The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Hello fellow Fullerton brides,

I am new in this forum, hope you guys can 'guide' me around

I am a bit concerned about the steps of the ballroom. Will this be difficult to navigate around during the first and second walk-in?

Also, does anyone know how long it takes to walk from the top of the stairs to the stage? My FH and I are having some trouble deciding on a walk-in song, and we are worried about the length of the song, and timing of walking from top of the stairs to the stage etc.

Hi Cin

Welcome!! When's your wedding? details galore!! update us so we can add you in!!

I asked my coordinator the same qns too.. there are 13 steps leading down to the ballroom.. and on a slow march in basis, i was told it'll take abt 2 - 3 mins..

Juz feel the steps and hold on tight to your hubby's arm, I was advised! *chuckles*.. i oso quite worried cos me down quite big!

don worry abt the walk in song.. choose a meaningful song that you both like and then can decide on the part where you wanna play for the march in.. remix and chop off the long melody if you don like it.. etc...

Hope it helps

hi besse,

glad to have a person like u coordnating if not everytime must scroll back to c every brides' details

i only get my wg from silhouette., the rest of the package is from sophia (including photography)

me finally got my hard copy contract but sad to say, there are a number of discrepancies. ald called up my coordinator to have him send me an updated one.

my wedding still some time to go so cun really feel the excitement...

hiee all fullerton brides

so happy to see this thread active again!!

as for my bridal shopping, mmm.....has tonned down a bit...and with the SARS scare i'm planning to stay at home this weekend.....maybe do some price comparision. come to think of it....i've visited almost 10 bridal boutiques already.
Decided to give Jawn a miss cos can't seem to find the right time to go plus susan doesn't sound friendly to me on the phone (already spoken to her on 4 different occasion). Last stop would probably be Flamingo then i'll be going for round 2

I plan to first book my dinner venue (currently only tentative booking) then book actual day photographer before i confirm the bridal package since i figure the first 2 items if slow will not get my ideal one

so far my wedding is the latest among all of you ......mmm.....

aiyo type so much....sorry if i bore you.

and thanx besse for collating our wedding info.

Didnt come in to this thread for quite some time. It is getting so active now.
Just some update on myself. Thanks Besse for including me.

Cookiemz - 10Jul03
Blissz - 30Oct03 /TedWu/Montage/Greymatters (KC Wong)
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Besse - 2Nov03/TheWeddingPresent/AndrewChoi/Triston Yeo
Wen - 17Nov03/TanYoong/MemphisWest(Wesley Loh)/ThePond(Tan Ngiap Heng)
Pam - 28Dec03/BV/Studio D'fia
Miumiu - Feb04/Silhouette
Poox - May04

hi wen

noticed u're using wesley from memphis west for your photography. is it for studio and actual day? i've spoken to wesley on the phone, enquiring his charges....sounds like a nice guy

hallo besse
i saw in another thread that u're engaging Triston Yeo for your actual day photography. what makes u choose him? is he expensive?

Hi Besse,

Our customary is on the 22nd of June.Seems like i am the earliest? based on your list above...

Regarding the SARS situation, do you guys have any backup plans?i am keeping my fingers crossed that everything will be alright come June man...

I called Elizabeth, who is in charge of our account, and she said that we have to give a month's notice if we want to postpone, and the date has to be by this year. If postpone to next, will levy a small charge... how? what are your plans?

Miumiu
Ok.. have updated your info. Why discrepancies in your contract? Must go through carefully ok! try to negotiate really hard on the corkages waiver and corkage fees.. oh, and they can stretch to 35% for carpark i think.. else fullerton carpark v expensive - S$5 per entry leh!

Poox
No problem! Details are fun to know.. so you going for 2nd round of shopping soon?! who have you shortlisted?? share share

As long as you have confirmed your date, best quickly book your Banquet, Actual day photographer, and if you can quick confirm with boutique, book the best makeup artist! The schedule of the makeup artist must tie in with your photoshoot date and your actual day.. so oso quite challenging! Lucky me hv no such problem.

