aprmin

Hi there..
i am new to this forum and guess angph38 or jenjen may hv know me fr FBO forum

my wedding is on 30 Nov 02. hope to know all of you better

angeline

HI Flo, Girl, Apple,

Great to meet you all on Sunday. What a friendly bunch. I wish we can catch up again, but I don't think I'll me back til Dec.
Girl, sure you can come to my place when you come to HK. Just send me an email.
I went to view Shangri La with Apple and Flo, it was great. It's ideal for the cosy fairy tale theme that I want to have. Have to find some more $$$ to afford the place, so I better get back to work now.

cherly

Hi JenJen,

Oh I see!! But Hello said the ticket is leaving on August lei, how can we make it? Maybe the Airlines or agency is promoting the ticket and we have to leave on August, but I am waiting for Natas Tour to compare lei. My friends get a good deal from Natas Tour early this year and went to Mauritus @$3K for 9 days per couple. I think it's quite worth it.

We are planning to go NZ for F & E and preferably will be leaving b4 school holiday becos my wedding is on 8 Nov.

So have u decide to go Aust. or NZ?

jenjen

HI aprmin!!! welcome!!!
I prefer here to FBO... :p paiseh...

Cherly, hehe... mine's no the 10th... so we are just 2 days different... I oso waiting for the NATAS fair thingy... also planning to go F&E... maybe just get air tix only... when's the fair har?? maybe we see then if got lobang for sharing can plan...

pinkapple

Jineete,

erm... fotoshot's over. tmrw going to choose fotos.

other than that still got the florist to comfirm, eh... that's abt it...

but of cos the actual day programme, helpers n all still haven't done up lah. guest list no comfirm too....

oh invitation cards not done oso.

cherly

Hi JenJen,

I heard Natas Tour will be held on 20 Sept. Yalor, our wedding just 2 days away, maybe we can plan to go F & E to NZ together, haha.

We are also planning to get F & E package which come I think 3-4 days accomodation and car, after that we can extend the period. I think this will cheaper as compare to get Air tix and book the accomodation separately.

My collegues told me its very convenient to go to NZ, we can either take their public transport or to rent a car. My collegues always travel to NZ and other worldwide countries (I am in Sales & Marketing line)

Maybe we can arrange to go down one of the day when Natas Tour is on.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen</FONT>
eh, me oso leh.. dun forget me okie.. but i can go only 2nd wk of Dec.. 1st wkend of Dec gotta go back m'sia for 2nd round dinner!!

actually i oso prefer here than FBO

corrie

Hi Pinkapple,

How have you been? How is your preparations? Have you bought yout bridal shoes? I am still looking for a pair to match my EG.

WHich florist will you be confirming with? For me, after visiting so many, I find that some of the florists are quite below my expectations leh.

I also have not confirm the caterer and the printer too.

orchid

HI ladies..

I was going to send out my wedding cards in 2 wks. We have the cards but need to print the inserts and maps and stuff (DIY). then my notebook broke down on me last Friday. SIGH... sent it in for servicing and found that it's a motherboard failure. I tell you, it's going to cost me a fortune! But buying a new one is going to cost even more! sigh..

Loreal,

You will need to give the printer at least 1 - 2 weeks for printing after artwork confirm. Better not to rush, or else you might get shoddy workmanship.

RSVP date should be at least 3 wks before actual date (so that you have time to call up those who didn't RSVP), and you should send out your invites 1 mth before RSVP date. i.e. altogether 7 mths before. If your wedding is last wk of Sep, you can send out your cards abt 1st wk August.

My mom also Christian, so we made the guo da li very simple... this is what we asked for:
1. oranges
2. cakes for relatives (i think 24?)
3. dowry
4. grandma cake
then my FMIL will be giving me the 'si dian jin'.

starfruit

Hello!!!!!! Its been a while since i pop by. sorry been extremely busy at work lor. so how is everyone? been out for a 2nd outing?

starfruit

blossom

hi lorea/liz,
my guo da li will be on 3 aug. it's a good day and quite easy to remember since my wedding falls on lunar 3rd of eight mth.

my parents din meet my in-laws for discussion. they just tell my fh to tell me what they want and my parents also tell me to tell my fh what they want.

i haven't ask alan abt the samples. is it too late to ask during collection of album?

pinkapple

Hi corrie,

i got my bridal shoes long ago... if not howta go for fotoshot?
hee...

are u the one looking for purple shoes? or izzit pink one?

