(2002) Brides of year 2002

blossom

hi loreal,
i only chose 20 extra. sounds quite far hor. nvm la, at least i tried. i haven't started writing. doing a pre-rsvp at the moment. my friends tend to travel and have very busy assignments, so i confirm they are coming then give them the card. wont want them to feel obligated to give ang bao when they cant make it.

haha... i understand how u feel. my parents complain why my cards are not red colour, why the portion to write guests' names is in english, why the card so small... sigh...

hey, u very kan cheong leh. im the opposite, my parents are the kan cheong ones. maybe it's the first wedding in my family. they bought all the clothes, suits long time ago.

june02bride

hi tomyam
i played "everyday i luv u" by boyzone for the 1st march-in and the jap song "what will you do" for the 2nd.

angeline

Irene,

Groom's side will bring over during " guo da li " & both side must light up on our wedding day -(MORNING) & it must be lighted by both our parents, dad will light the " dragon " while mum will light the "phoenix" & they must light together

pinkapple

erm...pinky..

I think I selected 30 pages for the album. got some pages have more than 1 foto.

yah. all proof fotos n negatives will b returned to us

starfruit

Hi Angeline,

Thanks for the tip. Ya me also a bit confused by the candles. So brides side no need to buy hor.. all buy by the groom's side. Well this is easy.. heheh

cynthia

Hi tomyam,

I got my cousin to play on the grand piano Pachebel's Canon for the 1st march-in and Flower Duet from Charlotte Church's Enchantment CD for my 2nd one.

cynthia

angeline

Starfruit,

U welcome. Yup, we dun have to buy, remind your FPIL to buy 2 pairs will do

Btw, are u gals following the restriction not to attend weddings/funerals 4mths before & after your wedding??

pinky

pineapple, ur shop is so good to return u the proofs and negatives. may i know which is ur bridal shop?

i hope my shop can at least give us back the proofs if not the negatives.

i think ur ablum is those magazine style one, is it? cos i heard if got more than 1 photo in a page is magazine type.

dance40

HI Angeline,

I will only follow the 100 days restriction.
This month 21st a cousin getting married.
So my mum ask us to go. No choice lor.
But i think still can go at that time coz my wedding on the 10thNov. 100 days ahead is 1st august and after will be 19 Feb 2003

Irene

partygal

Sorry I missed the gathering. Hope you had fun. I finally had my 1st fitting at Allure. Surprise!! Lost some weight, and the gown was quite loose. But sadly, the pimples on my back haven't healed yet. Chose a cheongsam style shandung silk dress for my EG that shows quite a bit of the back. So praying hard that my back will heal up before the photoshoot.

Almost finished the 1st draft of my guest list and seems that the list is still growing. Initially I was worried that I don't have enuf guests but now seems that I'm going to have a lot more.

Anyway, enjoy all your preparation. We only have 5 more months to go!!!

angeline

Irene,

Ic, i will be following the 4mth before & 4mth after restriction coz that shifu keep reminding us so we decided to follow lor

starfruit

BTW : any recommedations to where to by the Long Feng Zhu and stuff like that ??

oh and someone told me about this lamp that we need to buy? do we buy i or 2 lamps?

any idea anyone?

pinkapple

Hi pinky,

that's one of the reasons why we chose them.

my fotographer is Imagegarden Photography. we got the gown from elsewhere. so it's not like Yvonne Creative where they boa gao liao.

erm... I think u can ask them if they can give u the negatives for the fotos u have chosen loh. some bridal shops practise that.

Magazine style? I'm not sure if wat I'm thinking of is what u meant.
erm... I'd say the fotography is magazine like lah.

dark green evening gown ah? hmm...
my advice is dont' take if u don't like the color. actually ah. although the details (beadings, etc) are important, but what pp see and will remember is the color of the gown.

I'm very into details one... at least those on gowns.
but I come to realise that pp will only see the big picture.

what says u?

jastan

Angeline, So sad to hear that cannot take back the raw photos. But I think I will want to try and ask. Have you tried talking to other people on this request?

Anyone has experience on selecting photo not serve by Andrew?

As for buying of candle and stuff, I saw a shop at Chinatown market selling all stuff for wedding. They have quite cute lamp on display. As to whether they sell candle or not, I am not too sure. I remember last time for my sister wedding, my mum went to a shop along Joo Chiat to get stuff like lamp, sewing kit, pail/basin etc.

angeline

Starfruit,

Maybe u can try Chinatown, they shd sell lah.
As fo the lamp, bride's side should buy & it must be in a pair, get those battery operated one! Its should be only lighted on your wedding day

Jas,

Ya lor, so sad if cannot take back. Im haven spoke to anyone yet cos i haven choose my pics, my PS is tomolo

U can request someone else to select pics with u . I did ask Jennifer b4 & she said i just need to inform May that i want Jennifer instead of Andrew. U can try requesting too

Irene,

Im going for my manicure & pedicure session at Nail Art today at 2pm. Wonder what colour to paint??

jenjen

Hi starfruit!! Thanx for the list... went through with my mum yesterday... she consulted my grandma who explained about the candles...