We chose Triston cos he's quite reasonable in his charges (S$1100 for 300 4R prints, 50 cents for subsquent prints when others charge abt $40-$50 per additional roll) Triston used digital and he's v friendly and accomodating cos he's willing even to do up an actual day slide presentation FOC for our evening presentation.. (others wil charge $300 - $500 extra). You might wanna meet him and see his portfolio..

Wen
No problem! Do come in here more often!

Cin
Yeah,, you the earliest!! how's your preps? muz be v busy now with the invites and all
Which bridal are you with and photographer?? Asking so i can update in the list.

Hmm. with regards to SARs situation, I think my wedding still too far to worry.. but get Elizabeth to advise you lor.. since there definitely will be couples getting married before you who might take some measures ..

Ok.. here's the updated list

Cin - 22June03
Cookiemz - 10Jul03
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Miumiu - Feb04/Silhouette&Sophia/Sophia
Poox - May04

hiee besse

this mon going flamingo and maybe emmanuel b.
so far i've shortlisted SIL,BV,TWP,KAI.

for photography, i'm considering between Picture Box,Studio D'fia and Chris Ling.

i called triston to enquire his package, sounded expensive but found out he attends the same church as my fiance, so will prob still meet up to see his works. bec my wedding would be held over 2 days, most photographers would charge me a few hundred bucks extra...

thanx for your advise.

hello cin,

i think by june sars should have been cleared. dun worry :P how's your wedding prep coming along?

Hi Besse,

You mentioned that your Photographer offer you free slideshow presentation FOC ?

However, just a word of advise for all Brides-to-be, thinking that any "Freebies" that were thrown-in into the package is that, when things goes wrong on that "free" item -- meaning that if the slideshow cocks-up, or the photographer didn't deliver the promised "freebies" in good order, logically the Customers will have "No rights" to demand compensation to the problematic goods (or services), as it was a "Free item" afterall ........ or the Customers should not have high expectation on those freebies, if it doesn't meet your standard or basic requirement.

Therefore, the phrase "no free lunch" still holds true here, that if something too-good-to-believe is offered for free, something has to give -- for example, it could be the original package has already built-in the costing of that item ...... or there could be a compromise in quality or performance somewhere (that you may not be aware of) -- for example, using inferior grade material on other items, etc.

Prehaps, the so-called slideshow presentation is just a simple "power-point" presentation, with a music play-back in the background (not edited to synchronised with the images motions or transitions) .... or not the Professionally edited ones done by the Production houses.

Well, all said and done, afterall it's still depend on the budget and requirement of each wedding couples, and my point is that before commiting into any services by any Providers/Suppliers, the best is to do one's research or homework, and meet-up a few short-listed photographers, before making an wise and educated decision, or signing on the dotted lines.......

just my 2 cents.

Hi Besse, Hi Poox,

Me getting swamped with preparations... haven't printed wedding cards, haven't bought ROM dress (rom in may), haven't selected music for walk-ins, haven't bought anything for guo da li, haven't confirmed actual day videographer yet...argh!! panic panic...

Oh, and to answer your earlier question, I am with Yvonne Creative...actual day photography will be with Monica from VividShots

whoa, this place is so alive! great!

Hi Cin,

glad to find you here too! my geomancer had also picked the date june 22 for me too, if i had chosen that day, we would be fighting for the fullerton ballroom and dily! heehee...lucky ah

as for your invites, will your coordinator call u to remind you? or do we have to call them to confirm the guaranteed atendance?

