(2002) Brides of year 2002

pisces

no lah, i'm not the one who posted that...
cannot find so many kids :p

i've something to ask you all...
every weekends, my hubby will ask me to go over to our own hse to spend the nite there... i love to but i always back out last min. i can't bear to leave my mum+family. sometimes,i wish that i'm not gng to get married, stay single and hv bf forever... do u all hv such feeling? i dunno why, i'm just worried that my mum will be lonely. i'm scare to see her lonely lor (my dad is not ard anymore). i'll miss her and my brothers.

i know that i can still go over to her hse every day after married but still, there is a different rite.

wat shld i do to overcome this?

kas

Angeline,
did you receive my earlier email to you on my make-up artist contacts? Maybe i post it here in case you din receive. Her name is Amy & you can reach her at 96787323.

cheers,
kas

angeline

Cherly,

okie, okie, thank you very much

jenjen

hey bluechin, I will be waiting...
btw, has any paris nov rides taken their photos yet?? if yes, can share with me?? thanx...

pinkapple

Hey pisces,

how bout getting ya pageboy to carry the bottle of champange? heehee.... izzit a bad idea? let a kid carry alcohol...

eh... think u've gotta realise that your mum can take care of herself and u're starting a new phase in ya life.

carol

Hi Claira,
Woh, You really remember our wedding dates well..
Oh, I think you have missed out kittycat, her wedding is on 6 July.

Thanks for the detail list of reminders....
It really help a lot...
By looking at the list, I think I'm still ahead of time..

Yap, by the way, I've collected my wedding albums, so will share my photos with you.

Cheers:
Carol

romona

hi Pisces,

I'm having the same wedding day as u!!! hiak hiak!

Guess our dates is not really that propular as its a Friday! I'm holding my dinner @ Jade restaurant @ fullerton coz' I'm just having a small function w/ relatives and as for my friends, I having it in imperium the next day.
Have you booked your hotel & bridal?

romona

hi pineapple,

wow, its very expensive to engage imagegarden to do actual day photography, they told me S$1.8K w/ 2 photographer... I only took up their indoor/outdoor package.

pisces

PINKAPPLE: ya, i know that, but somehow i just cannot let go... sigh!! am i too paranoid? maybe i'm scare of leaving them

hey, i'm thinking of getting the pageboy to blow some bubbles (got this idea fm another thread)
got to check with the hotel if they allow.

ROMONA: hi, great to know that we will be getting marry on the same day

yes, i'm hving mine in GCW and i've booked my package with Paris Bride.
errr... i read alot of bad comments abt them lately... i'm keeping my finger cross

loreal

Hi! Liz,

So sorry not able to login that often..busi with work lah..me now in our KL office.. But going back sin soon.
Have they asked u for photo selection? me still waiting leh..i've collected the cards, but yet to find the printing services.
Wah..all of u here like so busi with guest list.. how u all do it without the table plan?.. My hotel dun gimme till 2 weeks b4 my wedding dinner..
Like that to arrange the seating arrangmt?.. i've roughly drafted the guest list for my fren's side. But hor my parents havn't even gimme the names..they always say 'aiyah..still early..why worry..' me going to faint if they gimme last min.
When do u gals intend to send out the invitation cards (i mean local frens). Some frens i verbally told them but dunno whether to send them to card so early..wait they say me kiasu..

Hi! Girl girl, welcome on board, u want to find ou more on concorde u can retreive on the previous posting under Concorde hotel. The comments are good. Me have been to their bridal show b4. quite good. But the only think is rather cramp if u have exceed 30 tables. But heard the food is good.

Blossom, so when do u intend to go for your photo selection?

pinkapple

romona,

if u're taking their indoor/outdoor then u've have 20% discount on the actual day one.

I feel that Meng's good and since got another fotographer so I think it's ok loh.

fanasia

Hi Gals!

My wedding is on 10 Sept, also a weekday! so far, havent seen on same date as me..
So glad to know, many of u also on weekday..kekee

mine is in grand copthorne..

good luck, gals..i am currently also preparing my guest list and wil be doin my cards printing soon..my guo da li also in august..

regards all and happy preparing!

flo

hi pisces,

are u secretly afraid to start new life together with your hubby? leaving your 'safety net'?

perhaps you want to ask yourself why are you so reluctant... are you married? If you are, you gotta put your husband first, right? You can still go back everynight to accompany your mum for dinner and go back one weekend... just need to find the right balance.