Groom to have 2 pairs of Long Feng Zhu and Bride to have 1 pair of plain red candles... On Guo Da Li, Groom to bring both pairs to Bride and Bride to keep 2 Dragon... return 2 Pheonix and 2 plain candles to Groom... the significance of this is because the Groom's side will have an extra daughter/female (Pheonix) and Bride's side will have an extra son/male (Dragon)...

Dunno how accurate... will check with my MIL this weekend if possible...

Irene, thanx for computing for me the 100 days limit... hehehe... coz we are on same day mah...

Angeline, what is this lamp thingy?? coz it's missing from starfruit's list and I seem to remember it too... where are the lamps supposed to be placed and where to buy them??

tomyam

Hi cracker & mushroom
Did you get 2 nites or 1 nite from Hilton? Mine includes 2 nites and I hope that they will give me the type of suite that Mushroom had been given.
Thanks for the song suggestions. I short of one for the 2nd march-in and will use yours as reference.

partygal

Hi Pinkapple,

It's the silver gown. You shud have seen it before. The cheongsam style one with organza back, if I remember correctly. I'm going for the Allure bridal show next Friday. You going?

My photoshoot is by Robin, in early Oct. Wanted to shift it earlier to Sep, but he is fully booked.

jenjen

Oh yah... another thing to check with u gals... there's supposed to be an ang pow from groom to the bride's mum only right?? is it supposed to be on guo da li day or actual day?? also, bride's side have to prepare ang pows for the ah yees right?? anyone else??

dance40

Hi Angeline,

you might ask the person who serve you to give a better suggestion. They are professional. Just need to tell them, what it is for and what colour u are wearing.

might want to try this shop for traditional stuffs.

My FMIL give me one : Blk 51 Chin Swee Riad #01-89 Singapore 160051 Tel: 5330295/5357067

It's at Chinatown near the OG building (on reno)

I'm not sure about the red packet.

I think the lamp is for the night one rite?

Actually I'm quite scared that i miss outs something.

Irene

angeline

The light is called " chuang tuo teng " its have to be placed on your " chuang tuo ", bedside table or dressing tables.

As for ang pao, im not sure too leh

Aiyo, now im confuse too leh, why so many different things one har?? I think most importantly is to check with both side of parents, see what kind of tradition they want to follow

Irene,

Thanks, i will let them know what i will be wearing

mushroom

Hi tomyam,

I got 2 nites too but i changed it for another additional room for my helpers.

I think they use the same suite for weddings. Maybe just on different floors.

Just 3 more mths to ur wedding. Be sure to enjoy the whole day cos it sure pass very quickly without you knowing

Have fun !

jas

Dear Crayon2512,

well, my restaurant did provide food-tasting but have to pay 70% of the meal as they subsidise oni 30%, so my MIL was thinking of 4getting it as she like the food package so not intending to change anytink, so save our $$$ oso......

Btw, according to fengshui hor, its alright to change to a new bed after 5 yrs of marriage, but its not good to change the master-room's mattress after 3 yrs of marriage. Tats wat i read. So its up to whether r u "pang-tan" anot. Aniway, get a gd bed if wan 2 observe the rules. For further enquries abt hse feng-shui, u can go to the Home & Decor column where there is a lot of fengshui advices if you're into tis. Kinda of interesting!!!

tomyam

Hi mushroom and cracker
Have you got your actual days photos to share? Which bridal did you use?
I chose the red invitation card. I don't know if all the info (English & Chinese) can be squeezed into the card? Probably going to Hi-Tech this Sat.

jenjen

Oh uh... so how?? the chuang tou deng must be kept at new place from morning till night?? no one staying at new place... how to on the light??

starfruit

ok the ang pow, here's what is needed.

The couple(its from the couple, not just the bride or grrom) needs to prepare ang pow for the following people,

1) Brothers

2) Ah yee

3) Groom need to hand out a token ang pow(small sum can already) evertime to the person who opens the car doors for him, he cannot open himself on that day, so get the brothers to do it everytime he needs gets out or into the bridal car except for the time when he first goes to pick the bride as the door is open by the Xiao Jiu (see point 4).

4) Xiao Jiu (Brides brother) who opens the car door when the groom arrives to pick the bride. (this ang pow can be bigger than those use on point. 3)

5) Ang Pow for tea ceromany. If brides or groom have younger sisters or brothers, u need to hand those out when they serve u tea.

6) Photographer, videographer, makeup artise, banquet manager etc (all token sum ang pow) for Hao(2) Zhao(4) Tou(2)

Both the brides and groom's parents must also prepare and give a token sum ang pow to the following:

1) Brothers
2) Ah yees

Thats all i think. Did i miss our anyone else?

mushroom

Hi tomyam,

I do but it's not in softcopy so can't post or email you to share. I'm used bridal zone.

