(2002) Brides of year 2002

sancai

Hi lollipop,

It's okie, we ur just being curious with each other! My bridal is Whitelink & going to Puala Ubin 4 my PS! What abt yrs? Which bridal,venue & locations 4 PS? Are u satisfied wth yr photos? Anything u can advise me b4 PS?

Cheers ;p

lollipop

Hi Sancai,

You signed up with White Link? I went in to look at their pkg before I signed up with GHA Tampines. We went to East Coast Park, Marina South and Singapore Art Museum for our photoshoot. It was a hot day, but overall, it was quite fun. Yes, we are satisified with our photos. In fact, we love most of the outdoor shots.

Hmm, you and ure FH should have a good breakfast, and if you can, just bring along water. I am not sure if ure studio provides water, and whether there will be any time for you to grab a few bites before you go to Pulau Ubin. Just eat something lor. And, erm, go with a freshly-scrubbed face. You may want to apply sun block?
And the most impt thing, is to relax! Mr Photog will most likely tell you, "Look at flower", "Look at that tree and smile....", "Look at your hubby lovingly" etc... just relax and enjoy the session ok?

Hope the above helps

pinkapple

Hi apple,

yah. they're the one who sell wholesale flowers. price wise for deco I think quite the market price... not exactly a lot cheaper, I'd say.

they'll go to the church n take a look.

the other time wen I went down, my bf already took lotsa fotos of the church so we can show to peisan n discuss from there. but she'll go down n take a look again.

starfruit

ya.. me kinda getting worried.. feel like time is slipping past so fast and i still have not really sorted out all my stuff. I think the guest list is still the most important, must try and sort that out first. The rest will just come fairly easily.

JenJen: r u taking the grandballroom at MM or the one on the 5th floor. any idea when MM will contact u?

Angelia: I am hokkien and my hubby is hainanese. my mum quite inisitant that my hubby family follow the hokkien guo da li customery. here is what my hubby needs to prepare for me.

Guo da li day:
1. Two gold bangles from my mother-in-law <-- this is a must, i wanted to exchange the 2 gold bangles for a white gold one but my mum say no *sigh*
2. cakes for the brides family
3. 20 cans of pig trotters (Zhu Jiao)
4. 2 bottle of wine or liquor
5. 10 oranges i think.

Actual Day:
1. Roast pig. to come back with the bride when I go back to my mum's place for the tea ceromany
2.A side of a pig trotters (fresh meat) that comes with an ang pow. I think it must be the left side or something

Thats all i can remember. i am sure there were a few other things but i can't seem to recall.

My mother-in-law say i must prepare a set of pajamas one for me and one for my hubby and also some dates, lian zi, sweets etc etc on the actual day.

what about the rest of u gals? how r u preparing the guo da li.

All: i have not gone with my mum-in-law to get the gold yet.. think she is quite busy. anyway i am not in a hurry too. hey, do we need to get gold, do u girls think its rude if i get my hubby to hint to my mum-in-law that i prepare white gold instead? what do u all think?
how about honeymoon. anyone planned anything yet?

starfruit

jenjen

hey gals, dun make me panic leh... so fast guo da li, so fast confirm guest list... a bit early rite??

angelia, think u should talk to ur ILs... though they din say anything, if u consult them, they will feel happier...

starfruit... I DUNNO!! how come u so fast one!? I haven't even go for photoshoot yet... can u do me a favour?? can u confirm the list of things with ur mum to prepare for bride and groom sides for guo da li/actual day and email me the details pls?? I'm at a loss abt these stuff... will be following Hokkien customs so think I better ask u...
I've asked my MIL to prepare a list but think she haven't done it yet... too busy wif her 2 new grandchildren... thanx in advance...

aprmin

we hv also discussed abt guo da li liao..
i was quite pissed off with my MIL coz when my grandma verbally told her wat to get for guo da li, she did not write down, claiming she got super sonic memory!
wait til she forget some stuffs, then she know!

starfruit, most of stuffs mention are quite similar to mine.
I am canto, my hubby is teochew.
my MIL gotta get 4pc gold,liquor, pork leg

poor me, hv to get spitton, basin, toothbrush set, etc.. now headache, don know where to place after marriage.
we must also get bedside lamp, bedroom slippers

dance40

Hi Starfruit,

me too. I'm hokkien and my hubby is hainanese.

