The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Hi Bunni ,Lilic and Sharlene and the rest,

Following through this thread... seems like all of us want some kind of theme wedding... but yet FH not so flexible on that... must top up this, top up that... etc...

Nevertheless, I believe at the end of the day, through everything... and all the hard work and negotiation, it's worth it

Initially, I was rather worried about people giving very little ang bao and scare will make a big loss as my hi-tea buffet cost $70 per head! And this is only a standing cocktail event. But now, I begin to change my mind and just think, as long as we had a memorable and great time at the end of the day. All the spendings is worth it. Anyway, this is only once in a life-time kind of thing.

So all brides-to-be, I think as long as we spend within our means, it's ok to "spurge" on the wedding as it is THE DAY of our lives.

I'm thinking of having a "Precious Moments" or "Cinderella" theme.... something fairy-tale... haha

Still trying to crack my head how to have a classy and elegant event in the hot afternoon in the straits room.

By the way, is it strange to have wine for hi-tea? What kind of wine is suitable? Would people drink wine with finger food?

I am a Fullerton bride too. Sorry, I am a little lost - what are the theme you gals are referring to?

I thought the theme design for hotel are just Diamond, versailes?

Cards given are just the four types(2 red and 2 ivory white to select?)

My wedding in Fullerton is Mid of Dec however, I am always overseas and thus didn't have time to contact the coordinator. Have they changed heaps to the theme design and wedding cards?

Please advise.

hi bunni

i am looking at 2 dimensional printing only.. i like it simple and elegant.. you can look into that too.. i spoke with some ex-brides.. thats why they did and were happy with the results.. of coz, you must do the prep works lar...

erm, wat theme is it this sunday? i have spoken to delia.. she said my theme can be done and had been done before.. so she will be taking over the coordination from hereon... thumbs up for her coz at least i know she will cater to her clients' preference...

hi preciousthoughts

i agree with you on the "spurging" as long as its within our means.. but i dun like spend and yet get push around.. hahah, if you know wat i mean.. in any case, its all to delia now and i do trust that she can cater to my wants...

hi gal

we are talking abt our personal wedding themes here, and how we can incorp our themes with the hotel's setup (which you referred to as the theme designs). From wat i know, i think you have more than 2 to choose from...

and for cards, i think you also have more to choose from also.

preciousthoughts,

i like precious moments too.. thinking if i should whip out my collection for the reception areas.. hahhaha..

i think you can create that.. i used to have an idea - loaning the gigantic display figurines from preciousthots to be placed at the entrance of my chapel.. did you see the PM website featuring the PM wedding island/chapel in US?

Hi BsProffy
Are there more to choose from - it seems that they only show me 2-3 hotel set up.
Cards- they only show me 4.

Btw, just curious - what theme hotel did you all choose? Card?

hi gal

from wat i understand, you dun have to choose from a theme.. you can choose the centrepiece from one theme and the stage setup from the other, etc..

yes, they have new setups... based on the wedding fair just passed.. pardon me, but i dunno the names of the themes...

and for cards, there is definitely more than 4 from the current vendor..

think you should contact your coordinator for the updates... in case our package details are different.. like sharlene got AWT cards but we dun.. =)

Hi lilic,

yup... I saw the precious moments website for the chapel/PM island on the website. Very nice and feels like a dream if one were there...

You mean we can rent the huge figurines at preciousthots? How much would they cost???

Also, so your co-ordinator is delia? Mine's delia too. Glad to hear good comments about her as initially we did have some miscommunication over the prices... wasn't so happy about it. But now we decided to put that aside as we feel that every part of the wedding process should be a happy want. So I kept reminding myself "don't worry and stay cheerful!" I have the tendercy to want to settle everything as soon as possible.

Nevertheless, we still want to trust our wedding in her hands and hope that she can co-ordinate our dream wedding for us

Is it too early to tell her what theme and set-up I want? My wedding is March next year.

Also, can anyone give me comments on having wine for a hi-tea? Is it suitable and what kind of wine?

All comments appreciated. Thanks!

hi preciousthoughts

i dunno if preciousthots will rent out the huge figurines.. but can also try writing in to the mgt.. i tot of doing that until my bf said, "not fair.. if you have PM, i also want starwars for the wedding"... hahahha

i think you should call delia and start to communicate with her on your theme, etc... my wedding is dec next year leh.. *kekkee

can't help you on wine.. but you can visit the wine retailers and ask for help..

