WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

sugarylily

Many thanks for the information! trying to look at the 1280. although my mum not staying with me, but occ will come over cos we leave quite nearby.if get the LCD, i don't think my mum know how to use..

ridhwan82

sugarlily.

well from what i hear from another of my aunt who uses also electrolux model similar to the 1280, the 1280 features a 2 step to start the wash cycle. kinda easy lah i hope...

ridhwan82

oh yeah sugarlily.

if you are as paranoid as me.. especially dealing with such expensive item i will get extended warranty for it..usually parts are more ex in high tech machines heheh.. just a thought..

sugarylily

hi ridz,

took very long to download electrolux 1280...thanks for ur advice. i guess will just get the 880. ur point came to my mind that my mum might not know how to use the 1280..to be true, i might not know either. as current home is topload which usually take abt 1/2 hr for washing...

azureoct

Hi Ridz,

Thanks for posting so much info on WM here. Hubby and myself are hoping to get one front loader that is low on water and electricity consumption.

A cousin of ours is likely to give us a set of Ariston washer and dryer but we're unsure because it seems like pple mostly use Ariston for cooker hobs and hoods more than their washers.

I read through a few forums and have been getting different views.. so am getting more confused now. Went shopping at Harvey Norman last night and was recommended the Bosch washer for its energy efficient functions.. seems like its really low on water and electricity.

Not sure if i should just go for Ariston or try out Bosch now but I also noticed that you mentioned something abt Bosch functions. So I thought to write and see if you have any comments. Much appreciated

ridhwan82

i would say that for that price its a bit not worth it.

Why you didnt say earlier. HVN had an offer on a better model which is the EW 880 going for around that price or was it slightly lower.

Whats more than that is that in comparison to the 719 vs 880 the 880 is a 6.5kg washer while he 719 is justa 5kg washer. on thing is that the 719 is a top load while the 880 is a front load. and 880 comes with 850 rpm spin speed while 719 comes with 750 rpm.

generally the higher the spin speed the better. but more ex.

also the thing is that if you are looking specifically for toploads then the 880 is out. but the 719 is alright.

perhaps opt for a higher spin speed?

therat

Hi ridz,

I only saw that yesterday @ HVN.

Why 719 n 880 so much in spec.

But I'm not buying now. Just gather information.

For toploads, vertical spin, any recommend from u.

Just a family of 3. Don't need a 10kg WM

ridhwan82

Hi royal_pika_rat

Alright here is the thing. for electrolux machines they are continental machine.

both their toploads and front loads are vertical spin.

Please do not confuse yourself with the topload issue. toploads of continental vs asian toploads are different.

Asian toploads are the ones that will spin horizontally.

While continental toploads are the ones that are the same design as the continental front load. where the drum spins vertically. continental washing technique is different from asian washing technique.

Here i am referring to is continental toploads.

Difference between the continental toploads and frontloads are the way the load is loaded into the machine.

toploads as the name implies mean that the clothes are loaded in from the top while front load the clothes are loaded from the front.

Why toploads are more expensive is because. there are times where it does not permit space hence the toploads are better (toploads have width of only 45cm wide 60 cm deep and 85 cm high.)

While the front loads dimensions are square (60 cm wide x 60 cm deep x 85 cm high also)

and if you need to have a dryer to be placed in the house and only have a small space to spare then you are better off with a front load machine as then you can stack the dryer on top of your washing machine.

But if you prefer to load the clothes from the top (like what i did and i chose the top load cos i dun want my mum to squat and stand squat and stand to load the clothes from bottom top and i have a little more space to spare then i opt for premium brand top load, Thomson. Thomson arrest the problem with little space but maximum features (be warned its pricey) machines.

So i got a thomson washing machine which is only 40 cm wide and 60 cm deep and 85 cm high. and beside is i place thomson dryer which is a mere 45 cm wide, 60 cm deep and 85 cm high.

total floow space i need is 1cm (side) +40cm (washer) wide + 1 cm (space) + 45cm dryer+ 1 cm space = 88 cm wide and 62 cm deep (1 cm on both ends apart from the wall and the machine.

And cos electrolux 719 is topload design they are usually more compact than the squarish cousin design and hence commands a higher price for the same features.

Same goes in computer technology the smaller the gadget is (miniaturization process) the more expensive it gets. You pay premium price.

As for yourself.

Then i am not too sure what is your real need. in terms of space to spare? and also possibility of a dryer?