I ask my aunt, she say we need his side to give us,

1) 2 bottles of wine
2) cakes
3) zhu jiao guan
4) Si dian jin (bangles ok lah but they buy si dian jin liao)
5) Pin Jin
6) I don't remember the rest.

And then we return them

1) 2 bottle of drinks
2) some zhu jiao guan
3) A bit of money return from the pin jin
4) I don't remember liao

All i know is that how many items they give us, we must return the same amount.

Also the candles from them and we return the phoenix one to them, they requested the teapot and cups for the tea ceremony etc.

And for actual day,

The pig leg, some cake (for helper to eat)

For tea ceremony,

my mum need to give him

(hainanese style)

1) the 'shuan pan'
2) 2 pen
3) the traditional 'Jin dui' (don't know what is this)

NOt sure if i miss anything.

Irene

pinkapple

Hi Corrie!

strappy heels with crystals? I didn't notice. mayb my mind already told my eyes to filter them out. ha.

I have ugly feet too. very wide in fornt. so cannot fit into most shoes. or rather, don't look good in most shoes.

erm close toe one ah? taka oso have leh. they carry this brand: substance. they have these v nice close toes ones w beads. v suitable for weddings. too bad they're too pointy for my wide feet.

I can't really go for those thin straps shoes or those that show too much feet. but surprisingly my white shoes show quite a bit of my feet. so u don't have to go strictly for close toes one lah. just try n see loh.

yah loh it's better to get a florist who has done the church before. but the only one I know who has done up my church is Steffii and I'm not particularly impressed w them. so decided to get another one.

apple

hi corrie,

I also haven't asked Peter yet! Sigh...trying to come up with a theme for the wedding leh...so tough. Those of you who booked hotels easier rite? They ahve ready themes for you to choose from. Any idea what themes are there out there anyway? heehee....

hi cutiepie!!
long time no talk. how're u? how's the flat? must visit each other leh, coz me also punggol!

corrie

Hi Pinkapple,

Does your heels have crystals/diamontes too? Well, I tried on a pair of strappy heels and my God....my feet look so ugly!!! Cannot lah. Have to get closed toes one. I din see Substances at Taka leh. Where are they situated? I must be blind or something. Have you chosen your procession and recession music? I am having a hard time over that. There is also the program sheet to worry about.....

Apple - I was so busy with work and everything so no time to contact Peter.

starfruit

dance : great, so u r the same as me. yup.. i think its more or less the same.. think we gotta return some oranges back to them to. I am not sure about the 4 dian jin though, will let my MIL descide what she wants to buy for me.
by the way, what is this "suan pan" u mentioned? do u give these item during the guo da li or on the actual day? When is ur guo da li. my is a week before the wedding.. so i guess still have some time to prepare.

JenJen: no probelm, let me get the list from my mum and i'll email u.

aprmin: my girlfren got her mom to give her an hong pao instaed of buying the basin, mug and spitton etc. My grandaunt say i can do the same too. So i'll get my mum to give me an ang pao instead. Think its better to get an angpao cos duuno what to do with these stuff after the wedding.

All: yup finish my photoshoot already. at least thats 1 item off my to-do-list. did it early cos my hubby won't have time to shoot from may to august.
so have u girls shoot ur photo yet?

starfruit

oh, one more thing,

how about the pin jin.. any idea how much the grrom must give my mum. as in how much is reasonable??? and also how much do we return

cutiepie

Apple me here too.Aiya school terms start laio so wah not much time to go down and see ID designers and so very impatient always asking us when to fax them our floor plan . Should me going aaround this weekend. Hmm this evening going down my flat to take a look lor.Cos MIL wanna look at the flat.
As for the gown design sort of fix liao and will be going there next month to add in details and EG design.BTW , how is ur EG design like and Michelle come up with some proposed design for u or u show her mag pics?

