(2002) Brides of year 2002

lollipop

Hullo gals,

You are both so young! I will turn 26 end of this year, and my FH 27.

Guess Australia's a popular place for honeymooners. Crayon, $399 for a 8D7N accomodation? That's very reasonable. As mentioned, we thought of going to either Osaka or London, right after our wedding. To date, we have only approached a tour agency but they haven't quite gotten back to us about rates. A colleague recommended me Focal. Guess I should drop by soon.

The Meet-the-Parents session will be held next Sat. We have not been to the printer yet. This is the list of things which we have not done.

1) Collecting cards from hotel
2) Going to the printer
3) Allocation of duties for helpers etc...

How long will it take the printer to print 250 program sheets (own design), invites for both church ceremony and dinner? I am just worried we dun give them enough time. I dun wish for any slip-shod work... then again, mebbe I am worrying unnecessarily.

Jas, my gramps is staying in Clementi too. Which part are you at? I grew up there too! Was there for 12 years.

pinkapple

hi gemi,

erm... i saw a few cheongsam style ones. but only one I remember is in hmm... I forgot how speel it... marun? sorry for the spelling..hee.. please correct me if u know what I'm talking abt.

don't think I saw the silver one though.

erm... I'm not going for the bridal show lah. all my gown done liao no needa see anymore gown.. heehee... no time.

pinkapple

pinky,

i dunno when I'll get my pics back. I told them they can take they time since my wedding is in Dec.
no hurry.

yours?

obride

hello gals, talking about old, wait till u hear how old i am

I'm 31 this year and FH is 29. Thank god i look like 28

Lollipop, what do u mean by Meet-the-Parents session, u mean your parents have not met? I thot I'm the only ones whose parents have not met, bcos my FH is foreigner and his parents are overseas.

lollipop

Hi Obride,
Actually they know one another from church. What I meant was, the "negotiation"

Your FH's a foreigner? Where is he from, may I ask? By any chance, are you going for the wedding show in Oriental this weekend?

dance40

Not sure.
Base on demand and supply. Life science and biotech is the most demanding. But not sure how long it will last. In the past, Accounting and Engineering is in demand. But now.
So, how to judge things for 2 years later?

Irene

obride

FH's indian

Will you be going for the wedding show? Do you think we can still negotiate for better perks during the show even when we are already almost confirming the package? Will they entertain me? Feel abit paiseh bcos I already made alot of request to Oriental,... not sure if they'd be so pissed off that on the acutal day, they give me service that sucks. :p
Moreover, all of you will be lovey dovey in couples, and I'd be alone
will feel left out :p
I think i'd just talk to Jassie offline.

jas

Good morning gals,

well, TGIF! Can have a gd rest 2molo
!!!

Crayon2512, feel so sad for u, as u need to take exams and cant go for ur honeymoon yet. It must be quite stressful for u since u have to prepare wedding & then after tat u have to study for ur exams...Whew!!!

lollipop, i m staying at Clementi Ave 4. As my parents & PIL r staying near the West side, we decided to take Clementi since its very accessible oso. Ai yah, u 26 oso quite young mah....Wow, so coincidentally, we belong to the 1 yr age gap wif our partners...I oso noticed tat Focal rates r quite reasonable but dun know whether is their service gd anot, dun wan our honeymoon to go hay-wire, if u have any feedback abt tat agency, pls tell me...

Well, the most impt is tat if u gals know whether there is any tour fairs on, plssss let me know. I wan to compare my price b4 committing. But aniway, Oct'02 rates r not out yet, so i tink got to wait till August, then can have a rough ideas the mkt rates like....

lollipop

Hi Obride,
Yeah, I also think that it would be quite odd if we were to go for the bridal show as we have already signed up with respective bridal studios and with Oriental. Go there also quite "din tei" :p

But frankly speaking, I have never been to any bridal shows before

Jas, it's my turn to work tmr
I have rested five weeks already, so tmr's my turn.

My gramps stayed in Clementi Ave 2. I used to study at Pei Tong Pri Sch. So I am rather familiar with that area.

Once I have the contact and rates from Focal, I will let you know how their svc is ok?

pinky

hi pinkapple, i'm going to select my pics tommorrow. so happy, hope the results are good.

hope that can see ur pics when u collect them next time

and seems like nothing much to do for now :p

starfruit

JenJen : I will be giving Ang Pows to the brothers cos they too will be helping as much as the Ah yees. I have not heard about brothers not entitled to Ang Pow. Where did u hear about this?

If u dun have Xiao Jiu, can consider getting a younger cousin to open the door for u on that day.

U give ang pow to ur younger sibilings when they server tea to u.

