The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Thanks hazelnut
for reminding. I may just get organza for the railings or juz tie ribbons on it. I'm not going to spend on the decor. But wonder how to decorate the cocktail area? I didn't check with audrey yet.
When is you big day in june? I may go to peep-peep huh heehee.

touraco,
Crazy price for decor quoted from audrey's!

Apple,
i didn't look for printer. I'm blessed to have a buddy who is a printer. Hee hee. However, must still give some amt for the job.
I've no idea about the design of the cards yet.

panzz,
you are always nice to share the information. Thank you! I've email secret gardeen abt the petals in bulk but no respond. :-(

I echo finnish's comment about price quoted from Audrey's. Check out others to compare prices.

And finnish, hee.. as long as you gals don't find me luo suo then I am more than happy to hang around :P
Pop by secret gardens if you have the time, or give them a call to look for jaslyn. It might be faster that way.

finnish, no need to peep lah... come have a look if you have time but i'm using my own florist and sadly, i haven't got a big fat budget for decor so there won't be much to see.... which ballroom will you be using? did you go measure up the railings over the weekend in the end?

touraco, wise move on the maid of honour. have you gotten used to being married?

panzz, you're definitely not luo suo (!!!) and i'm sure the gals on this thread would agree with me that you've been most helpful since you've been there and done it all already!

Touraco,
it very much depends on you and your FH on whether you wanna leave seats for the photographer and videographer. My husband does videography and I understand that most of the time, couples do not leave seats for him.

On my wedding night, we did cater for their seats. And I only had 16 tables so doing the table to table rounds was quick. My photographer and videographer had a lot of time to sit down and eat now and then

Touraco, yep it's a bit quiet.
I have been regularly reading your posts though.
You are very active in the forum

Actually, come to think of it now, Beaufort banquet deal is really not comprehensive. No cards, no day room, no beer, no projector and the menu is expensive! But I like the resort feel and the Lawn. Sigh, hope at the very least that the food is good. My in-laws already complaining that it is out of the way, expensive and all that. If the food is lousy, can imagine what they will say!

Finnish...
Have you decided what theme yet? Or have you gone down to take the measurements of the place yet?

Queen,
Ya, the deal at beaufort... so lousy, but bo bian, i dun have that many tables so have to choose beaufort. Rasa's deals are so much better!!! Haizzzz..... At first i wanted Hotel Intercontinental, good location , new and i love the ballroom... too bad they need double the no. of tables for wkend....

Apple,
Yep, one of the main reasons for choosing Beaufort is also my small no. of tables, estimated at most only 22 tables and of course i wanted to have a garden solemnization. Just hope that the angbaos can cover most of the banquet, I'm not even expecting to break even.

Btw, my wedding date is Mar 05, when do I have to book the JP? Want to get the ones recommended by other brides in the forum. Is it too early to start calling them?

Well gals, though Beaufort don't give as much freebies as most of the other banquet venues but it is special in its own way. No worries, I'm sure you will have a memorable wedding and your guests too will have a great time.

Queen, some JP really very hot stuff. So if you are looking at someone who is popular, then it might be worthwhile to book his time first.

Queen
really? yah...quite active in the other thread..heehee

my mother was complaining that it's so far out...hopefully everything will be ok
i wanted everyone to have a good memory of the wedding and not just another wedding to them

just went to the website of beaufort and it seems that they have included some spa voucher etc as perks for the packages...going to ask Sun Sun about it as they said they will increase the prices and they are not

Panzz,
Who was your JP?
Is he friendly?
Wedding is still about 11 months away, call them now dunno whether will appear too kiasu and dunno whether it will be difficult for them to commit to the date. But no harm trying I guess.

Touraco,
yah... Sun Sun gave us a deadline to sign up by end of Mar for the old pricing right? She said that the new price will be higher but will throw in spa voucher and 1 or 2 tables free if we take the new pricing. I also checked out their website not long ago. The banquet pricing is till the old one...maybe the website is not updated yet.

queen
the only price increase is $50 for the standard package for 10 tables and below.the rest of the prices remain the same but with all the perks.
she never mentioned anything abt the free tables thing.