Hi Lilic,

I'm not sure what theme they're having this Sun, but Delia said it's close to the basic package that they are taking, so I'm popping by to see how it looks for a standard package and if topping up will be required. Thanks for info on cards..

Hi precioustots,

My personal opinion on the wine: think it doesn't make a diff if you serve it or not as ppl wouldn't expect to have wine for hi-tea. Actually think you can save on the alcohol and spend the money on other items (like a nice favor of mini wedding cake for each guest) where the item will create a deeper impression?

Hi yoji,

Actually the theme I was thinking of is in terms of colors only, think the hotel has a couple of themes eg. oriental theme. Guess if you have an idea in mind, you can ask if it can be done or not..

Thanks for the advice. You gals are really good.. so many ideas to make this wedding dinner a totally new style comparing to the basic ones

I will contiune to read to get fresh new ideas .

Hi Bunni,

Quite true about the wine... nobody will remember the wine. Unless we give them each a wine glass to use for drink and also can bring home... haha

Actually, I always wanted to have mini wedding cake as I think they are very cute. But wonder if can bring from outside? Becos if cater from Fullerton, it's going to cost a bomb!

Also, I thought of having the chocolate fountain thing. However, I was told that it will cost $18 +++!!!!

I also dunno how now...

Any suggestions on the order of programme?
My idea is something like this:
1.30pm: cocktail reception

2.00pm:
Short singing
short message by Pastor
Solemnisation
Thank you speech

2.30pm: Buffet begins
3.30pm: Presentation of slide show
Second march-in
Cut-cake and toasting
Special item by close friends
Closing speech
3.45pm: Eat a bit more

4.30pm: Guests go home

Saw many couples at Labrador park taking pre wedding PS as well as many couples getting married at ROM today..

Hi precioustots,

I like mini wedding cake too but forgot to ask how much, you might want to ask them how much before deciding?
btw, your itenary looks ok except the 'eat a bit more' part, think once stop difficult to start eating again, plus need to tell ppl to sit down (they might be still eating) during the slides for your second march in? Can try to seat them before the slides.

Btw, I've taken a second look at FH's cards, under natural lighting, not as bad as I tot..
, might go with it..

Saw many couples at Labrador park taking pre wedding PS as well as many couples getting married at ROM today..

Hi precioustots,

I like mini wedding cake too but forgot to ask how much, you might want to ask them how much before deciding?
btw, your itenary looks ok except the 'eat a bit more' part, think once stop difficult to start eating again, plus need to tell ppl to sit down (they might be still eating) during the slides for your second march in? Can try to seat them before the slides.

Btw, I've taken a second look at FH's cards, under brighter lighting, not as bad as I tot..
, might go with it..

HI Lilic,
Sorry for taking so long. My AD is in Dec '06 as well on a Sunday coz i only want 35 tables. Sat is min 40 tables which is too many. Saw the thread & u mentioned tat u went to Woodsville. Did u go 2 see em bcoz u want special decor arrangements? I didn't discus theme wif Delia coz she said only need to discuss 2 mths b4 the wedding. Will u be taking ur photoshoot at Fullerton?

hi divers

went to woodsville coz i thinking of using them for my other venues and also to settle the fullerton deco.. i dun want to use roses so i gotta speak to them for alternatives and see the mockups... personal opinion, coz since my wedding is next dec, i prefer to see the mockups using nov/dec flowers...

but i am pretty way ahead of time coz i got work committments to fulfil next year... so gotta settle bulk of the stuff before that.

i spoke to Delia abt my theme even before I signed up with fullerton coz i want to be sure that it can be done..

yah, i will wnat to do the PS in fullerton, esp the suite.. =)

Hi bunni,
U mentioned u wld be gg down to see their std decor. So how does it look? Impressive enough or top up required fm ur point of view?

