WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

for washer its front load right? cos 670F seems to be a front loader.So far i cannot find any specs on the 1780F but by you telling me the features off hand i can surely tell you that the washer with 1200rpm is better. cos the faster you spin the drier your clothes will be and of course with that, when you hang it will dry faster and its is especially crucial if you have a dryer. cos the dryer, higher spin speed means drier clothes and hence lesser electricity to dry the clothes. so do consider.
For the 650rpm cos its fixed im a bit not so keen on it. maybe you can try to get at least around 850 rpm? the EW880F its around 999 or sometimes they have offer 949 but at those neighbourhood shops maybe can get a bit cheaper.

not say that its not adequate but with such a low spin speed when you spin your say jeans its not that dry still retains a lot of moisture and going to take a long long time to dry.

If you are going to compare that with Fisher n Paykel, F&P are on a different league altogether. Cos its asian washer design. Comparisons

1) F&P is a horizontal and washes with the water moving around with an agitator. Continental washer is vertical and wash with a beater that lifts the clothes up when the drum rotates and let the clothes drop onto the water surface hence that force dislodges the dirt
2) Continental washer uses total water 1wash+3rinses total around 50 litres of water. asian ones like F&P uses around 50 litres everytime it fills the drum. so 1wash+3rinses= 4x50=200 litres.
3) Continental washers have thermostat to wash in heated waters but asian design ones just cold water wash.
4) of course the capacity of the F&P is bigger cos of its design. ever wondered why we need such a big one before? to wash quilt? actually even high performance washer like thomson do not dvise customers to wash their own quilt cos its just not designed to wash such big load.on top of that quilts require extra care which the laundromat can provide.
just my views okie?

For built in ovens. im afraid that the pyro cleaning ones are usually above and beyond 1k. im eyeing to change my current oven to de dietrich and their pyro models are at least 2700.

For electrolux i think they also have pyro cleaning around 1k+ though.for brandt i think the FE222XS1 is good also just that it does noyt have pyro cleaning but you also do not need to clean the oven. you just buy the optional catalytic panels to put at the side of the oven. its manual lah.

Say you baking today then cos the oven already hot already right? after you fininsh cooking, then you turn the oven temp to the highest at 270 and then you then just let it kinda 'bake' for like 30mins or so then swith it off. to manually so called manual cleaning. not need to do everytime just maybe after 4-5 uses depending on what you are cooking also. then once.

For electrolux im afriad i dun have much information i go and have a look around then i get back to you.

If you are asking me which is more impt turnspit or cooking, i would say cooking fan. cos thats the one that you kind would use more often than turnspit unless you usually roast or grill chicken.

For me cos i dun have the turnspit hence i will put the chicken in the centre like level 3 and turn on the combination meaning top bottom heat and fan. to help me cook it more evenly with the fan.

But the fe222 dun have such features but you can use the top heat +fan (which fe222 has) just put the chicken a bit lower to 2 or just simply use top bottom heat only.

and when you want to brown (usually the turnspit can do this browning thing cos its rotating freely. but without the turnspit you can just but on the top heat with fan and put to aroudn 230 degrees and then leave the door ajar (this leave the door ajayt cooking is only special to brandt. this is to allow it to be crispy like the crisp of satay like that.charred. or lower temperature if you dun want it to be very charred (this leaving door ajar only left to the last part after the entire bird is already cooked. just browning only then you do the door ajar.

imagine you can work around without turnspit but without fan its hard to imagine.

Take for example cookies, my fren whose ovens dun have the fan cooking, can only bake cookies like one rack at the most also 2 and that with that the cooking is not even the sides gets burned and the centre ones not cooked.

For me using the fan i can put in 2 racks without having to move around the biscuits (perhaps only taking out and turning the tray the other way around and putting back in half way through. and its evenly cooked. and much faster.

usually with chocolate chip cookies (using 1kg butter) i will take on average about 1h45mins to start mixing and baking. (i put in 3 racks at one go and bake for like 25mins then 3 trays out 3 trays in and 3trays out and 3 trays every 25mins.

its fast. but without the fan no way can you do such a feat. but of course it depends on what is it that you cook fairly often.

