WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

bungy_jumper

hi blue,

np! btw, the other day I went to best as wanted to buy a dvd system. the guy trying hard to make me buy on the spot. He said if i pay installments $1700, if i pay cash he can sell me@ 1600.
so no such thing as 0% lor.

genki_des

Juz wanna shared incase some guys din get to know, HN can negotiate on prices, waiver for delivery/installations too. Recently bought my tv and home theatre system which actual total cost is $2100, together got a discount of $200/- and pay by 30 mths 0% instalment by Credit card.
Dun ask me what HN means, i wrote it in such a way that the privilege still can be enjoy by all peoples before complains goes up to management and jeopardise all benefits to the public. But of cos u guys are smart enough to guess it, rite?

chaoahbeng

i bot an ariston frontload washer. i think quite good leh even tho i haven't use it yet. front load washer i hear hor, tend to be more gentle to the clothes when spinning, so clothes wun be spoilt so soon. also, my washer got the platinum care thing, heard that it's very gentle on the clothes and can use the handwash function.

u know lah, both me and my wife (especially) are lazy bums and so we always choose those household appliances that makes life easier for us. that way, she wun have an excuse to ask me to handwash her clothes for her...hehehe. I can alwasy tell her to "just throw inside washing machine lor"

baby5556

hi beng ah....just share with u abt this front load ariston washer, is urs a 3 in 1 meaning, wash, spin, dry??

if it is, all u need is half spoon of detergent powder or half bottle of detergent will do. Try not to mix colour clothes and white clothings togther as when it cums to spin dry...the coloured clothes will stain the whites..

and also when it cums to spin and drying part, it will tend to be veri noisy, bear with it loh ;p
they have a manual for u to read and also, use low subs powder or detergent leh, cos ariston is abit sensitive to breeze, dynamo kinda .....if u need more infos, check with the mayer staff for more ....or ask the sales person who u that...

just my 5cts lah ...

pigmy

Does anyone has any experience with Panasonic Washer cum Dryer (Top Load)? The one retailing at $999?

blissbride

Hi jumped,

You bought a thomson 818 issit? At $830 before or after GST?

I just bought mine at $880.Shop owner said that I can get back to him if I can find another shop selling the same thing at a cheaper price.

luckystar

bliss, i juz got my thomson 818 at only $780!
which shop did u went to?
i bought mine at hong liang (alexandra) / max credit..

blissbride

Hi LuckyStar, when did you buy your washer?

Yesterday I just went to Min Sheng and Vincent charged me $830 before GST. I tried to bargain for lower price but he claimed that its the best price he can give. If I had bought from him 1 year earlier, the price for the washer was much lower. Now, the px for the washer has increase due to the Europe side. I dunno if I should believe him or not........ Vincent has quite a good reputation here ... sigh....

Sorry but what does max credit mean? Does it mean that Hong liang is able to give you credit for the washer???

luckystar

sorry.. Max Credit is the shop name as well...
think Max Credit and Hong Liang is the same shop...
actually i bought mine in aug/sep.. think there was a promotion then... that's why can get 780...
mayb u can try hong liang/max credit as well?
can call and ask them for quote first...

bungy_jumper

hi bliss,
yah i bought the 818 like luckystars, but i bought it about 2 months ago at $830 incl delivery and GST, maybe now $780 only like luckystars managed to get.

Max credit is the name of a shop. Its beside hong liang.

blissbride

Hi Luckystars and jumped,

Called Hong Liang just now. A guy on the line quoted me $900 + hamper. He said further negotiation can be made once I go down personally.
Sigh! Dont think I can get the washer at $780 cos both Hong Liang and Min Sheng said that that was the px offered during the promotion last month

bungy_jumper

hi bliss,
yah, think there was a promotion. prob is you never know when is thomson promo because they dont advertise. I bought mine at $830, 1 week after i bought it, my fren also bought it at $780.
Sigh``
how about you ask them to do away with the hamper?
The other time when i asked Max credit, the first price they gave me was $900. After bargaining then we agreed on $830

ohstrawberry

Just a piece of advise learnt from my mum.
Try to get Japan brand rather that Korean one, cause they r more lasting. It seems like Japan products are better in quality, proven by my mum's washing machine, she had used the machine for abt 15years. And abt 1 year ago she changed to a Korean brand, recently keep having problems and had to call in for the repairing.

roooller

seem like nowadays electrical appliances don't seem to make last that's long.

i guess that's explain why things r getting cheaper but doesn't last.

same goes to TV nowadays.

hi ohstrawberry,
wat brand ur mum has used previously b4 using current one?

bungy_jumper

hi my mum also told me sumthing about japanese brands.
she said 20 years ago when Jap products still new, everybody was going for german stuff. When Jap brands came in to penetrate the market, they offered very attractive pricing.
Thus, the situation is the same now. Everybody going for Japanese brands, Korean stuff are good in quality too and they are cheap becos they are trying to penetrate the market and compete with japanese products.

so my conclusion is korean products are equally good, just felt that they branch out in a wide range of prodts too quickly. Still, its better than China made.

sue88

I just bought a Thomson 808 at $780, came with a hamper that contains 5KG persil washing power, 2 bath towels and a relaxing eye pad.

ultramouse

Halo,
Does anyone know what is the difference between Thomson 808, 818 and 828? And also do you know what is the website to get the specs info?

bungy_jumper

there is not much difference other than about $50 between each.
but 808 has fixed rpm at 650. U want to adjust also cannot.
818 can adjust from 100 to 750 i think
then 828 up to 950 or sumthing like that.

huimin

Can anyone recommend me a worthy washing machine, refrigator and a mounted TV? I like F&P but saw some threads rated this brand poor...