All : As for Ang Pow for parents, grandparents and elder sibling, i am really not sure about this, any one can help? I tot my elder brother must give me an ang pow when i server tea to them, same for my parents. So when do i give ang pow to them?

dance: I dun know when to light the long feng zhu, i think its the morning of the wedding day when the parents/household wakeup. dun know if we need an auspicious hour to light the candles.

And the Lamp, aprmin, What do u mean by light the whole day on our wedding day? do i light teh lamp the night before the wedding? or at 12 a.m. on the wedding day and throughout the whole day till 12 a.m. the next day? or can i light when i go to my new house after going to my MIL's place for tea ceremony on the wedding day itself? Sorry this is really confusing. Jen Jen think i am equally as confused as u.

Baby: u might wanna ask ur sis to get feedback from frens who has attended both the uni and see if they can provide more insight to thir teaching programs etc.

starfruit

aiyo, dunno what happen, sometime wrong with the system, cos i could not seem to post the message at all.

All : So sorry about this. Apologies

sancai

So Qiao ... me currently still staying with my mom at Clementi Ave 5 and my birdnest at CCK bought 2 yrs back.

So envy you all can go honeymoon ... me oso taking part time studies so no honeymoon for me till next yr ... planning go Japan so thought of going in Apr dued to Sakura season as well.

Cheers to our wedding ... coming soon ...

jenjen

heheh... starfruit... no prob... if Chin Leng see this he will delete them... as for the ang pow for parents and elder siblings, it's from the Bride's family to the Groom's family only... think Bride's elder siblings not entitled... I dunno, my mum tell me she will be preparing...

Everything is damn confusing man... but I manage to build up a tentative list from starfruit's list... now waiting for my FH to ask his mum if the list is ok and if she got anything else to add or less...

jas

Dear lollipop(lollipop),

ya, thanx in advance for ur help on focal travel. Wow, so gd tat most of us r living in the West side.Wow,so nice...hor...
, i tink the world is getting small..

Btw, anibody is tinking of the motherhood issue now? Juz wan to see how many women out there r considering conceiving after marriage or not intending to get pregnant afterall. So mayb if all of us really get pregnant at the same time, how wonderful it will be. By tat time, we will b chatting at the "Any New Mothers To Be" column. It will be very interesting by then. We have been thru so much together....
, mmmm....Very Fun.....

I tink i m going bonkers
, preparing for my marriage tingee! Hurry, my electrical appliances will b delivered 2molo!!! After 2molo, my hse will b a complete-equipped one
. More cozy i guess!!!

Aniway, anybody is doing up their hse at the moment!!! Got any ideas of any small decorations items to decorate hse besides the usual tinks like pebbles & seashells? Welcome all suggestions....

sancai

Hi Catzbella,

Welcome abroad and 1 more person shares our happiness ....

Where is your wedding dinner at and which bridal shop you sign up?

obride

yeah, welcome catzbella. happy to know another Oct bride who has PS in Aug,..... except mine is still latest at 17 Aug
My FH is even asking me if we can delay it further bcos he is desperately trying to trim down first,... he is so stressed he goes for a jog every morning whenever he can.... While i shake leg ...... hehehe

Lollipop, I also have not gone for wedding shows so you are not alone. Did u have as good a deal as the promotion? DO you think we can ask for more perks which we did not get, eg, my 20l beer was not included in the package, i had to fork our 400+++ for it. Very tempted to ask Jassie to give it to me now, but i'm sure she will not agree. Did i read somewhere that you have a sister working in Oriental?

dance40

ya, how much must we prepare for each individual?
Must get ready the money and change new notes soon.

Also,

Can someone tell me more about the candles and lamp?

I getting a bit blur.

Irene

jas

sori for the interruption. i belongs to the Oct bride, but i was popping in to be a kay-poh & tot of asking u gals. For the Long Feng Zhu, izzit oni those families tat have buddha statues at hm, then need to use d candles har? My PIL does not hv altar & tats y they dun wan it. But for my family, we have statues & so we r goin to light it. But wat to do wif the Groom's side candles har since they r not going to lit it. Do i throw it away or keep in my new hse's storeroom?

Pls advises plsss.... All this is very confusing to me oso....

jenjen

starfruit, according to my mum (who asked her mum, i.e. my grandma), the Bride's family is supposed to give:
1. towels to the Groom's elder siblings
2. towels and shoes to the Groom's parents

In order to simplify the matter, my MIL has requested for ang pow instead to avoid us buying towels/shoes which they dun like... understand??

dance40/Jas:
This is what I think should be done for the candles... on Guo Da Li, the Groom is supposed to bring over 2 pairs of Long Feng Zhu, and the Bride will return the 2 Pheonix and 2 plain red candles (same size as Long Feng Zhu)... Bride's side will keep the 2 Dragons... this is because the Groom's family will have an extra female (Pheonix) and the Bride's family, an extra male (Dragon)...

