(2002) Brides of year 2002

cowie

Hi Blossom,
Oh I see... then in this case, whatever agreement you have with the photographer, be it how many rolls to take, who developing, etc... make sure it is stated clearly

And congrats! See that you have moved into your love nest

jul

My bridal shop ties up with Greenpoint so we'll be getting our flowers from them.

I'm also looking for the shoes.... big headache. Substance has quite nice shoes right? Will go check them out when I can.....

happy98

soori for having MIA for so long..... really busy with the house. wow, u pp already talking abt guo da li while i hv not even arranged for the parents to meet up. we hv just started to look into our wedding needs and we now already facing a big prob. the restaurant can only accomodate 32 tables while now our list is abt 36 tables. so now must think of a nice way how not to invite partners of those frens and collegaues. ;-(

btw, do we have to reserve a seat for the makeup artise?

hi blossom
mine package also includes everything. did u check with him how come other pp include while he doesn't?? what kind of package did u sign up?

jastan

Long time not been here. Very very very busy with work and also just completed my PS on last Friday (5/7). Quite tiring but I have Saturday to rest.

I prepare for the PS quite last minute too. Went to have manicure on Thursday night at The Nail Place in Taka. Know of this place through my colleague who just got married in June. Not bad and quite reasonable too ($25).

Overall, everything turns out okay. PS is fun but initally is quite difficult to get things started as my FH and me are inexperience and take us a while to get used to it and relax so that it can be more natural. Initally, decided to go Sentosa but last minute after talking with Delon changed to labrador park (evening time in-between sunset) and near old Parilment House along Boat Quay to the bridge in front of Fullerton Hotel (for the night shots). Started at 11am and reach the bridal shop at slightly before 8pm. I think my outdoor photos will be slightly more than indoor.

I believe for photo selection, seems that Andrew is the only one dealing with it. For mine, it is him as well. Whatever it is, I hope the photos will turns out well. I am quite fleshy and hope the 'slimming' effect will be nice. By the way, during PS, the photographer did instruct us to have simile to which degree.

Now, have to settle church wedding issues and also look for those lingerie to use especially for my WG and EG. Anyone knows where can I shop for strapless and backless lingerie? I don't want to use those fitted with the WG and EG as it does not suit me well especially on the EG. I was searching like mad before the PS but couldn't find it.

My wedding will be a month earlier than you gals, I have pending items on honeymoon, room and bathroom furnishing, facial package, wedding programs for the day and at the church. In addition, have so many office work pending, I am so stressful.... sometime I just feel like quiting my work, almost cannot take it.

Anyone have any recommendation on facial packages?
As for my honeymoon, plan to go USA but most feedback I got is 'Ahhh... why USA, now not so safe leh'. Oh, I am having headaches.......

So much things and issues inside me but no where to pour.....

Indeed, wedding preparation is no fun.... I have not registered at the ROM yet...

Okay, talk to you again some other days... Got to work now....

Adiyos....

fanasia

I am also in the midst of preparing for my Guo DA Li..got some problems here..really frustrating..dunno wat to do..

my parents wanted 'Long Feng Zhu'(Dragon and Phoenix candles)..thou we didn't got any altar nor really a buddist nor taoism..they say they wanted to have them as it's a tradition..they say they will place them on the table or watever, for the 'qi feng'(atmosphere).. They also say, it's a must, everyone will definitely have them for weddings.. they also say it's a auspicious things..

When I convey to my hubby mother, she say they dun want, cause it's more needed if we have a religion or pray to some gods..(my hubby mother a free thinker..) adding on, she says some people say it's not really good to have these (when not having any religion)..she mentioned that some pple say, having such candles, if any one of the candles (dragon denote guy, and phoenix denotes girl) finish burning first will denote who will leave the human world first (!)..

thus got quite a unpleasant experience with all these...just a question, do you gals have those candles for guo da li? one side says good, another side says it's bad..who's right??

kat22

Hi, gals!

MIA from this thread for a long time too!

