The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Hi Lilic,

Keke... You are good!! Managed to find me on the other thread!.. Cannot hide from you
... hehe...No lah, I won't be able to log into the forum often this week... Very busy ... After this week will be fine... Then can chat to my heart's content!!

Yeah, I like your selection of gowns, esp the David's and Vera Wang's... Love the paradox shoes!!

Hi Iz Leng & Ribena,
Welcome!!
Sorry, I'm not too sure abt the food cos I have yet to have food tasting there.. Think the food should be good cos it's from Jade.. But then again, when food is being mass-produced, the quality may deteriorate... But I heard b4 that the portion is not that big...

*keke strawberryj, i really happen to chance upon that thread.. no intention of stalking...

i should be preparing for my professional exams next week.. but i too lazy.. *stressed* hahahha

you take care, we can chat when we free lar..

hi iz and ribena

i heard mixed reviews abt the food for wedding banquets.. but i am in the opinion that everywhere will have good or bad reviews.. so i opt to go for hotel reputation, ambience and service and not forgetting the bridal suite.. *kekeke

then for food serving, i think it should be fine... for one, i dun really eat during wedding dinners..

Haha thanks strawberry and bsproffy. I do really love the place alot and they have the date which i want too so i really hoping to get the place but my FH and i also feel that food is important so... argh... dilema

Now we are looking for alternatives (but i am kinda hoping that we cannot find one. hee hee)

I went for my food tasting and the food is not bad, quite good (it's Tung Lok leh..hahah), food portion ok, think just nice for 'average-eaters', if you got 'big-eaters', might need to cater extra for that..I've actually tot that there should be a feeling of 'abundance' in such feasts, but don't think that is the case for fullerton. The reason they gave was that it is 'fine-dining', but I've hinted to them that fine-dining comes with good presentations and nice cutlery (like french dinner courses), not chinese banquet style cutlery and serving style (just portion food out only)...(Hope this comment doesn't upset anyone as I tot I should reflect what I really feel?) But they have replied that they are unable to do that due to the large number of guests and if it is required, the prices will of course be different...(wonder if they cater their western courses for groups of >300..)

Think can't be perfect....the pros for the place exceeds the cons...
(For me at least, I've chosen it above other hotels like Shang which I initially wanted badly, and on the day they offered it to me, I realised I preferred Fullerton..:P )

hi bunni

of coz you can be truthful here lar.. i can agree with you on that..

its the pros and cons we gotta weigh.. hee

good to hear that your food tasting went well.. but remember to nag at them to keep the std for your AD.. *kekek

Hi Lilic,

Taking your CPA? Good luck for your exam preps! No need stress lah, you so smart, sure no problem wan.. hehe

Hi Ribena,
I agree with Lilic and Bunni.. There are bound to be good and bads comments abt anything..Just go for something you like... Ultimately, this is your wedding dinner, so you must really like it.. Food-wise, sometimes it is really hard to control cos it is really mass-production...

Haha.. Lilic, I will also keep your advice in mind..Must nag till Delia scare of me... hehe

Btw, do you know if we are supposed to bring our own laptops to connect to the projectors?

hi yoji
they have two brown angbao boxes. maybe u can drop by when u're free to take a look when they're having a wedding.

hi takuya
haha... great! then u only need to worry if it might rain and get messy and noisy and humid

hi strawberry
the front is too revealing la, censored!!! super consious abt it, but now i wear corset and dang sew lace at the cups, so not obviously corset and yet more is covered. :p

hi bunni
my hair will be let down but edges curled up lo... hoping they;d grow longer faster! i marching down the press room for my solemnisation with my dad with my veil on! not having church wedding. banquet march in with fiance without veil lo

hi sharlene
of cos i remember u!!!
ya, finally i'm marrying off!!! hahaha...
my house renovated by joop!'s ex-designer diana. she started her own co dyeldesign. we love our home! will post pix here when it's neater!
how's married life?

hi icebubbles
i'm doing my solemnisation at 6pm in the press room, same level as the ballroom, til abt 7pm then straight away start the cocktail recep at 7 lo. It can only fit 30pax with theatre setting and solemnisation infront. they'd be able to play music for u and bring some of ur banquet's flowers & aisle stands over to decorate the room and put them back after the ROM. it's FOC when i requested early this year but the policy might have changed. u gotta check with ur coordinator.

