This Indecision Killing Me

couragewong

Need some advice. I know this guy for more than 10years, since we both study in the same college.
We still keep in contact with each other, wherever we are, to maintain our friendship. The indecision that is killing me is that; I realised that i like him, 3years back. I still do... Since he graduated from college, he has been staying and now working in the states.
I know he liked me when we were in college. Even when he has a gf (after I didnt return his affection), he still care much about me, to be there for me when i needed help, to the point that his gf were jealous and hated me.
He knows that I liked him now because I told him about my feelings, when he was back in our hometown 2yrs ago. He didnt say anything and his reaction remains status quo. Its “killing†me, not knowing where I stand in his world. And I hate the way he is treating me, like I am his gf. Yes I enjoy the treatment as well even though its hurting me. I have waited for him (tried to go into a relationship but ends up, I still think about him and its unfair for the other guy), still do but somehow I feel tired of waiting now. He came back from the states to celebrate CNY this year, its great to see him but it hurts me when he knows I am still waiting and he still keeping mum. I wonder what he is waiting. Yes I know about distance. He’s in USA and I am 29hrs apart by plane from him. The one thing I know is that he did tell my friend that he fancies me but he don’t believe in long distance relationship. He used to have a long distance relationship but the girl cheated on him. For me, I was with my bf for 6 years until he decided to cheat on me too. I remember the day when I broke up with my ex, I told him over the net, the next thing I know, he called me and comfort me. I told him I want to get away and he offered to pay for everything for me to fly to USA. I didn’t go because I was too caught up in my heartache.
What happened during this CNY is that, he brings me home to see his family, even have family dinner with them, not once or twice but a lot of times until I lost count. Let’s put it this way, if they have family dinner, I will be there sitting next to him. We spent Valentine together, went for dinner, nothing special happened, just candle light dinner and wine, movie, but still, status quo.
I know he likes me, how do I know – 1) one of our friend been telling me the stuff he told him, that he wants to be with me however could it be just a false hope? 2) For him to bring a girl home to have dinner with his family, it means a very big deal for him and his parents. He’s a family kind of person (which is something I like in him because for me its about responsibilities) 3) During one of the dinner, his sis asked if I am going to USA for a holiday? I told her maybe and he said to her, “very soon she will be going there to stay and probably work thereâ€. My expression went like “Huhâ€, since when that was my plan? Is it a hint from him that he wants to bring me to USA to be with him soon? I know he’s gonna get a house soon - is that it? Could it be that he want to get a house first and then tell me he wan to be with me? 4) I am going to visit him in the states, this coming Nov to celebrate his and mine birthday.. After putting off my plans for so long, its time I’m gonna make it real. And like what he offered previously, he’s gonna cover my all expenses (shopping not included – darn!!), he even planned where he wants to me bring me for sight seeing when I get there. 8 months to go and he already planned..
The thing is : should I wait any longer more? I am applying for my Australian PR and my agent are helping me in the process part. It may take awhile for everything to be complete n get approval. I don’t want to leave and lose him, knowing that I actually have a chance with him but then I cant be waiting forever. If I still wait on, how much longer should the wait be? Plus, I am not getting any younger and I do want to have a relationship which will leads to marriage and have a family of my own. I do not wish to wait too late to conceive a baby. (i know letting go would eventually leads to me my mr right but i have tried, the relationship turns out to be bad. I hv 2 relationship that were "abusive" - not physical btw) He still calls me from the states and writes to me. So what do you think?

sorry diver,
tried to edit it but said i have to contact moderator for post that is more than 20mins.

Green,
I did tell him that I want to go to Oz and find a job there. He kept nodding and smiled. I used to asked him about his feeling, trust me... it so hard to get infor from him.

I stopped after awhile. But his every action still says yes i like you and i want to be with you

you guys think that the sign he's giving says that he liked n care about me or he just treating me as a close friends only?

Firstly, what's his character like? quiet type, like to beat ard the bush?