Happy98 - i dun think we have to reserve a seat for make-up artist rite? Thot they wld hv left after the make-up?? I am in the same situation as you...our guest list just keep growing! Now trying hard to trim down! What i did was to hv a reserve list lor..in case people in my priority list cannot make it, i can use the reserve list

Fanasia - My mom declined to have the dragon and phoenix candles 'cos we do not have an altar at home. What she asked for guo da li are just cakes, 18 mandarin oranges and 2 bottles of liquor. I guess it is not a must for weddings lor...Maybe can explain to your mum why your MIL suggest not giving the candles...most parents quite superstitious one mah..tell them abt the who will leave the human world first thingy, i am sure they will hv second thots..hahaha
Perhaps instead of getting the real stuff, how abt just getting a hongbao as a representative?

och

hi fanasia,

i'm hving the same problem too! my parents dun want the candles, cos they r leaving for the hotel right after the tea ceremony, the candle cannot be left lighted in an empty house.
but my in laws insisted on the candles, so my parents r proposing that they buy only a pair of candles to burn at their place, while we skip this part. can u propose something similar?

blossom

hi cowie,
i haven't move in yet. will oni move in after my wedding. it's so inconvenient now. i wonder how do i go to work after i move in... sigh!

hi happy98,
my actual day photography is included in my wedding package with cc.

jenjen

Hey Jowie, I dun know abt the decors... and am sure gonna get fed up if they ask me to pay... watever, I'm going to insist not going to pay for anything else other than the tables price... will follow up on the thread and keep you inform should I get any info... you do keep us inform too...

Jas, I heard that many gals actually got Jennifer to do it for them... why dun you ask?? If you dun mind, then tahan Andrew lor... maybe will be a blessing in disguise... as in u see his face until sian, so will limit ur choice of photos and ultimately, save some money... hehehe...

dance40

Hi starfruit,

can i have a copy too. Coz my mum always say anything but end up it might becomes a lot of things so must show her some SOP so that it won't bomb. By the way, which side should give the dragon and phoenix candles? My mum say they should give us two set we return the set of phoenix but his mum say we should give them.
Hows?

I've went down to select photos already.
Andrew is ok lah. He is not so pushy as to what i think.
Basically, when we reach there, he is busy but he still attend to us, show us seats and give us the photo then he leave us there to choose.
He say when we finish choosing then call him.
On the whole, beside in the very beginning he did mention that if we choose extra 20pcs which cost $1,200/-, they'll give us a small album free for the other 20photos .(this is not the album for mum but on other photos which we did not choose).

Other than that, nothing else.

He is quite ok lor, not so bad like the forum mention. I think the other couples there are quite happy too.

He let us think slowly and choose and arrange it on our own (if we insist on certain sequence rather than the traditional way).

Also, he let us choose the album cover and check if stock is available immediately. The one I chosen will be in stock in Sep. So I can only take my Album in End September.

He also did mention that if there is any thing wrong with the album and photos when collection (must check on the spot), they'll change it for us.

SO over all quite ok.

The kua one is quite cute.

Irene

jas

OBride,

same as lollipop, i did not bring any accessories along as the make-up artist will provide u, except the wedding shoes. Btw, i did paint my nails 1 day b4 my PS, & i did bring a bottle of water along for my outdoor shoot as it will get hot & thirsty on the way. U will definitely enjoy it, even though it will b beri tiresome but have fun wif it. Dun worry 2 much & dun drink too much water the nite b4, so tat ur eyes will not b too puffy in the morning. U got to be "meimei" bride.....

angeline

Last Sat, i went for my trial make-up & fitting. My PS is next Fri, so excited

Jas,

Why did u give up Sentosa?? Im thinking of going to Sentosa & Fullerton leh

Irene,

How many extra photos have u chosen?

crayon2512

Hi Curious,
My wedding date is 4Oct, PS is on 19 July.

wat type of nails will u be doing? French manicure or colour painting type?

angeline

HI Everyone,

Work has been really busy and I've had some friends in town. So didn't have time to check the forum as diligently.