I'll most prob. b getting FarEast Flora. yah loh. quite a few disappointment over the florists side... quite a few are rather inexperience... only know howta do bouquet n car deco...

I've just comfirmed my caterer last month. it's continental delight. good service..

janfyp

Would juz like to post this question cos no ans the last time i ask. Would juz like to find out what have u gals done so as to compare notes and keep preparations on schedule. Please help cos i am at quite a loss as to wat to do.

Jan

garfield

hi all, my wedding date is on 17 Oct and i had my PS on 15/5...will be collecting my albums in sept...*SMILE* are you all excited!! me looking forward to my wedding wor

starfruit

Hi Jan,

i have not done anything at all. just posted a message at the MM forum asking if i need to contact the hotel for the wedding cards etc.

The only thing i have done so far is to try and sort out my guest list (still struggling, am at a lost at how to arrange the sitting). My parents and inlaws have met to discuss the Guo Da Li customery about 2 weeks ago and i am also sorting out places where i can order wedding cakes for my realative.

What about u? what have u done so far?

loreal

Hi! Orchid,
Thanks for your advise.
your mum also christian? I think wat they want is much simpler huh.. in a way better..
Unlike my future MIL very traditional, and very hokkien custom.I so scared my parents wld say why so "mah-fan"..

Hello, Blossom
Your Guo-da-li date really interesting..
My guo-da-li in 2nd week of sept leh..by then u already married..And me still hvn't guo-da-li hahaha.. So i presume u've collected your cards? Started writing names? Wonder how long it takes to complete writing all 200over cards..
I think i won't be helping my parents to write.. i want them to get involve, else they always thot its still early and do nothing.

I intend to arrange the food tasting dinner as a chance for them to meet. Find it abit awkward to be the middle party during this marriage "transaction".. Better let them meet and create a better understanding on each others needs.

Blossom, i think it shldn't be too late to ask during collection cos' the samples wld already be there. Its just up to them whether to release it to u. So when wld u be collecting your album?

janfyp

hi starfruit

I am also struggling with my guestlist!!! Have not discuss the guo da li. Still trying to confirm my subcontractors for my home. hope i m still on schedule...

Jan

corrie

Hi Pinkapple,

Where did you get your bridal shoes from? Can share your experience with me?

For Florist wise, most likely I will be using Greenpoint as fine their service very good and they had done a lot of church decor for my church.

IS the caterer which you are using is the one which you had given me the contact before?

sancai

hello all,
So excited to be here as well!!
My wedding is on 4th Oct, taking photo on 7th Jul!

Obride,
Your PS is a bit rather late but anyway you got ample time to rest &amp; make yourself pretty b4 PS!

Cheers to all Oct bride!!!

Sancai ;P

blossom

hi loreal,
thks. i haven't collected my cards. i think should be this weekend. will be getting my parents to write the cards as well. i wont want to write the wrong name for them.

hopefully, alan will let me have the samples. actually, they dun need them anyway.

jenjen

angelia, u too late leow lah... by the 2nd week, I think I come home and start work leow... :p

cherly, I dun mind meeting up to go to the NATAS exhibition... but we haven't decided where exactly to go, coz we busy with other things now... keep me informed of anything...
u can see the Nov list for my contacts...

hi starfruit... long time no see... hmm... din notice that u are also MM bride... sorry I can't help u on ur qn coz I oso haven't got anything from them yet... I think not so fast lah... u prepare so early!! even guo da li stuff also got... I still headache about wat I am supposed to do for guo da li leh...

janfyp... no worries lah... as long as ur gowns, makeup, photography done or planning in progress... u should be on track... not everyone will do things the same way... concentrate on ur reno... it's going to be a big headache... prepare to spend time to check on ur place constantly...

cherly

JenJen,

No problem will let u when times come

Starfruit &amp; Janfyp,

Don worry lah, me also have not do anything lei. I think after u have taken the photos and settle yr growns, make up and actual day photography, the rest can be quite fast one lah.

bluechin

Girls,

I'm feeling quite down and disappointed today.....

My boss doesn't want to approve my leave for my photo shooting cos he'll be flying to Japan for a meeting and need me to be around in the office.

Last mth, i reminded him and he said okay. Just last Friday i told him about it and he said good....and when i submit my leave yesterday he said NO.....So disappointed and my studio PS was supposed to be on the 15th of this mth.

Just called Carmen, my coordinator to arrange another day for me. Realised after two calls yesterday that they r closed on Tuesday.....Hopefully she will return my call later with a convenient date....

