The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

Hi HP,
It all depends on what you like. The ballroom has a more personal reception or foyer as it is enclosed whereas guests from The Grand Salon will be mingling outside the bigger foyer.

The Ballroom has a more cosy feel and that is the plus point. But the march-in is very short, only like 10 steps or slightly more as the ballroom is long and you actually walk in from the side. Guest might go to the wrong side and walk in to the grand salon if they come from another side by car or cab and nv read the sign properly. But if they walk from the main entrance of Beaufort than i dun see any problem as they actually have signs on the empty walkway pointing to your wedding.

The Grand Salon on the other hand is quite big and you will either find it grand or very empty looking. But the plus point is that the march-in is veeeeeeeeery much longer and you get longer attention.. keke

Hi finnish,
If you taking anything bigger than the ballroom, then i will say keep the flower decors unless you're willing to spend a few hundreds more.... alternative is to look for freelance florist where the risk will come in. My wedding's in Oct

Hi Queen,
Can't recall what other special rates for the optional items... not much anyway, probably just the few you've just mentioned.

anyone any idea how much does the setup for the grand salon (assuming the same as what beaufort offer) will cost outside?

Finnish,

Welcome. I don't think Audrey's is terrible but I know of other florists who will pull it off much better. Nevertheless the rest of the girls are right, if you engage someone else, it means more money.

Suggest you have some ideas on what you want, such as color themes, the types of flowers etc. then talk to Audrey's to see whether they can do it. And if you are still not confident, you can ask for them to do up a centrepiece as a "preview" of some sorts for you. But of course that means you have to pay for that sample. Think I had mine done for $20? Or slightly more than that, not too ex. But at least you get an idea on the kind of arrangement you will get on that day.

If you are looking for something exotic such as wild flowers, berries etc, then Audrey's probably not your choice.

Touraco,

Sorry leh, I only got your email this morning before I posted the card. So didn't get to put your name on the envelope. Can you look out for it in your mailbox today or tomorrow? Hee... just in case your family members wonder who is "TOURACO" and return the mail.

The cruise (balcony class) was slightly more than a thousand. According to my hubby, we got a discount on the second person. Discount and still so ex!!!
And yes I agree, I think I wouldn't like being in a room with a porthole. No innerstate cabin for me as well.

As for the contract, not saying that Sun sun will go back on her words. She is a nice lady but I think since she is talking to so many couples, she might just not be able to remember what she has promised.

It is always good to write things down cos that way there wouldnt' be any contention or disputes. It is still my own personal view that Beaufort does not handle complaints or bad situations very well. If things went well on your special day then fine, if not, even if you file a complaint, you will never ever get any form of compensation or response.

Wedding favours costs maybe about 2-3 bucks or even more when you purchase them outside? So assuming that it is about $30 for one table then 25 tables would be $750. Rooms are only $188++++ each!!! hmm.. I sincerely think you shouldn't exchange for rooms. The wedding favours they provide are not too bad, in fact of rather good quality (referring to the bears).

Pokkiebear,

I got your email. Shall send the card to you asap and reply your mail later in the evening.

panzz,
will look out for it.thanks
think i will send sun sun an email on the items she promised and get her endorsement on it just in case.

i dun really want the bears as i have a lot at home and dun know what to do with them after every wedding...

wanted to have something special....will exchange for 4 rooms...hahahahahaha

Finnish,

I forgot to add that you can consider DIY for some of the decor. Get your girl friends to help.

I asked for a quote from Audrey's previously on putting rose petals round the pond just outside the Ballroom and i think I was quoted 800! On my actual day, I switched to the grand salon, I still had rose petals to decorate the stairs but didn't get audrey's to do it. I bought wholesale fully bloom roses from a florist. I only paid $30 for 100 stalks of roses! The effect was just the same! Hee... but of course I had my wonderful bridesmaids to thank for too... they had to miss my solemnization ceremony and had to decorate the place about an hour before the reception started.

Touraco, exchange it for an upgrade to the villa lor!!! The villa is dreamy, you wont' regret it.