Hi Queen,
Are you sure there's gonna be 1 or 2 tables free? That is quite ridiculous leh... they dun even waive all the wine corkage or include beer that costs $500+ but instead give a table that costs almost $800???!!! Wanna faint liao.....

Touraco,
I too saw the spa voucher perks on the net, but seems like their information is not very accurate cos the cheapest package one portion says 8 course, the details says 9 course... how can they be so careless... alamak!

Queen,
I can't remember his full name, only know he is Mr Yee. Probably have his name somewhere on my marriage cert. He is a friendly guy and can conduct the ceremony in Mandarin. I got to know from my hubby that there are a couple of JPs quite popular but when we approached them, they were already booked. So we kinda engaged our JP without really knowing who he is :P
If you really interested in contacting my JP when the date draws near and you can't find anyone else, you email me or private message me and I'll search for his contacts.

Touraco, Apple,
Are you sure it is $50 increase for only the standard pkg? Sun Sun told me there will be a $90 increase for all the packages! She mentioned that the spa vouchers will come with the new pricing. As for the free tables, it could be a perk for their coming wedding show... I can't really remember. But I'm sure she mentioned the spa vouchers and free tables (just 1 or 2 tables) with the new pricing. Actually, if the price goes up by $90, they can definitely give 1 or 2 tables free. Not much loss to them.

queen
yah...take a look at their new pricing on the web vs the old one. that's the only change.

when are they having their wedding show?

have you all signed the banquet contract with beaufort? if you have, it would be difficult to ask for freebies from sun sun...

queen,
rest assured... the food is okay considering that it's wedding banquet but of course not as good as some other top hotels in town... but i heard the service is quite good. Actually, i know there are quite a few other hotels in town with ballrooms for just 22 tables.

with regards to the jp, i guess you can book as soon as possible if you want the very popular ones. i left it till too late and had to make a quite a few calls before finding one.

touraco,
think the wedding show wouldn't be anytime soon 'cos haven't seen any advertisement in the papers or magazines...

apple,
from the little i know, 1 free table is given at their wedding show for every 10 confirmed tables. beer is also thrown in at their wedding show.

panzz,
sure hope it is going to be memorable to not only me, but all my guests who will be coming to the wedding... i had so much doubts about this place after looking elsewhere... sigh...

Hazelnut sounds like she has already signed up with Beaufort. Anyway, Hazelnut, like I said, it is hard to find a place that will meet everyone's expectations. Once decided, you should just go all out to think of it as the most wonderful place for your wedding and dont' let other comments dampen your mood.

Oh my gosh!
Touraco, you are right! Only $50 increase for std package! Jialat! I feel a bit cheated now. I had wanted to sign up only during their wedding show to get the free beer. But when Sun Sun told me that there will be an increase in price for every package for weddings booked after March 04, I decided to sign up to get the old pricing. I'll be taking the premium pkg and now it seems like only the std package has an increase in price!
How can like that? Now for signing up early, I don't get the spa voucher, free beer or tables cos not signing up during their show! Maybe I should call Sun Sun and ask her to explain. I'm signing the contract under some sort of misrepresentation and should render the contract void!

That aside, I tried asking for freebies before signing up too, but was unsuccessful. It's not that I regretted signing with Beaufort, just that their package really is not all that 'value-for-money'. I guess most of us here is going for the Lawn or the ambience instead.

Actually I went to look at quite a number of ballrooms before deciding on Beaufort. Went to Sheraton, Marriot, Grand Hyatt, Botanical Gardens.
But somehow, my FH and I still like the ambience at Beaufort more. In fact, all the town hotels which we checked out cater for 20 tables but the perks for no. of tables less than their required minimum is quite lousy, eg. no beer, no day room, no corkage waiver etc. Else, the package price is more expensive compared to their std packages. So we decided to take Beaufort.