Like for me with the macaroon cookies, cos its meringue like with egg whites it takes a long long time to bake imagine for a batch of about 100 small cupcake sized cookies i take around 1h15mins to bake (3 racks) compared to 45mins-50mins for each rack if i dun have fan and can only bake top bottom heat with one rack cooking. pengsan man i tell you.

so it dependson what you bake usually. yeah?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

i checked both of the washing machines its front loads not top loads. The 670 costs $899 while the 1280 costs $1249.

oven i cannot find the 665 but the 3610 costs $819. This 3610 costs has almost identical features of the brandt FE222XS1. althought i would prefer you get the brandt one but its your pick.

ridhwan82

hi shania tan,

as of now i have no informaiont about that model that you just mentioned. i will ytry and have a look around and see if i can help you yeah?

doggy_gal

Hi Ridz,

I don't know the price for Brandt WFH1270k. shld be >1k since WFF0812A 800rpm is already $800++. For washer, I'm sticking to $700-800 range if possible.

Sidetrack a little....Can advise on Cuizino oven?
For OV638X ($599)
- 56 litres
- 8 cooking functions
- multifunction oven
- digital time with start and stop programmer
- lamp indications for power & thermostate
- chromed grids
- maxi-grill
- inner walls with self cleaning calaytic panels and crystal clean enamel

is this gd?

cancerman

I am new to this thread.

I will be collecting my keys to my new flat at Boon tiong soon, and I have begun my search for fridge & Washing machine.

So far, I am thinking along the line of Mitsubushi or Fisher and Paykel (E415H) for fridge. And I quite like the washing machine from F&P GWC12.

The salesperson told us that F&P products usually consume less eletrcitiy and water.

Any comments

Hi cancerman,

check your email. I'm also using Mit fridge (MR-F51R)
http://www.mitsubishielectric.com.sg/refrigerator/tiara4.asp

was advised against using something too big and electricity consuming. The uncle said this is sufficient.

I'm targetting my PUB bill to be less than $200 per month with the following usage:-

- Mit fridge
- F & P washing machine and F & P dryer
- 3 TV + 2 SCV set box
- mit inverter air con whereby 2 air-con (at least 9 hours a day)
- 2 desktop PCs + 1 laptop with min 1 laptop on 24/7
- modem + router 24/7
- 1 airpot 24/7
- 1 70X70 water feature 24/7
- 1 mini (desk) water feature 24/7

I think air con is the most electricity consuming but luckily I went ahead with inverter system and also got the best insulation installed. The insulation is those used by industrial and usually flat owners dont use it. Got it installed as advised by brother in law whose working in a company that supplied such insulation to air con companies. My air con was installed by close friend who said it is very seldom that people uses such insulation for household. Industrial uses it as they really need to cut down on electricity.

sugarylily

Hi cancerman,

Seemed like our options for fridge and washing machine are quite similar..

Unfortunately, i'm still struggling with the following washing machine.

Electolux (EWT 1280F) at 1200 rpm (7kg) VS
Fisher Payel (GWC12) 1000rpm for 7.5kg (front load).

Ridz,
Thank for your previous explanation on the above washing machines.
a) F& P uses more water as compared to Electrolux
b) What abt the washing process for both machines?
Which one is more efficient?

cancerman

Hi Sugary_lily

I was told that we should pop by Best denki, harvey norman, blah blah, to check out the elec applicances, but we should get them from neighbourhood stores.

Heard there is a shop at Bukit Batok, Sweetson, that sells things at a much lower rate

I check with friends + colleagues, and they discourages WM, with agitator (like FP), as clothes might get entangled and damaged? Anyone got any comments?

Heard Electrolux is good too. How is the price like?