Hi Pinkapple,
Hmm I don't know whether have i spoke to u b4 but ...I know we will be speaking alot to each other soon keke...

dance40

Hi starfruit,

suan pan is the abacus.
to be given on actual day when he 'jin cha' to my mum.

my mum not giving basin all that coz a bit leh che.If needed, I'll buy on my own and bring to new house 1st coz, actual day seems not possible to bring so many things over.

Yap. My photoshoot done liao. Will go down and choose this week.

What else did i miss?

I scared i miss out some tradition here and there.

BUt then, we tried not to be too tradition.
And my mum is giving me a sewing machine.
His mum say my mum will give me thread and scissors all that but, I think no need lah. Anyway I bought the set of threads with needles from Watson liao.

Anything missing?

What must i bring over?

what must i take there on the actual day?

I only know when we return to 'jin cha' to my mum, we must bring oranges.

Irene

jenjen

oh my goodness... still must give sewing machine!?!

starfruit, I'll be urgently awaiting ur email coz everyone's making me panic now... thanx!!
can u also let me know, for eg if "spitton, etc" no need, can give ang pow in replacement?? the bride's side must also give the groom's side somethings (like towels/shoes) after jing cha rite?? can replace by angpow?? how much??

dance40

oops, jen jen don't panic.

My mum give me sewing machine becoz she has 3 of it.

And I think yap we need to give towels to the groom side brothers/sisters.
If any one of them is not married yet, we need to give them angpow with the towel.
We also need to give their parents angpow when guo dali.

Think Ang pow is only a token lor.

By the way, if got 'jie mei' on the actual day, how much and pow must we give them?

Irene

julia andrew

hey blosson,

my gou da li is on the same day as urs. Will be having my wedding dinner in Malaysia on the same day as well!

More &amp; more headache now on the invitation list for my IL. hope 2 solve it by tis weekend. Should b distributing the card next week.

How's all the "jie mei". How's the preparation?

apple

So cutiepie &amp; pinkapple are both teachers??

My FH also teacher leh!! Must find another time to meet up leh... so looking forward to see you all in person!!

We just went to see our ID last nite. Very happy he's drawn detailed designs and drawings of our house, shoe cabinet, wardrobe, kitchen cabinet...now we better quickly make some calculations and apply for reno loan then can start reno. Quite exciting...heehee.

What's your gown design like, cutiepie? So how's working with Michelle so far? What's your feedback on BV?
My EG is a bustier, empire cut, dark purple in colour. The crystals does stand agst a dark colour, so I think it's quite nice...love the line of crystals that run down my back. I wanted my WG to be more conservative, so we thot EG can be more "glam &amp; daring"... me never wear sleeveless or tube... so wearing a bustier gown is considered "very revealing" in my standard! haha....so EG is a daring move. Didn't show her any magazine...just decide on bustier and she proposed the design lor.
What design do you have in mind for EG?

jenjen

hi dance40, please enlighten me further... from my understanding, we need to give towels to brothers and wives and sisters (husbands no need?), towels and shoes to PILs, still single siblings towels and angpow (how much leh?) granparents leh?? must give shoes??

wat angpow must give wif guo da li?? for wat purpose and about how much??

sorry... cannot tahan pple who ask for "yi4 si4" (token)... coz diff pple got diff perception of token... scarly one side see so little, then got prob leow...

aprmin

starfruit,
i ask my hubby to give $888 lor then my family will maybe keep $168, then return balance to him
watever they give us on guo da li, we cannot keep all, must return partial to them.

i hv done my photoshoot too. and now waiting for my album to be ready in sep

Angelia: since you uncle in printing biz, can we send our cards for him to print too?

blossom

hi julia andrew,
wow, wont u be very tired to have both on the same day?