Hi divers,

Well, I went to see their deco but the couple brought red apples and got woodsville to add those to the arrangement (Delia said there might be a fee for that, need to check). Counted 9 red roses for each arrangements but together with the apples the arrangements looks ok, full enough. So didn't really see the 'basic-package'. Wondering how it looks without the apples... The couple had 2 types of arrangements, yellow/lemon and red/apples on alternate tables. Red one looks nicer that the yellow ones (red bigger and color more impact, yellow arrangement smaller and not as contrasting in the ballroom) Hmmm..I'm hoping to have a larger arrangement tho', read from somewhere that to make deco look grand, need either height or size for the arrangements(paiseh, I must sound very superficial..hahaha) but on the other hand, struggling inside on whether I should be spending money like this and if these changes really matter at the end of the day...

I'm thinking of taking my pics of fullerton only on actual day itself as my PS is in JB and bf wants different scenary (i.e. doesn't want PS and AD pics to all have FH and RH...) A lot of planning and coordination for me...
PS in JB, BS in Spore, 2 days wedding FH and RH, overseas wedding, arrangements for overseas friends and family etc...hmmm...but...enjoying it leh!

Hi Bunni, it was my wedding dinner at fullerton that you saw! last sunday right? hahaa.... yes we made special arrangements with woodsville to create a 'fruits' theme with apples and lemons... and we also catered strawberries during the cocktails for guests to enjoy... overall most guests did enjoy the fruits theme and thought it was rather unique - well at least that was what they said! hahaaa

Hi Rokko,

Really!..
That's great! Can I know how much you top-uped for the fruits? Delia was saying you got the apples and lemons on your own and I was wondering how you managed to find apples so 'flawless' (no blemish on surface). Then she told me they arranged the strawberries for you? Can't you get the strawberries on your own too? Btw, how much was the strawberry thingy? Forgot to mention in thread above, that looked really nice in the reception with splashes of red and is edible..
You must have enjoyed your wedding very much, care to share tots??

Paiseh to have some many questions in one shot..

Hi bunni, actually we didn't top up for cecilia (woodsville) to do the fruits-flowers theme - my father-in-law works in a cold storage and we could get fruits very cheaply, so we brought in our own fruits (apples, lemons, and strawberries) and asked woodsville to incorporate the fruits into the decor to create a 'fruits' theme... the strawberries were brought in by us, but delia kindly helped us arrange them nicely into 3-tier serving trays for guests to help themselves to the strawberries during cocktail reception. We brought in about 300 strawberries... As for such flawless apples, cecilia (woodsville) wanted them deep red in colour so we requested for the apples to be 'flawlessly' deep red! dunno how my father-in-law managed to source for such flawless apples too! hee... well the guests noticed the fruits theme, since it's a little more unique than the norm. but kudos really to delia who helped us with the arrangements, and cecilia who's so absolutely creative!

thanks bunni for your compliments. i guess we felt that if we wanted to top up, it would be to top-up for something unique and something that guests would remember...

icebubbles, yeah i waited till about 2 months before AD before i started arrangements for collection of cards and all.... and usu. food tasting done about 1 month before AD....

Hi girls, we intend to have our wedding dinner at fullerton, the straits room which can accomodate approx 120 guests. Small and that's what we are looking at. Anyone held her wedding there too? Mind sharing the price/deco/photos? Thanks!!

Hi Bunni,

I just came back from holiday in Hong Kong... that's why MIA for a while.

So you're meeting Kelvin tomorrow? Kelvin from lightedpixels issit? ( the photographer I'm getting for AD). Tell him you are recommended by "Shan" who is having wedding in march 2006. See if you can get a better rate this way... hehe

I'm not getting a professional videographer.... probably just get our own friends to shoot for us to keep cost within budget...

If you have the money, I would recommend wedding paparrazzi... but they are pretty exp I think...

Hi Bendi,

The straits Room is a very nice place to hold a cosy dinner. The deco theme for straits room is very romantic. I saw the new theme which is black table cloth with maroon seat covers. They use red roses. Very elegant and romantic. I think Straits room will fit nicely with 8 tables to create centre aisle. If 12 tables, I think pretty cramp and cannot have centre aisle.. ( it will probably be a 4-4-4 arrangement, hence you will march in a bit side way.)

hi bunni and preciousthoughts, sorry to butt in, but just to say i engaged wedding paparazzi for my wedding 2 weeks ago, and they're GOOD! worth every single penny we put down for them!
anyway if you get another fren to sign up with you, you get a 10% discount too

No problem rokko, not butting in, feel free to join the conversation..
thanks for the recommendation, haven`t got a chance to see them yet, will check them out..