I've choose Sarah for my make up artiste, she is much bolder with the hair do. The trial actually took almost 3 hours and we had great fun trying all sorts of different looks.

For the photographer, I have decided to use Ngiap Heng of 'The Pond'. His work is really a piece of art. Very timeless.

For the venue. The Pavillion at Shangri La really got my heart. Still trying to work this place into my budget, wish me luck.

jas

any ideas whether is there any travel fairs on as i tot of going honeymoon 1 day after my wedding. Thinking of going Sydney, due to tight budget, juz hoping to get the best bargain in town. Actually, i went thru the website & found out tat Chan Bros is having a fair in Aug'02, but the exact date is unknown yet. So those who knows more details, kindly pls provide plss.....

Very excited knowing tat i will going overseas so tat i can release my stress after all the wedding hassels. Anybody is oso decorating their hse at tis moment. Any ideas to contribute to hang the big wedding potrait, dun feel like doing it the same old way by hanging on top of the bedroom frame. Too traditional, & any decorative items ideas to contribute, so tat i can make my hse more atmospheric,.......

jul

Hi pinkapple,

I found a shoe I liked in Substance but there was no size for me so had to search elsewhere. And I bought a pair from Hue for only $19!!!

angeline

Irene,

What size did u choosen for your album?? 15R or 18R, so how many u photos u have in total??

What did your fh wear when u wear Kwa??

dance40

Angeline,

Total is 26 photos. Among them 3 of it consist of multiple pose (4 picture in a page).

He wear the 'zhong guo ling' coat.

May match for him and it looks nice on him.

Irene

crayon2512

Hi Jas
U are also thinking of going Australia for holiday? Me too? I plan to go Sydney,Brisbane and Gold Coast somewhere on 9 Nov. I am quite kiasu...had booked the accomodation at Gold Coast liao.Took up the RCI timeshare type(resort stay).Looking out for cheap airticket. Think SIA is having promotion, if four pax go at the same time can be cheaper..

Instead of hanging on the top of the bedroom..maybe u may want to use the type like Japanese foldable photos to put in the room..saw some at Barang Barang.. Or alternatively, u can choose those transparent frame like poster type.to hang..near a certain corridor..

jenjen

dance40 and angeline, do u gals know how much it cost for each additional photo?? I can't remember... wat costumes did u pick and how many changes of clothes har??

dance40

JenJen,

it's $65/- each.
If multiple pose $150/- each.

I got casual, Kua, my WG, my EG, one indoor gown and one outdoor gown.

I think how many costume depends on individual package.

Irene

june02bride

hi fanasia
my wedding was in june, we also didnt buy the candles, instead we used ang pow to represent the candles. like you, we have no specific religion nor altar table. in the beginning, my MIL wanted it, but then again, fren told her an incident, whereby the kitchen (where the candle was burning, caught fire) so she also decided not to have it too. also, with the candles, both side must lit and "go off" at the same time. how can we make this hppn, rite???
juz talk to yr mom nicely, tell her the negative points abt the candles, i m sure she will be reasonable enuff to forgo it

angeline

Irene,

ic, hope not to exceed too much too!

My fh will be wearing "zhong guo ling" coat for PS & actual day too

Last Sat, May let my fh tried alot of coats & reserved 6 suits for him to use during PS.

JenJen,

15R cost $65 & 18R cost $75 if im not wrong!

I will be wearing my mtm WG, mtm EG, indoor EG, Victorian style, Xiao Feng Sian & Outdoor WG.

tomyam

Hi Jas
Yeah, we will be pretty brides on the same day. Who knows, we might bump into each other at some popular outdoor photoshooting location on that day... My banquet is at Hilton hotel but it will be held on the next day. What about yours and thedevil? Jas, when you collecting your albums?
Have you got any photo locations in mind on 5/10?
Hi All, who's engaging make-up artiste for mum and MIL? any recommendations? Ponnie is booked on 6/10 liao. Who got idea where to get pretty, modern and not-too-exp bedsheet/ quilt sets?
I would not be hanging the portrait directly above our heads. Will be hanging at another side.