I will be collecting the cards this weekend. hopefully can start distributing by this month-end.

my wedding is on monday. so most of my relatives wont be around during the day. i wont have a lot of jiemei, felt bad that they have to apply leave for my sake...

most of the preparation is done... food tasting this month-end, home reno done, most furniture bought, ordering wedding cakes next week... now busy finalising the actual day schedule, moving my stuff to my new hse, selecting wedding songs etc...

janfyp

Hi Starfruit, Irene,

I'm the opp of both of u. I'm hainanese and my hubby is hokkien. But regrets to say that I noe nothing abt these customs.

I have'nt discuss with my mom abt the guo da li things cos I thought guo dai li is held 2 weeks before the dinner where we distribute the cakes and invites to our relatives?? These guo da li customs really have me scratching my head! Do we really need spitoon, or basin, suan pan (wonder can replace with calculator?? hehe) etc. who ever used these things nowadays??? And cans of pig leg, my family dun eat all these things so they will end up in the kitchen cabinets until they expire!! I better tell my mom not to make me buy all these things cos in the end they will end up in the store room or dustbin!

I have yet to go for my first fitting or trial make-up n my PS is end of this month!!! So I guess for me the priority now is:
1) to ensure that my gowns fits.
2) to have a haircut and hair colour after my trial make-up.
3) buy acessories for the P.S.
4) meet up with the photographers
5) confirm the flowers to get for P.S.
5) Confirm my home contractors

Jan

blossom

hi loreal,
my fh received a call from my actual day photographer. he offers to develop and put photos into albums for us at $30/roll. i thought it is just a way to earn $ from us. definitely cheaper to develop photos on our own and get a nice album to put in. did u receive any call?

carol

Hi all july brides,
I hope everything is fine for all of you...
Our wedding date is getting nearer and really fell so excited and nervous as well..

Good Luck &amp; All the best to all the July brides here!

Cheers:
Carol

cowie

Hi Blossom,
Isn't it part of the package already for them to develop and slot into a simple album for you? Cos for mine, the price quoted for actual day includes that....need to pay extra meh....

dance40

I only knows that my aunt say, we need to give his parents ang pow to buy clothes etc. (maybe $38/- or so depending on how rich you are and how much u can afford)

Also we must give his siblings Tower.
Those Outsider like the sister in law or brother in law no need.
His siblings not married, we must give an ang pow also.
She did not mention anything abourt shoe. I think no need lah. After all, we won't know if they like it or not. Might as well lump into the Angpow. Give a nice number of Amount Like $28/-, $38/- etc.

Hi Angelia,

Can i ask, how much your uncle charge for printing cards?

Irene

jas

i am oso a Oct Bride, actual wedding date is on the 05Oct 2002. Very glad that i can share my excitement &amp; happiness with all of u....
Tomyam, Thedevil, glad that the 3 of us share the same happiness on the same day. Bt, where r u ppl holding ur wedding banquet???
Aniway, juz for updates, i have oredi have my PS and will be taking my album on the 30Aug. Very excited.....

blossom

hi cowie,
my actual day photography is included in my package with cc. it specifies "service only" so i suppose i have to pay extra if i want them to develop for me...

pinkapple

Hi corrie,

no lah. my shoes don't have any crystals/diamontes.

just plain white strap.

teh substance is nearer to the end. near to NIne west if u know where it is.

starfruit

JenJen: Dun worry, let me get the list from my mum and i'll email it to you. I'll prob send it to you latest by monday cos my mum working night shift these two days and i need her to explain the list to me (its written in chinese by the grandaunt and she needs to explain to me).
BY the way, MM called me to arrange for a time to pick up my wedding cards. have they called u yet?
token sum in ang pao can be like $18, $28, $38, $58 if you have a bit mroe cash to spare. i'll keep it to $18 and $28 cos there are really too many ang pows to give out. I will be broke if i give $58 in all.