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Janfyp,</FONT>
ya lor, cos no progress, that's why no one answer u lor..

me now waiting for fitting and PS on 20 Jul, and sourcing for contractor/id for new flat..

guestlist.. done long time ago, so prob wait till Sep than revise again.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Starfruit,</FONT>
ai-seh.. u very fast leh.. already settled ur guo da li stuff. what dialect are u and hubby ah? share share with us what u need to prepare for guo da li leh..

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">JenJen,</FONT>
aiya, i mean can go source together mah.. jio me along when u gals going NATAS okie?!

i very disappointed cos the makeup artist (tried and tested) can make it for my PS but not my actual day.. dunno what's the standard of the other makeup artiste.. now thinking shld i exchange the actual day makeup for extra pix, than i engage external makeup artiste.... hiaz...

jenjen

bluechin... how can ur boss like that one?? u tell him cannot change date lor... is there no one else in ur office who can help cover ur duties?? else, look on the brighter side, at least u are appreciated at work!!

angelia, orh... can lah... prob will need u gals to remind me when to go... hahah... coz i may forget that Natas is on... :p as for the makeup artist, I think should not be too bad rite?? or else, tell them u need to reassure urself and ask them to give u a trial makeup... how come so many problems one??

dance40

sorry. Busy lah so did not come in for a few days.

I've only got my photoshoot done and will be going down to select photo soon (think this weekend).

Restaurant book. Cards not printed. Still kiv my mother answer on whether i can put my dad name or not.

Things for gua da li.
Besides food, most are done.
The si dian jin bought (both side).

Now very xian.

Going to find contractor to give quotation soon.

As for Natas fair.
KIV.

Irene

ginger

Hi Corrie &amp; pinkapple: my actual day photographer has been booked and we have decided on their photography style which is lively and natural - we went for journalistic by Dee Synergy (saw their portfolio in their studio and on www.deesynergy.com) my husband to be and I felt we also need videography because it's a Church wedding in the day.

Do you have any recommendations?

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Irene</FONT>
huh, u printing ur cards so early? my uncle said can pass to him in Sept (he in printing line). as for wordings, i think we'll juz put something like "xxx and xxx (couples' name) &amp; parents will like to invite xxx...." cos we paid for ourselves, dun think i wanna create wrong idea that parents paid for them.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Jen,</FONT>
got trial lah.. but the one i wanted was tried and tested by a few brides, and i've seen pix or real person mah...

guess the other makeup won't be too bad lah.. but problem is i need someone real good cos i myself got no idea what i want, or what suits me!!

jinette

pinkapple :p , my guest also not confirm, actual day program also, venues on my outdoor shots, the menu, the ballrm decor, trial make-up..........n car decor

juz confirm the no. of invitation cards yesterday
so how's ur photo choosing today ?

jy

Hi everyone there

I will be holding my wedding next year. Would like to have advices from you gals. Can you all recommend me bridal boutique, photography &amp; banquet dinner pls?

jyl

Hi all.

I will be holding my wedding next year. Would like you gals to recommend me some bridal boutique, photography and venue for my banquet dinner.

julia andrew

Hi JYL

which to recommend depends on what style do you like. I am sure all of us has choosen our dream gown from particular place, we definately support the bridal boutique we engage.

1 advise is to try the gowns of the boutique before you decide. Golden rules is if you don't feel like taking the gown off then that should be it.

For me, I've engaged Dang Bridal. She is located at Tiong Bahru plaza 2nd floor. She is well known for her beading work.

As for venue, if you to be realistic. Dreams and realistic budget is important. Although I love to have my banquet at Shangri-la but I've choosen Hyatt due to budget. I find Sheraton a very nice place.

Photography, very personnal again. most bridal studio tie up with couple of diff photographer. Among few that are rather famous are Andrew Choi, Chris Ling, Benny, etc etc. There are also diff style. I personally like Andrew's style (natural) so I've engage Andrew.

You could visit Andrew &amp; Dang's website for reference.

jyl

Julia Andrew

Have u heard abt Portrait Gallery? I like their styles but my FH wants me to look around first. They do have tie up with Silhouette but the bridal packages they offer are at the higher end. Do you have your gown MTM?

aprmin

Hi angelia,
hv you discussed with your parents and in-law regarding the wordings for the cards?
my MIL seem to be against this idea even though we are paying for dinner. must follow the traditional ways where parents must be the host instead

dance40

Hi Angelia,

I not printing cards yet.
But I'll be using the standard wording coz old people tend to prefer that. Although we all pay but it is the SOP.