Also in terms of budget as these affects the choices greatly. Continental washers are far expensive than asian ones. generall one continental washer a good one can cost about 4 times more than asian washers.

Another thing is of course washing needs? what do you wash most often? then it will determine things like the spin speed, the capacity of the machine, wash features, etc.

So let me know yeah.. and if your family is expanding also gotta make short for that.
let me know we discuss yeah?

therat

Hi Ridz,

I'm looking for continental toploads
Don't like frontloads, as I don't want to stand up and down.

Dryer.. No intention to get

At first I'm looking @ Thomson TX818 but when the HVN saleman told me that Electrolux 719 can stop half-way. It sound interesting. 5 yrs warranty on the rubber. Price wise.. is slightly cheaper than TX818.
The saleman also mention abt thomson 3 legs which someone mention before in this forum.
And also mention that now Thomson WM is from the same factory as Brandt and Boach (I think I mis-spell this). So the quality of Thomson is not longer like last time.
Thomson sell away the THOMSON Brand name to Brandt.

I don't think my family size will expanding unless my IL came and stay with us.

My bed is Queen size. The only BIG and heavy thing is the protector.

ridhwan82

hi royal pika rat,

Okie here are my views.

Alright so now i know you dun like frontloads so we shall now look at toploads.

Toploads champion in the continental machine is definitely thomson thats for sure.

alright for electrolux what do you mean you can stop half way?

If you are talking about stopping the machine half way while washing then both machine can do the same just that when you open you gotta wait for about 1 mins for the door to unlock. Do be careful of hot water if you are washing at high temperatures above 40 degress it may scald you.

But just to clarify what you mean by stopping half way yeah?

then price wise it thomson is more expensive than electrolux for a simple reason one is that quality
(thomson machine although the name has been bought over by brandt whom now has been bought over by fagor.. and has since been renames fagorbrandt)
electrolux machines are no longer made in the uk per say. But thomson as the premier brand under the fagorbrandt group is still made in france. and i spoke to their managing and marketing manager and they have confirmed that they have no intention in making their thomson machine elsewhere.
Although brandt machines that used to be built int eh same factory as thomson in france are now relocated to turkey, and other parts of uk to safe on cost but not thomson. they are still made in france.

Next.
About the 3 legs i think you can understand that the number of legs has got nothing to do with the washing stability? i mean once yuo have positioned the machine at the place you want, you would retract the legs and it will sit on its base. so nothing about the legs here

Alright for Bosch, do not get confused bosch group of machines are from germany and thomson is a france brand yeah.

Even then bosch machines some of them are made in poland some in thailand etc. no where near thomson's machine in france.

in terms of the rubber warranty that i have nothing to say except that the design of thomson have improved tremendously (having owed 3 generations of thomson washer myseld) such that when you load the clothes the new design does not allow any water to be able to seep through to the machine. which means that the part from the door onward to the bottom of the drum is totally sealed to prevent leakage but things generally can and do happen. these are waht we call exceptions.

Noise wise
both thomson and electrolux whren they spin they make like the sound of the engine on an aircraft noise so nothing to compare that.

If you are having the protector then maybe i can suggest that you may want to try a 6kg washer but thomson 6kg washer isnt cheap its about i think 1.2k or something. electrolux i havent seen if there is any 6kg top load washer.

so yeah anything please do let me know.

oh yeah just fyi i also wash my queen size quilt at home. and it fits.

therat

Hi Ridz,

as what u had say.. wash half-way then stop the machine to add in clothing, then contince.

The saleman say. TX818 cannot stop half-way leh..

719 is made in France.

ur queen size quilt fix to what?
ur WM?
How big is ur?

The thing I don't understand, why Electrolux made a washing machine for Singapore only?
Is our market so big?

ridhwan82

hi royal pika rat,

well yeah the tx 818 can just that when you press stop, the machine will not turn to the door. so you gotta wait for one minute forthe door lock to release then you have manually turn the door to face up the insert the extra clothes and then you close the drum door and then the main door and then press on again.

But do beware that it is not exactly advisable to add more clothes whn you have started the washing process unless you are sure that by adding that few clothes you are not exceeding the capacity that it was designed to do that.

because when clothes get wet they will collapse, creating the illusion that there is more space to accomodate more clothes . though it may be tryue to a certain extent but the drum has been designed to fit the capacity that it is designed for during the loading process when the clothes are dry not wet!

