WASHING MACHINE-which brand is good?

wm

hmm...so far only use the easy care function. din remove water from the outlet at the bottom right of the machine. y need to remove? tot water will flow out from the piping? does the quick wash function washes the bedsheets/clothes clean?

jane

I just went Harvey Norman yesterday. Was told that the two models from Bosch, 1600 and 2000 are made in thailand. Was just wondering how true it is.

Amber, the right bottom outlet you are referring to is the filter? You mean you have to clear the water from there everytime you use the quick wash mode or for all washes?

amber

hi, vm & jane

was told by the demo person to try to remove the water from the outlet. most of the water will drain out by itself but there is still some water collected at the outlet at the bottom right. there is this round cap you can remove to let the water flow out. hv to remove slowly and do this a few times cos the water will gush out otherwise. remember reading this from the instruction booklet too. both quick wash and normal wash will hv water collected there.

the sheets came out ok i guess. it was not that dirty to start with. some of my frens even use their new bedsheets without washing them first.

amber

hi, aiyoyo
guess nothing much will happen. juz that water when collected for a long time will grow algae. was told to pour away the water in the compartment for putting the washing powder as well as air the washer after use to ensure the washer can last us a long long time. was also told it's best to let the washer rest for at least an hr before the next wash.

alaron

anyone using Eletrolux washer? isiz noise?

hi jane,
is true that Bosch washers 1600 & 2000 are made assembled in thailand. initially i was also considering Bosch 2000 but later the salesman highlighted to me that the door hook is made of plastic - not durable cos might crack unlike some other models which are made of metal. that's why now i considering Electrolux washer 1079. in fact, the capacity and RPM are the same as Bosch 2000 but the hook is metal (which i feel safer) plus it is European made. the price difference is only $60 ($1059 vs $999) - therefore decided to opt for Electrolux. and i hv called up an electrical shop and they quoted me $850 for both machines. in that case, all the more i would go for Electrolux - greater savings.

seagal

Just wanna contribute my 2-cents worth.
I am using a Thomson washing machine but finds that the washing cycle is too long. It's one and a half hour regardless of the load size.
Seems like wasting electricity and water if I have only a small load to wash ...
Any other Thomson washing machine owners having this same problem ?

wendylee

Im selling off mine, Samsung WA6500B2 with 6.5kg. Just bought less than 1 mth ago, used less than 10 times... and moving to a new place got new washer hence I dont need 2 of them.

I do have a 'speedy' mode the least time to wash (also depends on the load, say medium level water only takes 28mins of wash). And has a nice melody after washing done.

Interested party pls leave down your email addy or you can email me: [email protected]

chupachups

I just bought a Hitachi 7.5kg WM and used it for the first time on Wednesday. I'm quite happy with it. It has a nice tone whenever you press any buttoms and also after the washing is finished, a musical melody will play to remind you to collect your clothes. I bought it for $500 from Lee Meng. Best Denki selling for $599 so save about $100. I think b/w Samsung and Hitachi, Hitachi is more reliable bcos most pple i spoke to said that Japanese brands are more trustworthy.

fel

Hi Sharon(chupachups),

Is yr Hitachi WM a top load and how long does it takes to complete for a full load wash?

chupachups

Hi Fel,

Yes mine's a topload. It takes about 45mins to complete a full load (under normal wash). There's also functions for 'speedy' wash which is faster and 'heavy' which may take a little more time for very dirty clothes.

rabbitwsk

Me and my mum uses samsung for abt 2 years plus already. So far so good. A little hint on keeping your washer in good condition - choose a good washing powder.

chupachups

rabbitwsk,

which washing powder r u using? i dun really like washing powder cos i'm afraid it will leave white spots on my clothes leh so i bought dynamo...has a nice scent too

rabbitwsk

Oh! I am using Amway SA8. I have friends that have used it for 10 over years. This powder has a ingredient that protect metal parts on clothings from corrosion, thus indirectly also protecting the mental parts of the washing machine. Mine is steel drum, u see.

white stain? Cld it be caused by softener? Sometimes if u pour softern onto the clothes directly, it will stain lei. Wow, previous powder u use power lei .... No encounter on this cos SA8 can be used to wash baby clothes. Thus very delicate to clothes and skin.

cheers.

dopey332

I've a 7kg LG Intellowasher (frontloader) for just $500 from Gain City.

Super cheap and very pleased with it. For that price, I can't even get a decent 5kg front loader from Ariston/Whirlpool.

It has kept my clothes clean.
And I don't have to wash that often with this huge capacity.

antares

To those using Brandt topload washing machine, may I know what washing powder did u all use? Although the brandt pple recommend me to use Dixan but I find it pretty ex.. so any cheaper alternative? Thanks.

tuffy

Hi everyone, I got a Mayer washing machine and after one year of use, my whites come out of the wash with these greenish-blackish spots that can't be scrubbed off! Does anyone know why? Help!!!!

xyz123

hi Tuffy, i was informed by a few friends that softeners can result in blackish spots on shirts. the main reason (i read somewhere) is the softener did not mix well with water and got direct contact with the clothings.

but if that particular wash did not use softener, then i am not sure what could be the reason. sorry.

oxray

If u need, u can email me yr brand, model that u want and I can tell u how much can i get it for.