I don't think a guy will just bring any girl home for dinner especially CNY... I believe he does have feelings for you.. He should be waiting for the right time... Do you visit his family members when u r free? His parents nv ask u anything? Maybe you can get info from his sis?

hey OO,
yes he's more to a quiet type of person. making a big decision do take him awhile to decide sometimes. Its gonna be 2yrs and he still let me wait.

I don't really visit his family as they are not from Singapore. His sis are in KL. The only time they get together is CNY.

His parents sees me as his gf and his dad is wishing him to get married soon. All his sis, bro-in-law, bro, sis-in-law (he's no 7 in the family btw. total including him is 8 and all are married) all tease him and asked him is it your gf or all those sweet stuff. he just smiled and never said anything.

headache!!!

u misssed the boat a few times along the way... right now the decisions made are now as simplistic as in the past, so it does take alot more courage and planning and Money. nobody wants to go into a doomed relationship and given the current situation of distance, time and individual lives - it might be better if both of u can go into it with open eyes. spontaneity is great, but it might not be appropriate with the current situation.

no doubt it's mutual so if u do need to ask him, speak openly and with maturity... it's not gonna be easy for either party to suddenly drop everything to form a union... personally for myself i'd just wait abit... i dun think it's an Indecision, but rather a Preparation...

on another note, i must say - some ladies are so keen to ensure and confirm that things are gonna happen - tat they tend to screw it up by seeking this same affirmation. examples? flowers for vday, gifts for bday etc etc... sometimes better to just lose the hints, dun ask too much and let the guy perform. a relationship is 2-way and mutual... if u want it your way, be sure it doesn't screw the other person's sense of romance/surprise...

the way i look at it, there's a chance he might propose... maybe not marriage, but his plans for the future for both of u... he might still be awaiting for some confirmation of stuff... and if u put him in a situation where he has to act before he is prepared - u might just screw up the whole process...

there's nothing worse than having your surprise turned into a nitemare...

Dear courage,

When r u gg to Oz? After visiting him in US? Since u gg to US, might as well keep your question till u r there.

Maybe he dare not make a commitment to u as he might be bz over at US, no time for u?

Or, after hearing that u r going to Oz, he dare not even pop out the question.

He's afraid history will repeat? (Referring to his previous relationship)

So wat I feel is, be patient, relax, keep in contact with him as often as possible. Try to be positive.

Well, above r my personal opinions. U should know him better... Wish u good luck~! Do let us know the final answer.. ;)

i think i already screwed up my chances previously by wanting him to give me an answer n to accept me. His last trip back (which was during CNY), i just take things easy and I didnt even asked him anything on his feelings for me. We both enjoyed each other company so much.. I can sense that he do care for me but I just don't want to give myself false hope and hurt myself. I dare not to picture anything.

I told him that I will be going to USA in Nov (which is the month of his bday and also for me to save up enough for my shopping). Am saving my whole year leave to be there for one month.

I guess I'll just wait after my trip in Nov to know what he's thinking. You guys think I should drop the idea of waiting after I visited him in USA and pack my bags to go Oz, should he still keeping mum?

I keep telling myself that CNY is his last chance to ask me. Now his last last chance will be after my trip to USA.

hmm..
why do gal have to wait for guys to hint/ tell first if they are into a relationship??
You could just ask him what is the status for both of u... sis/bro relationship or will like to be gf/bf relationship?
Some guys are just shy or uncertain if the gal will accept him anot, so they just keep mum....until he feel certain tt e gal will accept him then pop e qns one..

correction : u misssed the boat a few times along the way... right now the decisions made are not as simplistic as in the past

Errr... if you tell him you like him and wish to see the relationship blossom into something more, what is there for you to lose?

The worst case scenario is being rejected but as least you can have peace of mind and move on rather than have this thing keep lingering on.

Agree with Silver and November.

If u love him a lot, can take a chance to ask him directly again.

*Touch wood* Even if u get rejected, u dun have to face him subsequently as u will be overseas soon.