Hope you find peace in your resolve soon.

rachel

hi fanasia,
mine is also at GC. Who is your coord? Mine was Anthony, and then Ivy took over. I just got my cards printed and they're ready for collection already. the only thing is that I put the wrong e-mail add...long story....so hoping that no one will take notice of my e-mail add or write to me there...quite farney....my fiancee was a bit mad at me but now, we just laugh about it. looking forward to seeing the ang paos that we printed as well! leaving for the US on Sat for a two week break, maybe can get some stuff for the wedding there...

Loreal, if your parents are not so proactive in doing the guest list, then maybe you need to help them by sitting with them and doing it...takes more time, but it's a great load off your mind when that is done... ;)

pisces

hi flo,
tks for your advice.

personally, i love to be with my hubby but... somehow i can't leave my family behind. aiya, how i wish i can be wif my hubby then at night, goes back to my mum.

luckily my hubby has been supportive but i know there is a limit right?!

hopefully i'm able to find a balance...

pisces

hi pinkapple,

i'm reading that.. tks for the url

btw, i hv not select my EG and tea-dress. do u think i can wear back my ROM dress for the tea-session? i can't find any suitable EG fm the bridal shop, might consider buying from outside. anyone know of any boutique that sells "not so ex" EG?

tam

hi pisces

same here. i only have a MTM WG and EG. Thinking of wearing the EG on the banquet only. Do you think it is appropriate to wear the WG throughout the tea ceremony at both parents place without a change of dress. I thought it might be very troublesome to change dresses and get the makeup and hair messed up.

partygal

Hi Pisces,

I think it's perfectly alright to wear your ROM dress for the tea ceremony. Me planning to do that too...if not the dress quite wasted. Wore only once at the ROM. As for the EG, have you been to those "clearance" sale by bridal boutiques, where they sell off their EGs at a huge discount. Or alternatively, how about Celia Loe or something at Takashimaya?

As for Tam,I think I read somewhere that for traditional reason or something, suppose to change the gown when you go back to parents' house to symbolise that you have married out or something like that. Sorry..don't know the full details. You may want to check on that.

pisces

ya, i read something abt that too.
Tam, dun think u can wear the WG back to your parents' hse. Traditionally, think there are some reasons for not allowing us to do so.

I might consider wearing my ROM dress... like wat Gemi said, we only wore that once, so shld be fine to wear that for the tea ceremony!

hv u got any idea which bridal shop hving clearance sales? think i've to start my search this weekends.

i'm oso thinking of getting some wrist corsages for my helpers. will be gng down to FarEast Flora this sat.

partygal

I went to one before at Sheraton. It was by Fontienne. Not sure if there is another coming up but will let you know. I remember reading someone that there's going to be another one at Four Seasons or somewhere in August(??), where there will be a few boutiques. Sorry my memory really very bad.

Try to keep a lookout, sometimes the brides-to-be here will talk about it in the forum.

pisces

hi gemi,
tks.. i'll try to take note of that

which day is ur wedding? how is the preparation?
think we need to look for match in/dinner songs/music too...

corrie

Hi Gemi,

Can keep me inform about any upcoming clearance sales by bridal boutiques too? Am also looking for some nice evening gowns. Thanks.

partygal

Hi Pisces,
Mine is on 26th Dec, Boxing Day. Preparation wise, so far only confirmed on WGs, and now starting to draft guest list. Started on facials too. Going for my 1st fitting end June. Looking forward to it. Music wise, I'm thinking of classical music.

Sure Corrie. Will let you gals know if I come across anything.

behappy

Hi Loreal,

Thanks,

Yes i feel the comment is quite good that why I book with them. yes is abit cramp if I have exceed 30 tables. But it ok now only worry there will be another wedding, so must be careful with my guest that come.

hope will not have any problem.

pinkapple

hey pisces,

what's ya budget like?

