Yvonne Creative

• Thread starter Thread starter sok leng
  • Start date Start date
Cowie, my makeup artist is Irene. She did quite a good job to cover my flaws on my face :>

Connie,

Vincent is quite excited to see the sunset. He said it's quite rare to be able to see such beautiful sunset without much clouds and you can see the whole orange sun setting down slowly. That's why he kind of like the photos even though the models in there aren't good at all.... ha ha

I don't know much abt traditions, just follow what my folks say. My husband is also a Cantonese but we are not going to have the pure Cantonese version of customary wedding. Just the main ones will do.

I'm going to NZ for my honeymoon. What abt you? have you started planning where you want to go?

What abt Sherry? your wedding is in Oct right? will you be going for a honeymoon?

Hi Connie,
Looks like I am the odd one out! Me a Teochew..... FH a Hokkien.... so, guess can't share much knowledge with you girls about Cantonese traditions! ;)

Hi Viffy...lucky gal......though the weather was quite good...but there were still some clouds covering the sky.....thus, we were not able to capture the sunset kinda feeling
. I'm the first gal to get married out of the family (though I'm the youngest!!) and thus, they r also not very sure of all the traditions....nobody had voiced out anything yet. So we intend to hv it simple but is abit worried tt the older folks might hv something to say...

Well, we hv not confirm the destination of our honeymoon....planning to hv it at Mauritius or Austrlia...but will be going to Taiwan w my hubby's frens during CNY period....

Hi Cowie....not to worry.....my hubby is a Teochew......so our wedding is gonna be a blend of Teochew cum Cantonese weddin....but in a much simpler form. Hv yr parents met his???

Hi Connie,
Yup, our parents met before. During our convocation and during his brother's wedding.
....Well, his sister in-law is also a Teochew, so as for tradition-wise, I think they should have the "practice" before lah ;P
Anyway, I dun think we will really follow a lot of custom strictly...... maybe just some simple or essential ones....... cos I think parents also not very sure, everything seems to be pretty hearsay type.......

Hi Hi Cowie....

I do agree wat u say......there r few of the customs which we r doing w/o....we'll prob try to follow some based on the hearsay.....my family hv to input so far....at least my in-laws side r more active.....they r more closely knitted than on my side....

Me canto also...however, we are not following the traditions...my MIL says to keep it simple...just the way we want it to be...

Excited liao leh...I have to get the cards printed after the 7 month...although I am a Christian...I still want things to turn out smoothly...better to take heed of what the elderly say than to regret later.

Vincent is a very artistic person. He knows which spot to get photos taken...I am truly amazed with his skills.

Okie...gotta go now...catch up with you gals soon.

JoJo

Hi Jo....me a christian too.....going to hv a church ceremony also....and I had my photoshoot taken on the 6th day and the printing of the wedding cards during the 7th month!! I didn't realised this til my MIL told us on the photoshoot day......I hope nothing will happen "cross my fingers"....

I was watching the news as I was posting this msg. The crash of the planes @ the WTC (NY)is really very saddening........2 towers hv collapsed!!!!!......really hope tt the casualty is not great.....

Hi Connie,
Should be okay lah. Heard from some bridal shops that there are a lot of brides taking photo during this period.

Guess I may have to settle a lot of things in the 7th month next year also since my wedding will be on the 9th day of the 8th month..........

Hi connie & Cowie,

I think the preparation during the 7th mth is fine. I'm also faced with this problem cos' my wedding is in 8th mth. Just make sure u don't send out the red invitation card during the 7th mth will do.

They say you can't shift house during 7th mth also, but due to time contraints, I try to shift my stuffs bit by bit, i.e. one big bag every weekend .. ha ha .... otherwise, I can never finish moving.

Hi Viffy,

Well, I think I will be in the same position as you. Will have to move house during the 7th month next year........ As for yourself, take care...... Must remain a radiant bride huh....

Hi everybody...

Well, just liked Viffy, I'm moving up my stuffs to the new house almost every weekend...so that's my normal Sunday 'activity' yah! I hve checked with YC and the photos should be in time for me
now still no advise yet. My cards also printing this month...now still printing! Hee...

The attack made every heart sank......

Hi Hi!! Seem like everybody is either moving house now or next year......sniff sniff....
.....my flat is only ready during 2003.....can't wait to hv our own house soon......

Pray for the nation in America.....and the world....abit worried for hubby too...he's in Bangkok and gotta know fm the news tt the US embassy in Bangkok is heavily guarded as it's the world's second biggest US mission in the world....

I am going to send my cards for printing real soon...Hope things will turn out right.