Isn't better to seize your own happiness rather than wait n wait for him to initate first.
Onli make yrself miserable...
Since you know he is very quiet type,I guess he also very shy one w regards to relationship ba...U mention in the post it will be his last last chance when u visit him...
But in the first place, does he know it will be his last last chance??
I think a bit unfair to him if u just leave without even trying n just plain waiting loh..
Relationship is 2-way, dun assume he know n will be able to catch yr hint...
coz some guy need to be told them straight into their face one, hint dun work on them..
my hb is one of them...
if i dun ask him, i think we will not be together liao.(coz i hint until i fed-up so ask him straight.)
=P

Ook..Something similar happened with me.
My Then Bf(Now Husband) was pretty much the same as your friend. He would tell his friends that he likes me but yet would not propose or hint or anything.

He would even send me messages like "i miss you so much sweetheart" and when he calls and i ask him what does he mean by sweetheart, he would say nothing, its just a message!

I hinted him numerous times that i liked him and i didnt get any response in return. So i did like what some other forumers did, ask him directly whats my status. Even then he act blur.

SO i just had to ask what Are we? FRIENDS??? And he said No..And i asked Girlfriend Boyfriend??? And he said something like that... Really frustrating but eventually he said "yes yes you are my girlfriend.." And my next question was "No proposal and u assume i'm your girlfriend..so when is our anniversary date then???"

So i think u should ask your friend directly too. Sometimes men are so difficult. As expected, there was no wedding proposal for me also because he assumed i'm his wife to be.

Oh well, so much for romantic endings...

hi courage, let me tell you that i really hate guys like your friend. Leaving people thinking of all the possiblities and then finally because he is too shy or whatever reason, leave people hanging there - can't move forward and can't move backwards. BOth of my relationships are like that.

I waited for the first guy for 5-6 yrs and he never give me a straightforward answer as to whether we are in a relationship or not. I felt so stupid waiting for him.

The second guy ( my current husband) also leave me hanging there. We went out every weekend and for about 6 months, he did not say anything. We just continue going out like friends though he would celebrate my birthday, go out with me for v day and send me roses. But he just doesn;t want to open his mouth to ask me to be his gf.

I learnt from experience that i hate that sort of thing. I ask him directly in the end because if his answer was no, we are not in a relationship, i would just move forward with my life. I remembered that I was going to Bangkok for a week and then decided to pluck up my courage.

If I have not opened my mouth, i would think that the relationship will still be hanging there.

So Courage, be brave and ask him directly if he has any plans for you and him. Don;'t let him dicate your life and your future plans as u mentioned that you are thinking of applying for Aussie PR. Does he know your plans in the first place? Make it known to him that you are not at his beck and call. Good luck.

cant stand it on what courage has described on this guy!
typical 2 timer..

ok courage, you mentioned you are sad on how he treated you, disillusioned kinda affections, duno whr he is leading you kinda affections..

did you spare a tot for his gf?
wat if his gf finds out? how responsible is this guy towards his gf? and thus, as a good man?

or do you enjoy this and feel he is a good man afterall since he has strayed to your side now?

Evidence of him being an indecisive guy, being someone who wants both worlds

"What happened during this CNY is that, he brings me home to see his family, even have family dinner with them, not once or twice but a lot of times until I lost count. Let’s put it this way, if they have family dinner, I will be there sitting next to him. We spent Valentine together, went for dinner, nothing special happened, just candle light dinner and wine, movie, but still, status quo."

i wonder how his parents look upon you? someone sweet and willing to wait for him or someone whom his son brought home once again after seeing countless faces of gals.

if he likes you, he should make a decision, and NOT give you such illusions of as if you are the gf and at the same time, forfeited his gf's attendence in family events

this is just so not right!

Pink cloud, I merely asked Courage to ponder over the possibility of a double life. No need to speak as if he is indeed living such a lifestyle lah. Stay cool, yah.

Chill down pink cloud...