I also choose the red invitation card. Rec'd good comments abt it. Many found it nice. And the english and chinese definitely can be printed on the card. So don't worry.

Yup i think Hi-Tech cheaper. I used T-Dragon. I think it's quite ex.

crayon2512

Hi Jas
Think sometimes is good to be pan-tan on some stuff. Most probably I wil buy a gd bed and move to new hse. Thanks for the advice.

Are u the same person who posted a msg under the Honeymoon- Australia one?

pinky

Hi pinkapple, ya lor i agreed with u. actually i saw another lime color gown which i think also quite nice. maybe i'll ask them if i can try and if nice then i take.

actually i took some pics in the green color gown, if the pics is not too bad, maybe i'll still take lah if really no other choice. but if the gown is red-maroon color would be so much nicer. i really like red-maroon colored gowns.

when will u be getting back ur pics?

jas

Hi Crayon2512,

if u r talking on the column under "F&E or packaged tour Sydney on Oct2002", then its me!!! i m planning to go Sydney after my wedding for abt 1 wk, so getting some advices from the forum.

Btw, where area r u staying wif ur in-laws? Mi will b staying at West areas....Where is ur new flat? How old r u aniway? Mi have juz turn 25 tis yr....

So hv u get bought all the tinks ready for ur GUO DA LI har? i might b buying next wk as next mth will b lunar 7th mth, so my mum will buy all these by tis mth.. Will collect my cards end of tis mth. Well, 2.5 mths more to go b4 our big day, mi beri excited....

jenjen

starfruit...

dun think Brothers are entitled to Ang Pows... please reconfirm...

Xiao Jiu... I dun have brother... so how??

I thought we are supposed to give Ang Pows to groom's parents, grandparents and elder siblings??

The serving of tea by younger siblings Ang Pow is given only if they serve you tea right??

Forgive me for being a bit slow... :p

dance40

Hi Starfruit,

Seems like we got to prepare a lot more Ang Pow Then I initially tot of.

What about to the parents?

At guo da li etc?

Also regarding the Long Feng Zhu,
What time shall we light it? When the day start or when he come my house fetch me and when i reach his house or ?????

And if we're not staying in the new place on that night how? Do we still have to on the lamp at home or do we have to wait till the night we sleep in the new house?

Irene

crayon2512

Hi Jas
You are planning to go in oct? oh..for me, i wil be going in Early Nov, thinking of going Sydney and GoldCoast.Wil u be going to GoldCoast? I had booked my resort stay there...at $399 for 8D7N accomodation only.

I am living in the West zone..u too!! hey so qiao!! I am 24 tis year.My new flat wil be in BukiT Panjang.

Not yet. Think will buy this week , maybe.

aprmin

hi dance
according to my MIL we hv to leave the lamp on overnight on our wedding day. since its electrical, so it shd not pose any problem

baby

Need advise from u all but this topic is not related to our wedding.

My sister is going to pursue her Bachelor course but don know whether to go Management Course or Marketing Course, can u all advise? Also, University of Western Sydney is better or Central Queenland University?

jas

Dear Crayon2512,

wow, its really very qiao hor... Aniway, i m living in Clementi (resale-flat) where my love nest is....

Ya, i m planning to go preferably on the 6th Oct, the next day after my wedding if possible. Can straight go relax mah....

Wow, ur accomodation is a gd bargain. But its the resort gd. I was planning to book a whole tour package but a F&E one. Bcoz i beri lazy to source for accomodation & then air tickets...LAZY BUM
.I might not b going 2 gold coast, but might go to Melbourne if i got the time. Very rushed if i go too many places.

U r a very young bride i must say!!! I older than u leh!!!
I tik i lao liao!!! How old is ur hubby then, me is 26 tis yr. 1 yr difference oni....KE!KE!KE!

dance40

ummmmm, baby.

I think basically it depends on your sister what she wants to do in future and whether if she likes the topics or courses.
For people who are doing marketing, it is better that they are outgoing so that it's easier for work in future.

As for which school is better, I'm not sure.

Irene

crayon2512

Hi Jas
I had also wanted to go straight after my wedding..but can't got to take my exams. (Me taking part-time course). Thatz why got to go in Nov.

I had checked up on the resort..is quite good on the website. make do with it lor. Think its better to do F& E , got more freedom. If u lazy to look for it..then go for those that provide airfare, hotel transfer and accomodation type lor. Check up today's paper, Chan's bro got promotion now..1st page of classified.

Aiyah..only 1 year older..wat difference does it make..my hubby is 25 years old. We had actually ROM last Dec.

cracker

hi tomyam

me used sanmike.....
as for the card, we also settle for the red version...but decided to print on tracing paper
and do the tying by ourself....cost abt 150 for 250 cards !!

we used the "lian" shop cos t-dragon leadtime was too long,,,while hi-tech only will do hot stamping.