The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel

hi panzz,

but electronic keyboard wouldn't sound nice,right?
can remember how much it costs? she send me a whole document on entertainment charges.

hi gals, am new here. Can I find out does the wedding card bear the hotel name as 'The sentosa resort & spa' or the Beaufort Hotel? Think the latter sound better isn't it? Just got the wedding quotation from Beafort. Any advise on their deals? Am looking at dinner on a Sunday. Many thanks in advance! Can upgrade the room to villa ... wow, not bad huh!

hi apple, glad to see you here ... remember me, Sunkiss, also taking up Z wedding package? Which package you get from Beaufort? Think our choice about the same huh ??

Halooooo Sunkiss,
Of cos remember u... kekeke.. so how's ur gown selection coming along? All cfm liao huh? Now i'm bz cracking my brains looking thru magazines.. next wkend must go discuss abt the design of my gowns and probably confirm on them liao... and still have not made up my mind about the evening gown.. cham cham cham!!! Am choosing the march-in songs etc... wah.. so many details to look into...

Hmmmm, i tot upgrade to the pool villa must top up $800+++ leh????

For ur info, they dun give invitation cards, must ownself find printer leh... extra $$$ liao... sigh.

Btw, anyone managed to take any pix of THE BALLROOM's decoration? Otherwise will have to make extra trip down to see the decors, then decide if wanna top up for the flowers...

hi apple,

i was there once when they are setting up the tables. did not manage to take pictures of the place but as far as i remembered, there's flowers on every table (centerpiece) and floral stands as well. They look pretty alright to me. I am also deciding if I should get extra flowers in.
Anyone any idea how much does a florist charge for centrepiece and floral stands?

Hi touraco,

I've been asking around, some places charge as $$ as $55 for the centrepiece but i managed to find one that charge only $15, from the photos the arrangement look quite alright. It's just below the escalator going up to the MRT at JURONG. But i think you have to get ur helpers to put them around or ask if SunSun's side can do it for us. The florist will only deliver them to the hotel. But their floral stand is the standard charge, around $100+

I think i'll still make a trip down to take a look at wat extra decors i'll need. What color theme or flowers are you using?

touraco, I'm sorry but I can't find that mail Sun Sun sent me stating how much it costs for piano rental...

Actually I have the feeling that $600 includes having a pianist playing for the night. If just piano rental,it would be slightly cheaper.

A electronic keyboard can also select to sound like piano but of course not as nice as the real thing. I guess it can be an alternative if you want to save money. Cos you can ask around for friends who might have one to lend you.

Sunkiss,

I had "The Sentosa Resort & Spa, A Beaufort Hotel" printed on my wedding card. Not sure whether my husband put it as that when he designed the card or Sun Sun suggested that to him. Anyway, we also liked the name Beaufort more. Friends and relatives knew Beaufort but didn't know Sentosa Resort & Spa so it made sense to mention Beaufort in the card.

Anyway on the marriage cert, it states "The Sentosa Resort & Spa" and we can't change that.

Apple, nope.. didn't insert any logo. We had the map, directions etc printed on our card. The + point is you don't have to worry about how the insert look like or whether the yellow/white insert will go with the card... the - point is some guests didn't know that they can just simply show the card at the gantry to gain free access to Sentosa. Anyway, I had a lot of compliments on my card.

hi apple,
thanks for the info. i will check them out as well. have not really thought of the colour theme or flowers to use although my FH likes the more leaves in the flower arrangement.

the ballroom deco is by audrey's.i actually went down to their shop to take a look at the pictures they have. there's this fence where u overlook the ginger terrace, so if you want flowers to be entwined around it, that will cost around $250 according to Audrey's(not very sure if you understand which part i am talking about)

hi panzz,
the list states that if you want a pianist as well, it would costs 780+++ - 850+++. would be quite difficult to transport a piano from mainland to sentosa though.

why not all of us list down our wedding date and perhaps bridal studio etc so we can have a countdown and have more common topics to talk about?

