The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Touraco,

Just PM you the URL liao! Actually we had much more photos but my husband was too lazy to scan in. We definitely spent a bomb on photos...

panzz
guess wat??? u and i are in the same course in uni....but we are different batch, i think
the world is so small

Hi Panzz!
Thanks for the URL.
You looked absolutely radiant in your pictures.

The private pool in the villa looks good.
The villa looks like a romantic and private retreat for couples.

Touraco,
Allure Charix is not a bridal salon. It has a Pret-a-Porter concept. It has a designer who design wedding & evening gowns, get them made into 3 pieces (1 piece for 1 size, S, M, L) per design and sell them off like clothes in a boutique. They don't do MTM for any brides. So just walk in and buy off whatever your like. All new pieces. They sell very nice evening gowns and cheongsam as well.

Touraco,
OH really! haha... more like singapore is so small :P Me low profile in school so i didnt' expect anyone to really remember me

Queen,
Thank you thank you.. just complained to my hubby that he put up all the photos that we didnt' choose to put in album and I look a bit farnie in some of them... Hee... he was too impatient and didn't wait for the photos to be returned by the studio before he start scanning.

The villa pool is really nice. i had the chance to do some swimming in it the next morning, was expecting it to be salt water but it wasn't :P
And one of my hubby's best men went for a quick swim in the pool on the actual day while we are resting. We really did fully utilise the villa afterall

If you really want to pamper yourself then I strongly recommend to upgrade to the villa.

panzz
i agreed with queen that u looked so radiant and happy that day...smiling from one ear to the other...

actually i already find u very familiar...but cant recall where i see you and then i saw one of your jie-mei and i recall

Touraco,
I know exactly which bridesmaid you are talking about!
It happens all the time haha... everytime school mates will go "OH now I remember.. you were the one who always hang around with "XYZ"!!!" sigh... must go and tell her, she too high profile la..

Yap, I had great fun on my wedding day and at the photoshoot... a bit black face initially when I turned up at the studio for my photoshoot cos too stressed out by the amount of things I have to do for my wedding while still having to work... but after we start to take photos, my mood got better and better. Hee.. so that explains why I was grinning all the time...

So girls, just enjoy your wedding day and if something doesn

Sorry, posted without completing the sentence... was about to say, no matter what happens, just enjoy the whole wedding preps as well as the actual day. Really once a lifetime experience

wow u guys make it seem so fun to do everything DIY...but i don't have the time to put so much energy into it leh...then met with my friend who is a wedding coordinator today...he like so critical to people who do it themselves and look amateurish...

also, he make it seem like i have to source for so many things...or rather, if he source i either get lousy stuff or he gonna charge for it! hmm...maybe SHOULD do everything myself then!

also hey, i wanna check on the quality of food...can't find a menu on the website...for the most basic package what's the food like ah?

Hi allison,

Welcome to the thread. It is tough doing DIY stuff but you get a great sense of satisfaction after the whole event. But of course, you got to have the time to plan and do things, if you don't have the time and no budget constraint then by all means go ahead with engaging others' help in wedding preps.

I hope I dont' sound rude but your wedding coordinator friend don't sound very friendly. You got to get people who are just as enthusiatic about your wedding as you are to help you with it.

As for food, mine was Chinese food and our families liked them. They have western buffet too, think the food is also ok, maybe some other brides having buffet on their wedding day would be able to comment more on it. I didn't want the buffet cos the venue gets a bit smoky as the hotel staff will be "bbq-ing" food and the whole event doesn't look as grand as a chinese sit down dinner. Family members and older folks usually don't quite appreciate buffet.

panzz,
heehee...actually i don't know u nor her...just that you are right...she's those high profile kind of person lor...
me also very low profile...and i hang around pple who are low profile too.heehee

Touraco,

Wah, now I very interested to see how you look like.. and then I tell you whether you low or high profile ok! hee...

am new here so a big hello to all. i have been following closely to your happenings here since i will also be having my banquet at the beaufort. have always found the information here very informative and useful which explains why i didn't felt the need to ask the same questions (that brides-to-be ask) until now.

panzz,
am thinking of the villa for solemnisation as well but am concerned about the space constraint at the pool. how many people did you manage to fit for your ceremony? & what did you do for decor?

hi panzz, ya, he like not as enthusiastic as me leh...oh well...i look thru martha stewart today got so many nice stuffs i want to copy! haha!

also, i got the package and menu from beaufort...food sounds boring and its so ex now! and no beer no free corkage...what's with them? so stingy
somemore location a bit out of way...

actually the only reason why i wanted beaufort cos i wanted solemnisation in the lawn AND THEN i read somewhere on this forum that no chairs are allowed on the lawn...so how to do solemnisation? stand ah

Hi Allison,

I guess Beaufort has a reputation to keep as they are afterall one of the multi stars hotels. There was SARS outbreak a couple of months prior to my wedding and I was expecting them to be able to give some freebies. Quite terrible of me to want to exploit them in such situation but just couldn't resist the temptation :P

Anyway, I gave up trying after a while cos I realised that if they start to give certain items free, they will be facing a lot of trouble with future wedding couples. People like me would be telling others what I got free and you would try to get the same from them too... so when times are good and they no longer have to give out freebies, they would be stuck in a difficult position. They have a reputation to upkeep and thus they hardly give in to any requests for freebies.

