The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

wow, everyone's posting at lightning speed!!

Gnny,
WELCOME BACK!!! =) Have been wondering when you'll return. Howz your honeymoon?

Panzz,
Thanks in advance for your invite, I should be getting it anytime soon. =)

And hey, this is so coincidental, I'm also thinking of being a wedding planner after seeing all the ads! I thought that this will probably be a very "happy" job cos the couples are all happy and excited about their coming wedding. I'm only putting it off until after I get some "experience". My FH looked at me and thought I'd gone siao when I told him. Hey gnny and panzz, maybe we can start a biz together! hee hee...

Touraco,
Same same here. Never put all the verbally agreed things down in writing and just signed the contract as it is. Think will have to email sunsun to get her to re-confirm in writing. Hopefully all works out fine. fingers crossed!!

finnish,
hey! glad to know someone else is as "brave" as me to attempt DIY invites. I already have a design in mind more or less, but it's so tedious that I'm starting to think maybe get printer easier, since the cost seems about the same. Was in Macs yesterday and saw this couple preparing their invites. Almost wanted to go and ask them to show me a sample! heehee

by the way, sunsun has a list of entertainers - clowns (?!?), magicians (?!?), musicians etc. So if anyone is interested, can ask her to email it to you, but I recall they're not cheap

panzz,pokkiebearie

really need to spend a lot hor....panzz...u really have a lot of good ideas...now only need to find good lobangs...heehee

actually i like planning for things and events too just that work and thesis make it very distracting for me and my FH is very busy as well and he's leaving everything to me so really find it hard to sit down and think of what to do

wanted the whole thing to be nice but scared will screwed up the whole thing as well...sigh

Gnny,

Just realised that I didn't reply to your message. Being Mrs is ok, taking that relationship further and showing committment through marriage, made me love my husband even more. But of course being married also mean we have many other things to handle and worry about. If those stuff are taken out of the equation then it would really be perfect.

pokkiebearie, every bride at some point in time probably thought of becoming a wedding planner haha... cos you just have too much fun planning for your own wedding that you want to continue to feel the excitement

Ya, maybe we three can start a biz together haha.. but i did talk to my makeup artist previously about the thought and she said it is hard to really make any money out of it.

Besides dealing with couples can be quite an issue too cos not everyone is nice.

Ai ya, in short, hard la...

panzz,
i also think quite hard to make money out of it...imagine a couple pays $1800 for ur service...but it stretches for 6 months which means one mth u only earn $300 for it...but if got more couples then good else....very difficult to go full time into it

Touraco,

Thank you thank you for thinking my ideas are good
I gained a bit more experience by handling a ex-colleague's engagement party and now a coordinator for my colleague's wedding.

And yes, wedding is never a cheap affair unless you compromise on certain things.

Dont' worry about things screwing up. All these planning definitely won't go to waste! on your special day, just sit back, relax and enjoy one of the biggest event of your life.

I was so stressed up and busy right till the day before my wedding. But on the actual day I acted pretty much like an idiot, just waiting for people to say do this, do that, walk here, walk there etc... hee.. cos I know I did all that I could. And of course my sister who was my wedding coordinator for the day, my bridesmaids were all very very efficient and helped me a great deal on the actual day. Without them, things wouldn't have gone on so smoothly

Touraco,

Hee.. agree, if you only get one couple then you literally have to eat grass. Not to mention all the miscellaneous costs such as transport, phone calls etc. It has got to be many many couples at one time if someone is going into the biz.

Hi Touraco,
Actually things can be cheaper than you tot... just substitute some of the decors for something cheaper. You can just buy the potpurri bowl from IKEA at $7.90 or $7.50 and put some floating candles using those tea-light candles, then put some roses w/o the stalks around and pull out a few petals and place around it.. and viola... for less than $10 you can decorate one panel of the side of the pond!!