My colleague recommend me to get Tumble Washing (by thomson). It is supposed to be the best cleaner among the WM. I saw it at IMM best denki last night, but personally i find it very unfriendly. One has to lift the lid and open a metal compartment before getting to the drum.

doggy_gal

Can i ask how much is the Fisher Payel (GWC12) 1000rpm for 7.5kg (front load) and which model is the suitable dryer and price too?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

not a problem.wellif you are talking about efficient then i would say continental brands like electrolux and thomson are more efficient cos in temrs of the water and electricity usage vs the load, it uses less.

compared to F&P. which uses a bit of water and also electricity wise its a bit more.. but then the electrolux uses warm water to wash which is better you have the option see. hence i would say efficient wise its Electrolux and thomson.

As for washing process.
F & P works by agitating using the agitator and moving the water and swirling it around. by moving the bin in one direction while the agitator moves in the opposite direction.

For electrolux which work differentlt the drum is vertical. hence when it churns there is a beater that will bring the clothes upward with the rotating drum but cos of gravity it will so call allow the clothes to drop into the water and hence dislodges the dirt. it works in a similar fashion like our grandmothers do take the clothes and whack the beater against the clothes on the washboard to dislodge the dirt. but yet more gentle cos the clothes fall into the water which is not as rough as whacking it with a beater.

i would prefer to go for electrolux or thomson instead of f&p but then it would be more ex to take electrolux and thomson vs F&P

ridhwan82

hi cancerman.

well yes you got the information right for machines with agitator there is still a slight chance of the clothes getting entangled although i have fren with F& P but no problems with that. but with a slight entangle.

But definitely no for electrolux and thomson.

for me .. a user of thomson for more than 20 years. i must say that i trust in it more then other washers. with the exception of Miele of course. but that price i can die.. anyway

electrolux for an average price would be around 800+ onward to say around 1200+ whilst for thomson it would be lingering around 990+ to 1500+.

yeah with the regards to the metal and the drum. i would say that the drum in thomson is easier and safer., cos if you notice go to any shop and open the door of top loader of any other brands the door bangs open violently while thomson door open springly but more gently not explosively.

my fren had the same thing about the door.. which i find it queer.. its just another door. i would rather have something that is a bit nuisance but having used to the opening the top door and the metal door for more then 20 years i think its just a matter of getting used to it.

furthermore its a small price to pay for the space that the machine consume. it small but packed with a lot of features..i think to me thats a big plus point.

ridhwan82

hi agnes.. im not too sure about the price but i reckon it should be around 900? around there?

also for that size.. there is not exactly a dryer that could fit that description. but you can try drying it in two seperate loads.

meaning wash one load but take half and dry it and then take out and dry again the second one.

cos most dryer in the market is 5kg or 6.5kg.

fisher and paykel ones is 5kg only auto sensing ones are around 600 if i am not wrong.

this is the design flaw that i find with F&P you design a washer that doenst have an accompanying dryer.

Unlike electrlux has a mathing dryer so does thomson.

although i know that F&P have commercial sized dryer machine that can swallow 10kg but i think thats hardly on sale. i saw it once.. before at best denki takashimaya.

sugarylily

Hi Ridz,

Thanks for your information. Hv to ask a silly question. Do you have any idea on the measurements for Brandt conventional electric oven FE222XS1/FE422XS1? Was looking at the Rina Website but no measurement.

Hi cancerman,
not sure abt the price cos hv stopped going "marketing" recently. I agreed with you that the neigbourhood stores are cheaper.

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

not a problem. for brandt ovens.. what measurements are you looking for?
the installation recess or what? let me know yeah i go find for you

cancerman

Dillemma now! I am thinking of F&P GWC12 vs continental WM (front loaders).

Advantages of continental types (what i think):
- Cleans better as it washes with hot water feature
- Saves water
- No entanglement of clothes

Disadvantages (my opinion):
- Washes longer => electricity bill goes up?
- Once the washing starts, u cannot add/remove clothings
- The "door" is at the front, and one got to bend down => might be inconvenient for pregnant women
- More expensive?