Hi touraco,
Audrey's is at harbourfront rite? I can't seem to find the shop... must be super blur... where isit near huh???

Anyone had your photoshoot at the hotel???

Btw, how many bottles of wine u gals getting huh? Am thinking of 36 bottles of red, w/o beer, shd be enough for 15-16 tables rite?

================================================
Wedding Date : 30th Oct 2004
Bridal Studio : Z Wedding D'sign
Banquet : The Ballroom, Chinese Dinner
AD Photographer: Greymatter Photography
Wine : Anyone can recommend?

<font color="ff0000">Dear All,</font>
dun mind if I join in ?

I have also confirm my dinner at Beaufort, though yet to pay the deposit.

Date : 1 May 04
BS : Double-Up
banquet : Ginger Terrace, Buffet Dinner
AD photographer : considering Kalydescope..

hi apple,
yup, it's at harbourfront. it's near Delifrance at the ferry arrival area.
btw,how much corkage they charge for wine?

hi ahmel,
welcome...welcome

Here's mine:
Date : 2 Apr 05
BS : Seletar Broadway
Banquet : Grand Salon &amp; Ginger Terrace,Dinner not decided yet
AD photographer : still deciding

seems like i am the furthest to my wedding date. heehee

Hi touraco,
Thanks, will go there and search again. Didn't realise it was just near Delifrance though i've passed by so many times.. haha.. must be dreaming!!

Corkage is at $10nett per bottle

Been following this thread as I will be a Beaufort bride too. Well, most likely anyway cos I have only made a tentative booking. Waiting to confirm during Beaufort's wedding show sometime in May.

Here's mine:
Wedding Date : 27th Mar 2005
BS: Divine Couture or Dang (undecided yet)
Banquet : The Ballroom, Chinese Dinner
AD Photographer: Can recommend?

I'm going for 15 to 16 tables. With this small number of tables, not many hotels or resturants to choose from. So settle for Beaufort loh and will probably do the solemnization at Ginger Terrace. But I'm kind of worried that it will be cramp in The Ballroom for 15 to 16 tables...

I'm quite concerned about the ballroom decor as well. Is Audrey's good?

AhMeI, welcome to the thread!! Wow, u booked yr hotel quite late huh? How's yr wedding prep coming along?

Here's mine...

Wedding date: 29 May 2004
BS: Le Galleria
Banquet: The Grand Salon, Chinese dinner
AD Photographer: Autumn Leaf Photography

I'm going for 20 tables, church ceremony at 6pm before dinner...

Hi queen,
Am pretty worried about the ballroom being cramped too, will be checking out the layout plus decor next wkend, heard from SunSun there's gonna be a wedding then. Will tryda take some pix, maybe can show u then

Have anyone tried the long table layout before? Would really love to have that, but SunSun said it's too cramped to fit in 150-160 pple in The Ballroom.... so sad.....

Apple,

Sorry for the late reply. Been bz at work and tomorrow going off to taiwan for a short trip. So will be disappearing from the thread for a while.

Yes, the ballroom's decor is by audrey's. I can't say I'm totally impressed but really had no time and money to look for another florist. It didn't turn out too badly but it could have been better.

hi touraco,

Think about some alternative la, the piano is really not worth it unless you are going to use it to provide music for the night. It would be quite troublesome to transport piano to beaufort but I guess it can be arranged. Look for a piano firm and see whether they can help to transport.

Touraco and girls, as for wedding info.... here goes...

Wedding date: 6th sept 2003
Yap yap, I'm definitely married, just here in this thread to k-po a bit. Hee... I got married at beaufort.

bridal studio: le galleria
They closed down early this year... real sad...

Indoor, outdoor photography: Ostudio
I spent tons of money there... :P

Actual day photography:photospace.

Website,wedding card,wedding montage presentation, wedding video: Ninetrogen

Apple,

I was told once that about 1-1.5 bottle of wine for each table is more than enough. So go calculate
as for where to get wine, you might wanna just check out "red cellar" at stamford court. I got my wine there.

