Yvonne Creative

• Thread starter Thread starter sok leng
  • Start date Start date
Hi Pastel,
For myself, my wedding is in Sept. My WG is MTM but EG is not. In fact, I have not even confirmed my EG yet!
..... waiting to see new gowns
The EGs which I used for photoshoot will not be for actual day. I think if you really want to MTM your gowns, they should be ready on time. When I went for my first fitting about one month after my measurements were taken, the entire gown (other then the embellishments) was almost ready. Just some adjustment for the straps etc need to be made. So, its up to you if you want to wait and see the new designs first

Hi Pastel,Cowie

I share your sentiments as well. It definitely make business sense else , what other reason can they have?

As for the pics, $2000 is definitely too costly.

How much do you need to fork out to top up to 33pics? I am thinking of doing likewise.

Searcher

Hi Searcher,

Actually, I didn't feel so-called "cheated". Cos from day 1, I already know the type of photos I'm entitled to, and the need to add more money if I want to change to magazine style. These were explained to me when I was signing up. I opted not to have the magazine-style one when selecting my photos due to budget constrain.

Depending on how many photos you already have (varies from person to person cos depends on if you exchange other items in your package or not), the balance number of photos will be $65 each if you are taking the 15R ones.

Mine is also $65 each for each 15R redevloped. I wun even consider magazine style now. My consolation is at least I know it now and not after I see the album..if not, it'll be like "wah lau eh"..

Cowie, but isn't the EG even more limited cos only one rack there. They told me that more people MTM EG rather than WG?? But I think I will wait for new stock also.

Hullo,
How are you all????? Haven come in here for very long coz' busy sourcing for contractors. Welcome welcome to those who juz join YC!!!

Hi Cowie & Pastel,

Cowie, my big day will be in Sept too. Wow! U already had your photos taken? Mine will oni be in June after Dean is back from Taiwan.
How it takes for Yvonne to come up with the gowns? I requested Yvonne to show me the lace samples, and she only can do it in end/Apr, but my 1st fitting is in mid/May, and she assured me tt she can make it for my 1st fitting.

Pastel, which package d u signed up for? Mine is the $3,588 pack, cum with MTM WG & EG, but will have another OTR EG (coz I d not take the teadress). Hope I'll oso will not have the same problem as yours. Yvonne said tt for OTR EG, I can oni choose as the day draws nearer.
Think u have to get Yvonne to reserve the EG for u, if not, so got problem later on one.

Take care!

Hi Pastel,
I seriously do not know if more people MTM WG or EG. Personal preference I think. If you are not particular about wearing the actual day EG for your photoshoot, I guess no harm waiting for more new gowns
....I'm still waiting too

Not to worry, I think yours is the normal schedule. I asked for earlier photoshoot to try to accomodate my personal work schedule.
Usually it doesn't really take the shop very long to come up with a MTM gown. If Yvonne promise you that she can come up with it on time, then just leave it to her
She did come up with my MTM WG on time for my first fitting which was barely one month after taking my measurements.

Hi Cowie, Pastel, Jen and all,

Been following this tread for some time, and have been to the recent fair at suntec. I did not sign up with YC that day as I'm still "researching". A few bridal shops says tt the packages they offer at the fair is exclusive to the fair. One friend tells me tt it's all lies. You walk in to their shops, also can get the same bargain. Can any of you YC brides tell me if YC offers the same packages for walk-in couples? Which type gives better bargaining power? Fairs / walk-in? Thanks.

PS: I agree tt Dean's skill is rather impressive. Hope your photos all turn out above expectations.

My package cost $2,988 signed up during promo period. That's why it was just OTR.

Souri,
As for those promo things, I'm not really sure whether its just sales gimmicks. As the chinese sayings goes, "goat hair apply on the goat itself" most probably, the packages prices and package itself might be different. Dun just look at price itself.

But I think generally promo package might be slightly more worthwhile that usual...but the difference will not be that great till your eyes pop out (cos no point giving away margins unnecessarily rite)..but shd be slightly better deal than normal.

There might also be a greater urge to close a sales during fair cos customers can easily walk out to nearby booth. So you might really be able to push for what you want.

Just my 2 cents thoughts.