Hi precioustots, I think i'll be signing with Kelvin, didn't want a coffee table initially but after seeing his stuff, hmmm..reconsidering..but i need 2 days and with coffee table album, a bit out of my budget, see how..:P

Hi Bendi, paiseh, i like straits room but no pics, think there's some pics in the new BLISS bridal mag featuring woodsville as well, can get a copy to check?

Hi Bunni,

Initially, I didn't want the coffee book too... but we really like the way he does the coffee book and the quality is very good. He paste all the photos onto the book all by himself! And he will really personalise the coffee book... such as including the special songs used during the wedding in the book...hence, it's really like telling a story....

Hmmm... so did you manage to get special rate by quoting my name???? hehe

You can actually check out the video clip on wedding paparazzi's wedsite. Just do a search on "google"...it's pretty easy to find...

Hi Rokko,

How much does it cost to engage Wedding Paparazzi? Which package did you take?

Hi Rokko,

You can check out "Wedding Acts" Website for pictures of the Fullerton Straits Room... look under "Lord of the Ring Theme" under "Gallery"

Can I please ask if The Fullerton is one of the well known hotel in Singapore?

Any advise what are other good hotels in Singapore? Just overall Hotel names in Singapore?

hi gal,

yes... fullerton is one of the well-known 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Other good hotels are:
Raffles Hotel
Four Seasons
Pan Pacific
Oriental
Marriott
Hyatt
Conrad
Ritz Carlton (6 star)
Intercontinental Hotel

And many more....

So glad to see so many of you gals holding r weddings @ Fullerton as well... I have just signed up the Straits Room last week... simply love their new decor, black & maroon theme & in the end have took us a month to shrink our guests list into halve.

My coordinator is Diana, anyone with her as well? One thing i wanna chk w u gals is it true that we can't use rose petals @ the ballroom? if so, im wondering how come the couple (Lord of the ring theme) can scatter so thick petals /dried leaves @ the Straits rm?

Hi Takuya,

Just like you... I like the Straits room so much that we also have to shrink our guest list!

Totally agree with you on their new theme for Straits Room... black with maroon...very romantic and elegant and refreshing from the usual wedding deco

But for me, now I'm not taking a sit-down dinner ...hence, won't be using the new theme as it will be a theattre style solemnisation cum wedding celebration for us....

I think for the rose petals... cannot use real ones... as they are afraid of staining the carpet... so I think they use silk/fake ones..

You can check with Diana.... my coordinator is Delia

What's your wedding?

Hi Rokko,

Hmmm...your "fruits" theme sounds unique!

Were the strawberries coated with chocolate or something? How did you manage to bring in "outside" food? Did you have to pay extra for bringing "outside food"?

Would kindly appreciate your advice and comments...

You can also drop me an email:

hihi precious thoughts,

my wedding will be in Oct 06... will be having my solemnisation prior to the dinner... if yours is a theattre style, at least can accomodate more ppl ...

Ya, am keen to find out on the strawberry w chocolate coatings too.... was at the bridal show & saw the chocolate fountain, simply loves it but its exp cos its per head & not sure if all my guests will take it....: (

Hi Takuya,

My wedding will be in Mar 06.

Yup... I saw the chocolate fountain and fell in love with that too! But the cost per head is just too exp.... and not all guests would appreciate that for that extra cost which is so high for just a chocolate thingy!

So I guess your solemnisation will be at the roof garden??

hihi preciousthoughts,

Am still thinkign whether to have the solemnisation @ the roof garden cos its kinda plain & not much decor to be done. But the hotel have booked the roof garden for me from 630pm so will see how it goes then....

Thinking of the ambience & decor, having solemnisation @ the straits rm will have a stronger mood? but will have problems of thinking how many march-ins i should have then...hahah...

hi preciousthoughts... i engaged the wedding paparazzi for full day videography + music video (express edited) for about 1.3k i think... cant quite remember now esp since my hubby was the banker! hahaa

as for strawberries, it wasn't coated with chocolate - i think that would involve a higher cost and a lot more work! my father-in-law works in a cold storage so he could help us bring in fruits very cheaply. we brought in about 300 strawberries very very cheaply! but we had to sign a form to indemnify the hotel against any problems by us bringing in outside food....