I am only comparing the front loaders as I find the "metal door" at the drum very inconvenient. And I feel the spring might be dangerous when it is not handled properly?

I went to Best Denki at Taka last night, and a salesperson recommended a front loader by Bosch. It is supposed to save both water + electricity. And it is transparent. Any comments?

These are ideas going through my mind now.

Please advise.

Hi Ridz, why do u know so much about WM? :p

sugarylily

Hi Ridz,

Noted that Brandt Oven model FE222X has been replaced by FE422X. Would like to reconfirm the measurement for this conventional oven cos my contractor has to create a space below the gas stove since i hv to wait for sometimes before the stock arrives.Is the measurement - H/592 W/592 D/609mm?

Thanks Ridz for assisting.

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily.

yes the measurements are correct. this is specified under the catalogue that i have for FE222. yeah the 422 is slightl better in the sense that the temperatyre is controlled digitally and not by knobs

ridhwan82

hi cancerman,

well let me alley your fears about the washine machines yeah.

Continental VS F&P
-For continental washer yes no doubt it takes a longer time to wash it does not mean that it consumes a lot of electricity.
-For water consumption we all agree that the continental uses the least compared to F&P
-Top loader using the spring maybe you can consider getting the thomson ones cos the door wont snap open at you. its spring is a big gentler and slower in opening.
Though lke what you described its a hassle to open another door but its a small price to pay for cleaner wash with Less water, approx equal electric consumption, oand of course your clothes lasts longer cos of its gentler wash action. Lets compare alright

Continental vs F&P
Water -51 litres vs 140 litres
Capacity 6.5kg vs 7.5 kg
Electricity 1.15kwh at 40 degree vs 0.2 kwh cold
Duration 1h40mins vs 40 mins

If you wanna compare like electrcity then its not fair to say that it uses higher electricity cos its washing for you at 40 degrees vs no heating.

If you must..

Washing cold continental vs F&P
0.3 kwh vs 0.2kwh
its marginal but with lesser water but longer time. yes the time factor i ssomething that is not veyr keen to new users but after a while you will get used to it. believe me its all about adjustment period.

As for the adding more clothes.. well top loads like thomson and f&p would dot aht job great but seriously how many time do you actually need to stop a cycle to add more clothes.

Okay since i cannot convince you to consider thomson (top load)

You can however consider like electrolyux for the front loads. they are excellent. another brand would be bosch but although there are some of the features that i am not too keen for you tot ake the bosch but it is alright.

But definitely i will advise you to consider electrolux for front loader. its equally expensive as bosch if not slightly cheaper. depends on models

next would be more of your needs. what do you need in a washing machine> to consume less spacee cos you need to make way for dryer or stacking option or hanging on wall is an option like the F&P dryer.

So see what are your needs and then continue to search and then narrow your search. actually a lot has got to do with budget more often then not.

good luck .. post more question if you must for these machines are supposedly designed to last for more than 10 years so it will stick with you for a long time and if you buy alreaedy then decided you dyun like it .. too late wait another 10 years to change so choose carefully.

yoki26

hi ridz,
wow..the info u hv provided is excellent! very detail
thank u for the info. Now im abit clear but still abit blur

Oh, is there any model to recommend for Thomson Frontload? You mention electrolux (front load) EW880? Wats the market price for this model? Tink 6.5kg for this washing machine shd be enought for me. And wats the difference of getting frontload and top load? Heard that front load save alot of water. Is it true?

Im looking at Fridge, budget ard $700-$800. Any model to recommend with those tempered glass and safety features u hv mention..Perhaps slightly less than $900 oso can.

And looking at dryer oso..heehee..care to share me the best recommend model?