I am appalled by the massive attacks by the terrorists. It is something that one can never comprehend. It is indeed really sad. Connie, no worries, I am sure he will be safe and sound.

Hi! Thx Jo.....I called him this a'noon and make sure tt he'll also call me at nite or whenever possible....missing him now and can't wait to see him this Friday....

It's really saddening to keep hearing the news of the attack.....and seeing the reports on the newspapers and photos of ppl jumping out of the towers really send shivers down my spine....

Yes!! My hubby is back!!! Good to see him again..... ;).....it's juz now tt his US partners who went for the training r left stranded in Bangkok......hope they can be back to their country to see their loved ones soon....anyway, thx Jo and Sherry for the reassurance....

Hi Connie,

I'm going to Elaine there this Sat in the late afternoon...i guess Elaine's schedule is also tight so she cannot arrange morning appoinment for me. So...your husband is back
, did you cook a big feast for him...cos' you must have been worrying for the past days and now it's time for a good meal. ^^

Hi Sherry

It's great and a surprise to see u tt day!!

Anyway, when can all of us meet up???? Shall we meet up be Viffy's and Sherry's wedding in October??

Hi Connie,

Me too!! And I'm so happy that I have at last wait and wait and wait and finally see you first! Hee...If we should meet up in Oct, I guess it will be end Oct? But is Viffy OK too? And the rest have been so quiet this recently...all busy with own things? Haloo..?

Hi Sherry and Connie,
Did you gals meet at Eileen's place?

I called her up to book for facial appt, but she is so busy this week. My facial is already two weeks behind time....
Cos I'm busy with work also, sometimes it is quite hard to co-ordinate with Eileen's timings......

So happy to see that most of you are getting wed soon...... me still long, long way....

Remember to count me in hor...me so bzzzzz with work and wedding preps...run here run there...run until blur liao...

Hmmm...good way to lose weight leh...heeehee

Do keep me updated if we are meeting...then, I can show all of you my sample shots...

JoJo

Hi JoJo,
Run here, run there but must take good care of yourself hor!

BTW, when is your wedding huh? Me blur already....
......only remember that Connie and Sherry in Dec....Viffy in Oct......(or did I get those wrong as well........)

Hi Hi!!!

Jo, take good care of yr health. Work is work but rest more is impt okie?? I'm wondering....how come most brides I know hv so much to do?? I seem to be very relax leh....oops!! Hv I missed out anything in my planning??.....mmmm...

Sherry, u prefer meeting up during late Oct?? Not going for yr honeymoon??

How abt the rest?? When do u prefer....I'll see if I can do the arrangement this round....

Cheers!!

Hi All!

Hi Cowie, yeah, I saw Connie at Elaine's place..quite surprise cos' it's a last min arrangement..i think it's one of the early appointment being cancelled and thus my time was pushed forward.

Meeting in Oct seems to be rather alright for me now. Honeymoon still thinking cos' we may choose Dec..to be confirmed again, perhaps we will just go for a short one in Oct.

Jo, i envy you lei...you run here run there can loose weight...i run more and end up eating hor! haaa

Viffy got no news?

Hi Hi...

Thankie all for your concern. I will take good care of myself. Once the exams are over, I can relax...
Then I can concentrate on all the wedding stuff.

Cowie...Mine is on the 19th of Dec...remember? Does that date jog your memory a little? heehee

Connie...I don't think you have missed out anything. Just that in my case, my hubby is rather busy with his work which leaves me to run the show. heehee
As such, I am running around like a mad woman...one minute at work...next attend in service courses...then run to hotel to get food tasting contract and wedding cards...then to the printers...all by myself...(a good friend of mine accompanied me though...
and I thank God for her

Sherry... you read the above, you should know why I can lose weight running here and there.
Don't envy me...as the date draws nearer, you will start losing also...
Aiya...so much to do but so little time...dunno how also...Frankly speaking, I cannot wait for the whole thing to be over leh...
Just waiting for that day to come!!!!haahaa

Okie lah...enuff of my complaints...remember to count me in hor...I should be able to organise something after my pupils' exams

Meanwhile, take care.

JoJo

Hi Sherry,
I see.... I have not been able to get an appt with Eileen yet......must call her up again soon...

Hi JoJo,
Okay.....so it is 19 Dec.....me and my scattered brains....

I'm back .... I know I've been out of action in this forum for quite a while .... been busy with wedding prep.... time is running out, it's 5 days away .... still have lots of things not quite done yet. Am now busy finalising the table arrangement & also the programme. Luckily I hae got a few friends to help, otherwise, I'll freck out.
Sorry, don't think I can meet up wih you gals end of Oct, I'll be going for my honeymoon after the wedding. Will not be back until Nov.