hi jellyfish
it is imposs to negotiate for free flow beer. :p
they gotta upkeep their 6* reputation and not cause upheaval when they allow some couples and deny the rest.

hi dreamdoll
i just chose my favour yest with delia. metallic heart-chaped name card holders. though it was offered since half a year ago, no one picked it! we'd be the first! hope to have some ribbons to decorate the stands and add a thank u note, it should be good to go.
they also have: shuang xi keychain / a pair of black colour mini fork & spoon / chocolates / test-tube of rose tea buds / porcelain bell / 4 types of figurines with ah gong ah ma / 1 female bear / 1 male bear

hi iz_leng & ribena
i had my food tasting last week for 8pax. the portions were more than enough and the hotel assured us that that is just 80% of the actual day portion. i trust they'd keep their word!
the food was good, above average than most hotels. it's more of the yuan zhi yuan wei, real taste of the food kind, the spices and sauces are not too strong

dear gals
thanx for ur positive comments on my gown. back view so not obviously fat but i am too fleshy la! trying to diet. left 4 weeks lo! any success stories to share?!?!

delia helping me liais with the chef to bake me a real wedding cake for my ROM for 30 pax. anyone has bought a cake from Fullerton? can share ur experience?

strawberryj, you need to bring your own laptop and i think you also need to bring the splitter so that you can connect to the 2 projectors with one laptop... i ask delia abt the splitter before but cannot remember if they have it... but in my case, my AD PG will take care of it for me since he is doing the montage.

oh, some pointers to all relevant btb -

1) if you are playing your montage or slideshow from the laptop, make sure your laptop is plugged on to a power supply.. otherwise, it goes into a power-saving mode.. when this happens, the slides or pics may move faster than the song... even tho you have timed it to coincide when it was being prepared...

2) Its always better and safer to run the montage from the harddisk than the external drives.. will prevent it to hang...

sashamama

honestly, i dun think you fat lar.. just that we all want to look better on our AD.. but must watch out.. coz you dun want to lose your shine or radiance by over-dieting..

try to cut your intake of food to like 75% of nomal intake and stop eating after 8pm.. then for choice of food, take more soupy stuff instead.. stop snacking and eat more yoghurt and drink lotsa water.. then go for lymphnotic massages.. my fren did that and lost abt 4kg in few weeks..

how much are you paying for the cake for 30 pax?? i am interested also..

hmm thanks babes for your advices. I am going to look at shang, sheraton and grand cop tomorrow. If they are not to me and FH liking, we will then go with Fullerton. I so wanna get the venue out of the way so i can concentrate on the more important stuff - the gowns!!

Sashamama

I am also interested to know about your cake. Your cake is for 30 pax only, so meaning you are cutting it during solemnisation and not during wedding dinner isit? I was thinking of having cake for all guests at wedding but think it would be rather costly.
Did you consider outside cake makers cos i heard ppl say that hotels usually charge alot for baking a wedding cake.

Hi Lilic,

Wonderful advices you have given us on the montage thingy... Actually, my AD PG asking me abt the projector resolution/brand/model etc.. so that's why I'm checking with you... Emm, think I may need to ask my PG if he has a splitter.. Thanks!!

Have you thought abt what songs you want for montage and 1st/2nd entrance?

Hi Sashamama,

I'm also interested to know abt your wedding cake... For AD, think my quote comes with a 1kg cake ... Not for consumption during the wedding, probably after the dinner...

strawberryj, who you using for AD PG? actually hor, my AD PG went to find out from Delia himself.. rather than bothering us.. *kekeke.. so maybe you should tell him to do that too.. these are technicals lar..

Hi Lilic,

I am using Chin Tiong, a free-lance...Had him for my ROM, quite like his clean-cut style...

Emm... hehe... yeah, I might get him to talk to Delia.. Just that I'm also interested in knowing... so might as well help him find out..

I'm having my AD in May next year and am in a delimma whether to place the stage in the centre or at one end... The pros for the centre are that everyone gets a better view of course. But given the width of the ballroom, the march-in will be rather short
By placing the stage at one end, i'll certainly get a longer march-in
, but i'm afraid that the guests placed at the far end will feel very left out of everything... Comments anyone?