And I had photography done in the villa at beaufort. The toilet was amazing!!! I think i like the toilet more than any other parts of the villa :P

At ostudio, i've seen beautiful photos taken of a couple sitting at the Pavilion.

As for my own photoshoot at beaufort, everything was terrific till we decided to go to the cliff. there was this restaurant manager who rudely told us that we cannot take photos blah blah blah... made me and my hubby as well as the photographer felt real bad... I wrote in to beaufort to "complain" a bit cos they never told us where cannot take photos but had no response... hee.. I guess when it comes to complaints, they don't really handle them very well.

Nevertheless, if you wanna take photos at the hotel, go for it!

Thanks Panzz,
Will check it out at Red Cellar. How much did u get ur wine for?

Am thinking go take photos at the villa first, if really love it maybe will upgrade to villa.. kekeke, if not then will use the money for other things like extra flowers or something. Can't wait to see the place. Wow, if you love toilets, shd checkout fullerton's.... reaaaaaaaaaaaally nice!!!!!

apple, no prob. actually I have no idea how much was the wine cos my hubby is a friend of the owner of Red cellar and we got it at discounted price.

The villa is really quite dreamy... you will feel very very good there. You go see the villa's toilet then let me know which one is better k.. fullerton's or beaufort's haha... cos I'm planning to model my toilet after that at beaufort. But if fullerton has a nicer one, then maybe I should change my plans a bit. :P

by the way, i think red cellar does free wine tasting so no obligations kind.. you can go look see look see...

hi panzz,

yah...been toying with the piano thing for some time...it's really quite expensive to just use it for a nite or perhaps even a song.

btw, where's this red cellar? can use ur hubby name and get discount? heehee

OH no.. touraco, you dont' receive private messages.. ar... if you can wait, I will be back on the thread on the 15th.Going taiwan today... if not, you can email me at [email protected], I will reply whenever I can. BYE!

hi panzz,
i will try to find out where the place is..thanks.
i didn't realise there's this private message function. let me go and try it out. thanks.

Hi Apple,
My wedding still seem so far away, not really in the mood to plan for the dinner yet. Now more excited about choosing a bridal shop.
The only thing I'm worried about Beaufort will be the space and decorations of the Ballroom.

gnny, you mentioned that no chairs are allowed on the Lawn. Will the guest be seated too far away from the couple? Aiya, can't really remember how big the lawn is...

let's say i invite 250 pax for solemnisation but the wedding dinner, i am only inviting 200 pax. how to tell those not invited for dinner? a bit difficult,right?

sggestions?

Hi touraco,
That's a bit weird leh...
why do you not want to invite all the 250 pax for dinner? And all the guests made the effort to go down to Sentosa, not nice to ask them to go back without dinner right? Else cut down the no. to 200 pax, easier for you.

In any case, will your solemnization be held at the Ginger Terrace? Heard from Sun Sun that it can hold max 150 pax only...

hi queen,

i also think it's a bit weird.what i am scared is that if i invite 250pax, there's only one spare table and it would be quite dangerous. we have actually more than 260pax (more than what the grand salon can hold) but we are trying very very hard to cut down to 240pax so we can have 2 spare tables.

yah....will be holding the solemnisation at ginger terrace...guess the rest have to stand around during the solemnisation.

For the spare table, how many spare can we have and do we have to pay for it if it's not used? Cos SunSun told me they'll only set up the no. of tables that are confirmed....

I have the same issue, having 20 tables dinner but church ceremony at the Grand Salon terrace can only hold 120 pax when we actually have >250 pax in mind. In the end decided to cut down the church ceremony guests to 150 max. The service is quite long so don't think it's too nice for pple to have to stand... Now have to be very selective who we invite to our church ceremony, quite difficult cos we know quite a lot of pple in church!!