So yeah..
the queen sized quilt im washing it in my tx 828 the one with the 850 rpm.

now im wishing that to change to the new latest range of their washer but alas budget constraints i did not do so. and also considering that the machine has a good life span of at least 5-7 years or possibly 10 years with moderate use. my washer operates on average most days 3 times a day everyay without fail.

so yeah that equates to reliability to some 15-17 years in other average household.

usually machines when they say can last for 20 years what it means is to use the machine for 5 times a week through to last for 20 years but with my high usage 3 times daily, judging from taht criteria of 5 times a week seems to be expedited to a mere say maybe 10 years tops

and based on my experience thomson machine operating at such gruelling 3 times a day lasts generally about 7 -10 years.

and the queen sized please do not immediately jump to conclusion that all queen sized quilts can fit into the drum of a 5kg washer. cos depending on the fillings such as if yours is just synthetic fillings then i think its okie but if its down and synthetic then it may not be possible.

Anyway comforters and quilts are better off washed by the laundromat.

Oh my quilt is the one from ikea. standard queen 200cm x 200cm with synthetic filling.

well electrolux also must break into the market. cos thomson is the only one of the leading top loading continental brand seller in singapore. and while electrolux is the leading seller in the front loading scene. So i guess to diversify and target to consumers who are like you dun want to have a front load but want to wash with the continental washin technique then they have brands like say thomson, brandt, elba, so they also want to break into the market segment.

as the japanese counter parts are king in selling their top loader. it seems to be a favourite among asians to have top loading.

my mum for one doesnt like front loading. and so following family traditions in using thomson (most of my family in their own households either have miele or electrolux for their front loads and thomson for their top loads.)

so there you go.

ridhwan82

and i read in the manual of electrolux. there is specific mention on to add more clothes once the wash has started. only thing is that to press the pause and then open the drum once its release and then close it back and then opress the start again to resume.

so yeah same goes for thomson also no mention of adding things in the wash. but i guess fret not over such matters as its a very rare occurrence

ridhwan82

oh royal pika rat,

when you go and see the electrolux topload. open the drum door and you will get a pleasant shock cos the door snaps open wildly.

open the drum door of thomson it does spering open but its a bit more gentler and wun snap on your fingers.

also thomson doors,when say you open the door say half way it will either gently sway back or slowly droop down to close positon but most other toploaders, they will snap down also.

thomson makes have arrested the problem of doors falling onto unsuspecting fingers they have designed to doors with a balanced door thingy which can balance the weight so that it will not either snap down. yeah

also for the waste trap in the electrolux you gotta empty the waste trap to remove like some lints if there is.

for thomson their waste trap is maintenance free meaning that you dun need to clear it.self emptying only on some occassion such as safety pins lah then exceptions.
you might want to take note of that

cancerman

Hi there, Ridz,

I understand you are an expert with washing machines, but do you know anything about fridges?

I saw Mit Electric MVR43, 330l. It is selling at Harvey Norman at around 900+++, but we saw it at Gain City below 900 last weekend. Do you know if we can get it even cheaper? How about Audio House?

denor

dear Ridz,

can I ask about 2 pdts from Ariston, and 2 pdts from Teka?

1. hob: 90cm, PH930 MST - Tre IX. Now $459 with free knife set. 2 triple ring burners.
Concern: enamel rings on top that may rust.
Also, if it uses electric ignition, does it mean during electricity cut off, I cannot use stove?
Any other things I need to take note of?

2. Ariston Washer, AVXL105, 7kg load. Now $899
I've been reading the posts n threads so I know must use low sud, leave door open after washing etc.
Concern: read from posts that it sounds like aeroplane taking off during spinning?
Any other thing I should take note? Thank you

3. Teka hood. DF90, suction power is 800 m/cube thingy (sorry dunno how to put 3 on top). Cost is just above $1k. With glass.
Concern: is it too costly juts for aesthetics and suction power? Any thing I ought to take note for a glass sided hood?

4. Teka oven, HC610, cost $735.
7 cooking functions, catalytic panels, fan and grill.
Concern: first time buying built-in oven, so would like to know if 7 functions more than enough? Also, is the price ok?