I will confirm the above with my MIL... will keep u gals update...

As for the lighting of the lamps and candles... sorry i dunno... :p

thedevil

hi jas,

u thinking of conceiving right after wedding? me thinking of that coz not getting any younger n hope to close shop b4 30.

but i hv lots of worries regarding pregnancy.

jas

Dear thedevil,

ya lor, i would like to start a family at a young age as i find i will have more "stamina" & "attention" to be able to give to my children-to-be. So therefore currently, seeking whether anibody have the same tinking as me. I love children, especially whenever i see my nephews i m so happy
!!! Glad to know tat u share my tinking too.

Btw, how old r u? Wat worries tat u r concern abt? Care to share wif me
?

lollipop

Hi Jas,
Right now I am staying opposite Sims Ville, near Paya Lebar MRT station. The east side. I guess I am very much still an Hougang person.

Motherhood? Erm, no, not anytime soon. At least two years. Would very much love to enjoy spending time with FH. You are thinking of starting a family soon? How many kids do you intend to have?

Hi Catzbella,
Welcome to our thread! Tell us more about ureself!

Erm, just curious, do you like cats?

Obride,
What promotion are you referring to? We didn't have any special deal, just the normal wedding pkg, except that we are taking a 2 night stay. As for the beer, no one from our side drinks it, so we opt not to have it.

I do have a sister who is working in Oriental. It was very coincidental, because after we signed the contract, someone offered her a job. But my banquet will still be handled by Jassie.

Thedevil,
Perhaps both you n ure FH should go for a thorough check-up. Voice out ure concerns to the dr and listen to his advises and answers.

Nowadays, women above 30 are still concieving. Shouldn't be a problem, as long as both parties are healthy.

jas

Hi gd morning gals,

wow, 2day seemed a gd day until it started to rain at my hse
. Was tinking to go shopping later with FH but got to wait for the rain to stop slightly before i can go out as its kinda of raining heavily.....

lollipop(lollipop), well me & FH have been together for 6 yrs oredi, so if i start to have a family early, it might be good as we have been thru the er-ren-shi-jie for too long oredi. Will be more interesting to add member to our family tree, moreover my mum is quite anxious to be a granny...
. Btw, i will definitely would like to have 2 children, preferably a girl & boy, HAHAHA!!! Me very greedy hor! But aniway, will be very happy if my future children be happy & healthy, i guess tis is more impt than anytink else....
Well, anybody is preparing for their GUODALI oredi.. As next mth is lunar 7th mth, i guess it will b better if u gals can prepare b4 the lunar 7th mth, as its always not gd to prepare auspicous tinks during tat mth. Mayb, u gals can update me wat hv u prepare. i m afraid to leave out tinks tat is impt tat i have not prepare yet
!!!
Aniway, enjoy ur wkend! & keep tis forum running!!!

thedevil

hi jas,

i m turning 26 end this yr...so the earliest i can b a mommy is 27! i feel this is the oldest i wld like to go for my 1st kid. my vry gd friend is my age n she's carrying her 2nd one liao!!! i feel being a young mother at 24 has its plus n minus pt....hee tt's wat my FH n me wanted last time...but our life changes so waited till now then get married.

we'v been together for 7+ yrs, then i went flying n after tt we went studying together overseas....so i m not too concern abt '2 ren world'...anyway i'll b sttaying wif in-laws for 1+yr...by the time we move out n enjoy space alone...i'll b turning 28!! so might as well hv kid asap loh.

my worries??? overall i m a vry pessimistic person... all i hope for is a healthy n normal child.....u know wat i mean? actually my friend told me its normal to worry if the child is normal but its beyond our control...somehow i m juz terrified. also i'v not had chix pox yet...so in delimna whether to go for vacination.

lollipop

Hi Jas, thedevil,
FH and I have been together for more than 8 years. It may seem long to alot of ppl, and that we should have kids right away. But that's not our priority now. At least 1 and 1/2 years. I still want to enjoy being married, and we might take awhile to recoup our expenses, if you get what I mean

Thedevil,
I went for the chicken pox vaccination few years back. 2 dosages. $85/jab if I dun remember wrongly. get vaccinated and you won't have to worry you'd pass it to ure kid next time.