dance: must we give abacus? my MIL didn't request, so i'll act blur lor. anyway, i'll go with the list my mum prepared, anything outside the list.. heheh dun borther cos there are really too many things to keep track.
As for teh jie mei's ang pow.. again it all depends on you. I have received $38 and $50 before. so u give according to teh sum u are comfortable with.

obride

Hey gals, when u go for PS, do u need to bring along accessories, and paint your nails mei mei first? what else need to be prepared?

loreal

Hi! blossom,

no leh..didnt get any call.
i think this guy is trying to make extra $ out of it..But is optional right? jus say u dun want.

But did u verify he is the genuine photographer fm CC. i suggest u clerify w alan wld be safer.

lollipop

Obride,

If possible, go for a manicure. It's nicer. A pedicure is not really necessary as your toes will be hidden.

I didn't bring along any accessories except our wedding bands. The accessories such as necklace and earrings were provided by my studio.

girl

angeline,

good to have met up with you the other day...
how was dinner that night?
your granny is really young at heart....
and your sister's boyfriend so accomodating

you found a tailor for your EG yet?
will it be in gold? very glam:p

glad that you've settled make-up for the day....
hopefully you'll confirm venue soon too

sparks

hi carol,

thanks for always being so sweet and supportive!!! i guess we are all stress and worried ....to a certain extent... we all have our problems...but end of the day, let's wish ourselves a happy and enjoyable wedding day!!!

btw, mine is on the 22, my problem is the same as most pp, RSVP and mother nagging non-stop abt this and that.....and stress over work...but i keep myself busy with spa, facial, back scrub, foot massage, hair treatment etc.... self care is the best policy!!! hehe!!

jowie

Me also Nov bride, seeing this thread make me nervous coz now i seems to have nothing to do!!
my gown is ready, studo photo ready soon, found actual day photographer, now i am stagnant!

if my bf is currently staying wif me, do we still need to guo da li?? my mom and us dunno how to do it, PIL worst, they say malaysia not so troublesome wan

carol

Hi Sparks,
Hahaha.... you are right, we are all stress and worried and also be able to uderstand each other better, although all our problems are different but the fundamental is we all hope to have a 'perfect' wedding at the end...

Guess you are able to overcome your stress by having more self care and beauty treats.... At least you wouldn't have to worry about looking at your best on your big day..

Cheers:
Carol

blossom

hi loreal,
dun think i will want that la. cant afford to be so lavish....

hey, notice i oni chk the forum during weekdays? cos i dun have internet connection at home. hehe... im now at my new home... just applied for tel line on last monday and can use it for internet connection liao.

jenjen

starfruit, MM haven't called me yet... urs is before or after mine?? aiyoh... do I have to call them up?? wat if I still dunno the number of tables?? will be eagerly awaiting the list from u... thanx a mil!!

jowie, since ur mum and PIL dunno anything, then act blurr lor... everything oso dun need to do... for my case, my PIL knows some things and my mum asks her mum some things... so became very messy... i oso dunno wat is required... that's why so much trouble...

jowie

yalor, i tink they will also act blur coz save trouble hehee

jenjen and starfruit, MM also haven't call me leh, mine is 3 nov...and can check wif both u, wat is the decor provided by MM and did they charge for it? i posted in MM thread but haven't got reply yet...my coordinator told me will be charged even for the aisle flower stand

sparks

hi, dear july brides!!

i guess by now, all of you have the actual day plan out....can any of you be so nice and e-mail me your actual day plan and do any of you have the helpers' to-do list?

mine is just the normal traditional wedding...just cannot decide on my sequence whether to have the tea ceremony at my place then go to his place for tea ceremony then to hotel. but my mother quite angry, say must travel to and fro....but my 2 places very far away ......so hoping to get the tea ceremony over in the morning so that i don't have to go back again!!!

forgot to say, my e-mail add : [email protected]

eternally grateful.......thanks in advance!!!