You dun have to go into details lah, pai seh bother you. Just want to get a general impression about the things that I am interested in, whether the pdts are brands that are all right, and the prices are worth it?

ridhwan82

hi bubbles,

Hob 90cm

PH930 MST
Well for this model i think its alright, im sorry yeah but i am bit biased but i just dun like ariston's button design to hold is feels funny thats why i opted brandt ones. anyway this is just fine.

for the rust issue, then once you clean it by wiping with damp cloth right. what yuo do is that you turn on the fire for a couple of minutes to dry the internal parts and then you switch it off. this will prevent rustin. and also dun use abrasive cleaner that will chip off the enamel yeah>

for electricity supply off you can still use the stove just that you have to use manual ignition lah. the one that looks like some pointing thing or you can use the good ole days the matchsticks.

2) ariston washer.

For this one the price is good i must say althought i havent heard anything about aristons washers in terms of reliability. just a cuople of people only. barely the numbers of fingers on one hand.

anything else you need to take note is that.if can buy extended warranty. from my experience right if continental washer spoil be prepared to fork out a bit more yeah. like door latch spoil then will change the door which can costs about 100 jsut for the door. or if the thermostat fail then its about 150 or so.. so yeah better to get a extended warranty. but this is just my opinion .

and also if you have sensitive skin then yuo may conside using softener which does not contain any wax or parrafin? a brand would be like vernel if i am not wrong. and also if you are washing like very delicate clothes like wool then you can consider detergent like perwool.

for low suds i think there are a few in the market such as persil (my personal fav), spin, fab (look for low suds i think they released not sure now still have or not)

and yeah the aeroplane sound and oh yeah once in a while put detergent into the cmopartment and run a ccyle at say 60 degrees normal wash with NOTHING inside the machine at least about once in every quarter to clean the interiors and give it a good wash yeah?

and for front loaders please wipe the plastic gasket between the door and the drum. its important you wipe it dry and remove any things that is stuck there such as keys, pins, etc.

for teka hoob
for for one glass its a bit of a hell if you a dun clean it often cos all can see yeah> but after every cooking you give it a good wipe down with damp warm cloth i think it should be fine.

well there is a lot of features i must say. but for that price it better have

teka oven
i looked at the specification its look alright to me you have the fan cooking and that is already a good thing cos you can go wonders with it.

and also fro the catalytic panels do take note that there is no special program to invoke the cleaning process. you have to manually do it. what i usually do is that at the end of the baking thingy i will empty out the oven and then turn to the maximum temperature for the next 30 mins to clean the interiors and then i turn it off,
and oh yeah forgot to check ask them if the catalytic panels are solely at the back only or at the sides as well? if there are at the sides as well then good if not ask them can it be installed as an option. its better to have a side wall catalytic panel too.

i hope that this has the ventilating system around the oven so that when the oven heats up it will not burn the wood that its housed in. check with teka. i think there is i think its called the mixed chamber refridgeration.

also ask them if the door will get very hot or not. from my experience the door will get hot esp its its just a glazed glass door. unless its ventilated door with triple glazed inner and also a cool door feature. but if i am not wrong then usually higher end models then come with the cool door feature. cos thos will affect the position of the oven incase where you place it below your hob and then your child comes into the kitchen while oven is in operation then wah seh.

of course that price is okay. but if you want others then do let me know what5 are your cooking demands then i can know waht models or brands to recommend yeah.

stressedl

hi ridz,
I used front load washers before-Indesit n Ariston. Both gaskets get mouldy easily. My maid was managing the washers at that time. Now Im using a top load washer,LG but my clothes dont seem clean as I want them to be.Im fine with water n electric bill.Just hate mouldy things.
I have intention to change to another topload. Your description abt Thomson washer sound good but it seems not user friendly...meaning have to open drum as well as the cover. And I also dont want my fingers to be injured.
What was your other choice of washers(topload )other than Thompson?
Thanks for reading...hope to get your advice.

ridhwan82

hi VL,

well i must say that thomson is not a hassle its pretty easy.

first things first whast do you mean by injuring the finger as in how?

for thomson machines they have the safety feature which is
1) esy opening. this being that there is just one button that you need to press down to open the drum door. and the spring action of the drum will not just snap up violently but instead slowly open up
2) balanced door. the door has been designed to be balance such that if you open the door as such as maybe 45 degrees it will not suddenly drop down to close but rather gently fall down or if there is no detergent of nothing in the compartement then it will jsut stay there balanced.

i must say that thomson machines are great to have but expensive. the only thing thats stopping people from buying but id rather go for quality like you meantion gettin an asian washer does not seem clean.