Thx

ridz, I just (machine) washed the jacket and hanging it to air for a bit longer before I keep it. I heard from a friend that other brands don't last as long as thirsty hippo, as she bought the cheaper ones to try.

ridhwan82

hi hermione.

well for thomson they do not come in frontload models anymore. but its sister brand .. brandt do have front load.

Electrolux EW 880 i reckon the price is about 949 at superstores.

Difference between top loaders vs front loaders is cos of the design.
Another is more to space constraints and preference.

For front loaders if you have little floor space but more vertical space then a dryer stack on top of the washer would be just the thing for you.

While for top loaders it would be washer and dryer placed side by side. (in this post im referring specifically to top loads of continental brands like thomson brandt electrolux and not japanese brand)

cos we are cmoparing continental front loads and top loads they use the same low electricity and low water consumption. compared to asian brands of washers tp loads like panasonic , fisher paykel they use more water.

and of course premium brands like thomson has its design very compact but packed with a lot more features.

Eg Front loads takes about dimension of 60cm wide 60 cm deep. dryer is also 60 cm by 60 cm which will be stacked on top of the washer.

total space used is just 60cm x60cm but higher like about say 1.8m tall.

and for thomson its washer is about 45 cm wide 60cm deep and dryer is about 60 cm placed side by side.

total space used is 110cm wide (45cm = 5 cm gap between washer n dryer and 60cm dryer) and 60 cm deep and maybe around waist line high.

so its about space that you have.
also there is no best dryer or washer... more of your needs.

if you are looking at very good ones of course i can recommend.

MIELE but this german brand doesnt come cheap.

Washers prices starts from 3999 onwards to around 6k while dryer also starts around 4k onwards to around 6.5k

also do you have space for top loads or top loads then work it out from there?

let me know if you need help.

Of for fridges around that price its a bit hard to get . for those with tempered glass etc would certain come in the higher end range of the fridges. i will look around. let you know soon..

idyllic

Hi, is anyone using or has used Panasonic NA-V80? It's a washer cum dryer, 8kg. Any reviews on it, or on washing machines with in-built dryer?

sweet_apple

Hey Ridz,

Can you comment on Whirlpool Washing machines?

I'm contempleting whether to get :

(1) Top Load or Front Load
(2) Whirlpool or Electrolux.

I usually washes my clothes twice a week, since it's only for my hubby & myself, a 5.5 or 6KG one is good enough. Any good recommendations?

yoki26

hi Ridz,
Thank you so much for the info!! no wonder when i went to best denki, i cant find any thomson washing machine but oni their catalogue. But not sure if they still carry any front load machine. I prefer front load then. If no more thomson frontload avail, then shall buy electrolux. heehee..will try Ridz recommendation.

As for fridge, F&P abit too ex. I saw Toshiba model. Nt sure good or not. Do let me know if u hv any recommendation for fridge.

Oh Ridz, do u hv msn account? Can chat wif ya when u online

thank u so much!..

ridhwan82

hi apple,

im terribly sorry for the late reply.. busy preping for CA papers n school is driving me crazy.

with regards yo your queries.. whirpool? well not much comment on that brand.. just that if you ask me i think you are better off with a electrolux cos they are about on the same range.. and of course service is much better with electrolux ad the price range is also about the same.

of course there are better ones in the market..but then again its a matter of preference..

if you are looking at either a top load or front load, look at my previous post yeah on the space constraints.

As for me i purposely re designed my kitchen to accomodate top loads as it would be easier for my mum to do a lateral (side) transfer instead of vertical (up and down) motion.

and of course other considerations too..

ridhwan82

hi yoki,

you are very welcome. dun mention it. anyway yeah thomson does not manufacture any more of the front loads.. they are concentrating only on their top loads. hence you may wanna consider electrolux yeah?

as for fridges... i would not wanna comment much as each has own preference when it comes to like some dun like side by side some prefer sde by side. and there are some who prefers like mutiple doors kinda thing.. so yeah its your call just look for the green label and the neec label for consumption ... it will help keep your bill in check for efficient machine compared to those which zaps electricity especially for fridges cos its on for 365 days all year round rain or shine.

yeah msn can find me for sure.. [email protected]

cha_alex

for info, whirpool and f&p is under same company... service good, very prompt response... I myself own whirpool fridge

crayola

has anyone heard of or using the new Panasonic 2 in 1 washer and dryer washing machines? Any comments on it?

