden....i've seen some pics from there, like magazine.... very interesting

fisherman's village sounds like a good idea.... think i must go check it out;)

bluechin

Irene,

I should be around when u r there on the 15th....
will meet u there then....

My make up artist is also Ann....

so i guess i'll probably do my trial makeup
before u since u will be having yr trial make up that day too!

Angeline,

Dun worry, if she promises u that it'll be ready soon then u probably won't have to wait too long.... btw, when is yr photo shooting?

jinette

mi went to fisherman's village at night so dunno how it looks in the morning..

it is split into 4 or 5 atmospheres , very ke yan :p but the sea view is very nice. windy place , can have the wind blown look shoot ;p

jolene

Wow! Suddenly got so many brides getting married on 15th Sept! I tot only me and Cowie but I am happy to see a few others too!

I had my photoshoot on Friday and it was so much fun! Smile and pose until face and body so tired.... I started with outdoor first, lunch, then back to studio. Started at about 9am and finished at about 3:30pm. Rather hot and tiring... almost fell asleep during my afternoon studio shoot...
My photos will be ready in 2 weeks time and hope I can share it with you girls!!

jenjen

hey bluechin and dance40... dun think I can make it coz got wedding dinner at night... :p sorry... take some pics and show me how ur gowns are like can??
oh yah... since u both having trial makeup... can ask what type of eyelashes they usually use?? show u then tell me can?? another thing is do they need to use ampoule during the indoor photoshoot?? thanx!!

aileen

Hey, anyone out there got a hairstylist just for hair? Is it common to have a hairstylist and another different person for makeup? I've been told that it is not a good idea to have long hair let down as it will be messy, but i look WEIRD with the concrete updo! anyone got any hair person to recommend and how much does it cost?

bluechin

JenJen,

The other day when i went down for a fitting....
My hubby bought along the digital camera but was told that we r not allowed to take pictures.....
So i think i can't show u any pics till after i receive my photo shooting pics.....
Will try to ask about the fake eyelash and the ampoule.....

rachel

HI Jolene....I just had my photo shoot on Sat, and it was great fun....we started the makeup and all about 11, and the actual shooting close about 1-ish I think....did the studio shots first, and then went out at 4.30 to 4 locations, and ended about 8.15...was really exhausted by the end of the night.....but really looking forward to getting the photos! which studio was yours done at?

jinette

pinkapple , u very bad

i only went there twice- mini wooden kampong.
1 - was a disco area with a open air dance flr. 2- was a candlelight area 3- was a bbq fiesta or local food. wif big beach umbrellas(i tink so)+ a pool table. 4- was the fishing pond. and they had surf boards as backdrops. pinkapple , maybe u can take pix on the pool tbl n surf boards

last time , i went there was new yr's eve. my hubby's aunt loves to go there. his grandma n grand dad loves goin there too. a causal place to lay back n enjoy the wind.