Hi Blue mist,

I had that idea too, but when I went down to the ballroom to check feasibility of idea, standing at one end, don't think I can really see what's happending at the other end ! The ballroom is longer than I imagined, altho' it looks larger and grander if you place the stage there, the people at the other end will not be able to see your face well too...unless you want to rely on the projectors? Feel kinda distant leh..Haven't had time to explore solutions to that yet..:P

Hi Bunni,

Thanks for your reply. Yeah, i feel the same way too... the ballroom is longer than I imagined so placing guests at the far end will make them feel really left out. But the march-in along the middle is very short leh...
kao_sad2.gif

Hi Blue Mist,

No prob..
Hmmm..actually I'm more bothered about the people at the sides not being able to see us when we walk down the stairs slowly..and that they can't see the dress or train at all (only 6 tables in the centre can see well)...hmmm...everyone else ok with that?

Btw, anyone hiring musicians? Any contacts? I saw some at $600 for 4 pax 1 set of 45mins, classical.

Hi Bunni and Blue Mist,

I also think the walk-in is a bit short..

I would love to have a long march-in to show my train as well...

What to do... Maybe can mingle around with guests before the banquet for them to see your gown?

Hi Bunni,

Are you having musicians during the cocktail?

Yep strawberryj, I'm considering to hire some...but there seems to be many kinds available at different budgets (cheapest I found is actually $600..) Was thinking of just hiring for cocktails and not sure if it makes any difference during the dinner or not..

hi bunni

alternatively, if you have frens who can play piano, you can also ask them to play for you during the cocktail since the grand piano will be there already... save you the monies

Hi Lilic, Strawberryj,

Got a couple of friends who played the piano, think they've lost touch, never practise long time, might be rusty liao...hmmm...no harm to try and ask..

Sianz....warm sunday afternoon...
what stage are you ladies at for the preparation?

hey bunni

ask them to brush up now lah.. *kekeke.. i have formally invite my frens for the bridal entourage.. give them advance notice.. hahahah, see how kiasu i am...

i think i am all set.. ahhaha, other than the invites and favors and bridesmaids outfits... now waiting for the execution.. cant wait to start on my gowns... and buy my shoes and accessories.. hahhaha.. but my AD still more than a year

hi bunni,

still sourcing around for videography and waiting for yr end sale for my shoes =)
one more thing is to settle my rom things...
but i finally settled on the designs for my gowns already, dec will be my first fitting
still left 8 mths to my ad and rom

Hi Lilic, that's good to hear, you're early!
You MTM your gown? I'm taking OTR so no need to start so early, wedding in 4 months' time. Actually LOVE LOVE LOVE the designs of a few American designers, more to the opulent styles with rich fabrics but cost a lot and too much of a hassle as they don't have it in spore, and current BS strike quite a good balance between quality and price (actually considered save money for me), so chin chai (still want to keep nest egg..hehehe..
) I just got dresses for my 'sisters' from a sale, but purplelish blue in satin like material and purple dresses in some light reflecing material for night. Not sure if these colours are all right as mum didn't really like it, said bridesmaids should wear white or pastels...Waiting to let my 'sisters' try and alter and see what they think. Which invite are you taking? I'm most prob taking the ones in gold chinese words and white english words. Printing should be T-dragon since the cards from there, price quite good, first 200 pieces $100 or something for normal printing. Hmmm...your wedding still more than a year, PS taken?

Hi Icebubbles,

I'm also on the look out for videography, any recommendations? I was looking at yuppies but they were taken up, then now checking captured moments..Haven't got a chance to see many, altho did see a few which I didn't like...Hmmm...looks like I gotta buck up a little, I just reached an agreement with RH on my ROM, still working on details...arrr...am I late?? You are MTMing your gown for PS? When is it?

Wow, didn't know they ban words here till I tried to type the above.

Paiseh, re-read my post, sound not nice..not chin-chai, wedding expensive, no money liao, so very happy I found current BS, can't afford those american designers anyway..