Am thinking of getting cos it saves space but am not sure which of the 2 types to get. The on at a 45deg angle ($1999) or the top loader one(999). Apparently the 45 deg angle washing machine is supposedly to save water consumption

ridhwan82

hi esther,

well they are relatively new and hence i am not too sure about the reviews. from the specs that i see.. althought the capacity isd big i think its 8kg wash but the drying is the same as the same washer-dryer in the market half of the load which means only 4kg dry then after that take out and dry the other half.

I would reckon that you would go with more renowned brands like thomson? washer-dryer 6kg wash 3kg dryin at a time. its about 1500

and in terms of the water usage is much lesser than the panasonic. and electricity consumption also slightly lower. plus rpm wise the panasonic is 1000rpm while thomson one is 1200 if i am not wrong.

so yeah there you go.

michy_wong

Hi Esther, I saw the 45deg angle washing machine too. I really liked the design. Thot it looks real cool, but abit expensive leh... Might be getting a Samsung washer 8kg capacity instead...

crayola

Hi Ridz

thanks! will consider these details. We have space constraint and wall mounting the dryer is not an option we can use cos of restriction of some pillars. Can a 6kg Thomson load wash king size bedsheets and cases without over loading? or a higher capacity one. Will the dryer be able to dry the king size sheets at 3kg capacity?

Anyone else with comments?

Michelle- it's very nice isn't it. But it's not a very big drum load. The Harvey Norman staff was the one who intro-ed the top loader 2 in 1 to us as to compared to the 45 deg one that we were looking at, at first. But he wasn't very sure about certain questions that we asked, thus in this position now. Sigh

michy_wong

Hi Esther, u getting a king size bed too? Same here... I thot getting a 8kg washer should be quite safe. A 6kg one looks abit small to me leh...

ridhwan82

hi ester,

well as i have discussed extensively either in this thread or other similar threads in singaporebrides forum..

i was mentioning something along the line where how frequent do you wash the king size xomforter and of course does it fit the budget that you are looking for.

Take for example if you want to take the 8kgwasher specs of the panasonic but the price tag is a killer 1999. does it really benefit you that much to spend so much while more often than not yo are just washing with a 5 or possibly just a 6kg load?

Plus i also mentioned that usually comforters or quilts are best washed by the commercial laundromat as they have the proper equipments and with proper care. you can usually get your laundry back the nexr working dAY.

So does the extra cost of getting a bigger capacity justify the needs?

I am not trying to be a sour grapes but this is what i usually advise anyone who wants to buy such expensive machines.

Unless you are looking for more. like luxurious washers by Miele and you dun mind cos you care about quality wash although its just a 6kg washer but it costs a whooping 4k+++ yes then go ahead..

for the question on KING SIZED bedsheet.. what kinda bedsheet do yuo mean> as they come in different forms in differing opinions?

for king sized bedsheet i think with a 6kg washer should be able to fit in. as i do not think that the bedsheet would be thicker and heavier than the comforter right??

I understand your predicament with the space constraints. but are you able to stack the dryer on top of a washing machin, is the space avail allow you to do that? cos the price for both say a 6.5kg washer and 6.5 kg dryer is definitely less than 1999. yeah?

sugarylily

Hi Ridz,

was considering whether to get Electroluz 880F or 1280F (1200rpm)? Hope you can enlighten me in term of cose and effectiveness? Only know that 1280F is around 1k+ and apple has bought her 880F for $790

Anyone has any idea what is the rpm for 880F?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

well cost and effectiveness.. the main difference between the two models would be its control panel. the 1280 has a sophisticated control and main display with the mins left to end of wash cycle display and the rpm is 1200.