jas

Hi tomyam,

i might not be going for outdoor shooting on tat day, as i will holding my dinner as well on 05Oct'02. I m afraid tat we will b very rush & tired. Both of us were thinking tat since we oredi have our outdoor shoot during PS for membrance can liao.
I will collecting my album & d rest of photos on 30Aug. Very excited leh...
Btw, when r u holding ur GUO DA LI? Mine will b on 22 Sept'02. So wondering anybody is the same as me?
Aniway, for my bedsheets, i bought Aussino brand. They have a shop at The Paragon. I bought red bedsheets, with golden dragon prints on it. Even though it sounds old-fashioned, but it looks quite modern & nice though & suits the wedding theme. Btw, ur bedsheets r supposed to be red for auspicious reasons. They have quite a lot of varieties & not too old-fashioned. Mi & hubby like it a lot... But of coz, the price is not so consumer-friendly, but still quite reasonable. Once in a lifetime mah, so cannot save lah..... U can take a look there, or other major departmental stores as they carry tis brand as well. & got further discounts if u got the membership card.... KEKEKE!!!

julia andrew

any of u hv collected your photos??? care to share? I have not but looking forward.

jenjen

wah... how many zao xing do u gals have?? keeping it to the number of photos will be tough... irene, were u satisfied with all ur photos?? are they all very nice and difficult to decide wat to pick?? when did u go and choose??

dance40

Hi jen jen,

I went to choose yesterday. Yap quite diff to choose. luckily i brough friends there to help.
Got 6 type in total. Some single, some couple.
So we did something like snap.
Each take the one they like then from the pack of likes filter out the best.
And if still too many, filter again lor.
That's what i did.

Irene

sancai

Hi Crayon2512,

We share the same happiness!! Are you holding yr dinner on 4th Oct as well? Where is yr dinner hold at? I juz finish my PS yester & selecting photos another 2 wks time. Hv u collected yr wedding cards?

Me painting col nails but try to choose light col, mayb peach,pinkish near to skin col etc. mine is light gold col ...

So excited ... approx. 3 mths to go!

Ladies, cannot b lazy must try to do facial, put on eye,night,face,hair cream or whatever now everday to make ourselves meimei 4 our forthcoming big day!

angeline

JenJen,

I have 6 "zao xing" too & i strongly agreed with u, its very difficult to choose lor!!! Somemore i very " huai yan jing" one, everything oso want!

cherly

Hi JenJen,

I think 6 "zao xing" is the most common one. But I have 7 becos I brought my ROM dress for PS too, I love my ROM dress a lots and my bridal shop agree to let me have additional one.

My photo is ready for collection but got no time to collect it.

sancai

By the way will u be engaging viedogarpher 4 actual day? Any gd lobang to recommend, me hvn't source yet ... hv 2 be fast or else too late!

corrie

HI Jul,

WOw...$19 for a pair of shoes from Hue is a steal. Their shoes are really very expensive. Din find anything I like there too. Actually, I have bought a pair from Riccino but dunno whether it can match my EG and WG well. Will be going down for my fitting next Tuesday. Keep my finger crossed that they do match than I can save money. If not, lok like I have to go down to take a look at Substance.

flo

Hi Pinkapple,

Really sorry that i missed your email! I overlooked !!!! Owed you big time.... you see, i thot u'd be calling me to confirm. I don't usually check my hotmail. hee hee

Ok, so i haven't meet my designer yet for the talk on EG deisgn, neither have i confirm guest list.. etc Think i'm taking it easy for now!

Bogged down by other stuff like work!!

keep the thread going, gals!

jul

Hi pinkapple,

I really like the shoe from Substance but my sister doesn't think so and my FH finds it so-so only.... so I might look around some more..... no stress now since I already have a pair... I'm going to Bangkok later this month so maybe there will be more options there? Hehehe...

starfruit

Jenjen and Dance : pls provide me ur email address again, will mail teh list to u.