Hi Souri,
I am not too sure whether the bargain given at fairs are better. From my understanding, the fair is more to create awareness for the shop. The items you get from fairs or walk-in shouldn't differ that much. If the shop is reasonable enough, I think they will try to give their customers their best no matter where the package is bought from, rite

I got my package from a walk-in..... I think it is very similar to what people get from fairs. So, dun be worried about walking into the shop and book your package

i'm also from YC, will be going for my 1st fitting in early may and also Yvonne mentioned that i'll be having my trial makeup on that day. My makeup artist is Dily, so i'll let u all know her skills.

btw, are u all using the actual day photographer from YC? i dont know whether to use theirs or engage on my own.

also for the normal ablum, we cannot have many photos in 1 page, is it? then wouldn't it be pretty boring just to see 1 big photo in 1 page? They never mentioned to me abt magazine style before?

Has anyone used the actual day photographer from YC? I understand that its not the same as the studio/outdoor photographer.

For the studio/outdoor photographer, it'll all be done by Dean is it? Or like bridal makeup got a few persons (but actually they dun let u choose)?

Hi Ping,
I learnt that normal album means one photo one page. You won't find it boring when you think $2K is expensive. But of cos, if you top up you can get the (interesting) version.

Hi Pastel,

I believe they got only 1 photographer which is Dean

The magazine version will definitely cost a bomb which make it even more interesting, so sad right but i guess that is still your choice whether to have that many photographs.

Searcher

Hi Pastel, i think for the outdoor and studio photographer will be one person Dean.

But for the actual day photography will not be Dean but someone else. so far, havent seen any sample photos for actual day photography. and their charges is like $250 for the photographer services and each roll of films costs $35. mayber their actual day photographer is outsource one?

Hi Pastel,
Their actual day photographers are free-lancers. I dun think I am very comfortable with that as I will not know who is assigned to me until pretty close to the date. So, I've decided to scout for my own pro photographer for the actual day

As for the studio and outdoor shoot, yes, Dean is the only one
Nice guy. Really enjoyed my session

Hi Cowie and Pastel.

Thanks for your opinion.

Did you try / ask substitute the 4R for friends and relatives with additional album photos? Me dun think still fasionable to give F&R photos :P Not like our mothers' days when studio photos were considered necessary as momentos.

Hi Cowie & Ping,

Yes I heard that theirs are freelance photographers. But you should be able to specify whom u want since this is additional cost (not part of the package so we should be able to have our SAY). I was just wondering if anyone had tried and found someone good that we can all consider. Any recommendations for actual day photographer then?

Hi Souri,

I have decided to keep those 4R photos cos those photos would be given to close friends and relatives only. The rest of the guest should be just the dinner photo only. You might not be able to subsitute much either since 4R and the 10R or 15R in the album has such a different price. You can always use those 4R photos and send it for scanning to enlarge to bigger ones...I've read of people doing that.

Hi Pastel,
Actually I dun know if there is any use in scanning to enlarge the 4Rs into larger photos or not, cos these 4Rs are actually to be chosen from those photos which we selected for the big album. Nevertheless, I will still want the 4Rs cos though we have the big album, our parents do not have it. So, we intend to give one full set of the 4Rs to each set of parents

Hi Jo, Cowie and KK

Hv not been in here for months!!! Anyway, is juz popping in to say hi to you gals!!!

Cowie, how's ur preparations now? When r u collecting your album? Keep me updated okie!!!!

Jo and KK, how's things w u now?? Have not seen u and KK for quite sometime.... shall we meet up someday??? I'm looking fwd to see our "mother-to-be" Jo....heee..

And for the new YC brides, a warm welcome!!!!

Cheers!!

Hi Connie...

Me huh...tummy showing already lor...can meet up during the June Hols...Will sms Cowie to ask her also...heehee...
Wah...news travels huh...how you found out I pregnant already???

Cowie...how's the preparation coming along?

just wondering if anyone ever requested for films to be returned ? so far i oni heard of sample photos getting returned.

my makeup was done by Dily, and I m quite satisfied with her. jus tell her ur preferences, or let her decide. the way she does up my hair is quite impressive; she tries different styles for different gowns.

so far, i m happy with their service, but i do feel tat the range of evening gowns is rather limited. but i heard tat they shld b increasing their variety soon.

Hi Connie and Jo,
Yup, do look forward to meeting up with you all
I just came back from my European conference cum trip. Pretty tired now.

Not much done for my wedding preparations yet
Hope to quickly settle the reno for my house first.