I intend to tie some colored organzas (according to my color theme) around the benches and just buy those cheap lamps from IKEA below $15 and place around and there... i have saved a bomb again. And the place looks dressed up on the outside. Tea light holders can be bought from IKEA at $1.90 for 4... or isit $3.90 for 4... just get a few sets and place them on both side on alternate side, alternate level on the stairs if you want to save and it'll light up your path just the same... tie some little organza ribbons on the handle-bars of the stairs and i think it'll look good already. If you like flowers, pin one flower on each organza or alternate ribbon to save money and yet still get the garden feel. I think Sunsun mentioned about fire torches on the outside or The Grand Salon? Use that, will look romantic

Think for wedding favors.. like wat Panzz suggested, stick to what Beaufort has.

Gowns for bridesmaid, THIS FASHION has a lot of nice dresses, just alter a little on your own like buying the plain long dress and but some nice gold satin ribbons and tie below the bust, and you have a nice flowy dress for your bridesmaids. If you like you can buy those sequins or beads and add on to their collar or hems to make it look more $$ this will cost around $40 per bridesmaid dress!!!!

Flower basket you can DIY too, buy those little baskets that only cost $2 and tie satin ribbons around the handles, wrap organza around the baskets, sew some laces around the hem and you have one for less than $20. Flower tiara, you can save on that, maybe buy those kids' hairbands with flowers, then pin on a few fresh one for less than $5

Okie, took the pix for the Ballroom and took one pic from the top of the lawn... anyone wanna see just leave your email here hor

Hee... maybe we should conduct a DIY-yr-own-decor session for brides in a cafe... Sounds like fun doing flower baskets and all!

panzz:
wow, you've list all the costing for putting up the place... and have definitely scared me off... everything got to pay. It's like no $ no pretty. huh.

Apple,
please send to me! Thks.
Wow, you certainly have lots of ideas! Did you do some research or are you naturally creative? Me not so creative leh. If DIY need to refer to books or pictures or something like that.

I'm thinking of doing the table centerpieces myself too. But the floral stands, how to DIY?
Maybe we brides who wanna DIY can all exchange ideas and get the materials in bulk! Might save some more money

Panzz & gnny,
Did you have your father/brother/uncle give you away during your solemnization? I'm thinking of walking alone, maybe with my bridesmaid in front of me. Cos don't think my dad feels comfortable walk down the aisle with me.

What about the rest of you brides? Think it's weird not having someone to 'give' you away?

Finnish,

No la, didn't mean to scare anyone off... i have friends who spent only like one tenth of what I spent at my own wedding and there are the others who simply went ahead and spent much more than I did... there is no right or wrong...

wedding does mean spending a lot of money if you want to do everything according to your wishes. You just have to compromise in some areas or like what Apple suggested, you can have cheaper alternatives and it doesn't mean it wouldn't look professionally done.

Not all suggested methods would work for everyone. I have a friend who simply hates flowers and she will freak out if i ever suggest to her to have flowers everywhere.... And gowns from This Fashion might not be suitable for bridesmaids slightly on the rounder side. Most of them come in smaller sizes. If you do find some that they can fit, they just might protest if you request for them to wear a ribbon that ties at the bust area making them look rounder. And I had a tough time trying to get all my bridesmaids to wear the same color cos some of them would simply refused to wear light blue cos they felt that it wasnt their color! They want to look pretty on that night too despite books saying that no one should outshine the bride on their wedding day but women are just vain by nature!

So in short every wedding is unique in their own ways. As long as you are happy on that day, it would have been considered a successful wedding.

Queen,

I don't have a church solemnization so no one really gave me away. If I had one, it would have been my dad.

If your daddy is really that uncomfy, then i'm sure it is alright for you to walk alone. No fix rules on such things right?

But I still think you should convince your daddy? i think it would mean a lot to both yourself and your dad if he gives you away.

panzz,
maybe...think i better start experimenting first....if we take's audrey's floral stand and centrepiece, we do ourselves, is it good? or ask audrey to use my idea?

Touraco, yap, can experiment. I guess if you want to save yourself from some hassle then you can try conveying your ideas to audrey's and let them do it for you.

panzz,
hopfully they dun charge more as i am thinking of using the glass bowls/glasses with water and put flowers inside

Touraco,
if you visit Audrey's, you will get to see some photos of the arrangements they did. There are a few with glass bowls and flowers. Suggest you check them out first.

And no they won't charge more if your request is just flowers in glass bowls. They do charge if you add candles. So in the end I bought from ikea which was much cheaper.

