The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

babu, i dont' think it is too early to call a JP since your wedding is in Dec 04. They are all friendly people so no worries about being scolded for calling.

hi panzz thanx,
do u know how much they charge 4 e service? i will go to e website later. give ang bao to them izzit?

Babu,

it is recommended that you cover their transport expenses. Ang bao is up to each individual couple and I sincerely think must give la. For my JP, he refused to accept any ang bao or transport fees. In the end, we gave him a copy of our video and some photos so that he can add them to his collection.

oic.. he very nice hor.. all e way to sentosa.. ok i know wat to do oredi. Panzz ur weddin just over huh? beaufort too rite? must be very nice..i'm very excited

babu
like what panzz said...it's never too early
some popular ones might already been booked still

panzz
will def look for contacts from you...thanks in advance
the scanning machine used must be very good cos' it's so clear even after gone through printing...

lucky u back, need to ask u. i jus print out e JP GRC lists wat's diff? mi beaufort, which area should i call? thanx

Hi Babu!
another excited bride here...
Looking for JP? Me too, still dunno who to ask.

Touraco,
Yah lah, guys always take it easy. My FH more concerned about the budget then anything else.
By the way, have you got the actual day photographer?

Panzz,
any recommendations on photographers?
Your card sounds interesting leh. still have any samples or photos to show me?

hi queen,
ya me lookin for JP, already print out e list but stil dunno who to call.. stil waiting for panzz or touraco give advance lor.. when's ur date, i think we better start callin, else fully booked, we die liao..

yep, me book with beaufort already... if still not confirmed, i will be very gan cheong by now...

babu, welcome to the thread. if you're clueless about which JP to call, take a look at the JP threads. think you can start calling the popular ones and wouldn't be too early.

touraco, hang in there gal!! i can understand what you're going through. i did most of my initial wedding preparations while my hubby was overseas too. what i did was i went around to do research myself and when i find something i like, i email him the web addresses or scan pics to get his opinion. from there, i will shortlist the suppliers (e.g. florists) and make appointments for when he's back in town. i remember we had as many as 4 appointments a day 'cos we had so little time while he was in town. i think with most guys, they're quite happy to let us girls to the planning so just enjoy yourself!

wah, touraco & queen, you both have started so early!! well done!

babu
u can check out the JP thread like what hazelnut mentioned.i dun think there is a specified area u call...choose one name u like? heehee
my solemnisation would be done by my pastor so no JP involved.

queen
have not found any photographer yet...looking around still

hazelnut
thanks for the encouragement
he's coming back today and i am going to load him with all my research...hahahahaha
even in singapore...he's so busy...sigh

hi hazelnut & touraco,
thanx will do that now.. realised this thread all our hb works overseas, mi station overseas for few mths most of e time, so we hardly see each other..even e bookin of beaufort is oso last min, only cos he need visa runs, he grab e chance bk to s'pore, moment he touch dn, book it flew off...sob sob..
so got to plan alone too..

thanx for all e advices above, i got e JP oredi!! very friendly n popular one, heard he got sense of humor too, which i prefer. after all is a happy occassion rite.. thanx to e person that created this site too, it being alot of help..

Babu,
May I know who is your JP? I wanna book someone nice & friendly too.

Hazelnut,
Yep, started early. But now a bit lose steam already... Now trying to think of ways to cut cost cos I'll be doing my PS in Melbourne and holding another dinner for my Ipoh relatives, and the reno for the flat. All need money!
My FH not outstation, lucky me.