A fres recommend me to go one electrical shop at bukit bt. cheap n carry many brands. anyone knows abt it?...

volare

(1) ETRONIN at Tampines
Blk 801 Tel.67842525/67817810
staff to look for George/Catherine/Vincent

(2) Mega Discount Store at Katong Mall 6346 7132

(3) Sweetson Electrical Trading located at Bkt Batok.
Call to get a quote: 65632308 or 65668150.

(4) Raffles Home Audio
81, Genting Lane, #02-03, Everich Industrial Building Tel:6744 5018

(5) Iberna Pacific Pte Ltd
Blk 258, Pasir Ris St 21, #02-329, Loyang Point
6585 3733

(6) Goh Ah Bee
62888611, 62803962, @ blk 210, hougang st 21, #01-247

(7) Min Sheng @ Toa Payoh
Tel : 63544031

(8) Everjoint at Blk 159 Ang Mo Kio Ave 4 #04-534 Singapore 560159
6458 2531 / 64582578. boss (Mr Richard Lee)

(9) Hong Liang Electrical
Blk 123,Bukit Merah Lane1
#01-70
Tel-62783331 (Contact: Vincent)

marble

I got the Electrolux frontload 880. Very pleased with it. If i remember correctly I paid $830 for it at Sweetson. that was in Dec 04.

snuggles

Does anyone have any experience with the samsung frontload washers. Am thinking of getting one and wondering if they are reliable?

scorp

Anyone has comments on Bosch and Electrolux washing machines? R they good cos they r European brands?

booboo

Need comments and experience with Brandit and EF washers & dryer (frontload), best about the price too.

april1976

Looking for a washer that can wash delicate wear well and doesn't cause too much creases when I tumble dry. Any recommendations? My current washer is killlin all my clothes...

snuggles

Thanks Ivan, will definitely get a quote from them. By the way, how long have you been using your samsung washer and which model did you get?

ivan_wong

Hi Snuggles,I have been using mine for 1+ years now.I dont remember the model no.Its the top loading 8kg.No complaints till now and the best thing i like about it is the dirt collection system.

sgblingff

Hi all readers out there!

I am planning to get a front load washing machine and shortlisted 3 brands but I need to hear your comments about these 3 brands seriously.

1) Electrolux (Not sure of model yet)
2) Brandt (Model: 1066).
3) Ariston (Not sure of model yet)

I am looking for something no smaller than 6 kg.

I truely appreciate all your inputs and feedback.

interrace

Hi sgblingff,

I have ordered E880 for electrolux front load, will be using next wk, cos delivery will be due next wk... 6.5kg.
i choose electrolux cos i like the outlook best..hee...wanted to get f&p but too bad they dun have front load washer.
hope this helps..

booboo

Hi Interrace

May I know how much u pay for E880 elecrolux front load? And u did not buy their dryer?

Think of getting elecrolux too.

interrace

Hi booboo,

i got it for $810, is that expensive?
intially i ordered f&p topload washer, however later decide to get dryer, and hence got no space to put top load undernealth the dryer, thus i changed to electrolux which was the very first front load model recommended to me by a salesguy.

ankh

My new home will have more curtains than usual, so my colleague advised me to buy as big a kg load as possible for the washing machine so i can throw in the curtains to wash. Can someone advise me if this should be the case? How do you wash curtains anyway?

Appreciate your advice, thanks!

bungy_jumper

The first time its better to send for dry cleaning. Subsequently just throw into the washing machine but remember not to use hot water.

venusian

Hi ankh,
Most of the WM when they specify the kg, it normally refers to the weight when your clothes are dry. So imagine if we soak the clothes or worse curtains overnite, those clothes will surely be heavier...thus maybe an 8.5kg is the min to go if you intend to wash curtains. But again i think, dun wash all curtains at one go...

venusian

And im eyeing on the hitachi 8.5kg. The power consumption not as high as toshiba's. This WM has a feature where if you open a small top lid, it will pump in the natural air to help spin dry faster and thus use less energy to spin.

Quite like the idea but i forgot the model name...think it's call Jet Set dry something...

sisilee

I bought a Brandt washing Machine (6.5 kg) at $650.00. Expensive? Any comments on this brand (think made in Spain).

ridhwan82

brandt is another brand which is also from the makers of Thomson, a renowned top load washing machine maker. Fret not. its good, If you are unsure on what to set can ask me yeah? see if i can help you

twosix

I'm currently looking at Bosch washer, the new Maxx 1200 or WFO2460. I note that the older Maxx 1000 can only wash half load at Easy Wash. Is this true for the newer Maxx 1200 as well?