While the 880f washer has still somewhat semi automatic washing control knob and no diplay panel. just light indicators to indicate progress of the washing machine. and its rpm is if i am not wrong should be 950 or somewhere there..

other than that.. the featuers are similar. with auto balance load system, 6.5kg load.. etc.

and the price if in terms on in superstores the 1280 lingers around 1k+ while the 880 is around 949. currently a lot of places have no stock of the 1280.. might wanna check.

if you ask me of course the higher the rpm the better...as the clothes will come out drier and hence lesser electricity to be used when using the dryer to dry your clothes.

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

apologies.. the rpm for 880f is Max Spin Speed (rpm): 850 (Adjustable)

while the 1280... is 1200...

on top of which the 1280 has additional features one more wash program extra over the 880. and 1280 uses 49litres of water while 880 uses 59 litres the rest in terms of consumption is the same.

yeah like i mention before the 1280 features a lcd screen where you select the cycle spin speed. temp, etc. and just click select on and off. thats all.. while the 880 uses knob but these knobs are simple to use. my aunt has it. so far easy enough for her maid to understand.

sugarylily

Hi Ridz,

thanks for the prompt reply. Sorry to bother you as i am out of town. Can't rememeber the 1280 model but was written down as one of the list as compared to 880.

why 880 requires more water than 1280? enlighten whether i am correct....880 can support 6.5kg while 1280 support 7kg.

As for my usage, guess window curtain is the one that require thorough wash. Do i require to get a dryer if i get this electroulux brand?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

not a problem. hmmm okie maybe i will just get the main specs here for you to compare okie>

Desciption 1280f 880f
Washing capacity 7kg 6.5kg (but usually rated as 6kg for ease)
spin speed 1200 850
temperature variable variable
washing system jet+ direct spray aqua shower
note that cos the 1280 comes with the jet + direct wash the wash requires less water due to the specs of how it washes as compared to 880 where it just uses the aquashower and the higher water consumption is to compensate in lack of features to achieve the same result as 1280 which has 2 washing features

taken from electrolux website:
Superior Wash performance
Jet Wash action removes even the toughest stains away. Water is sprayed onto clothes at a rate of 8litres per minute to give superior wash result

LCP PANEL diplay YES NO (indicators only)

well as for the dryer its your own preference. if you are looking to wash and then dry your clothes so that when you take out from dyer its ready to wear.. then should get a dryer.. but if you just looking for washing mashing macine and then you just put in on the clothes line and then once its dry then you take it down then just get the washer..

sugarylily

hi ridz,

thank you so much! was asking my partner to find the website for electroulux but i couldn't find...can you share with me the website?
my partner going to put the order tonite.

Based on ur expertise, do you think 1280 is better?

ridhwan82

hi sugarlily,

well if course if you ask me the more expensive the better.. but then it depends on you. are you confortable in operating using the menu instead of the knobs? for me the reason why i didnt get the top of the line range of thomson machine for myself with the digital control is to make things easier for my mum who is going to be using it everyday.

If you are looking at price wise.. if you can spare the extra yes its worth it of course.

www.electrolux.com,sg

and if you are looking at information for the 1280 they dun really have extensive information. i am to upload for you the catalogue for front loads for electrolux and you can read it up? but the maximum allowable attachment is like only 50kb or something like that.. and the file is big.. the information is extensive in this catalogue. with most of the models as well as comparison chart. unless you wanna me to email you.. pm me your email address i send it to you..

what i usually do before i buy my appliances be it oven washing machine or dryer or air con. usually i will read up its catalogue, i will go down and have a go at these items and i will ask questions until i am satisfied and then finally i will try to look at online reviews if any and then will download the product manual and read before i decide.

Reading reviews help and especially readintg the manual. then you will know what features that machine has as well as things such as is it easy to operate etc..

pm me yeah for the catalogue