For the rest of the brides busy prep. the wedding, good luck. It's sure a fun and stressful
period ... :>

Hi Hi!!!

Wow....seems tt everybody is really "hot" on their heels now.....

Hi JoJo....
Me lost touch w exams oredi....when will it be over???

Hi Sherry
Not to worry abt yr weight.....u look alrite to me......;) Another 9 days to yr BIG day huh...almost done w yr preparations??

Hi Viffy!!
Hv fun during yr wedding day and CONGRATULATIONS...!!!! Not forgetting, hv a good and fun trip for yr honeymoon too!! Maybe u can give us a msg when u r back ;)

Lanterns....mooncakes...HAPPY MID AUTUMN FESTIVAL To all! Me just after work and rush home..wanted to play LANTERNS!! Haaa
the follow-by dinner...and eat and eat again....

Hi Connie,

Thanks. Will try to relax.... getting more nervous as the day gets closer.
Sure! will let u know when I'm back from honeymoon. :>

Hello All

I've been reading some of your comments on YC and am happy to know that most of you are pleased with the shop. I myself am intending to sign up with them but would like to know a bit more about your experiences.

Could I find out how much the packages for MTM and OTR cost for 15R photos (about 20+)? Also as I am not exactly stick thin (medium-size) would OTR be ok?

Am intending to go to the Plaza shop tomorrow nite.

Hi Bumblebee...
Welcome to the forum.

With regards to your question, different packages have different pricing. But, you can check wif Yvonne to see if she can accomodate your requests, such as, pricing due to budget constraints, getting the gown you like, so on and so forth.

I am basically quite "large" as such, I took the MTM package. As for you, you mentioned that you are of medium build, as such, OTR should be sufficient for you.
I am very pleased with my gown and my photos. Do go down and check it out. Give them a call before you go down so that all their attention would be focused on you.
Have fun and good luck!

JoJo

Hi Sherry,
Went to Eileen's place this morning. She told me what you mentioned about arranging facial together
Well, looks like we will meet up only after your wedding if you are still going back to her......

Meanwhile, all the best to your wedding!

For those of you who have gotten your photos taken at Sentosa, can I just check what are the entrance charges like? Is this borne by YC or ourselves? My friend is interested in taking her out-door there and am helping her check out. Thanks!

Dear JoJo

Thanks. I made a fruitful trip to YC last evening and saw the various gowns that she had. All very nice. Hope to be able to share my experiences to all of you whenthe time draws nearer.

Hi Viffy! So glad to see you yesterday night! Wow, your photos are simply great! Hmm...understand why YC put it in the website now...

Hi all, I have collected my photos yesterday and so happened to see Viffy there!

Yvonne has asked when are we arranging the meet up? What about November when Viffy is back from honeymoon?

Hi Cowie, yeah...when is your next facial appointment? But I guess we will definitely meet up after my wedding now...neber mind..let me know your facial date and I shall see if we can meet there the same time..and enjoying the "pain" together...hee...
BTW, did Jo go for facial at Elaine there?

Hi Bumbleee, did you mention to Yvonne that you from SB? Cos' I did mention to her that you will drop by her place...but not sure if you are there...I'm there also? So, you sign up any package with YC? When's your wedding?

Connie...how you? Told Yvonne that I saw you that day..she was surprised of the "meet-up" too!

Hi Hi...

Very busy at work. No time to arrange for the meet up until after next week. As for facial, my skin is improving. I have been using the Christian Dior Refreshing Facial Wash and it really removes even the most stubborn of makeup traces.

Bumblebee...so glad to hear that you had a fruitful trip. Would love to hear from you soon. Meanwhile, do join us in our discussion at this forum.

Rgds
JoJo

Hi Sherry,
The next appt is not fixed yet. Dun dare to commit for next month yet since my schedule is quite busy and not fixed. Will you be going for your honeymoon right after your wedding?

Hi Connie,
How's your preparations? Everything going on fine?

Hi Sherry,JoJo and the rest

Thanks for the warm welcome. Yup I signed with YC on Wed nite. Did not say I was from SB as I actually only chanced upon this forum after I had verbally committed to the YC pple.

Saw two other couples there... wonder if it was any one of you? One bride-to-be was trying on a gown and another was looking through photos. Didn't hang around that long as I had another appointment, but must say I did get a good feeling from the shop... now just waiting to see if that holds true

Hello Cowie, me still planning honeymoon...may not be going in Oct..or perhaps only a short trip...want to take long holis in Dec! Heee..