If I don't take Beaufort's wedding favours, do you all think I can get the beer in exchange?

evening queen, i got Mr David Loh, when i called him, he's in e middle of solem for other couple.. very friendly man, when i apolozise for call too early (cos my AD is at 17th dec) he said he is being full booked till yr 2005 oredi.. so i'm not so bad..

hello anybody there??
u gals go hunt for wedding thingy rite? btw did any want know wat wedding favor that beaufort goin to give? if opt out can or not? will they be any refund?

babu, beaufort's got a small selection of wedding favours - teddy bears, chocolates and photo frames. there's no harm asking for a refund should you decide to opt out on their favours but i think they're likely to offer you a room or a dish in place of the favours.

queen, wah... so lucky to have PS in melbourne... nice place to have photos taken. have you thought about the places you would like to have your pictures taken? is your shoot 1 day or 2 days? if 2 days, you can go to the countryside... do you know who will be doing your hair and makeup? when's your shoot? i understand you trying to cut costs down. i also started with a long list of "must haves" but in the end, have to cut down to the essentials...

touraco, hope you managed to "unload" some of your research and sort out some stuff over the weekend?

Hello Beaufort Brides,
I'm here again. Wow wow so active.
Just to share, the website has been updated!!
no worries queenqueen!

Welcome to the thread Babu

Panzz,
Hello!! Heed your advices, jot down long to-do list liao. But still way to go..
BTW, do u have any tailor recommendation for MIL?

Touraco,
Think you've started to feel stresssss huh., me too!
I've took the stair-case railings measurements. Only the stair-case to the Grand Salon coz the one outside is too long! forget abt getting organza to decorate it man!
To have less job, don't wish to spend much effort on the decor.

hello gals, was out of office today so didn't get to reply. Anyway, shall reply one by one

Babu, yes, my wedding is over and it was held in Beaufort. I'm glad you are excited about your wedding and you should be. But the whole process, from planning right up till actual day is tough. Sigh... a lot of things to do, a lot of communication between families etc. It was tiring but fun too.

Touraco,

I guess my hubby had a good scanner since he is in the designing biz and the card printer was good too. That's why the pictures turned out fine. Most digital pictures if you scale it down, it should look sharper.

David loh sounds so familiar! I think he is one of the hottest out there! Wah Babu, you managed to book his time, that's really wonderful

I think he is the one who must make sure that the PA system is clear enough and make sure everyone present gets to hear what he is saying very clearly. My hubby said he very professional.

Queen, you might want to consider him too. I hope I didn't get the wrong guy. I think my hubby did call him up but he was booked for our wedding day.

Queen,

I didn't send you my card? Ar.. i thought I sent to quite a few brides alreadi :P My frens said I too thick skin. Oh well, I'm proud of my husband's work, so didn't mind sending out for brides-to-be to use as reference. If you are interested and I can still find a card, I can mail to you. You email your address to [email protected]

As for photographer, I guess you r referring to actual day photographer since you are going to melbourne for photoshoot. Well, there is a actual day photographer who works with my hubby who runs a videography biz. Hmm.. Dont' think it is nice for me to do any "sales" or advertising here since it is my hubby's biz.. can I email you instead? Anyway, you can meet up to see see look look, no obligations of any sorts.

Queen, you sure you no want to take wedding favors? Hmm.. i think it costs more than beer. If you r going to exchange, I don't see why they wont' say ok.

Finnish,
hello! Hee.. take it easy, the to-do list won't end till after your wedding. You just have to keep on deleting, adding till the event is over.

As for gown tailoring for MIL... that one I don't think I have much of an idea. My MIL bought hers herself. My sis made hers through my Bridal salon - Legalleria (closed down liao)... I guess you can always check out the price of MTM gowns from your own BS. Usually should be 400 and above. If not, check out places like BLUM for ready made ones, they have fancy gowns too.

panzz, wow.. tiring rite after answer so much question.. anyway, ur hubby is in printin biz? me going to print my invitation card, any lobang? u got sample huh?

babu,

no la, not tiring. Quite fun to be yakking still about wedding after I'm married for more than 6 months! wah... time really flies...

Nope, my hubby not in printing biz, he is in videography biz

As for printing contact, he works with Lithographic Print House Pte Ltd. I checked out yellow pages and the number to call is 6482 4488 or email at [email protected]. Don't really know who he contacts with directly though. You can always call up to ask for more info.

As for sample, hee.. that is my own wedding card la... not sample. I sent some to the girls in the forum. If you wanna see, I can also send to you but no promises cos I dont' know whether there is any left :P Email me ([email protected]) your address.