ans also for toploads then you can also consider
electrlux but remember about the easy opening feature that is built in with thomson but not with electrolux.

another brand would be the brandt which is under the same company as thomson only thing is that thomson is still premium product line with premium features such as posistop which the machine will turn the drum door to face the top for easy access at the end of the washing cycle. while only the higher end models of brandt has this feature.

also thomson is still made in france while brandt is make in europe and also turkey depending on models.

refer to myother thread THOMSON WASHER / DRYER for information yeah>

another choice would be whirpool which i personally would opt out.

gasket will turn mouldy if you dun wipe dry and also dun air it. you have to open the door for like at least 1 hour after wash is complete to dry the interiors

and also if you want to clean the interiors run the machin with detergent but with no load at 60 degrees once every quarter to let it do cleaning inside itself.

if you want a good front load then you can try to get miele. its way much better than electrolux or thomson but the price tag is also way above them

miele front load starts from price ranges of 3k+ and above.

although miele brought in a model which is similar to the 3k plus model which is going at 1699.only difference is the drum feature whereas the 3k plus featyre a honeycomb drum the 1699 features the normal drum with the holes that is big like thomson and the rest of the continental washer. its a 5 kg washer. i think the model is wps 304 or is it 340. hmm

so yeah up to you.

ridhwan82

hi bubbles

more tips yeah

HOOD
Cooker hoods should be mounted 650 - 800mm from the hob for optimum results.

Cooker hoods with aluminium or disposable grease filters should be cleaned/replaced every two months or sooner, depending on cooking style.

Charcoal filters remove odours from the air and can last up to two years depending on your cooking style. As a general guide, replace it when the charcoal bits inside the filter do not make a rattling sound upon shaking

oh yeh dun forget that you are installing in a normal kitchen right hence you cannot vent out the air so you need to get them to see if you need to purchase anything additional for the recirculation mode that you can use. yeah for the hood

for hob
To prevent rust on burner caps, turn on the flame for approximately 3 minutes after washing to allow residual moisture to evaporate.
Always use non - abrasive detergent and material when cleaning hobs

and also if you are really worried about the rusty thing then you may want to opt for a more higher end that feature a die cast support. that would be better

stressedl

hi ridz,
thks for the very useful info. I read somewhere abt drums snapped on opening n may injured fingers hence my concern.
Waiting for my LG washer to go bust.One thing,they really last n last.Their fridges too.
I will read your thread on Thomson Washer.Most likely will get one with largest capacity.
Appreciate your reply n thks again.

lilacgal

hi ridz

im currently using a bosch front load. hv a question here...our washing cycle completes in 2 hrs....I tik the washing is thorough and clothes are clean....but the thing is I always see some soapy residue around the bottom glass door at the end of the spinning....is this normal?

im thinking is it because i put too much detergent (im using liquid persil)? or the clothes r not thoroughly clean since theres still soap after spinning?

Any idea? Thanks.

ridhwan82

hi VL

nto a problem well i guess usually asian washer lasts generally about 3-4 years swo yeah maybe in a few years time.

all the best.

oh yeah the biggest capacity is theri 6kg washer the tX888 and the 6k washer-dryer is tx 898. so there you go

ridhwan82

hi lilacgal,

well for that sometimes its normal to be able to see some foam cos its just the water that is being pumped through the pumping system and hence mixed with water similar to aerated kinda water effect.

but for soapy residue now thats a sign of something is not right. it could be like what you mention
1) use of too much detergent. For a 6kg load i would reckon that one capful of the persil would be enough.
2) you have overloaded the machine of its capacity and hence its effectiveness is no longer there to thoroughly cleanse it away.
3) you may be using the short cycle with a full load. take note that the short cycle is meant for a rating of half the load so if yours is a 5kg washer then its only for e 2.5 kg load to use the quick wash feature.

take a look and see if you have missed anything

Anyone has any idea on GE washing machine & dryer?

I went to IMM, the sales personnel told me GE helps to save water and electrical bill.

The sale agent added Brandt, Electrolux & Fisher & Paykel all assemble in Thailand wherelse GE is fully imported.