Hi Viffy & Husband! Congratulations and have fun for honeymoon and have a beautiful wedding!! Enjoy! :P

Hi Sherry,
Happy planning, but do remember the holiday surcharge travel agencies impose during dec period

Hi Bumblebee,
Welcome abroad!
When is your wedding?

Viffy congrats...here's to wishing you everlasting happiness.
Enjoy your honeymoon. Do remember to continue joining us in this forum still.

Bumblebee...welcome...So glad to hear that you enjoyed your session at YC.

Sherry, me also planning honeymoon...short trip to a nearby Asian country. I need to get back to work 8 days after my wedding.
The other day, my hubby's brother was asking us not to book our trip yet for fear of the war. He said it might affect the flight schedule and thus we may not be able to go on our trip. I don't know how true it is, but then again, it is better to be safe than sorry, right?

Meanwhile, enjoy the coming weekends.

JoJo

Hi Girls!!!!

Wow!!! Hv not come in for only a few days and there's so many messages!!!

First of all, Bumblebee, welcome to the SB YC forum!!!! Really happy to know of another person who likes YC's gowns!!! Yippeee, we got another member to our upcoming gathering!!! Btw, when's yr wedding gonna be???

Sherry
, like your album?? Must be very nice....mmm....I can't wait to get mine!!! hehehehe....It seems tt so far, we've not formally arrange any gathering but are having coincidental meet-ups instead.....mmmm....who'll I see next???
I'm really excited to see all of u!!! U must be getting real busy and excited oredi hor?? Next week is yr BIG day!!! How's everything now??

Cowie
, still the same. Have not confirm my caterers, videographer, programmes etc.....in fact, hv not been doing anything much, but I think I'll really hv to get started now, if not, later "kan cheong"!!!

Jo
, I think tt's wat most couple's thinking now. Unless they've oredi booked the package, if not, most will go to nearby countries. I heard some couples r even going to Sentosa for their mini-honeymoon. Well, I've not planned anything on tt too. Wanted to go to Australia or Mauritius, but w the situation now, play safe and better not plan yet. I hope that there will hv a miracle turn of events and things will be fine again.

Oh ya!! Btw, Sherry / Viffy / Jo, who did u engage for your videography?? Any recommendations??

Have a wonderful weekend!!! Cheerios!!

The long and much awaited weekend is finally here...wow...time for me to sleep all I want and to laze all I want.

Connie, I am not engaging a Videographer. I am loaning a videocam from my workplace and getting my hubby's cousin to help out.
As for actual day photographer, I am engaging the much talked about Monica Eng on this forum. I have seen her portfolio and I like it alot. I heard that Saints Wedding at Riverwalk is quite good too. However, not too sure about the pricing. Do give it a check.

Meanwhile, have a wonderful weekend too.

Luv JoJo

Hi Everybody!

Hi hihi...been really busy throughout the weekend...now still packing my house yah! Well, me going to HongKong for a short honeymoon...Jo you got 8 days leave hah? Me worse...I have only got a week...so everyhtings will be rather tight for me...back from the trip will be ready for work again..."sian ah"..but can't do much as I've used up my pro-rated leave balance...

Cowie, any news of getting your album soon? I guess it's the same for every couple, you will keep looking at the album and you won't get tired! That's what me doing everyday...hee..heee...

As for photography, I'm getting my friend's cousin for help and videography oso trying to get some easy help from friend...to save some $$! Haa...
want to spend more for my trip!

Always thinking today is Sat...so you see...my mind still blur blur becos' of all this preparation! Sad to say...Elaine said that I'm having more breakouts...just mentioned to her this morning that I really feel the STRESS around me now! Elaine told me relax myself and go shop around and I should be feeling better!

Thanks everybody...it's really nice to "talk" to you all over at this Forum and it really feels great to have all of you here sharing and listening...

Hi Sherry,
I think you are really "blur blur" because of your rushing around! I think your message was for Connie not for me!

Hi Cowie and Sherry and Connie,

So long didn't hear from all of you liao. :P My wedding is really approaching soon...a few qns to check with all of you...

I am intending to start going to Eileen soon, how much does she charge per session? Would appreciate any help given. Thanks.

Meanwhile, I am running around like a mad woman. Getting guest list finalised... and preparing to buy things needed for the big day. Arrgh...so much to do but so little time.

JoJo

Hi JoJo,
Eileen charges a flat rate of $65 for her standard facial (include shoulder as well) the additional ampoule which she uses will be $10. So, expect a basic of $75. If you have her number, just give her a call to find out more. She is very approachable. Can be very frank with her.

Out of curiousity, did she do your photo-shoot make-up?

Do take care amidst your busy schedule, ya?