By the way, why would there be any bears left after the wedding? Trust me, they will all be gone! I didn't even get to keep one for myself which was quite ridiculous! haha...

You got many many bears? Ar.. if you intend to throw them out one day, can you give me? Hee.. I'm collecting "wedding" bears...

There are other wedding favors to choose from right? Doesn't necessary have to be bears.

hi panzz,

i am going to get rose petals too...but maybe nearer to the date then get the contact from you else will lose it now.

a lot of weddings give bears as wedding favour so i got some at home lor....but dun know where they are...they will probably appear when i moved house next year...hahahahaha and then i will let u know

no prob touraco, actually the florist is Secret Garden. Go to www.secretgarden.com.sg anytime and you will get their contact details.

hee... pai say la, not asking for the bears. Just that if you are going to throw them away then you can always throw at me instead of the rubbish bin. I already have 8 of them now... very happy.

hi panzz,
thanks...i am getting my ROM bouquet from them as well...hopefully my FH knows it

dun worry, will give u once they appear...hee

i'ved checked outside before... the cheapest is $15 for ordinary centerpiece w roses, looks good to me. but it's the floral stand at the aisle that is gonna cost u more... minimum $150-250 cos the place is quite plain if your stand is small

Apple,
then help me save some cost! leave the decor for me?! wahaha. OR maybe we shall team up to decorate the place? any good suggestion? or mayb stick to audrey lor.
any1 know, what they do with the flowers aft that banquet? me not cheapo, jus feel sayang thos pretty flowers la.

touraco, mine is at grand salon. apple?

Hi Apple & Touraco,
Thanks for your info. Yep, will probably feel a bit more assured if I speak to Sun Sun personally.
Will probably try to meet her this Sat. Hopefully can have the beer thrown in. Wish me luck!

Finnish,
I'm also thinking of getting my own florist or DIY. But the hassle of DIY is kind putting me off. I'm torn between wanting a beautiful & perfect decor. Then again the practical side of me tells me to stick with Audrey's as how many guests will actually care about how beautiful the centerpieces? Or the floral stands?

But Panzz's idea of using rose petals from wholesalers are good. Rose petals always make the setting looks more romantic.

hi queen,
frankly speaking, nobody will notice the flowers...i am starting to notice because i am preparing for the wedding, other than that, i have never heard of anybody commenting on the flowers....sigh...

i will definitely be getting rose petals...for the flower girls...hee

dEAR Panzz, you've been very helpful! Thank u BEARy much. Will BEAR in mind. heehee. BTW, I also had headache over the DIY invitation card. Can u pls. send me your sample? I've to sorce for printer etc. another hassel.

hi HP, welcome.

Hi queen,
looks like no choice DIY a little to beautify the place. dun 1 to spend additional. Our package with Beaufort oledi a bomb, also no free barrel of beer, got to fork out 500+ at least.

hello Pokkiebearie,
i'm new here.
I'm also sourcing for ideas about the inv. cards.

finnish,

They will discard the flowers after the banquet. Which was why I told my guests to take home the roses. Me too, heartpain to see something so beautiful get thrown away. Can still remember I helped one of the bestmen wrap a whole bunch of roses and told him to bring home for his mom and sisters. My guests were quite farnie, they not only took flowers, they took some of the candles too.. haha.. my bridesmaids were all very shocked. I didn't mind a bit, in fact I had fun cos i haven't been to any wedding where guests took everything home. They even wanted to take the glass bowls (provided by Audrey's) home! haha...

As for invitation card, ok, finnish, i need your home address and real name (Initials also can la). Can email me at [email protected]?

Actually i think it's true that not many pple notices the flowers... more like the overall ambience that was created.

Wow Panzz,
Think i'll be glad to have guests like yours that appreciate the decor so much.. hahaahha Think it's great! Audrey's also suggested the decor around the pond... but nv quote me yet. Wow.. think i can easily do it for less than $200!!!