Panzz,
Thanks for your encouragement. You are right to say that since we have all signed up, might as well make the best out of what we can get...
but now, after knowing that I'm misinformed by Beaufort, a bit unhappy leh.

queen
exactly how i feel,my dear
i feel cheated too.we are in a rush to sign up for fear they wld increase the price too.
i went to botanical gardens,hyatt garden as well.
i like the hyatt garden but they only have buffet which my parents are not really in favour of. The botanical gardens can't accomodate that many tables too.

me and my FH love the exclusivity and ambience of the beaufort's dinner area and the lawn
we chose this despite the fact that both of our parents think it's a bit out of the way

btw,when's your AD?

18touraco,
My AD is 27 Mar 05, feels quite far away actually.
My FH called Beaufort for a general enquiry on their 2005 packages pricing. He spoke to some other staff, not Sun Sun. The person said it will be $718+++, $818+++, $918+++. So I guess Sun Sun didn't tell me wrongly. There is an increase in pricing for every package. So not so unhappy now... maybe the website is not updated properly.

Queen, touraco, wedding really quite a tough affair hor.. need to consider so much things and sometimes got unhappy stuff happening. Whatever it is, it would definitely be memorable in the end cos it is once a lifetime thingy...

Wah Queen, your wedding day still a year away, you so early start to prepare liao.. me more like last minute for a lot of things

Panzz,
Yah, quite kiasu right? Not a year away lah, about 10 months.

Didn't do anything yet actually, only got the venue booked and bought a ready made gown from Allure. Since I'm doing the ala-carte way, lots of things to settle by myself. Evening gown, suits, flowers, shoes, accessories etc. don't even know when to start! Somemore my flat expected to come next January and my big day is March, plenty to complete in a short time. Not feeling the urgency yet, but want to try and book those popular 'people' first, like JP and photographers.

Touraco,
when is your date? Have you started preparing?

Do you girls go for facials? Is it worth it?

hi queen
i am getting so stressed by the preparation that i am getting nightmares and sleepless nights.
My big day is just slightly under 11 months..mine is in beginning apr.

my house is rumored to be ready around Feb next year...big big headache if it really is

i am going to choose and design my gown next monday...planning PS in Oct...then have to attend marriage preparation class, source for photographers,suits, finding tailor for both mums,sourcing for wine, design of invites, finding printers,choosing flower girls and page boys,who's going to be bestman, maid of honor and their responsibilities,florists,sourcing for bands etc,accessories,when to do rehearsal and who to involve,book my pastor's time and many many more
i think i am going crazy over it.

i just started going facial...not sure if it's useful though..heehee

Queen,
No la, not kiasu since you are going to do it the ala-carte way. I guess things were a bit easier for me since I took a package which comes with MTM wedding gown, evening gown etc. I'm living with my in-laws and so we only had to renovate our room, so in comparison, you and Touraco probably had more to deal with

And yes, it's better to book certain things first otherwise you might not get the photographers, videographers, makeup artists etc. of your choice.

Actually I think you should consider taking up a package of some sorts to cover makeup artists, flowers, gowns etc. It would definitely be much cheaper and easier.

As for facial, I've always been going for sessions so it wasn't done just for my wedding. It is useful cos it helps when you are applying makeup. After application, makeup will stay on longer. But I also realised that me and my girl friends got so stressed that we had break-outs/pimples on our face on our photoshoot day or wedding day. So whether facial or not, still looked terrible. In conclusion, facial yes but u gals must take care, drink lots of water and eat lotsa fruits.

Touraco,
Ai yo, dont' stress la! Just do things one at a time, maybe putting down in a list would help? That's what I told Finnish also. Compile a list and just strike off when they are done.

Oct photoshoot? Hee.. enjoy yourself. You will feel mei mei on that day. Just went with my friend for her photoshoot. Was her personal assistant :P She looked really pretty and the makeup for her eyes was amazing. I had tremendous fun for my wedding shoot!

Touraco,
Don't stress lah, must enjoy the process. I'm still taking it very easy. But now that you mentioned about the makeup artists, tailor for mother & father, wine, invites etc... realised we haven't really think about them! A bit gan cheong now. My PS is also in Oct, the only thing we worry about is getting the suit done for my FH. We thinking of going Thailand to do them, cos can tailor make for our dads and maybe shop for cards. So all in all could be cheaper. But me & my FH always only think and say, never make an effort to 'action'. Guess must buck up a bit.