Anyone can advise?

lilacgal

hi ridz,

thanks for the advice earlier....

i think it could be i used too much detergent...actually i feel at most 3/4 a cup is already quite sufficient even for full load (5kg)....the clothes still come out clean and there isnt much of that soapy residue....2 hrs should be the full cycle already not the quick wash cycle....so u mean i may need to extend the wash (more rinsing) if i see residue after the normal cycle?

another q i hv is hv u encounter problem of dirt seeping into tat rubber thing of front load machine? i usually will wipe the machine dry after laundry...usually will find dirt sticking in between the rubber.

ridhwan82

hi lilacgal,

not a problem. i see.. oops i didnt read your post properly since you are using the normal 2 hour cycle.then i think it should be alright

and with persil detergent i think that its alright for about 1 capful for a 5kg load but yeah.

another thing to take note is also that if i am not wrong bosch some models have the additional rinse option you may want to opt for that. i think some rinse plus option or so.

and as for that dirt thing that is stuck between the drum,yes that is one of the inherent problems at times but if its too frequent then maybe you wanna consider cleaning the machine.

this is called a maintenance run should be performed around once in every quarter at least to maintain hygiene.

you put detergent about half a cup and then DONT put any clothes close the door and run the machine on a normal cotton cylce at 90 degrees. then after that cycle open the door and wipe down the gasket as well as open the trap door and release all the whatever things that you have stuck in the waste trap i think for bosch its on the front bottom right.

you might want try this and see how it goes okie??

lilacgal

hi ridz....ok will perform this maintenance routine to cleanse the wm...remembered tat we hv done this once b4 starting to use the wm....

lilacgal

hi ridz, will go back check model no....but tik cos is a silver color limited edition so is no longer selling in the market now......

lilacgal

eh i cannot find the model no on the machine leh....only says silver edition....even the instruction guide also didnt put....:p

jollycow

Hi ridz
...any comment on Panasonic and Toshiba's washing machine?
I'm looking into Toshiba AW-D950SS, would you be able to advice pls?

ridhwan82

hi jolly.

im not too familiar with asian tub washer but i try okie?

any particular machine for panasonic?model no.

and for that toshiba i think its good. you need to find machines with direct drive motor. its better.

well things to look out for would be.

water consumption for a normal cycle?
electricity consumption for a normal cycle?
what is the rpm or the highest spin speed and whether we can choose the spin speed or not.
also whether there is lock of the door lid when its spinning? i doubt both panasonic and toshiba has.

but if you were to ask me for my opinion, i would advise that you get fisher and paykel maybe GWC 12 its 7.5kg with about using something like 200 watts for washing and for the water its about max 150 litres of water. spin speed can choose i think 3 speed with max rpm at 1000 (this is good). it has a door lid lock during the spin.
auto matic lint removal system so no need to remove lint from the netting which some machines still uses.
plus it has an agitator in the centre which will provide a better and cleaner wash.
also it has auto load balancing system where it will attempt to correct the load to balance it.
it has delicate wash and regular wash and heavy duty, permanent press cycles as well as soaking funtion.

not to mention that if you have storage water heater you can pipe the hot water to one of the inlet specially for the hot water inlet and there is another cold water inlet and this will let you wash your clothes using hot water (i think max is 65 degrees or so but good enough for most washing action) this is done automatically as the washing machine will mix the hot and cold water before releasing into the drum.

or best still is if you could get a continental washer altogether. yeah?
just let me know what are you requirements in washing and also what are your expectations eg preference for top loads etc. and finally your budget see how we can work it out?

coyotefr

I heard Panasonic is not bad. I am using Maytag (American brand), front loader at RPM 1300. Thumb's up. You may like to go to their website to check the specification and function. www.maytag.com

g00ber

I just bought the electrolux washer and separate dryer. i think it's very good.. problem free and not noisy at all. =) most important in choosing your washing detergent though.. the manual says for best results, use low suds. i use liquid low suds. just 3 small pumps enough for 6kg. clothes come out smelling really nice and fresh. various misc stains also easily come off without pre-treatment. so far so good!

jollycow

Thanks Ridz

For Toshiba: Heard from the vendor it's spin is greater than 800rpm and it has auto waterlevel sensor. The features seem attractic as a whole..