Hi Queen,
Am the same as you, still thinking if i shd just find friends to help w the extra decor (which i'm afraid i might not be satisfied with) or get a wedding planner to help cos my hubby dun want me to be bz with all those decors on the day itself, but that means extra costs!!!! Think i'll just make do and get friends to help lah, save that $$ for other things better hor.. keke

finnish,
wah, i dun mind, you can use my flowers, but hor... mine is The Ballroom leh... not enough for you lah...

hi apple,
audrey ask u to deco around the pond?
wouldn't it be a bit wasteful to deco there?

hiring a planner requires additional money...headache

i will be meeting a wedding planner next next week...will let u guys know abt the details then

Touraco,
How much they quote you huh? I've asked a few planners, range from $400 to $1600... big diff leh. Ya super waste of money to decor that area, but it's the ambience that i want kekekek... plus i have some smoker friends so they will most likely hang around outsider where they can puff and drink...

hi apple,
they did not quote me yet...just going for the first consultation and see if they are reasonable etc

i am intending to hire wedding singers...any lobang?

Hee... can I volunteer and be a free lance wedding planner? Frankly speaking I nearly went to apply for the job advertised in straits times recently but didn't cos experience I have was gained through my wedding :P

Actually if you are having western buffet at the ballroom, a lot of your guests would be moving around, hanging around the pond mingling. So it makes sense to decor that area. For sit down dinner, less movement but ya, there will be smoker friends or younger folks spending some time out near the pond... Be careful of kids though, wouldn't want them to fall into the waters!

I think not much decor needed, i already tot of wat i want liao.. very simple only... cos the area will be quite dark, so i think tealights or little lamps on the ledge or pond will do nicely. Maybe tie some ribbons on the benches will do

Pokkiebear, touraco, finnish,

I forgot to mention when sending the cards out that the very faint background with flowers on my wedding card is snapshots of the embroidery on my wedding gown and my hubby's suit

AGREE with Apple.
Simple is best!! haha; or rather, don't 1 to spend the xtra..

Panzz, your's a great idea..
"volunteer" means "FOC" no charge ley, i'll be more than happy to have u as consultant then.

Touraco,

It was a nice idea from my husband. Perhaps you girls can also use photos of something personal in your wedding for the card.

My husband designed the card. He has his own biz and cos there is some working relationship with the printer, he got printing done a bit cheaper than usual. Anyway in total about $300 for the cards. Dont' know how many cards but I had only 16 tables

Finnish,

Die la, silly me say I VOLUNTEER.. haha... true true..ok lor, if i can help I will do my very the best to help!

hi hows everyone?
seems like we have a lot of excited bride-to-be here!

i was married in jan this year, sometime after panzz!

i took the ginger terrace and grand salon! =) didnt engaged audrey but asked a friend to help.

panzz - i saw the advert too and nearly send in my resume. haha.. "the third party" ??

Touraco, thank you. Hee.. now you know how I look like
The printer was really nice to us, it actually costs much more to have the "xi" character done up in gold. And the printing of the map in so many colors also means more money. We were lucky to have them print for us at a lower price.

Finnish,
WAH WAH... ok.. I want to be SUPER DUPER HENG!! Can?

Touraco,
haha.. can can, send me through email lor and I give you a proposal.

gnny, can't remember the name of the wedding planner company

And welcome back to the thread! How's life being Mrs?

life as mrs is great! same for you too, i believe!

been a long time since i last visit this SB, brought back fond memories of the process of planning for wedding and sourcing vendors, trying to get some feedback on this and that.. haha

hi gnny,
long time didn't hear from you....
*big wave*....how are you?

panzz,
i wanted to have a garden like theme in the grand salon...what u propose? heehee

Touraco, setting exam question for me har! How about having some bird chirping in the background or some leaves hanging from the ceiling? Haha... no no.. please don't do that, it would be really "DOT DOT DOT"!

Got budget in mind? Need to give me budget before I can generate realistic ideas mah...