I've friends working in Courts and Safe to get staff price. But I'm not sure whether it would be very much cheaper than those shops in the neighbourhood shop.

celtricia

hi...

my aunt has recommended me to use thomson brand n i've gone down to harvey norman, d sales person there also recommended me thomson.. i've got d specs n model.. it TX828, 5kg... harvey norman is selling at 928 nw due to GSS but i've checked out d neighbourhood shop n they r selling me for 820.. juz for u ppl's info.. cheers!

avocado

hi celtricia,
U can try to call clementi electrical shop & ask them to quote u..i forgot the phone number,u can try to search fr. yellow pages. We bot most of our electrical appl fr. them.

Personally,i prefer 6kg load.Previously,we bot 5kg national washing m/c & we found the capacity too small even for couple. So we exchanged for 6kg one...

celtricia

oh hi avocado..
thanks for d info.. but clementi got lots of electrical shop leh.. whh area one u referring to? issit d one at d interchange there?

vone

hi tuffy,

mayb u can try tis mtd, pour 1 btl of white vinegar into ur washing machine & on it. wash it like u r washing clothes (but w/o d clothes inside). after it has finished, open d cover n air it 2 get rid of d vinegar "smell".

aso, d nxt time after u finished washing ur clothes, open d cover n air ur machine.

i find tat d above can help me 2 a certain extent. found tat i dun hv so much black spots on my whites oledi.

avocado

HI celtricia,
Ya it is the one located at Clementi Central,directly opp of hawker center & btw post office & POSB.

luckystar

Hi avocado/celtricia,
think appliances from clementi shop not selling at cheap px.
think those like mega discount store, goh ah bee, maximum credit cheaper... see details that are posted in the forum...

luckystar

Hi Celtricia,

look under:-
CHeapest Place for Electircal GOODS!!

went and ask for some quotation form clementi shop before, true they are cheaper than those big shops, like harvey and denki.
but when i called up other shops mentioned in the website, they are even cheaper than clementi one..

celtricia, not sure how accurate the address of those shops are, think better to call and check with them on the address. can ask for quotes also...

but don't try prominent... heard the boss went missing...

for some comments on those electrical shops, u can try searching for "electrical appliances", then u will see what are some of the problems with some of the shops..

hope this helps..

bungy_jumper

Hi Luckystars,
Here we meet again. I also checked quite a number of shops. I went to Maximum credit last weekend too, the guy there quoted me fairly reasonable prices because he die die trying to get me to put down a deposit for the items i asked.
Fridge+washer+ TV + Home Threatre sys + LCD came up to about $6900.

luckystar

Hi bungy, so did u put down any deposits?? can call up the rest of the shops to check px also... is it "cheapest" at maximum credit (or hong liang, i think..)?? or u got another cheaper quote somewhere?

bungy_jumper

Luckystars,
not sure where is the cheapest. Max C quoted me 830 and Ming Sheng quoted me 839. These are the cheapest i got so far. The rest ranged from 859 to 879.
I dint put any deposit. I planning to get all my electricals from this shop in Tampines except the Thomson washer cos i think they no lobang and they quoted me 879 for the TX818.
So, if you get any quote lower than 830, do let me know.

tattyteddy

Has anyone got comments abt this 7kg LG Intellowasher (frontloader) washing machine? Wat abt Elba brand (frontloader) too?
Actually, I m looking at a budget range from $500 - $700.. Any recommendations on other washing machines?

fanyong

Hi TattyBear,

I also targetting the 7kg Intellowasher.... What other elect applicances are u targetting? Maybe we can buy together to get bulk discount... What do u think?

eve74sg

Hey

I just bought a 7kg LG Intellowasher (front load) from Carrefour. Usual price $649, but i took the display set with some stain on top so its 20% off. Cos I have a dryer so the stain doesnt matter.

I did not do any research on other washers at all :p but thought it is a good deal so just buy it. Hopefully I got a good deal

tianyun

hey...u gals also getting frontload LG? I've set my eyes for one also should be a 7kg one as well...it's good i heard at least nxt time if u want to get a dryer can easier just stack it on top...cheers

fanyong

I have just bought a front load 7kg LG washer. Heard that front load saves water as compared to the top load one.... so I have decided to buy it.

bungy_jumper

I just bought my top load Thomson. Din't like the front load cos its bulky and you cant stop the machine halfway to add clothes.

Hi luckystars, the shop quoted my $859 but decided to matched my best offer at $830 since i bought other things from them. However, my colleague bought the 818 2 days after me at $750, she siad its her hubby's lobang.