As for the tables, we have to open all 20 tables on the actual night. Have to pay even if they are not used!!

No. The reserved tables are supposed to be FOC.

The tables will only be "opened" by the hotel staff upon request in the event your turn out number is more than your confirmed number, i.e. you invited 200 pax (20 tables) and turn out is 8 pax more, so you will request them to open the extra 1 table - that means they will only charge you 21 tables.

If you didn't use the reserved tables, they should not charge you at all.

i went down to clarify some things with sunsun yesterday. she said, they dun have reserve tables so we must confirm the exact tables we have. they allow changes a day before.

she quote me $20nett for corkage charge for a bottle of wine. that's expensive. their in-house wine costs $32.

Touraco, try asking sun sun to waive the corkage charge for about 1.5 bottles of wine for each table. That should cover for the night.

And yes, they dont' allow reserve tables cos food is not cooked there and then in Beaufort's kitchen. Think the chef is located elsewhere and food is then brought into Sentosa.

If more guests turn up, they can arrange about 11 seats per table.

hi panzz,

u tried asking her to waive 1.5 per table? i am still trying to see what can be squeezed from them..heehee

i think i will ask them to arrange a few tables of 11 seats just in case.

the food cooked elsewhere? any idea where? now i am worried about the food.

Ya.. now i'm worried abt the food as well, still tot the chef will cook the food in Sentosa rather than off-shore!!!

Wonder how to request the guests not to bring kids or toddlers?? Any idea how to put that in the invitation card??? I think relatives no choice cos they will all be at the dinner so have to bring the kids along, but friends-wise.... how ah???

Oh, can arrange about 11 seats per table if not enough space ah.. that's good, still worried cos The Ballroom's space is sooooooooo tight... how to last min squeeze in another table. At least now i'm more relieved.

I'm very interested in holding my wedding in Beaufort and hope to hear any + or - feedbacks from all here.

Queenie mentioned that there will be a beaufort show this May, any details about it? I also worry that I may end up with too many guest to fit into beaufort, have not get the list out yet.

I had my food tasting session last wk and the food was good! Much better than what i expected cos I heard quite alot of -ve comments. The quality and quantity was good, hope the actual wedding is like that as well!! The food should be prepared in Sentosa lah, it will be very inefficient if it's otherwise.

I'm calculating and recalculating my guest list now, hv to be fairly accurate cos they do not hv any reserve tables! My guests better show up!! : P

I've settled on my wedding crds oredi, printed from TDragon. Designed my church invites and got a printer to print them using laser printer, so much cheaper! So in total, $290 for Dinner cards, $69 for church invites.

Karen, welcome to the thread! Dunno anything abt the show this May, can email them and ask. I heard the offer at the show are quite gd usually. I missed the show last yr so no free beer barrel.. tried to ask when we booked but not successful..

Panzz, gd to see u in the thread! How's married life so far? So sad abt LG right? My gown just abt to be completed with the new mgt...: (

wah, Juliana, you make me feel better after listening to ur comments on their food

Panzz, did you have 11 guests for any table during ur wedding? Am thinking kids maybe can squeeze...

Gals, suddenly this thing came to my mind... wonder if beaufort has a variety of dummy wedding cake to choose from or do they only have one design which they reuse and reuse??? Cos am thinking of the color theme, tot i better find out first.

hi julianna,

how many of you were present for the food tasting? sunsun told me only 6 people for 6 dishes. which are the dishes you choose for tasting and which are nice? can be used for reference in the future...heee

have to seek ur advice when the time comes for me to print invites too. can send me a sample of yours?

hi apple,
not sure about the dummy cake though as i was thinking of doing away with cake cutting. But I am wondering if i can choose the flavour of the cake to be delivered to my room that night...hahahahaha

Hi touraco,
yaya, wld prefer to choose the flavour of the cake too.. hate those icing type... wonder if they have fruit cake...keke or maybe can be half butter, half chocolate.. just like the bacholerette's wedding cake... hahahahha...