Hehe.. Wow, Lilic, you are indeed very fast... So you have gotten most stuff settled... Fantastic..

Hi Icebubbles,

I'm going for my first fitting next week... Am getting excited.. Unfortunately, my BS does not allow any form of photos to be taken even when I have confirmed my gowns... Sad..
... Want to secretly take also difficult cos the designer will pop into the room to help...

Hi Bunni,

It is good enough that you are getting dresses for your jie mei.. How many jie mei you have and how much did you pay for the dresses? (If you don't mind me asking.)...I think as long as the dresses fit in with your overall theme colours, it should be fine... No need white or pastles...

hi bunni,

only went to cris ling and bettles but found too ex for videography. so now only shortlisted motion image. still finding more studios to visit
u r not late for ur rom lah. me even late ah. havent even discuss with diana regarding my plan of rom before the dinner. jp also nv choose yet.

i mtm my wg and eg plus a short cheongsum
dunno how they will turn out to be. but i trust amanda lee
my ps will be in late march

hi strawberryj,

they dun allow to take photos for the fitting?
how come? tot it's already ur gown mah.
perhaps i also got to ask if allowed to take or not. all along i tot can

Hi strawberryj,

Actually can try to ask if they can allow one or 2 pics using HP ...if that's good enough for you, they might agree...
I'm likely to be having about 4 jiemeis, dresses very cheap as it is something like a clear out sale, new dresses but sorta like last season, kinda pretty tho', I PM you the info. Anyway, even before I have the chance to show the dresses to the jie meis, already one not exactly happy about having to wear the same dress as the rest, I was a little surprised, tot she would be happy..the rest say anything ok...

Hi Ice bubbles,

I just saw wedding TV's website, not bad..tot capture moments good (788), but now prefer wedding TV, but price is about double (1700). I have to consider as want to keep to budget as much as possible. Chris and Bettles is >2K right? JP you have anyone in mind? I have just invited Mr Chan KS, nice old gentleman..

hi bunni,

me wan to keep vg as cheap as possible. below 1000 or 1200. chris and beetles are way above budget. but i really loved chris packaging of the dvd

may i know how did u go abt inviting jp?
nv do research yet leh
mr chan good?

Hi strawberryj,

They can probably allow one or 2 pics I think..
can ask them nicely, they might agree? I've got 4 jie meis, already one not exactly happy about having to wear the same dress as the rest even before seeing the dresses...sianz...I PM you on the dresses...:P

Hi icebubbles,

Chris and bettles >2K right? I just saw wedding tv, not bad, at 1.7K..was thinking of capture moments (788), now still thinking, prefer wedding tv..
Which JP you prefer? I invited Mr Chan KS, nice old gentleman..

i am a kiasu btb lar

bunni, my ps (if any) will be in next sep...dun think i will use t-dragon.. think they cannot do normal printing... i dun want hot stamping leh..
eh, did you spend alot on the bridesmaid dresses? i gotta pay for 3 of them... its $160 per dress enough? they all dun like the chiffon kind.. *stressed*

strawberry, but still got lotsa miscellaneous items to do leh.. like find my SDJ.. read the other thread.. got suggestion - your MIL buy all the heavy gold (now expensive leh) then after wedding, you go melt them into gold bar.. *kekeke

..Just realised I made stoopid mistake of re-typing my post as I tot my post got lost when internet disconnected..paiseh..

Hi icebubbles,

I'm not exactly sure, honestly, I just ham tam as I always think someone will guide us along the way..
think there's few threads on the JPs. I just called Mr Chan (KY, not KS like I typed previously...:P) and asked if he is available, he said yes and will meet me and bf in end Nov, so I guess next step is to get consent form or something, wait till 3 months before ROM to register in ROM website and submit documents? I saw comments on Mr Chan good, plus I prefer having an elder solemnize my wedding, and a few other reasons, feel that he's the perfect choice for me and bf..

Hi Lilic,

Price T-dragon quoted me was for normal printing they said...hmmm...saw good reviews on them, tot good and cheap plus no need to carry cards around to different vendors, so likely to go with it..btw, I think hot stamping not necessary as I don't notice it myself even, when I recieve cards from friends. I notice more of the 'mood' of the card as well as the fonts and words...

