(2002) Brides of year 2002

jenjen

starfruit, aiyoh... u deleted the Nov list leow ah?? my email is [email protected]

dance40, talk to you on MSN, gimme a msg when you are in...

can keep the rejected photos meh?? dun think Paris allows right??

dance40

Cannot keep the raw photos.
I want it too but Andrew say, cannot. He mentioned that becoz of the contract with the lab, those that we choose only, they will pay the lab but for those that we did not choose, they will give it back to lab and destroy.

Sad case rite?

If only i got more money.

Irene

meggie

Hi mushroom and cracker
I am also having my banquet at Hilton Ballroom. Can you share your experience? How's their service. The most worrying part of the entire wedding for me is the banquet thing, many things not within our control. Did you use their projector to give a presentation? Would love to hear from you. and the suite, does it have separate rooms? I hope there are at least 2 big mirrors(not counting the one in the toilet) becos my MIL & mum also getting makeup in the suite.

angeline

Irene,

Aiyo, why like that?? Since they destroy it, why cant they just give it to us leh??? Very stupid, rite???
But hor, my colleagues ( Milan ) she's able to get back her rejected photos leh, why she can & we cannot????

tomyam

I think my guo da li is on 21/9. My MIL already got me my si dian jin. It's less than $1000 and my aunt suan me why I save $ for her since I am the only DIL to her. Pai seh what, the thick ones really obiang and I doubt she will pay for diamond set. Lucky I chose another item, a diamond pendant which she will give to me during the tea ceremony.
Don't know, my H2B has different ideas from me for the bedsheet design. So up to now, still haven't buy. He don't like those with embrodiery. We just have to spend more time shopping for it. luckily still got 2+ months to go until the 'an chuan'.
Hi the devil, great that you enjoyed your photoshoot. Can share photos with each other.
I have engaged O Studio for actual day photography and videography. Quite worried about the videography, seems like very little p'ple have used them for that. Don't know if they can come out with a good presentation CD for my banquet.

bluechin

Angeline,

U better book soon... in case they have no slots that day but i think they should have.

Your PS will be this sat izzit.... r u excited?

Irene,

so sad can't take back the raw pics.... by colleague also managed to get all her pics back...she took from Chris Ling.

Starfruit,

Could i have yr list too.... my email address is [email protected]

angeline

Bluechin,

Will do so later!
My PS is this Friday, excited & anxious leh, scare photos turn out not nice

Look like we really cant take back the raw photos liao!

Starfruit,

Can share with me too?
My email address : [email protected]
Thanks so much

Angelia aka da jie da,

How's your preparation liao??

jas

Hi all gals,

can i know the dates for ur GUO DA LI tingee. Juz need to see whether i have pick a gd day for GUO DA LI. Need to be a auspicous date too.

Well, tomyam, i find tat u better get the sheets ready first as time will be running beri fast so by the time u finally decided to get, u might ended up choosing the wrong one when its running late. Juz settle the miscellaneous things first, if not u will have no time as time is running pretty fast....
Very anxious & excited!!!Aniway, mi "an chuang" 2molo as we have order the bed liao. So do our hse first & then settled the wedding preparations later. Got so much tiks 2 do & seem like not enuf time as days goes by....
Anibody knows whether is there any travel fairs ard besides the Sept'02 NATAS fair. Seems a bit rush if i were to book then. Thanx.

behappy

Hi brides,

My GUO DA LI is the same date as Loreal and my future sister in law will bring all the things to my parents house.

I have bought all my things and me too did not buy the LONG FONG ZU my mom use red packet to represent.

actually the girl will buy the LONG FONG ZU and then pass it to the guy side and the Guy will light it during the actual day of the wedding that how so my momwill give them the hong bao and see whether they want to buy or not. is their wish.

my GUO DA Li stuffs is just like OCH 2 bottles of liquor, 18 oranges and some boxes of cakes and also pig leg (can) and the PING JIN that all.

Hi Happy 98,

so how now have you settled your tables problem maybe you can cut down your guest list invite only wife or husband don't invite two that you can save alot of space.

me too in the midst of preparing my guest list and also with the GUO DA LI and will be sending out invitation card end of this month, all my card already written all my guest name so far so good.

did anyone buy wedding lamp? I bought to light it during my wedding day for the whole night.