Irene

jenjen

hi angelia, I think I oso use the traditional type... I feel that even if you are paying for it, doesn't matter how you word it... pple usually dun care how u word the card... they just know u are getting married and turn up... so doesn't really matter... I feel...

cherly

We are paying our own as well but also using traditional type. Fully agreed with JenJen, pple don care one, they will turn up for dinner that all.....

pinkapple

hi ginger,

we've having a church wedding too. but we didn't think video is a must. although I think my bf'd like to have one since he did the video for all his colleagues.

but that's the point. just get any1 to do the video. don't have to waste $$. personal opinion.

I think if the journalistic fotography is good, it's as good as video.

but of cos if u have the budget then go ahead lah.

I can't recommand any cos I haven't look into this thing.

pinkapple

Hi corrie,

got my shoes from taka. walk lotsa placed in the end still go bac to taka... ha... my fav deptm store.

eh... i didn't hv a gd experience w greenpt. made us wait a long time b4 comin to attend to us. then ah... they're the one I say like no experience one lah. *sigh* reckon it's a signal telling me to get some1 else.. haha.
or mayb cos v few florist has even done up my church.

the caterer har? think should b the same one.

julia andrew

Hi JYL

My package r approx $2888 for

1 MTM WG (rental)
1MTM EG (own)
Corsages
2 flower bouquet (1 photography + 1 actual)
Car Deco
Make up (Trial, photography &amp; actual day(day &amp; night)
accessories

Separate Photography with Andrew Choi S$2000
20 photos
180 proof (in CD ROM)
1 Table Top

I think tis is about all, can actually recall offhand. I think u should at least visit Dang. She is very friendly &amp; easy going. Yes, Silhouette prices r a bit steep.

angelia

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">aprmin,</FONT>
din discuss with ILs, but they oso leave everything to us one..i'm liasing with their son (my huby) and their son liasing with me lor...

no meeting up to discuss or whatever.. both sides' parents dun really bother what is going on. guess it's not that they dun care lah, but juz leave us to decide... partly oso bcos ILs too far liao.. so hubby will feedback to them, but $$ all paid by the 2 of us.

dance40

Hi Angelia,

Perhaps should ask them better lor.
In case, any misunderstanding happens and unhappiness will be created.
Initially I tot of putting our name only too.
But it seems that.........
So we decided to put our parents name.
Afterall, not many people care about the card.
They might say the card is nice but they will still not keep it.

Anyway, just discuss lor with both your parents.

Irene

lollipop

Hi Sancai,
So ure photoshoot's this Sunday. What are the locations you have chosen? Which bridal studio did you sign up with?

Sorry to ask so many questions, but we'd like to know you more

corrie

Hi Ginger,

Personally, I am also not having a videography. Same as Pinkapple, my FH and I dun really see the necessity to have one sincce we will be having journalistic photography already. However, coshe has a friend who is currently 'experimenting' videography, we might just get him to do it for the fun of it all. Which church are you with? When is your wedding?

Pinkapple - Think most of the shoes at Taka which looks good for bridal shoes will be those strappy heels with crystals right? I tried on a pair, and both my FH and I agree that I have ugly feet so cannot wear that. I am now looking for a close toe one. Anyway idea where can I get one? Perhaps Greenpoint does seem a bit 'green' cos they just started not too long ago. But, since they had done up my church before and it is within our budget, might as well use them lor. My FH think it is better to work with one who had done our church before too. Well, at least they told us that they do not need to go down to our church to 'take a look' before really suggesting something to suit our church (as our church can be quite dark).

och

hey blossom,

my guo da li is on the 4th aug, just one day after urs.

hi jyl,

i agree with julia, it's a gd idea to shop around first then select ur packages according to ur style. potrait gallery is well-established, but check out other styles too.

my bridal package is with margaret brides. i love her simple yet elegant designs. photography with serangoon broadway, which pple told me were quite taiwanese, but my photos din turn out that way.
dinner is also at hyatt, tho i must say... that was my first choice.

apple

I also haven't done actual day programme, church decor and invitation cards! Help!! Sob sob...hey corrie, have you asked Peter to print cards for you?

I am not having videographer as well...dun want to spend more $$$ since already engaged photographer, just ask a friend to use videocam to film will do. Anyway, a friend has offered so I am very grateful. Maybe after filming, next time got $$ then send for some special editing lor... make into nice clip. If not just keep it as it is!

Far East Floral is the one that does wholesale flowers right? Are the prices quite reasonable then? Will they come down to church to have a look then quote on the decor?