Connie,
Will let you know when it is time for me to collect my album

Hi Meadow,
Erhm, I did not enquire about the negative part either......

Return of Negatives?

That's a good question. Some bridals do return the negatives/positives after one year (FOC). It's some copyright thing. They have to protect themselves in case you take the negatives/positives to develop elsewhere which could be cheaper. That's why only can release only one year later when you probably won't be doing anything with the photos. But the format of the negatives/positives are not standard so you can't take it to any of the neighbourhood developing shops either.

Cowie and Meadow, tell us the answer after you check with Yvonne, ok?

hi meadow

me a yc groom.
we just had our photos shot last week (haven't viewed yet).

were u assigned dily straight away?
seems like everyone here had dily.

we had kelly (who else did?).
she tried to turn my FW into a kate what's-her-name a la pearl harbour.
didn't suit her.
then she tried to turn me into freddie ljungberg at my request without much success.
all in all we were not dissatisfied - she's rather nice - but my FW is concerned about her actual day makeup.
wondering if it's wise to request for a change in makeup artiste.
oh btw our big day is in sept.

I am a YC bride, would like to get to know you all and share experiences. We had the 1st and 2nd fitting, and our photo-shoots last week. The first thing attracted me to Yvonne was the quality workmanship of the dresses, especially the detailing.

I took the promo package all OTR WG, EG, Suit. Somehow we manage to negotiate to get MTM WG & MTM Tuxedo, we sacrifice the EG, with the same price. We felt its a really good deal!

We are so impressed with Yvonne, as she is very accomodating, even though we wanted very elaborate design for the WG & Tuxedo. The make-up was done by Dilly, she is skillful, but hardly make any recommendation. The photo was done by Dean. He's great - but I'm still anxious as we have yet to see the results :P I hope they'll turn out well.

One thing we haven't settle is the actual day photo. Have any of you ask Yvonne to arrange for magazine-style actual day photo? With whom & how much is the cost?

Hi Bittergod,
Sorry to hear about the make-up part. I had Eileen as my make-up artist and hubby and myself were very satisfied with what we got
Our customary is also in Sept

Hi Monica,
Magazine-style photos for the actual day?? Dunno if YC has such services. From what I saw the other time, their actual day photos are taken by free-lancers. Photos were just slotted into big albums......

hi cowie

it's not that bad with kelly.
just that we seem 2b the only ones using her here!
maybe our opinion of her makeup will change after seeing our photos.

other than that, our experience so far with yc has been rather ok.
and i must single out this fengjie person for praise - it seems like she's the 1 doing a lot of the sewing work.
nice and sincere.

where are you having your customary?
ours is at marriott.
lunch though.
it's already past mid may and i'm feeling rather inadequate - like we've been doing nothing much in preparation!

one thing i noticed abt yc is that the package doesn't include photography for the actual day.
might as well, cos if it's not going 2b dean, then y risk it.

our package only includes 20+ photos 4 the album.
will u be coerced in2 buying extra photos 2 make up a substantial (magazine-style?) album?
monica p might want 2 know too.

Thanks a lot Cowie. Funny that after I post my message, a photographer actually emailed me with his samples, which are quite good. So I think I'll follow up with him on another forum.

Also thanks to Leena for sharing the photo-choosing experience. I'll be careful. Actually I hope that we can do the photo choosing with Dean and discuss the processing & layout with him. I also hope that we can get the negatives returned, even if its after 1 year.

Keep my fingers crossed til the actual day is over

Hi Bittergod,
Yup, you have to top up the photos to fill the album. The min number of photos for the album is 33. I also got about 20 or so in my package. So, I topped up the difference. But note that this 33 is if you choose the one photo per page sort of concept. If you go for the magazine style ones (may have a few photos in a page, arranged by Dean) then the price is different. To do magazine style, I think must top up another $2000 plus. It all depends on your budget. Must agree that the magazine style will be very nice esp with Dean helping you with the concept and arrangement. But is was way beyond my budget, so we opted for the simple page by page one

Hah! Talk about wedding preps....I am still at the infant stage
Will be holding our banquet at Marina Mandarin

Hi Monica,
Yes, Dean will be around to help you with the choosing and layout part. But do not be compelled to get the magazine style if you find it too expensive. But if it is within your budget......GO for it

I am getting Choon Huat of Fast Soup Photography to do my actual day

Hi Bittergod,
i tink assignment of makeup artist is based on availability. cos if 2 brides are getting married on the same day, it would not be possible to ask the same person to do makeup for both brides, right ?