If solemnisation in the lawn is the only factor for choosing beaufort, then maybe you can check out other venues such as the botanic gardens or the Mandai Orchid garden (http://www.mandai.com.sg/)? I've heard of couples having their solemnisation in the open Piazza (within the Water garden) in Mandai Orchid garden. It would be rather unique and after that you can still have your banquet in one of the hotels in town? Hotels like conrad, shangri-la are also very cool!

The website Touraco showed should give you an idea on solemnisation done on the lawn at beaufort. I think they meant chairs for the guests would not be placed on the lawn. Bride, bride groom, witnesses, JOP should be able to sit

For free beer and such, you should attend the wedding fair at beaufort and sign up with them then. They would be able to give out some stuff at the fair.

Hi hazelnut,

Welcome to the thread. I didn't really count the number of people I had over at the villa that day. It should be about 20+ and they are all family members. I sent my bridesmaids and helpers down to the grand salon to help decor the place.

There is limited space in front of the pool so if you have a big group of relatives and friends (50 or more) then maybe you want to reconsider. You wouldn't want kids to run about or get pushed into the pool.

Alternatively, you can have some of them stand inside the villa... relatives in front at the poolside while the rest remains in the villa but with all the glass panel doors open.

I didn't do any decor... sun sun has wonderfully arranged for:
1.setting up of the table with 5 chairs
2. moving of 2 flora stands that would be used for the banquet to the villa and then moving them back to grand salon after that
3. the use of the centerpieces for decor on the table.

My guests were all standing, no chairs but it was ok cos the entire ceremony is rather short.

Hi apple,

Didn't managed to get pics taken, there was something going on so not nice to take pic with people around. We were also quite rushed as I guess she may have to be stand-by there at the function.

hi guys, thanks all for your info. Hey saw the pic touraco, so the place looks like this? So if wanna have solemnization under a little gazebo/canopy/tent thing you need to erect it yourself lah? The chairs can be placed on the side pavement part? that's fine actually...i was imagining no chairs and everyone has to stand...and you know how long christian solemnization can be....

was telling my friend about the place, she agreed the 800+++ food definitely sounded better and worth it...but that means i have to pay about 900+
think nobody would give me so much ang paos! :~(

also, we were lamenting that we couldn't go for the buffet because it would be quite mean for the older folks and grandparents etc...but the buffet food has more variety and sounds more hi-quality then sit down chinese meal!

anyone else has tips or bits to share?

i was thinking of just making an appt to go down to check it out...if the whole place is really pretty and worth the 900+ bux, then i don't mind. I dun wan a solemnization in another place far away because was trying to cut down inconvenience. Otherwise would do it in my church.

allison
it wld be better if you go down and take a look at the place and see how you feel abt the whole place.

i wanted buffet initially but rule it out cos' it's the same price as the banquet and the older folks might not like buffet. banquet is being served whereas buffet is not.

Panzz & Apple,
thanks for the welcome.

and Panzz, thanks so much for filling me in on your solemnisation. Will be looking to see how best to work it out.

Hi Allison,
if you really want a buffet dinner instead of a sit down dinner but are worried about the older folks, i guess you could perhaps sound them or your parents out before making your decision. some people prefer a banquet bcoz the food is being served to the table and is perhaps more fitting to a grand occasion; buffet is more casual so it really depends what sort of wedding you would like.

if you're looking for a place to solemnise outdoors, you may want to have a look at rasa shangri-la or grand hyatt. i think rasa has a private beach front which can be used for solemnisation and the food is fairly good (i just went there for a chinese wedding). they even provide buses to 2 locations of your choice for your guests after the dinner. the only downside to rasa is that there are limited parking on the hotel grounds and your guests may end up parking very far at the ntuc chalets. grand hyatt has a garden on the 5th floor where you can have buffet dinner. i had a look before and found it quite nice but was concerned about the heat since it was al fresco.

ok thanks for the advice all...i will have to go down and check it out for myself...currently i am looking into grand copthorne waterfront as well...because the food is much better and the costs are lower...altho it isn't very exotic... :P maybe i should just spend more on decor and the little touches?

Hello Brides,
hummmmmm.. this thread is so quiet nowadays...

Panzz, any advises on wine to be brought into Beaufort? duty paid?

Hope to meet u again for shopping...

Hello touraco,
so how's your prep? when is your Bigday? did u cfm Beaufort?
I almost got my gown from Allure but then always thinking of the new arrivals might be better so didn't buy. Finally.. signed up with BS only recently.

hi finnish
my ROM is 2 days later....big day is next year
yah...cfm with beaufort already and paid $4000 deposit....
allure just had new collection from 17th april onwards....
so which BS u sign up with?