Being a first time user. I can only think of the following requirement..

in general, it has to be quiet & less vibration when it spins.
- Low Energy Consumption
- Easy Maintenance, good after service
- I'm not using hot water to wash so it's not a issue..(Why hot water?)
- at least to last for 5 yr (I assume most can since I'd wash weekly :p)
- Hubby wants it top load.

btw, why do we need lock for the door lid?

ridhwan82

hi jolly,

alright but how much is toshiba going for? price?

okay for fisher paykel it also has auto sensor and i think its a 5 level manual select also available.

after service i would think toshiba is alright. but fisher paykel is good too.

low evergy consumption for fisher paykel i think its about 200 watts or so.

maintenance wise nothing much just that you gotta clean the tub at times to remove the wax build up cos of softener (this is standard with all washing machines) to counter this problem use softener whcih does not contain wax. e.g. vernel.

alright not using hot water then its not an issue. why hot water. well if you are asking me say for example you are washing baby clothings and they need to washed in hot water to kill germs and also to provide cleaner wash. as the enzymes in the washing detergent works best if the it is exposed to temperatures around 40-60 degress its optimum efficiency

for those like kitchen towels and rugs and maybe tea towels which are oily its best to wash at 60-90 degrees it allows the oils to be washed out yeah. hence the reason why the people are now opting to go for continental washer which has built in water heater. plus its low in consumption too.

yeah fisher paykel if i am not wrong 2 years warranty on parts and labour and 5 year rust free.
toshiba im not too sure i think its standard one year. that all no rust warranty.

can last of course 5 years. hmmm most of my continental washers last me averaging about 8-10 years but there was once i used a asian washer i think only a while about 2 years then died. haiz.

top load sure fisher paykel is also top load same with toshiba.

door lid lock is a safety feature in case when the toddlers come and they open it up during wash its not too bad but when its spinning and those without door lid lock would still continue spinning if the door is open cham ah the child.

so yeah better be safe and have the door lid lock ask most of the rest with children they would prefer to have door lid lock.

just my opinion yeah.

i would say that if you are not too particular with price about maybe 700+ or so then opt for either fisher paykel GWC12 or go for continental washers but for that price you can usually only get a 5kg washer. yeah so do consider carefully

as there are some features such as hand wash items which the continental washers can handle but not asian, and also things like silk asian also cannot handle.

ridhwan82

oh hi jolly,

forgot to add one more thing and that is the fisher paykel has the centre agitator that is excellent in helping in the washing cycle. i personally find that with that it beats the clothes direct and at the same time the turning of th drum also has the friction force that is generally used in washing for japanese washers. so yeah this additional feature also allows to safe a bit of water cos it does not solely lies on the water to do the job in which case more water would need to be added to do the job more effectively

so the agitator is a bonus but some people dun like the design so yeah up to you.

ridhwan82

hi fiona,

well thomson machines.

depends on what machine you having and also waht type of quilt are you using.

If you are having the 5kg washers then maybe you may be able to fit in single or maximum up to queen sized one. but depends on what type of quilt it is.

those ikea ones i use as a guide okie?
if you are using the ikea COOL type of synthetic washable quilt then the thomson 5kg can wash up to queen

however if you are using the ikea warm type of synthetic maybe a single size would be alright. while a queen is squeezy

for the 6kg washers then the following may be possibly
ikea cool types you can go up to king sized
ikea warm types you may probably go up to queen though the king may be a bit squeeze.

if your is a comforter then see whats the thickness of the conforter to determine if it is a cool type or the warm types. genrally the thicker ones are warm types and cool ones are the thinner ones.

oh yeah before yuo wash make sure its machine washable. ikea ones are machine washable up to maximum 40 degrees only if i am not wrong

ridhwan82

hi fiona,

well as i mentioned before for 6kg washer you can wash the queen sized quilt not much of a problem. but if you are looking at king sized quilt then depends on whether the king sized one is that of cool type which is not that thick or those warm types where its thick.

if its cool ones then its alright but thick ones then its a no no.

how to gauge is when you place the quilt into the drum then you have a look whether when you are closing the drum is it like bulging out like dumpling or is there space to tumble a bit.

if its bulging then its NO GO. but should there be a little space then its okie.

only thing is that you should not try to use the drying for this as its heavy and the drying capacity is only half to begin with.

although i kinda cheated the last time where i put 2 hours on the dryinf timer and then i will take it out and face the still wet side out and the dry side in the centre of the ball and then continue drying for another full drying time.

but i would not advise you to do that.

fiona

Wow! Thanks for the advise. My hubby just worried that with the 6kg washer, it's still not enough to wash the quilt. It would be quite troublesome if we had to keep bringing the quilt to laundry shop.