Hi preciousthoughts,

Can I ask if Fullerton is 6 star like Ritz carlton or 5 star?

Sorry, because I don't live in Singapore. I am not really aware of the information.

Hi Rokko,
So does that mean we can also bring mini cakes from outside by signing the indemnity form too?

Do you have pictures to show for your wedding?

Hi Takuya,
Yeah.... I think having the solemnisation in the Straits room will be nicer as the deco and chanderliers will be so romantic. The only thing is you got to march-in many times!

Hi gal,
Fullerton is a 5 star hotel. From what I know, Ritz Carlton is the only 6 star hotel in Singapore.

Hi Precioustots,

Ya, agree on the kopi book too, like Kelvin's style..
Didn't manage to mention your name but he's not too uptight on the negotiation. Kinda trust him as feel that he's in it for the interest and want to do things 'right' rather than just for the money..

Hi Takuya, precioustots,

I was at the bridal show with idy too..
But frankly speaking, tot that the choco fountain is kinda diluted and berries not sweet enough..
Had confirmation from conrad's coordinator whom I bump into there..(heheheh) Must ask for thicker choco if you really get it? Berry tree cost about 160/180 for about soccer ball size, you might want to follow rokko and get alternative source like market?

Hi gal,

Think Fullerton is quite well known, actually if you have overseas guests/friends/relative, you can just tell them that the Merlion (this should be well known?) is right in front of the hotel..
For Ritz Carlton, the name impresses too but requires 60 tables weekends and 45 tables weekdays, that's way off for me in terms of number of guests..
But kinda like Fullerton's exteriors too, will not be outdated, and worth increases with time?..:P (40 years down, can tell grandkids and the place will still look ok..hahahha, if s'pore still ard..

Preciousthots,
ACtually there isn't any official 6 star hotels. Its unofficial. But the unofficial grades gvn by the mkt in the industry for 6 stars were Ritz carlton and fullerton. My friend works in tourism board told me that FUllerton, Ritz carlton, Four seasons, Raffles hotel and Shangri-la were under the same top category standards slightly above 5 star.

Hi Bunni,

yeah.... agree that Kelvin's not uptight about negotiation. He really does it with lots of passion which I can see clearly in all his works. He's also a pleasant person to work with.

So you confirm him already? What's the best deal you got from him???

Hi precioustots,

Yep..
My bf and I were saying that his prices will likely increase later on as he gets more well-known. Really thanks for the tip..
Was looking for photographers who take pics that can evoke emotions but all are quite expensive, but this one's still affordable...
Booked him for 2 days but still waiting for his proposal, I PM you when I know ok?

hello all

long time never come in liao.. bzbz... so how's everyone?

hey bunni

i bumped into the regent coordinator in the wedding show also leh.. hahaha.. i see that there are many spies around..

eh, just to reco, you may also want to check out my AD PG - tucky's as well.. he was the first in the market to come out with the coffee table album and he does it really well. =)

Hi lilic,

welcome back!
Thanks for the recommendation.

Btw, were you the one who was going to bangkok to check out the home store for silk flowers? How was it? Manage to get any great deals to share?

btw, what favors and wine will you gals be using? will you be getting from fullerton?

Takuya,

Forgot to mention, I tot the roof garden looks kinda nice, at least it's better than the press room I was given, it's just a small box-like room, at least roof garden is more interesting..
Actually tot that you can gather everyone there for the solemnisation and then move to the straits room so that you don't have to worry about having smaller reception area and will have nice effect if the doors are only open when the group comes down from the roof garden so everyone can see the entire decor together without the clutter (think that's what is done for the ballroom, they lock the doors and only let guests in when it is time and not let guests wander around in the ballroom first). Besides, using more function rooms in the hotel feels more interesting, like you have the whole place to yourself, hahaha...

hi bunni

i havent not gone to BKK yet.. hahha.. only going next year..

favour and wine, i should be sourcing from outside vendors... fullerton wines are on the high side. favours, was thinking of customising.. no concrete plans yet.. =)

wat abt you?