I spent very little on the dresses, very simple ones...kinda paiseh, really...:P Why is it that you have to pay for 3 of them? They asked you to? $160 per dress!!! That's the cost of ROM dress or EG for some brides! Think if you spending that kinda money, just buy cloth and go to the tailor, it might work out less and turn out nicer. Btw, some BS rent out bridesmaid dresses, just have to bargain and try to get it free?..
Wah, your bridesmaid very lucky, still can 'place orders' for fabric type and style...

Hahahha...melt into gold bar..
Strawberryj, can ask your MIL to give you other types of gold? Think some stores have very modern designs that are very nice...

bunni

i was told t-dragon not that cheap leh... but i dunno lar, coz havent done my homework on this...

they din ask me lar... tot its a custom.. esp, they are walking down the aisle with me...

eh, i planning to go to tailor.. unless i can find something for them otr... nope, my BS dun go renting.. and normally, the BS kind too loud liao.. its like a present for my bridesmaids lar.... oh, bridesmaid different from jie-mei to me.. hahah, the jie-mei wun walk down the aisle..

Hi Lilic,

Haha.. The gold bar is a great idea.. Haha... My HB sugested getting the gold set for my Kua, which I believe will look good with gold jewellery.. Then the remaining budget can get another set of cheaper white gold set... Also dunno can or not... Bringing my MIL this Friday to go SDJ shopping...

Btw, Larry's sale is starting soon... I have received the invitation to go to their sale preview this weekend.. The official sale starts on 1 Nov..

Hi Bunni,

I read my BS'thread.. They absolutely do not permit pixs of any kind.. Think 1 of them tried to take in the changing, but in the end was too "rush" cos the designer will pop in to help..
Let me try try..

Hi Icebubbles,

Think you better find your JP early, esp the popular ones.. He is the VIP...Without him, you can't have your ceremony... I tried calling JP David Loh (think so, can't rem his full name), who is super popular, 5 mths before my ROM... He is already fully booked with 13 solemnizations in a day, with one couple having one hr each!!

I have not researched on the printing yet... Is t-dragon the printer Fullerton recommends?
Bunni, how much do they charge? Think you mentioned before...

I don't think it is compulsory to pay for bridesmaid's clothes, although it is definitely good... I have not thought abt it yet... Will ask my BS see if can borrow from them.. Else there are a few places with very nice dresses... But quite ex... If looking for really nice bridesmaid dresses, may cos abt more than $160... Those olive suite kind can cost up till $500! Saw one from Lavender's which cost $380...

think i gotto buck up to find a jp soon...

btw, sdj really need to be yellow gold?
my mum told me preferably
but i wont be wearing mah.
may keep till grow spider web

Just for ur info.
Fullerton recommended 4 printers.
T-dragon printing cost are not cheap, in fact, quite ex. Jasvy and Focal-Ad are cheaper.

strawberryj,
I used Jasvy as printer, also recommended by Fullerton. Hotstamping abt $0.40 per pcs for the printing of both chinese and english inside the card inclusive of unlimited pics icons.

hi strawberryj

over liao.. good good.. *relieved*

eh, i found a tailor to do the dresses.. should be able to keep to S$160... hee..

you looking for printers so fast?

Hi Sharlene,

Thanks for the recommendation, I gong gong, still tot it's cheap at t-dragon..

Hi strawberryj,

I'll try to take some pics and send you when I get my hands on my bro's digi cam ok?

Hi Lilic,

Actually I tot many places can make dresses cheap..beauty world/bt timah shopping centre has many many tailors (many competition) so the price also very competitive. Think for a simple EG, they charge including materials 80-90. You can go compare prices..

Hi Bunni,

Will look forward to your pixs!

Hi Lilic,

Keke... Exams are always like that wan...Now you can concentrate on your wedding preps.

You got lobang for tailor? Good or not? I'm thinking of making a CS for myself and my mum wants to tailor-make something for my AD as well... Materials + workmanship included in package?

I'm thinking of doing the cards early while I have the time..Dun wanna rush things through especially we are having quite a number of guests from overseas. So better have the cards early for distribution...

Btw, I'm going to Larry's sale preview today with my MIL... Let you know if I see good buys...