II bought the traditional type of wedding lamp quite cute small small and light with battery.

angeline

I need help urgently!! I need to print my invitation cards liao, but i dunno how to fill in the groom's & bride's position in the family.

FH : An elder sister follwed by FH

ME : An elder Brother, followed by ME , followed by my younger brother.

What shd i address our position, can we write only son & daughter for ENGLISH & " YUO NAN " & "XIAO NU" for MANDARIN??

pinky

Hi gals, long time no see, this is Pinky here. i've gone for my photoshoot last thursday. it was fun and not as tiring as i thot. we spent long hrs in the studio though, left at 5pm only for outdoor and went only 1 location.

angeline, hw was the outing at traders last time? must be fun? when's the next outing going to be?

hi jul, initially i thot of going mtm shoes also but also think it's not worth it cos only worn once. but i've been to metro but cant find any suitable shoes.. erm where else can i find white cover-toes beaded shoes? i've already got 1 strappy silver shoes bought from JB at only RM50

hw is the rest designs for the gowns? all done? my mtm gown is ok already but for eg, most prob will take a otr one cos not likely they will mtm for me, even though the contract did mention can mtm if cannot find.

mushroom

Hi Meggie,

Everything went well for my wedding dinner at Hilton. Some feedback that the food was good. Service was ok. I didn't not hear major plates crashing or cutlery dropping noises (maybe the music was too loud ?) You should feel safe. Overall is ok, so don't worry.

Yes i used their projector to screen my presentation. It was more convenient. If you used ur own projector, they would have to set it up on one particular place(i find it not very nice) and it could only be projected on one screen. (Hilton has 2 screens).

The suite is HUGE, It has one living area and another bedroom. Both separated by doors. There is one bathroom in the bedroom and a washroom (can't bathe) the living area. It has 3 huge mirror in the bedroom. One infront of the dressing table, one in the toilet and a full length one in the entrance of the bedroom. I think it should be enough.

Don't worry so much okie. Everything will turn out well. On that evening, the hotel captain will help you through all so it will be fine.
Have fun !

Btw, when's ur wedding ?

starfruit

me a MIlan Bride too, i managed to get back some of my rejected photos(about 8 of them only lah). I have been too lazy to scan, will try and scan soon so that ic an post and share themn with girls.

starfruit

Angeline : i can't help u . can your hotel/restaurant help u in this? i can go look at some of the sample invites that i have recived and feedback to u.

blossom

hi och,
my place is at punggol. bt most of my furniture. shld be delivered within these 2 weeks. still sourcing for my study table and book shelves. any recommendations?

angeline

Starfruit,

Thanks, would like to hear your feedback

JenJen,

My wedding on 19 Nov, too early to print meh?? My coordinator called me up to fax the copy to them liao!

liz

Hi Blossom,

you can try to source at vhive at great world city or Funan The IT Mall. I bought my furniture from them, quite nice.

Have you go for your trial make-up? I will be having May for my actual day make-up if she is available on that day.

crayon2512

Hi Jas
I wil be having my wedding and dinner on the same day 4Oct. Dinner wil be held at Pin Hsiang Rest.(at RELC).I had collected the invitation cards from them and gone for food tasting :p All done early as they wil be closed for renovation soon.
My guo da li wil be on 21 Sep.think 3 weeks should be sufficient for us to send out the invitation cards and the cake.

I haven't got the bedsheet for my bed yet coz we had not buy it yet. I wil be staying wif in-laws for the time being..not sure if i should buy a good,exp furniture for the room as my new hme wil only be ready next year. We wil stay in his sis's room first. think we can't buy the bed yet..maybe 2 weeks before wedding..

jowie

hi starfruit, tks i will check wif MM

Anyone know the guo da li customs for cantonese groom and teochew bride?
actualli i tot my mom dunno anything then i also pretend pretend, my bf bring the dowry and wedding cakes can liao, but i almost forget dat, parents will always say no need no need then when the day come everything also need!! like my wedding date, actually settle in dec this yr...have been announcing the date for half a year and when going to book the hotel, mom insist we check wif fortune teller....

cherly

Yalor, Angeline, is too early to print the invitation card now. My wedding is on 8 Nov but have not settle our guest list and arrange for seating yet.

angeline

JenJen & Cherly,

I oso not very sure leh, they told us to fax the copy to them, they will check thru & refax it back to us for checking again before they really start printing the insert lor!