obride

Hi I'm also with FH for 5 years, and we are not planning family till 2 years later, and I'm OLD compared to u gals.... so don't worry,... i am planning close shop by 35-36, and i hope to have at least 1 girl 1 boy,..... hehe, this is assuming i have no prob conceiving then. Anyway need to take chance bcos we really want to have some time and holidays alone b4 the kids come.

lollipop

Hi Obride,
My sentiments exactly! If the kids come, we won't really have time for each other anymore as most of the time we will be exerting our energy looking after them

This was one of the reasons why we do not intend to go to Australia for our honeymoon. FH feels that we could bring the kids to Australia anytime, since it is a family country, however places like London/ Japan, you would have to wait for them to grow up, then bring them along. Otherwise they will be too young to appreciate the sights around them. Dunno if I am making any sense

I would love my first child to be a boy. Of course it is not something we can control or forsee. We'll just let nature takes it course.

bluechin

Irene,

I just went for manicure and pedicure at Nail Art today....

Also went for final studio fitting as well....

Monday will be my PS. very excited.

Do any of ya know if there's anything i should prepare to bring for PS?

dance40

Hi bluechin,

relax and if you're a big eater. Bring some snacks and drinks.

Ask your hubby to bring a book coz he will have to wait for you each time you change hairstyle.

How's the manicure? who did for you?

Irene

obride

I have a qn: it's regarding men's shirts. Can you tell me where to get formal men's shirt? The kind with a small triangular collar, not sure what it is called.....

bluechin

Irene,

i think i'll leave the snacks out.... seldom take snacks or tidbits...*SMiLeS*

will tell my hubby to bring along a book or perhaps he could play games with either his palm or mine.

Serene wasn't around that day so i was greeted with a lady called Chris and also Peishan. Peishan did my manicure and pedicure and also some spa scrub on both. She painted my nails in the french manicure way.... Not too bad... quite nice....*SMiLeS*

Really excited....will try to sleep after this msg... slept almost the whole of today's afternoon....Heee!

angeline

Irene & bluechin,

Irene, Nice meeting u on Thur at Nail Art

My PS finally over,very fun & tiring
We went to Sentosa : Child Tree & Siloso Beach & Fullerton for nite shooting. Delon make us climb up the Child Tree to take photos, imagine im wearing a 4" heels ah, so difficult to climb up but with help from my fh & the photographer assistant, i managed to climbed up

Another photographer, Max took us nearby Paris to take some shooting with my indoor EG & Xiao Feng Sian before Delon proceed to Studio shooting

I even rented extra EG for my nite shooting, i changed at Sentosa befoe going to Fullerton

Now waiting to see my photos

dance40

Hi bluechin,

glad to hear that you're satisfied with the manicure.

Hi Angeline,

Guess, your photo will be out now.
How's the manicure?

Irene

lollipop

Oh, I know what you are refering to. Those shirts which you pair them with bow ties right?

Erm, you can try asking frm ure bridal boutique. We did. Afterall, they should be providing a suit for ure FH right? Alternatively you can get it tailor-made, but make sure you have a picture with you.

obride

mine doesn't provide leh, they ask my FH to bring a few shirts himself
Are they supposed to? If yes, I'd call my coordinator and ask

jas

Hi lollipop,

me 2 would like to have a boy for my first birth, as u know lah, old ppl would like to have boys first. Its like if u have a boy first, then the second one you will not feel too stressful...but i like girls too. So i was oso hoping to have a boy & a girl, then it will be a complete family liao. But of coz, tis kind of tink, we can't control, as long as the children is healthy & strong, i will be very happy liao

thedevil, actually i m oso quite a pessimistic person, but i try to control myself & keep on telling myself to be more optimistic & not to think of bad tinks. We have to put ourselves in a nmore optimistic mind as baby will oni come by if we r happy & less stressful.
Aniway, regarding those Chixpox jab, u can take it now if u r intending to have kids soon. This is bcoz there r 2 jabs, 1 jab at 1 wk interval. & then i tink u have to wait for either 3 mths/6mths b4 u can try conceiving, so if u want better get it done now if not u got to wait for some more time b4 trying. So tink seriously first. Aniway, its juz a mild jab, i oso took it abt 4 yrs back & it was suppose to last for 21yrs....

angeline

Irene,

I like my manicure very much, ask Chris to paste some flowers thingys on my wedding band finger

Their services is great

Bluechin,

Just relax & your photos will turn out very nice

lollipop

Hi Obride,
My studio provides groom's shirts, ties, pants and coats. Mebbe you can check with ure studio if they can provide the shirt as well? Try to nego.

Hi Jas,
We believe that, as a elder brother, he can look after his younger siblings.