Other than celia loe, For Evening gowns, u girls can try Allure (not the bridal shop) it's the one at Raffles city level one just next to the Robinson entrance that one.

erm... then there the one I told u abt at Specialist shopping centre outside JL.

pisces

oh, u mean we can take picture during the fitting?
hmm... think i'm gng to bring mine too then..
my fitting is only ready in early sep.

pinkapple, my budget shld be somewhere between $200 to $300 :p is that enough for a EG?
i'm trying to save. jz paid so much for the renovation

pinkapple

well... my fitting can take foto leh. unless the bridal so yeow dun let u take lah.

think $200 - $300 can lah, pisces. no prob.

kat22

Hi, girl girl

oh yes, i attended a wedding lunch at Concorde hotel b4
The food is quite gd!

alamak..me oso..so suay to kenna another couple hving wedding dinner on the same day and same floor! I am using the Ballroom while the other couple is using the function rooms near the Ballroom. I hv oredi gotten over the fact liao...really no pt getting upset over this...on the bright side...it is quite nice to know another couple getting married on the same day and place as us
Like you, i was also worried that my guests might be confused so i intend to print the floor layout for my guests and indicate clearly that my venue is the ballroom
Lucky for me the reception area for my ballroom is more private and spacious so i guess it is ok
Dun worry ya!

partygal

Yup..will bring my camera. Finally got one.

Yah...Allure has nice EGs. Quite a few on the last issue of Her World Brides. Think you can get one tailor made too right. Think there are some good tailors around, that can do nice beadings as well. Cheaper than buying them from bridal boutiques. They charge a bomb.

Have you all started to grow long hair already? Me have very little and fine hair (hereditary). Hopefully the make-up artist and do wonders to whatever I have now.

loreal

Hi! Jus to check with u gals.. does your hotel gives u the table plan when collecting cards?
Normally when do they give u the table plan?

Pls advise me.
Thks.

blossom

loreal,
im collecting my cards this weekend. the hotel din mention abt the table plan. hmm... will ask and see whether they give. tell u next week.

partygal

I went to this one recommended by some some of the Brides-to-be here. Sothys at Raffles City. Not bad, but I stil find it a bit pricey $95. My photoshoot only in Oct. Haven't decided where to go yet. How about you?

pisces

tks, i will check out Allure at Raffles city

heeee, i jz went for a haircut :p now my hair not even reach my shoulders...

partygal

I'm thinking of letting my hair down, with a simple tiara. Don't know why but keeping my hair up tends to make my face look fat. Hopefully the makeup artiste will try a few hairstyles for me during the trial.

fanasia

Hi Rachel,

My coordinator is Grace. I haven't collected my cards..will be doing that soon..i hope! when's ur wedding?

Soo envious!! u got some holiday break...Good for you..enjoy ur holidays!

och

hi girlgirl, fanasia, welcome to this thread!

hi loreal, i told my coordinator to give me the table plans abt a mth b4 the wedding, when we confirmed the number of tables. my parents r like urs, they just cannot get down to confirming their guest list.

behappy

Hi Kat22,

Ok now already more relax don't really go and think about it. just looking farward the my wedding day!

I know yours should be the inner ballroom I have been there before, i didn't know there is another function room nearby.

we both got the same fate but just don't think about it now and me just like you have a private reception area along the corr.

Hi Loreal,

I do have a copy of the table plan for the ballroom one of the SB email to me she also held her dinner in Concorde Hotel so she pass to me. she such a nice girl.

But I think the hotel will also pass me one more copy when I collecting the cards from them this weekend.

Hi Liz,

I already told my printer to go ahead for the printing of my wedding card because I just need to insert into the wedding card and tie gold string.

so when you giving out your wedding card!

flo

how about Avana? Been advertising heavily in magazines... their EG are more elaborate.
There's one at Shaw Ctr and one at Great World.

cracker

glad that the whole thing is all over !!!

just for the record:

wedding package : sanmike (yep,,michael,,I am
that "bo-chap" guy !!!)
banquet : hilton
getaway : a 64 acres resort in
Phuket,,more like a prison !!

for the rest enjoy ur big day soon...

corrie

Hi Gemi,

Thanks for the info. Wow, sound like a grand event. Will you be going to the sale too? My photoshoot will be in end Aug. Well, come to think about it, it is exactly one day before the start of the sale!! Heehee.....Have not thot of where to go for the photoshoot too. Have not even gone for my first facial yet!!

clover

I'm glad it's over too, with so much tension and excitement mounting for the past few weeks.

Very glad that the whole thing went very smoothly and according to plans, couldn't have done it without all my jiemei, xiongdis and helpers. A very big thank you to them.

Currently still on honeymoon in LA and I'm glad of the break indeed. Looking forward to seeing the photos when I get back.

yea, for those upcoming weddings, enjoy ur big day!

CLoVeR Leaf

pisces

i'm thinking of hving my photoshoot at this Ridout (near Farrer Rd) McDonald. my hubby n i used to hangout there during our dating time hehee..something meaning right

but then, i feel pai say to hv my photoshoot there.. so many pple ard rite... malu leh