I guess if you are looking at very special wild flowers that are more expensive and they have to search to purchase then maybe they might charge more. That's just a guess, you can drop by their shop to see see look look lor...

Hi Touraco and Queen,
Just mailed u gals the pix.

Actually like what Panzz said, you have to find the right ideas for your own wedding cos it's your own and each one is unique.

Touraco...
Why dun you suggest to Audrey's how you want your centerpiece to look like and see how much extra she quotes you? I was told that as long as you use bk the flowers like geberas, orchids or roses, there will not be extra charge unless you are asking for many stalks in just one centerpiece. Dun think u'll have time to do all that on ur wedding day. If not for the time constraint, I would prefer to DIY myself as well, cos i very "yim chim".. :P

Have calculated, if you have to do your centerpiece with bowls and lots of flowers, you will need at least $15-$20, might as well let the florist settle it. Wild flowers are seasonal, the reason for it being more $$. Unless you know basic flower arrangments or have attempted before, i'll suggest you leave the floral stands to a florist to handle....

Just remember it's your wedding and I'm sure you'll prefer to enjoy it rather than get all stressed out on your big day
Let the rest of the pple do the running arounds lah
Most importantly, have fun have fun have fun and enjoy every moment of it. Unless you're using anything other than flowers, most pple will not really notice the centerpieces... I've never heard anyone talked abt how beautiful the centerpiecs are and how appropriately arranged etc... except for those preparing to get married or just got married and had paid attention or looked out for such details. Most will be busy chatting w friends.

Touraco,

Mine was definitely a glass bowl with the flowers in water
But I didn't quite like the arrangement I had cos it was just simple. In fact something anyone could have achieved. It was basically throwing roses, leaves, baby breath into the glass bowl.... sigh...common, nothing special. If I had a choice, it would have been much prettier.. I like wild flowers a lot but getting flowers from other florists would have cost us a bomb.

Apple,
hee... we are agreeing with each other's comments now and then... suddenly i have this picture in my mind of me and you in some martial arts movie, standing at the mountain top saying "all heros think alike" (Ying xiong suo jian lie tong) to each other! Haha....

Hi Karen,
don't worry. Sun Sun is quite nice. Just don't expect Beaufort to be very flexible.

Thanks Apple. The decor doesn't look bad actually. Might just save the hassle and let audrey's do everything.

Hi Karen,
Just sent you the pix. If you're going down hor, can do me a favour? Forgotten to take a pic of the open area outside The Ballroom's foyer, can take a few snaps for me?.... of cos, that's if you're bringing ur camera down lah... no obligations.. keke :P

Queen,
I also feel that it looks good when i saw it that day. The floral stands really caught my attention, maybe cos of the colors. The centerpieces are super simple, but looks clean and elegant to me.

Touraco,
You know ah... me bought so many magazines to browse through until my hubby a bit sian to go thru w me cos i'll look and look and look thru all the mags again and again just to make sure.. hahahahah

hi Apple,
can you pls email pix to me at [email protected]? thks in advance!

Panzz,
have received the invite. Thks a mil! wow, your hubby really very creative, no way could I have designed something like that! I imagine if I ask my FH to do it, he'll probably take a piece of paper, and just handwrite "pls come to our wedding" then photostat 200 pages...

By the way, anyone knows where to get square envelopes, size between 14 cm to 15cm(max)? I've already checked out Bras Basah, Popular and Kinokuniya. They're either rectangular or too big or too small.

apple,
i read and read the mag over and over again many times too...heehee...
when i told him i want to go get the mag, he wld go...again? didn't u just bought one? heehee

Pokkiebearie,
You've got mail

touraco,
yayaya... then sometimes i gehgeh say wanna find some books, then go straight to the magazine section and he knew where i'm going liao.. hahahhaha... or i'll ask him to go walk ard himself and go to the magazines when we're in Kinokuniya or Borders...

Pokkiebearie,
No prob. And if your FH did that, I think it would be cool too.. it would have been very innovative! Your friends probably find it very creative! but you might face some trouble from parents and older folks

Girls,
Me too, even got people to buy mags from aust, US, hongkong and taiwan!! haha!