Panzz,
Yah, a bit regretted not taking up a bridal package. Cos I think it will be difficult to find the evening gown, and if MTM from bridal shops, might be too expensive! But too late now, just continue to ala-carte.
I'm not the kind who bothers to take care of my skin very well, just the normal cleansing and moisturising. I'm an engineer, so no need for makeup and all that. Recently experiencing breakouts so went to see a dermatologist and is on antibiotics. But now getting married, dunno whether to go to facials, get rid of some light scars. But I've heard stories about how they are so expensive and not that effective. So dunno should spend that money or not.

hi gals, just realised this site here! good! cos i just booked beaufort too.. can i join u gals 4 discussion? mi a dec bride so i'm active at The Dec Brides site.

welcome babu

queen,panzz
i told my hubby that i am getting too stressed over the preparation and he just laugh it off...so angry...and the worse thing is he's outstation now....sigh...

panzz: when u use ur photo for ur invites...u scan in the physical photo? my bridal shop don't return u the negatives leh.
going to my BS to choose and design gown next week...so excited...

i did compile a list...and i keep making changes to it whenever i thought of new idea...hehehe

queen: we are worried abt the suit too but we cldn't find the time to go to bangkok before our PS...

thanks gals for the encouragement...else i will really go bonkers

hi touraco,
thanx for e welcome, u got e grand ballrm too? Sunsun is e one that attend us, quite frienzly..
but stil nego on e villa that we're going to hold our solome there..

oh ya, wat is JP u gals talkin bout, izzit e one that read our vows? then i need too, cos my solome holds there, i need to book him rite, how to go about huh?

hi babu
we are getting the grand salon...
we are also getting the ginger terrace for the solemnisation.
what are you negotiating for the villa..all i know they won't budge for the upgrade..

for the JP, you can refer to the ROM website...they have a list of the JPs

ginger terrance? we're not having upgradin, just book another villa for e solem, so nego for a better rate, cos one nite 1k!! very ex lor.. we still ve e suite and extra villa for overseas frenz.

oic, ya sun sun did mentioned, i find it quite nice cos facing e sea, but my fh prefer villa so tryin to nego at cheaper rate.. have u make appt wif JP oredi? should i call now izzit too early? will kanna scold or not, call so early? mi on 17th dec 2004.

Queen,

dun think last minute facial will help. But if you are planning to do facial, you should start now. It is a huge amount of money so I guess it is really up to you on whether you want to or not. I even had scrubs done for my back in order to wear my low back gowns cos my sister kept saying that my back didn't look good. Sigh...

As for getting an evening gown, you can still try visiting bridal salons but buy a piece off the rack. Sometimes U will get something cheap. My friend got her white wedding gown from Jazreel for 80 bucks! She is such a lucky girl!

I guess the -ve part about not getting a package is that you have to spend more effort sourcing and coordinating.. and I think it adds up more. When the salons put together a package, I think they do negotiate with each party providing the services and lower down the price to make it attractive.

Anyway, since you and Touraco are both doing it the "ala-carte" way in some sense, if you need contacts, you can let me know and I will email them to you.

babu, welcome to the thread.

Touraco,
I guess your hubby can't really help it la since he is outstationed. That's why he laughed it off, and to men, that's their way of letting you feel less stressed.

I purchased both the physical photos as well as most of the negatives from the photography studio. And I think my hubby scanned from the physical photo. I left designing, printing of card etc. pretty much to him.

Hee... ya ya.. i think there are a few things that are very exciting in a wedding... trying on gowns during BS shopping... designing your own gown ... photo shoot and seeing your makeover ... viewing your photos for the first time etc etc. You will definitely look forward to them. So have fun!

Anyway, my hubby had two suits made.. one with the bridal salon and one with a tailor at peninsula plaza. Men's suits shouldn't be too hard to find :P

You just hang on in there k!