I think the guy is just shy type n assume Courage will "know" he is accepting her as his gf since he bought her to so much family gathering n spending those special day with her..

Some guy are more "mu tuo" on regards to feeling area.. They didn't know gal need confirmation not assumption...

just my POV...sorrie for the spelling mistake...

some guy are like tt one lah..
is their char.....
some shy... afraid kana rejected..
some think their hint very obvious liao.. not need to say also know is gf/bf relationship liao..
well... i believe we gal also can ask guys what is the status of their relationship one, no need to wait for guys to "pop" the question lah..
if kana rejected, just be sad for a while n move on.... better than keep waiting n making ourself miserable n guessing... then later regret.
we can be more "siao sha" too..
=D

* is the hanyu ping ying correct?? i quite bad in my hanyu ping ying one...
*embarrassed*
=P

oh..
btw, Courage..
do u mean now tt he is single??
coz i see your 1st post..
he has a gf but cheated on him right?
so... he have a clean breakup w her liao anot?
coz if he is attached....then he is a jerk and leading u on..
cannot stand this kind of guy too, looking out for other gal while hanging onto his current gf...

hmmm...
does Pink Could mean Courage and her bf's ex??
well, dunno if is still ex anot, since courage had not ans my qns....

huh, only courage meh?? :S

"Even when he has a gf (after I didnt return his affection), he still care much about me, to be there for me when i needed help, to the point that his gf were jealous and hated me.">> tot there's another gal but he still wana bring courage to his house?

Oh!

The ex-gf was the guy's college sweetheart. That was more than 10 years ago. Courage started liking this guy three years ago and confessed her feelings to him two years ago.

Don't think that his indecisiveness has anything to do with the ex-gf.

cos i dun see him 2-timing like wat has been suggested.. and like i said in the earlier posts... there are things that needs to be further defined before going any further...

look at the logistics, the distance and u should know time is a much needed commodity... like i said, i dun see it as an indecision... an indecision is If u can't decide. but that's the point of the view of the lady... decisions take time, and just cos it has not been made does not mean it won't be made...

there should be more patience. but seems that it has transcended to the point where this guy seems to be taking her for a ride. the way i see it, he's more or less there and perhaps might be planning a proposal of sorts to be together... but it's not something u just say and it happens... there's more considerations at our age and career than just "let's go steady"...

so why is everyone jumping the gun? CNY just passed a month ago

I don't think he is wrong either but it doesn't give Courage a pleasant feeling when he didn't so much say that he likes her after her own confession to liking him two years ago. Even if he is not ready for a commitment, which is understandable given the situation, not even telling her that he reciprocates in feelings, is just so XYZ (I can't find a right word to describe the ridcule).

If I were Courage, I might think there is a slight possiblilty that he is gay, two-timer or even terminally ill. Of course this is too drama mama lah which may just come and go in a flash to a woman's mind.

And, how can he be making plans alone and in utter secrecy when it involves two lives? This part really got me baffled.

just cos u're ready for a strong commitment does not make the other party obliged to jump in with u... remember it takes 2 to tango. given the situation, it's hard to tango so soon... and other than the period during CNY, there's no consistency to the relationship... for me i wouldn't jump either... not til i'm ready in all aspects cos i dun wanna hurt the girl. if i'm prepared and i'm rejected, then so be it...

chicken versus egg... u prepare for a relationship to avoid problems, or u just go into the relationship then run thru the problems...

courage

Understand your frustration, hanging in the air. You want closure.

Just ask him directly. If he isn't ready to commit to a relationship, at least you hear it from him directly & you can make a decision from there on.

Timing plays an important role in a relationship. This is the wonder of fate.
If you are ready & he is not, not fated.
If he is ready & you are not, also not fated.
Both parties have to ready at that same time for a relationship to happen.