Apple & Touraco,
looks like all brides are pretty much the same! Read the mags over and over again, me too! Keep showing my FH stuff in the mags, but he not interested though. Can spend quite a bit on the mags huh? Last month buy FemaleBrides, Wedding & travel, Style & Her World...like that already close to 40 bucks.

Pokkiebearie,
You quite humourous leh! Haha...
Suddenly have this mental pciture of this guy photostating the apapers and giving them out as wedding invite

You all already thinking about wedding cards, still feel my wedding is so far away! 360 days away to be exact... but hoping it will be sooner though!

Panzz,
I'm not having a church solemnization but the ROM solemnization. Never really ask my dad lah. Just that he is not the kind you know? Duuno how to describe...

Hi Apple,

Thanks for the pics. I was surprised they let you take pics of actual set up..some quite strict on that. I will try as I should be more interested in the grand salon instead of the ballroom. But I was not very impressed with the decor. thot they could have done better with the price they are charging. they should really change the florist.

When is your AD?

Queen... think I got what you are saying... If ROM solemnization no need people to give you away la. Me had mine in the villa, didn't even do any walking.. when the solemnization started, was just standing in front of the JOP with my hubby, my dad and his mom at the table.

Hi Karen,
I think it's better that you go down to see the actual decor, cos pix somehow dun give you that same feeling. I know what you mean when u say it doesn't look impressive. I will definitely top up $$ to add on decor... cos Audrey's seemed to give very plain designs from the photos and their albums that i saw when i went to the shop, they are not outstanding... but when i go see the real thing, it's a different feel altogether.

Touraco,
Tempted to get the villa rite? Me too.. but still feel the villa very $$ leh... i rather spend on my honeymoon instead leh, rather than here in Singapore... my hubby and me felt that upgrade only 1 nite, we'll be so tired and rushing on the actual day, then next day for awhile gotta checkout, unless extend another day, but that would mean another $1.2k+++ on top of that $800+++ that we just paid... like that i can go japan and stay in the hotspring hotel up on the Mt Fuji for few days liao leh!!

apple,
true...very tempted to get but will only want if they will give me for free as i dun wan to spend additional on these.

Touraco,
Think to get it free is almost impossible... SunSun mentioned before that cos it's seperate department, it's not possible for her to give such perks or everyone will ask for it... *sobsob
All she can do is give u a free upgrade to a suite if you bring fwd your anniversary nite as a 2nd nite stay after your wedding nite....

apple,
yalor...weird that they shld separate things so clear..i dun care which dept as long as u r all the same hotel wan mah....
i will bring my anniversary stay to have a another suite. i thot it's already a bridal suite,right? need two rooms,one for my family and one for his so i will try to get all 3 suites for that day.

Girls...

The villa is definitely wonderful but I have to agree that if you are just getting it for one night, which is just on the actual day, you will be too tired and have no time to enjoy it fully!

I got the villa cos I had my solemnization done there so I kinda made full use of the place. other than that, it was also a fantastic place for family members, bridesmaids, best men to rest, do makeup etc.

Some of our friends came over after our dinner to sit around till 1am. We really had a great time chit chatting. Think they were just too pai say to stay even longer cos it is our wedding night.. If we told them they can stay, they would most probably be very happy. The atmosphere very conducive for relaxing and chit chatting.

If I ever had the chance again, I would probably go there with my hubby, a few of our close friends and spend time together.

Panzz,
You did you solemnization in the villa...do you mind sharing some pictures of your ceremony? It's ok if you are not comfortable, just curious!

Have any of you 2005 brides got your gowns settled? I wanted to sign with Divine but went to Allure, saw one that I like and bought it immediately. i really like what I bought, but at the back of my mind, still wondering whether could have gotten a more beautiful one by MTM with Divine. Sigh...

Touraco,

Yap, i think villa costs like 1.2k or 1.5k a night if it isn't upgrading from wedding package? Well as long as it isn't just me paying then maybe it would be alright? There are two rooms in the villa and if you have like a big group of friends partying and staying there, everyone pays about 100-200 then it is affordable

queen,

I don't mind sharing my photos! I can't remember whether I posted in the forum the link to our wedding website or not... anyway, maybe you can email me at [email protected] and I will reply with the URL?