Jowie and JenJen: my date is on the 4th of NOv. and MM contacted me last week. Jowie, u better give them a call to find out more.
I dun think u have to pay the the floral aisle. Its part of my package in the contract. dun think we gotta pay extra

fanasia

Hi Gals..

Talk to my mum regarding the 'leaving the world' thingy..she critized!! SHe says where got such things one..sigh..even kinda blame my hubby mother why say this thing of things to us..so bo bian one lah..she WANTS the candles.

The solution now from her:
We still buy the candles and send 2 over..she will burn but not us..we will just hang..
Haven't tell my hubby mother..
hope she's ok with that..

bluechin

Hi JenJen,

I've got 7 zao xing... Having my PS on Monday (15th July 2002) after trying to convince my boss to let me take the day off.

Irene,

I'll going to Nail Art this weekend. Do you think they r good? How were yr PS pics? Looks Good?

lollipop

Hi Tomyam,
Er, I have nvr thought of this qn at all. But seriously speaking, I dun think my mother and FMIL will want to engage a make-up artiste for that day. Usually they do apply make-up, so I guess there will not be any problem.

Yeah, when it comes to the portrait, it can be quite a headache. Initially we didn't want the portrait, but we needed a photo outside Chijmes. We may also not be hanging the picture behind the bed, we'll think of a way when the design of our house is finalised. No point adding another burden.

Sancai,
You want to try Rhema? They are located at Orchard Hotel Shopping Arcade. If I am not wrong, they are having a promotion under July's issue. If you want details, you can try searching from this forum.

Good luck.

BTW, Rhema is my actual day photographer.

dance40

Hi starfruit,

my email add is [email protected]

Hi bluechin,

they are quite ok. look for serene if possible.
I think she is good.
If not, the other staffs are quite professional too.

my PS pics looks nice. not as extreme as what i had for my personal portfolio in the past.
quite normal bot too shocking.

once my album is ready, i'll try to scan and put on line for you all to view. but it'll be end sep/oct.

Irene

jastan

Hi Angeline,

I gave up Sentosa bec. upon discussion with the photographer. He asked me which part of Sentosa do I want as it is very big. So I told him I want to go to the central beach and also the place where the 'child tree' is, and also the central portion where the musical fountain is. So as told, he said that for the central portion it will be more beautiful in the night. If I want, will have all outdoor picture taken there.

As he suggest, if I like beaches, sea, trees kind of background, labrador park also have similar settings. After which can go to fullerton area to take night scene shoots. After discussion with my FH, I decided to go for his suggestion as I have took some casual photos end last year when I was there (although not as good as professional). I think it will be better then to have something different, morever, I have not taken any pictures at the two places before.

So far, I am not disappointed with the places as there are some spots which are pretty nice too.

Whatever it is, just enjoy yourself and go to the place where you like to go.

dance40, have you tried asking Andrew on issue whether can we have all those raw photos that were taken for the entire photoshoot? I want to have those as well although some might not looks good. I want to have them for memories and have my own photoshooting event writeup.

thedevil

hi tomyam,

yes mayb u want to try Aussino for yr bedsheet...to me its a rather expensive brand...>$100 for juz quilt cover n pillow cover. but the mat'l is vry comfy. wat type u lookinf for? coz metro's aussino got sale, certain design is going at 1/2 the pr...there's 1 red one wth circular embroidary tt i like but my/FH good friend wedding last sat, they used it...so my FH dont wan to buy the same.

today's my photoshoot....so fast over liao
. after studio...we opt to go sentosa coz our wedding at Rasa...so kim brought us to a few place there. thank God that the weather was good...thought at times its really hot.

angeline

Bluechin,

Im going to Nail Art on Thur but i haven book apptmt yet.

Jas,

Oh no, what shd i do??? I like Siloso beach (if im not wrong) there's a bridge connecting to a small island, this is where i like most!

Think have to discuss with Delon & see how lor

Irene & Jas,

Ya lor, can we request to keep those rejected photos, i want to keep them as sweet memories too!