So far, the impression I had from Yvonne is she tries to get the best professional for every job. If you dun really like your makeup artist, just voice it out to Yvonne. She will find some way to work it out with you.

aiya forgetful me, i forgot to ask her on the negatives during my last visit. mabe someone else can ask for us, and let us no ?

Yes yes, I would like to give some credit to Fengjie too, though basically everyone in Yvonne Creative has helped us alot. I really appreciate her patience when "dealing" with me, and her workmanship is great.

Hi Monica P & All YC Brides ...

I understands (and from feedbacks) that some of you ladies are interested in the so-called "Magazine-Styled" Photos layout in your Wedding Day Albums (Books).

On the average, couples will be paying between or topping-up $2,000 - $3,000 for a complete Magazine-Style Album & Presentation (current market price ).

From my understanding, YC doesn't have any in-house Photographers doing Actual Day Wedding Photography.

And I would say Dean's Works are quite Good ( Fairly Highly recommended ) -- Outdoor shots are quite impressive ! ...

Actual Day Wedding Photography Coverage are done by 'old' part-timers ( Freelancers ), and you can arranged to see their Portfolios, upon request ... but don't expect anything 'outstanding', if your budget is anywhere at $600 or lesser ... However, their 4R Slot-in Albums are Japanese-made, and Prints are quite good in Quality ( Skin-tone Colour is pretty good, but overall lacks colour saturation, contrast & sharpness ).... anyway, go take a closer look and judge for yourselves --- always ask for the Current works, not the one on display !

If budget allows, go for Pro Wedding Day Photogs (Full-time), as some of You ladies did, in my opinion, is highly desirable & recommended.

Happy Hunting & Cheers !

[ Nick Goh ]

i had read through all e compliments abt YC, would like to know e overall like their service, WG, EG (if is OTR, enough 2 choose), photograher, make-up...etc???
i m being offered 1 MTM WG, 1 OTR EG, 1 OTR ROM dress, 1 OTR tea dress, 2 groom suits, 15pix 10R photos, car...at $2988. iszt worth 2 sign wif them?? cos i have a gd offer fr J&M too!! ;) so confuse abt who to sign wif!! ;p

Cowie, thanks so much for your advise. It's great to have you in this Forum, as you are very fluent in sharing your experience. Thanks to Nick too

Hi Blur, I try to be as objective as I can be. When I signed up with YC, I was actually also considering J&M as both of them were in the same Bridal Show. The push factor for me to sign up with YC was the quality workmanship of the gowns and the pictures. It was a HUGE difference as compared to J&M (at least to me).

I got the same package as you, but exchange the OTR EG to upgrade the men-suit to MTM tuxedo. I think the package is very reasonable and the quality is good. The selection of OTR gowns does not really suit my preferrence (I think recently they add more gowns in their collection, go and visit their boutique, maybe you'll like them).

I think YC is good for brides & groom that have some idea of what they want, in terms of design, make-up, hair & photos, as they are very accomodating to you requests (certainly within reasonable limits) and when they agree to do it, they will deliver to your satisfaction. So it helps to do some research before you actually come for appointment, from magazines or internet. This will make your process smoother.

The service - well so far, I only have praises, everyone to deals with you are very understanding and professional. They make proper appointment with customers, through the process and dedicate full attention in serving the customers during the scheduled appointments.

Of course, I haven't go through the actual day itself, but based on my experience so far, I'd encourage you to sign up, or at least give a serious consideration to YC.

Hi Monica,
No problem
We are all here to share. Moreover, I am just stating the facts

Hi Blur,
I think I am in no position to comment as I have no experience with J&M at all. But I think Monica have stated what I would have said. Go with your own instinct. See which bridal you are more comfy with. So far my experience with YC had been pretty positive. Have reasonable expectations and everything will be fine
If you are worried about the choice of EG, why not ask to see them first and see if they suit your taste. Alternatively, if you see a OTR WG to your liking, you can always switch to OTR WG ang MTM EG. From what I observed, YC does have OTR WG that are really lovely and very new too!