Hi Courage,

personally, these are my views:-
1) he is keen in you but perhaps not to the extend of treating you as a girlfriend. Put it this way, if a guy is interested in a gal, he will go all out to be with her, no matter what. There will be no mixed signals, else there might be chance he will lose her. if he is sure you are the one, he dont want to lose you.
2) i am buffled by the fact that he is sending mixed signals to you, after so many years of knowing each other. it just somehow seemed that he hasnt make up his mind yet.
3)so i wont be surprise if he is seeing someone there in the US. so, be prepared. cos he seemed to have alot of question marks. from the way you put across your story, he does not seem to give you much confident about the future between the 2 of you too.
4) as for your citizenship to Australia, i would proceed with my original plan, if i were you. go ahead with your plan until he tells you something concrete. it is best to work with what you have now (ur aussie citizenship) than what you think you have (the r/s with this US guy)

just my 2 cents worth.

I got what you mean Powder and agree with you to a great extent. Perhaps the guy did not handle the whole thing well, thus, letting Courage feel that she is so important to him, yet there was no formal validation.

hi Doll,

sometimes i think ladies ask for too much... alot of the stuff there are pretty obvious liao, yet still need More confirmation. even when we were young and dating... u actually go out more than a few times before u get together... Now as we age, we take a little longer, and coupled with the distance and logistics - dun u think it's normal to take even longer if anyone were to pop anyone any question?

if u're having a life in the USA, come back to spore, re-light the flame with a guy u could have been with, spend the whole CNY with him, then u have to head back to the USA, and he's applying for Oz-PR... what would u have done?

i dun think we can see it with the typical "Relationship Progress Graph"... dun u think? next thing i know we even have pple saying he two-timer, shy quiet type etc etc... Aren't we missing the picture here? wat's wrong with waiting OR doing something Yourself? instead of thinking that he is Indecisive and all that?

to me he's being normal... it's some of the women here who are throwing conspiracy theories... of cos if BOTH are seriously rooted in s'pore then Yeah, i'd half-agree with the development. But it ain't.

similarly... if u head to USA for holiday, meet a smashing guy and had all the holiday romance... would u be coming back here and without much thoughts - just propose to have a relationship, quit your career and just uproot and leave? it's not as easy as what most pple think... maybe gender-wise, women are more capable of giving careers up and uprooting for their men... but it's not as easy a decision to make in terms of TIME. some things have to be sorted out... and between CNY and Now, it's abt what? 1-month only?

and if it's killing her, then just open mouth and ask... why need to 2nd-guess the guy's character?

Powder, I have mis-read her post. I thought the flame was re-ignited two years ago when she confessed her liking to him and that they had dinner with his family many times over that two years. Now that I read her post again, I see what you see now and totally agree with your "assessment".

My bad.

So, the flame only started to burn this CNY, not two CNY ago. Then I feel that Courage should keep an open mind on this guy, that is, to carry on with her own plan while keeping in touch with him. See where it leads to. Time will tell but she must not be fixated about just one possibility of an outcome, or else she would be giving too much pressure to herself. If eventually they don't come together, at least she still has a friend in him.

no one's bad lah, just wanna see them happily together... would be wonderful rite? hehe...

i just wanted to keep re-iterating on the Time-factor becos i think if not given - the urgency might screw it up more than it can help. but tat's my assessment... this kind of things sometimes u just have to let it happen... sometimes really have to leave to nature liao lor... if force it now, both might have issues later becos they took rash decision to be together too prematurely and thus had to give up certain aspects when all they had to do was to give it that little more time...

my point is simply to say that there's nothing wrong with this guy.

Powder,

How abt each time u raise e issue asking whether do u wan to work out e relationship n each time tat guy ll give u some sort of reply which is really open ended though he is not replying a NO answer but yet u hear no more from him.

Just totally no news, nothing at all.