Thanks panzz ;-)
i am drafting the invitation card liao...
heehee, yours was a wonderful masterpiece as reference. no copy-cat, just got a lot of inspiration from it!!
BTW, gee... spelling error in the address huh! Bt. Manis, not Mainis?!

thanx panzz, for all e inform, will email my add later.
btw, i choose mi BS liao, TWP. mind i ask who's ur BS that time.

hee finnish... i didn't notice it till you pointed it out. Yap, I guess we overlooked that mistake

Too late liao. wedding over :P

Babu, mine was legalleria by Doreen chee. It is a pity that they are no longer around. It was taken over by MING. Never worked with the new BS so no comments

hazelnut
yah...spent like 3 hrs on sunday downloading all my information to him..and he just got back on saturday afternoon...very bad hor

finnish
am thinking of asking sunsun whether there's any wedding over the weekends as would like to go and take some pictures of the decor and perhaps measurement etc
did she give u any complimentary passes to go in?

panzz
why not u PM me the details of the photographer too? i am sourcing as well.

babu
i heard there's this lady called Kim who's very popular..am thinking of asking her to tailor for my mum and MIL

touraco,
ya that's a good idea hor? don mind to go dn have a look too, wat did sunsun said? can or not?
btw, who's kim? from TWP, i liase wif patrick. very friendly and cute..
can i ask u gal, if going to ask my frienz to be my bride's maid, do i need to pay their dress?

touraco,
For complimentary passes, u must in advance inform her the car-plate nos. then the gate security's com system will captured the registry then go in FOC on the spot. alternative, still inform sunsun, pay 1st then request re-fund from her, but paisei lor.

Hello gals,
You all are really keeping this thread alive!
Just came back from Genting for a short break, only gone for 3 days and so many posts to read.

Finnish,
haha, yah, both Touraco and I a bit worried of being 'cheated'. But now ok lah. You know, with the new pricing, Beaufort is easily one of the most expensive banquet venues around. Wonder if it will put pple off signing with them. Then again, the Lawn is a huge attraction.

Babu,
You managed to get David and he is booked till 2005? Meaning for this year only right? Not booked for the whole of 2005?! Will get my FH to give him a call...

Hazelnut,
Actually, I've never been to Melbourne, just that my sis studies there and told me that it is a beautiful place. I've engaged an Aussie photographer and she is arranging the makeup and flowers for me as well. Keeping my fingers crossed, hoped that the makeup will turned out fine. I will try and contact the makeup artist beforehand to discuss the style that I want. But eveything must be done long-distance, a bit of a hassle but hope it will be worth it!

Panzz,
Got your email. Very nice of you to send me the details. Yep, thinking of sourcing for cheaper wedding favours in Bangkok. But if it is exhanging for just a room or upgrade in dishes, not worth it. Anyway, since Beaufort is so stingy about throwing in freebies, do they even allow one upgrade in dishes for free?

Touraco,
I read from the Forum about the Kim also. Wonder if she designs evening gowns as well cos I have absolutely no idea where and what to get for my EG! Headache... Saw those at BLUM & POIS, very pricey and not exactly what I'm looking for, but yet I'm not too sure what I'm looking for as well.

Hi every1 here,
any1 of you got pictures of the wedding favors Beaufort offer?
Such as the photoframes, teddy etc.

Yes queenqueen, It's v. xpensive hotel... agree, maybe it will put ppl off signing... It's juz the matter of time?! haha

Any1 here take up "standard" package? Is 8-course ok or too little? i'm referring to the portion. Still in dilemma to upgrade coz $ is the factor.

hi babu,
those couple who sign up before March?-04 will enjoy the previous package pricing, which is about 50+60 lower than the current published rates. In fact the beaufort website just updated the wedd packages rates.

huh? s***! i'm too late! me just booked on 10/04.. i din know cos mi overseas for a mth plus, sigh.. wat to do, really like e place.. 50-60 is alot of money leh.. which package did u choose? than in that case i might taking e standard too..

finnish,
8 course quite ok la, whereas for me, we're goin to have a different one, but still have not decide wat to do, waitin for my fh to be bk, and meet up wif sunsun.. but after knowin they went up so high, might consider just take e standard will do..