Anyway, for some initial thoughts, for decor - scatter rose petals along the aisle (this one must make sure there are a lot of rose petals lining the walkway otherwise no effect), at the railings just outside grand salon, on the stairway or maybe round the centrepiece on each table. Tie small flowers such as daisies at the back of chairs. Organza to tie big bows also can!!! Choose some ivy vines if possible as part of the flora arrangements or line the railings. Use candles as they are definitely much more romantic. If can have trailing flowers with vines hanging from some of the walls around, it would be even more fantastic.

For wedding favors, give your guests some scented oils or english tea in nice packages or scented soaps.

Wedding gowns, bridesmaids, flower girls - if you are the kind who can go for lace lace kind of stuff then you can have a lacy gown. Hand corsages for the bridesmaids, dress them up in the same color like what angmos like to do for their weddings. Flower girls have flora tiara, flower baskets tied with ribbon etc.

Color theme can be something pastel like creamy, lavendar, blue...

Invitation cards can be designed to look like it has a pressed flower on it...or even with lace lining if you are really a very girlie person :P

And of course, have a STRING QUARTET to play in the background...

HEE... *GRIN*

wow panzz,
like that how much i have to spend har....let me consider consider but they are really very good ideas though

Wah! The posts are coming at lightning speed! Really lots of excited brides here

Er...you all talking about the pond...How come I never noticed a pond? Me very blur leh. I'm popping by Beaufort tomorrow, need to open my eyes bigger.

Seems like you girls really want to create a romantic atmosphere. I'm actually more concerned about making the solemnization at the Lawn more romantic. Like what Panzz mentioned, using rose petals and all that. Also though of lining some posies along the chairs but think will cost quite a bit of money.

hi queen,
yah....getting more flowers to deco surely need more money.
my initial plan was to have the wedding at burkhill hall but think think...have to arrange chairs, catering and even cleaning up and all the deco....me a bit scared will get too stressed

btw, i tried to negotiate for a free upgrade to the garden villa but sunsun asks me to pay 800+++ for it and when i ask to change the wedding favours for 2 rooms, she also say cannot....

have anyone changed for garden villa before or the wedding favours to rooms?

Touraco, Dont' think anyone has successfully upgraded to garden villa before :P Hard to get anything free from beaufort la...

As for how much... i think those stuff that I suggested will come up to a couple of thousands if you are going for professional florists etc. But there are other cheaper means too la but perhaps more coordination work required and you need girl friends to help...

Assuming decor is DIY....A quick estimation....

Petals: $150 (500 stalks from wholesaler for lining the aisle, railings, stairways, tables etc)

Small flowers or organza for alternate chairs at 25 tables: $375 - $500 (Organza can buy from Chinatown, cheaper. Flowers can buy and ask girl friends to string them together. Go borrow book from national library to know how to create those small posies)

Ribbons for flowers or to tie on railings : $50

Ivy vines: $250 and above? (this is just a guess cos if you are getting artificial kind, this is really expensive. I think Audrey's has done something like this for the railings but definitely not going to be cheap)

Candles for 25 tables: $150 (Get them from ikea)

Additional flora arrangements such as trailing flowers with vines etc: $250 and above (just a guess... this you need to get from florists...)

wedding favors: $750 - $1250 (Suggest you take what Beaufort can offer.. they have some scented flowers or something)

Gowns for bridesmaids - $200 to $400 (There are some bridesmaids gowns at places like golden horse for rental. Or you can check out Empire. And of course ask your bridesmaids to pay la for their gowns!)

flower girls and page boys - $100 and above (Get from kiddy palace, takashimaya etc, no need to tailor make)

Hand corsages for bridesmaids: $15 and above for each (Get from secret garden, very lovely. And once again ask your girl friends to pay :P)

Flora tiara, flower baskets etc etc: $50 and above.

DIY Invitation cards - $200 and above

Music - string quartet a bit too extravagant and beaufort definitely not going to charge cheap. Suggest you get a pianist.. perhaps some student from NAFA or la salle. They probably will be able to play for a few hundred dollars, maybe 250 and above? But there is also the additional costs of renting the piano from beaufort!