It has been 4 years and each time the whole cycle repeat itself.
He ll always say ‘wait for me to call, u don call’
4 years on and is still no enough for him to build up his career or whatever so and to confirm whether he wants this relationship to work out?

hi carrot,

wat's your background? if both of u are readily available in s'pore and in such case if u want a commitment and he is not giving u, then u should move on.

actually the flavour for u will be totally different from this thread hor... Firstly - dun confuse the story in this thread to be similar to yours. u will only confuse yourself, and confuse those in this thread to think their case is similar to yours.

if any guy tells u "wait for me to call, u dun call", there's almost a 90% chance that he's not interested in u Now or in the Near-future, a 60% chance he's married, a 70% chance he's two-timing u, a 30% chance u'll end up together... Honestly - why are u still waiting for this door to open?

u chase him and get a "No"-substitute for an answer liao leh... why u still asking? dun get the hint?

Hi powder,

He is not married. Why did u cite a 30%? On what basis u draw that line?
Reason for the wait is that he is single and unattached and we were once together.
We got together too fast without really understanding each other.
So I wanted us to have another go in getting 2 know each other better and along the way to assess are we really able to build up a relationship.

Erh......his NO is he never said NO of not wanting to work it out. What I had written in earlier post was ‘some sort of reply which is really open ended‘ though is definitely not a NO.

He knows for a fact that I wanted us to work it out but each time I ask him, he will never reply a NO answer yet I don’t see any action from him.
If his action is a NO then why can’t he simply say no.
What is this guy thinking?
Why are there such people around, selfishly, refusing to give a clear answer?

hard to give a basis, guess more due to life-experience? if the guy doesn't wanna be with u now, i think it's really silly to wait. u know, all these waiting here waiting there originates from the TV. normally u wait becos u know the person is coming, or u wait becos u agreed to meet. u dun normally wait when there's no agreement, when u're not sure when he's coming, and u're just standing there HOPING that he'll come.

"Reason for the wait is that he is single and unattached and we were once together."
- huh? seriously is this a reason at all??? this is not even a reason to love, like or be attached. u no other choices that u have to look back? have u tried moving forward and meeting new pple?

"So I wanted us to have another go in getting 2 know each other better and along the way to assess are we really able to build up a relationship."
- is this a mutual Want?

"Erh......his NO is he never said NO of not wanting to work it out. What I had written in earlier post was ‘some sort of reply which is really open ended‘ though is definitely not a NO."
- could he be trying to tell u NO in a nice way, and hoping u get the hint but your mind process it that he is Not saying No?

"If his action is a NO then why can’t he simply say no.
What is this guy thinking?
Why are there such people around, selfishly, refusing to give a clear answer?"
- why do u need a Clear NO when a not-clear No works just as well? u think he is holding u back and giving u hope, but he may be thinking that he is trying to ask u to go and trying to not to give u hopes. must he give u a clear no???

ok maybe in Your world - it's either Yes, or No. but in some worlds, there's also "i dun need to answer u"... if u meet with pple from this world and u keep asking for a Yes/No, then be prepared to wait all your life. the best answer u are getting now is a "No Answer". doesn't that tell u something???

we want to chope seat we put tissue paper, we wanna buy dress we reserve the dress, we wanna buy house buy car we put in deposit. if u Dun do all these things, then what does that normally indicate?

sometimes pple dun say no becos they wanna leave an option open... but that does not mean they will exercise that option... in fact most times - it remains simply an option which they just want, but not a choice they Want.

u're an option, not a choice... the sooner u figure out that being an option is worthless in a relationship, the better. In a real relationship - u're a Choice, not an option.

sometimes we go to a restaurant with frens and we get the menu with all the food, but we're simply not hungry.

"dun feel like eating"

"so u dun wanna eat?"

"i dun feel like eating"

"so u dun wanna eat"

"just dun feel like eating"

"u dun wanna eat isit? just say u dun wanna eat lah!"

"i dun feel like eating, why must i say i dun wanna eat?"

"u must say u want to eat or dun want to eat"

"but why can't i say i dun feel like eating?"

end result is the same - the person will not order food, nor will he be eating the food. what kind of a sick expectation do u have - to expect him to answer the way u want him to answer, when his answer is good enough for his intention Not to eat???

i normally fear girls who need a definite answer even though the answer i gave them is a pretty definite outcome liao...