Finnish/Babu,
I'll be taking the Premium package cos my parents & in-laws think the standard pkg's food is a bit 'cheapo' though personally, I'm not so concerned. But upgrade is definitely expensive, difference of $100+++.

Babu,
The old pricing is about $60 cheaper (std pkg) and $90 (premium & deluxe pkg). Yah loh, $60+ a lot of difference, that's why I signed up so early in Mar this year for my wedding in Mar 05.

hi queen,
oic.. cheapo oso not choice la, over budget liao.. try not spend too much on dinner, cos a lot of my fh co-worker, all of them are ang mo, don think they'll give ang bo, so ready to 'eat grass' on our dinner liao..kekeke..

queen, clever u to sign up early!
I WONDER can we takes up additional dish for std pkg. My concern, partly because most chinese think it's gonna be "9" course, like the cantonese saying "longlong99" and for this, is it cheaper than the premium? aiyah, so sian no choice budget constraint.

babu, yours got many angmo? GOOD LUCK! Hope some locals here "educate" them that chinese wedding dinner most prefer "angpows" than gifts lor.
Maybe you try hint hint?? otherwise you are going to suffer a great loss huh.
On the other hand, 'accept' whatever & don't think about $ to cover the cost; after all, it's once in a life-time!
Me too, got few overseas foreigners... don't know they give gifts or angpows?! also waiting to 'eat grass'. ha

panzz
thanks for the email.got it already
any idea how much martin is charging for AD photography?

queen
i heard from the other thread that Kim even do wedding gowns.she definitely dooes evening gowns.

finnish
yah...the other time we go in although we already tell her the car plate but the person at the ticket booth don't seem to know so we pay. then sun sun offers to help us refund but we decline lor..the next time must get complimentary tickets to go in liao...hee

finnish,
i've got sun sun to email me the wedding favours picture before but i can't seem to find the file now. maybe you can email her directly?

queen,
melbourne's nice and i've spent some years there myself. since you've a local photographer, they should know where's nice to go for pictures. but i believe the way they package their service is quite different from the photographers here so make sure you enquire all about their charges. i think they have different charges for 1 location and several locations. the thing with australia is that labour is very expensive so any extras (time) would be costly. must be exciting to go melbourne for your PS... when's your shoot?

touraco,
guess you have no choice but to spend those 3 long hours sorting out stuff. i can totally understand!!! hope your preparations are going ok?

babu,
i have a suggestion for you... if you have many ang mo guests, why not indicate in your wedding invitation card that it is chinese tradition to give the wedding couple cash, rather than gifts and include a nice, fancy ang pow in your card for them to use. i have seen such a card done before and it was done very tastfully.

Babu,
It really depends on how close this fren is to you. I would love to pay for my bridesmaids' gowns but I had 6 of them so it was really tough to pay for all. I did subsidize them though for their gowns
Anyway, they were all very very close friends and were all prepared to pay for their own gowns.

hi hazalnut,finnish,
ya i tot of that too, cos really alot of angmo that nite, really going to suffer a great loss if they all give gifts, goin to discuss wif my fh, how re we goin to drop hint hint..
touraco,
sigh..i know, but i very bai sei, ask them to help up but never pay their dresses, but very Siong lay, me really over budget liao, and above situation, foreseen goin to loss on dinner.. tot of after that give them a slightly big angpow to thanx them for e help lor.

aiya, sorry.. it panzz that giving me advise not touraco.. bai sei..bai sei.. age catchin up... hehehe..

Babu,
Well, ang pows must give. As for dresses, talk to them about it. I'm sure they understand your difficulties cos most couples spend a lot for weddings.

I gave both ang pow and a small amount for their gowns.

Queen,
For the free upgrade in dishes, why dont' u try asking sun sun. You never know, they just might allow it. As for favors, I would think it still wise to take from Beaufort instead of exchanging.