Hi Monica

thanks so much to your advise. as J&M's photographs r gd n package r attractive which made us in dilemma so me n my FH wil b visiting J&M tis fri 2 hv a look at their gowns. the previous visit i oni tried 1 pix.. as YC let me tried abt 5 pixs. i really dunno how 2 compare cos i saw the compliments on J&M forum r gd oso!

nt only bridal shop confuse... banquet oso confuse... :p

Well Blur,
This is the exciting time for you and your FH, don't you think? It is great to see many choices and spend time together with you FH to look into those choices
I wish you all the best, there's no right or wrong in whatever you choose, as long as both of you feel comfortable. Just enjoy this time

Hi Monica & Cowie

Thanks 4 ur advise.. me & my FH has decided 2 sign wif YC!
think we r more comfortable wif Yvonne. we will enjoy this process.

i hv a problem wif my FIL leh.. he dun believe we need the date at least 1 yr in advance to book banquet!
n till 2day FIL n MIL has not get a date 4 us.. hai...so i do not hv a date yet jus know is mar 03 lor.. u see lah..difficult 2 explain 2 him!! btw how u gals get ur wedding date har?? :p do u hv problem 2 ask ur MIL 2 get the date??
Help...

Hi Blur,
We (me & my FH) decide it will be in Sept 02 (should be a good chinese month "8" and is not near any 'sad' day for any of our close relatives) either sat or sun. So we have 8 dates, then we just ask our mom, dad, MIL, FIL to state whether there's any of those dates that they DON'T want the wedding to be held. So we narrow down to about 5 dates and start looking for venue that are still open for those dates. In the end, the final date is the one we choose ourselves as it signify personal meaning to us (me & FH). That's cos we believe marriage is a life long thing and it requires continuous efforts. The date is just the beginning. Its the continuous efforts that counts. Well, that's just my personal experience. Certainly, others may have differing views

Hi Blur,
Welcome to the YC group

Actually, my hubby and myself chose the date ourselves.
We just chose a date that is significant to both of us, and make sure that it is on a Sunday
Our's on 15 Sept 02

Hi Blur....Congrats and welcome...

My MIL choose the date for us. My huuby told her to choose earlier due to the booking of the ballroom. She understood cos his brother got married a few years before us and she has the experience liao.

Thanks 4 welcoming me n FH.
i hv explained to MIL, she seems 2 understand bt cannot convinced FIL lor.. hai.. i told FH if FIL doesnt wan 2 get a date den dont get married jus have bridal shooting lor.. :P veri naughty hor??

We will be meeting Yvonne n Dean tmw at suntec. they having a wedding fair there.

Hi YC ppl,
My wedding is in May 2003, when do you think Yvonne will call me to go down to design my wedding gown? Coz I want to slim down by then so that the gown will be more accurate. I put on 2 to 3 kg after my ROM in Feb this year. So I hope to slim down again. BTW how much did you all spend on facial?

Hi Snowcat,
Instead of guessing the date, why not call Yvonne to check. Cos, I think she will arrange the date based on the workload and schedule she has. There are just some months of the year when there are more wedding.....

Dun worry so much about the weight part. Cos if you are planning to lose the 2 - 3 kg only, even after you have taken measurements for the gown, some slight alterations to the final gown is all it needs to make it fit you perfectly again

I had just sign up with YC. Just wanna have any recommendation on their Makeup artist and photographer.(I prefer a make up artist who wont cake me up too much). I realise alot of u are using Dily. Is her make up and hair do, ok? or any other make up artist to recommend? :]

Hi Sue,
I had my photoshoot make-up done by Eileen. She is very professional and the make-up she gave me looked great in the photos
The hair-styles done by her were quite good also. She is also very open to suggestions. Just let her know what you like and she will try her best to do something close to what you prefer
Yvonne have a sample album with my photos in it. Can let her know that you want to see it

Hi Cowie,
just wanna said that your pixs are really beautiful..the colors... and of course you and your husband look really great. the essence of your happiness is captured by dean...

all the best in your upcoming wedding in sept...

Hi Cherubies,
Actually Dean and Eileen should get all the credit for the great looking pixs
Well, you saw me and my hubby, so you should know how we were transformed

BTW, are you with YC also? Are you wedded already?

Hi Cowie,

How are you doin? Long time no chat!!..hope u still remembered me...was wondering if you've had your actual day pix ready for viewing? If yes, Can I see it?? very excited..I'm going to have my in Aug..but now still busy with cutting down my weight....abt 2 more mths to go..hopefully by then, I'll looked better...Let me know & happy preparation !