och

hi blossom,

if u dun mind the open book shelves, scanteak book shelves r quite sturdy. ikea also hv some, though i dun find them as sturdy.

for me, i prefer closed shelves, so that my books dun get dusty. for my rm in my parents' place, i bought living room cupboards (those without glass doors) to act as my book shelves.
i got the shop to add shelves. the open shelves where the tv is, i place my stuff toys, photo frames n letters. the cupboards r deeper than normal book shelves, so files n large books fit comfortably in them. my brother is doing the same for his rm too.

tables wise, vhive n ikea hv gd variety.

tomyam

Relieved to hear that. How much they charge for the projector? When should I let them know if I need to use the projector? My dinner is in Oct.
How's the parking thing? I got 10% of the coupons for parking at the URA carpark last Sat. Are they supposed to exchange for another coupon on the actual day?

tomyam

Hi Sancai
The package cost $2000 for 8 rolls and video with evening presentation (exclude projector) and photo montage, separate days surcharge.

pinkapple

hi pinky,

I had my fotoshot abt 3 weeks ago. so all my gowns done liao. anyway they're all off-the-rack.

which bridal r u with?

pinky

Hi pinkapple, where did u go for ur photoshoot? i went to raffles marina but must pay a fee, quite ex lor

hw is ur gowns like? my mtm gown is a bare-back a-line gown, for eg, most prob will be chosing a green color a-line bustier. but dunno if a green color eg will be 'obiang' anot?

hv u seen ur proofs photos liao? i heard that the proofs are very fast lor can see in a week's time. i still waiting for them to call me lor. my bridal shop is Yvonne Creative. wat's ur?

pinkapple

Hi pinky,

I went to pasir ris park fishermen's village. free one.

My gown's spaghetti strap w a long train w embriodery. the back's not so low.

erm. for my EG, it's bare back spaghetti strap too. cutting is mermaid. and guess what color is it?
it's lime green.. ha.

erm... obiang or not I reckon it depends on what shade of green loh.

what' s proof fotos? are they those that they print out for u to choose? if yes then I've seen n chosen mine liao.

I have a good friend w Yvonne Creative. Her wedding's next June.

starfruit

jenJen:

I suggest u give MM a call, just quote ur wedding date and they should be able to advise u from there. By the way, who is ur events manager? mine is Beng Khoon. and i was contacted by a girl name Linda. If u need, i can pass u her number.

I have also sent the email to u. have u received it yet?

starfruit

All : i was advise by my hotel that i should prepare to send my invites for printing in laste August and i should receive all printed sleeves in september. By early Oct, the invites should be sent out.

However, the hotel staff has also mentioned that because the 7th month (hungry Ghost festival) is starting on 9 Aug, some ppl do not like to prepare for auspicious event during this time, so everything has to be pushed early to july and completed by start Aug to avoid this 7th month. If u wait till the 7th month is over, it will be too late for ur prepapration. so now i am rushing too. think i will do my priniting in late august, cannot make it by 1st week of august lah.

jas

Hi Crayon2512,

for me, i will holding in Ocean Garden Restaurant at Paragon on 05Oct'02. Like the idea of settling everytik at 1 go. If not, beri stressed hor....

Well, i will staying at a new resale flat in the West. Bought it in Feb'02, have oredi renovated the hse & juz waiting 4 my furniture & d rest of the items to be delivered tis mth.

Actually, i dun like to stay wif in-laws leh, sori to be blunt lah, but kinda like "er-ren shi jie"....but i tik u got no choice too. Hows ur in-law like aniway, if they r nice, i tik its ok lor....Aniway, furniture is not so impt as ur bed lor, as u need to an-chuan... so get a gd bedframe is more impt, the rest of furniture can wait till u shifted to ur new hse, then u buy lor. If not, by the time, mayb the furniture trend will change liao...
Aniway, me will be collecting my cards end of tis mth. & aniway i never go 4 food-tasting as my mother-in-law says no point as the food on tat day will not taste as delicious as the food-tasting session. So WASTE OF $$$!!! So we never go as she say pointless.

lollipop

I guess most of us would love to stay in our own hse. That way, we can enjoy "er ren shi jie" and at the same time, you dun have to be accountable to anyone else 'cept ure husband.

Crayon, I think you can get the bed. Some Chinese dun like the idea of a married couple reusing a mattress. You can buy a queen size bed and then have it move to ure future hse when it's ready. Wardrobes wise, think you can recycle.