Congratulations on your ROM touraco!
Welcome to the world of Tai-tais. Haha.
Signed up with AmandaLee.
When i first hunting for gown, i liked one of the allure's but didn't buy it coz u noe woman, always fickle. And that was the last piece.

Touraco, CONGRATULATIONS on your ROM!!!

Hey girls, anyone has comments on the wedding banquet menu? Not sure what to choose....

Finnish, no sound no picture from you after we met up so I gather you must be very bz...

As for wine, check out the "red cellar" or "Star cellar" at Stamford court. I got my wine from them... and yes, you can tell them you got referred by me. The boss is my husband's friend.

Wish I can go shopping but can't do.. lately very bz at work... feeling very sian

Glad for you that you got your BS liao.. one thing down...

Hazelnut,
I personally no like the Thai sweet and sour chicken or pork? Can't remember...one of my family members liked it though. You will get a chance to sample the food.. no like then change afterwards...

HELLO Panzz!
no sound no pic coz was making appts to cfm BS lor. Yeah finally...
BUT still got tons of things to settle. i requested a map frm SunSun. The 1 she emailed me was not nice1. think i got to source again. :-(
OK. Sure will announce your big name when i go to Stamford court for wine hunting.
THANKS!!
When u r free, lemmi know, shall arrange to meet u for kopi again?

Finnish,

My name not that big so probably wont' get discounts from mentioning.. hee..

As for kopi, yap, probably slightly later in may

finnish,hazel
thanks....yah...still trying to get used to the fact that i am married

by the way, when are you gals' wedding day?

Hi touraco,
my Big day is on 31st Oct.

BTW, mayb i will go to beaufort on 24/25 Apr to take measurements of the railings etc(DIY some decor purpose). if any Beaufort bride is interested, let's go together.

touraco,
i didn't know that it was halloween when we decide on the date! It's this year.
if my 'jie-mei' whom is helping the decor is free, she will then join me there to have a cear view of the place set up lor.
I don't have any particular theme actually.

wow.. finnish,
you're going down so early to check liao ah.. kekeke... i'll love to go... but not these 2 wkends leh... already packed with activities

Hi Apple,
i think it's better to check on the decor materials needed so that i have a load off. Otherwise, i'll have to remember about the DIY decor etc. Must quick quick dedicate the job to my jiemei. haha

touraco,
think no choice use audrey's. coz dun want to fork out extra since SunSun only throw in a 20L barrel, not worth to get own florist.
Maybe just DIY a little decor to enhance or beautify.

finnish,
ya, true, must dedicate the things then can have peace of mind. It's really not worth change the flowers for the 20L barrel.

Have you got ur printer?

ask you all something
so far..the girls in my gang who got married, we never approach one another for help except as receptionists. so i am not sure how i shld ask them to help. what do you gals ask them to help with normally?

hi Panzz,
thanks for sharing your thoughts on the thai chicken. will take note of that at the food tasting session.

touraco,
my big day is in june.... quite near already... and as for getting help from galfriends, i'm getting my friends to help in the morning haggling session, receiving flowers for the dinner, putting up additional decor around the place and also help with the reception table. i guess you could start delegating tasks which needs to be done on the actual day since you won't be able to run around and do them yourself in a big white gown.

finnish,
think you won't want to spend too much on decorating the railings since your guests may not be hanging around the area long enough to enjoy it. i suggest if you want lots of decor, maybe can dress up the cocktail area? as for the railings, maybe you could tie ribbons or twine fake ivy leaves around them and place some candles along the stairs? good and cheap
unless of course, you are working with a fat budget. how much does audrey's charge for decorating the railings?

hazelnut
yah...most probably will need them in the morning and as receptionists....

i think the railings costs like $250 the last time i checked with audrey

Touraco,

Other than those stuff that hazelnut is asking her jie meis to do...

i also asked them to hold on to my handphone, answer all calls and enquiries such as "how to get to beaufort har?"... to help and hold the train of my gown at times and make sure I don't trip.. help to bring tissue paper, powder, extra hair pins etc so that if I get all sweaty or ugly, they can "attend" to me... help to bring me drinks (with straws) when I thirsty, help to bring me food when I hungry... help to direct guests if they are lost on where they should be heading or sitting.. help to mingle with those people they know... help to fend off stupid kids who tried to step on the train of my gown.....

they were basically my jie-meis, cum DIY decorators cum receptionists cum body guards cum personal assistants cum Emcee cum... ai ya.. whatever roles you can think of, they are the definitely the ONES chosen to take them up.. haha :P

touraco,
yep, panzz's rite... i'm intending to have 1 galfriend following me the whole day while holding onto my handphone and the rest of the gals run the other errands...

wah.. $250 for the railings?! can do decent table arrangements for 5 tables with that money already...