Jas, I thought restaurants usually serve better food than hotels do? Why did ure MIL say the food prepared during the food tasting session will be better than actual dinner's?

pinkapple

HI pinky,

raffles marina is a yatch club? pardon my suah-ku-ness. =p

saw VeeKee's fotos. Think her dinner at Raffles Marina oso. very grand place.

cracker

cant remember wat is the charge for the projector,,probably abt 200 odd ?..u can inform them when u are meeting them just prior to the actual day...as for the parking,,sad to say,,hilton parking space is rather limited...

for the URA coupon,,the driver can exchange for those 90cts coupon when they enter the compound of hilton,,there will be a staff to do the exchange,the number of URA coupon given will depend on the time of arrival.

the rest of the coupon which will be given either during the last meeting or on the actual day,,will be those for one - one exchange,,meaning the driver will drive into the undergrd carpark ,,and a coupon to be exchanged for a exit coupon at the reception table. lastly due to the limited space,,hilton staff will do the parking for ur guests after a certain timing, FOC, in order to maximise the space.Alternately,,to save all the troubles,,,u can ask ur frens to park at either forum gallery or far east shopping centre for just $2 !

blossom

hi liz,
i like vhive too but my fh doesn't really like it. sigh, guys can be picky too.

i haven't gone for my trial makeup. i think i should be fixing the appt when i collect my album.

when are u collecting ur photos? i called alan to ask whether i can get back the samples. he said cant beocs i din order extra 30 photos. he promised to chk for me again and call me back but he din. sigh, shld i plead until he agree?

hi och,
i prefer shelves with doors but a few open shelves is ok. hmm... ur idea sounds great. i will try sourcing for nice ones. thks!

dance40

Hi Starfruit,

Thanks for your list.

By the way, regarding the candles, I abit confuse.
Coz my mum ask my relatives, they told her, men side must give us 2 set and return 1 set (both phoenix) to them.

But his mum say that we should give them the candles.

How?

Irene

pinky

Hi pinkapple, yup, raffles marina is yacht club. ya, veekee's photos also from there. the place is nice lor with the background of the boats but other than that, nothing special lah.

yes, proof photos are wat u hv mentioned. hw much photos did u redevelop? did u manage to get back those proofs?

my eg is abit dark green in color which i dont quite like but then the design and beadings are
nice so dont know if i should take. i think lime green is nice leh, at least looks younger than dark green.

erm, pasir park got fishermen village, is it? is it those pubs and resturants that are situated near the beach?

angeline

Irene & Starfruit,

Groom's side will buy 2 pairs of " Long Feng Zu " to bride's side & bride's side have to return a pair of " Long Feng Zu " back to them so that on actual day of wedding, both side will light up their " Long Feng Zu " lor! This is what my shifu ( the one who help me select my date ) & FPIL told me leh!

crayon2512

Hi Jas
Didn't your restaurant provide free food tasting? or must u pay for it? won't it be a waste not to try the food? at least u can let them know what food is good and which to exchange?

I wil be buying a new divine bed and simple wardrobes. Got a qn to ask, is it okay for us not to move the bed to our new hse? heard from old people tat we newly wed must move the bed..if not no good.. i hate the trouble of moving the bed all the way to new hse. extra $$ spend and the effort. any suggestions?

loreal

Hi! Blossom/Liz,
So now the topic have changed to trial make up huh?.. Obviously our wedding mth is coming closer.. And me start to get headache esp. with issues that need parents involvement.. Invitation card printed out liao.. 300pieces bronze hot-stamping with inserts cost only $150. Ask parents to write and tie the strings.. they say troublesome..sigh..sigh..

Liz, U getting May as your make up artist? For nite as well? So when u going for trial make up? Tell us more when u go for your trial make up hor. By the way, i hvn't even select my tea dress.. My parents lagi slow they havn't even buy clothes for my wedding day..I knew they r gonna do it last min again..buay tahan..

Blossom, how many extras did u choose? If its close to the limit of 30 mayb its possible to "plead" for it.. But if its not then it might put Alan into difficult position.. Cos he not the boss mah..jus like us "tah-gong" one.. got to follow co. policy.. Treat it as it u manage to get its a bonus , else jus forget it lor.. hv u finish writing your invitation cards?