Hi Besse,

thanks for compiling the list, I'm with Yvonne creative too, but actual day photographer not decided yet.. here is the updated list :

Cin - 22June03/Yvonne Creative/Vividshots
Cookiemz - 10Jul03/Yvonne Creative
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Poox - May04

Hi CIN

Don't panic. You still have more than 2 months...no worries. Just set realistic datelines then things should fall in place and delegate some work to your helpers :P

dresses for ROM....mm....my friend got hers a week before her ROM....
what's your budget? guess u can check out allure charix and empire they sell nice short dresses at about 200-400 bucks.

as for videographer, ask her photographer to reccommend. i'm planning to only get my friends to do it...

yeah...tomolo bridal shopping day for me again lo

Pennywise

Hey, thanks for your motherhood advice. Of cos we have done our homework in going around before committing! btw, the slide presentation is a nice to have, not a must have, so i will not pay extra for it.. AND it wasn't included in the package, but since the photos are loaded into the laptop, it's a nice gesture btw that the photographer agreed to help us put into a slide presentation. and to answer to your point that it may be a "simple" power point presentation.. so what if it is? It may sounded simple to you, but it's the pictures that counts, not the format it's presented! anyway, we trust that the photographer is professional enough and NOpe, it will not be just a simple power point presentation!

Sorry, although you may meant well but you gave me the feeling that you are someone who's in the marketplace who's putting down other's nice gesture to justify for your "charging" of the services..

Gals..

Apologies for the ranting.. just that the posting above by pennywise rubbed me up the wrong way today..

Poox..

Wow.. so another round of shopping for you! Take your time in deciding.. hehe.. I missed my bridal shopping a lot.. muz try on gowns and seek advices and go with your gutfeel.. which boutique you most comfy with.. likewise for photographers!

Update us on your findings today k?!

Cin..

Hehe.. so much to do wor!! have you settled on your house yet? We just started to plan on housing.. haa.. can foresee the headaches that we will be in for!!

Don worry so much and don panic..

Cookiemz

hihi, welc back!! and np for the list compilation, it's just easier for all of us to make ref to..

Have you gone for your food tasting yet? should be 3 months before right?? hmm.. think coordinator will chase you to settle couple of stuff - the table color theme/setup, menu, invites, etc.. think latest to confirm no. of guests will be 1 / 2 weeks before the actual day of your wedding!

Have you done your photoshoot? how is it like? hehe.. now starting to get excited over the preps!!

Hi besse,

i hope danny forgets about my 2nd deposit which is actually due this week.. kekeke... is the food tasting done so early? thought it is perhaps a month before actual day...

my photoshoot is due end of april, juz came back from my first gown fitting & trial makeup, very fun! but i'm getting really stressed by work which unfortunately peaks around this time of the year and my eyebags are getting worse

i was juz wondering.. if we do a slow march-in, won't there be 10-20 seconds where guests seated at the right/left sides of the ballroom can't see the bridal couple coming down the stairs? would it be weird if we waltzed into the ballroom instead of walking in? heehee...

hello ladies

time to update u on my shopping today :P

visited flamingo, place was cosy (they juz shifted over to the new place). met up with shirley (the designer),arty looking, friendly lady and she made me really happy when she sketched a gown for me....looks really good but must "ren" cos still my bring fiance to choose :P my mum went with me again....it's her 3rd trip, could see she's a little sian already hee...hee...but i'm not!!

now i can't decide between the clean cut elegant look or sweet and dreamy look...how!?!?! wish i can have both hahaha...

think i've done enough bridal shopping, next will be shopping around for photographers!

hi cookiemz

u just went for your first gown fitting? u took the OTR gown is it?

good idea to waltzed into the ballroom but may be a little tough with the stairs..

hi poox,

get both lor, one for day and one for night..heehee ;)

yup, i took WG OTR.. coz spotted something i liked and also coz i'm rushing for my photoshoot this month. my EG is MTM, but it didn't turn out the way i wanted.. hopefully it will look better at the next fitting.

we wld have to start off from one corner of the ballroom if waltzing, so the stairs would be out!
anyway my hubby not keen, he will probably step on my gown..

have fun with your shopping!

Good morning!! It's a fine sunny and hot day!!

Cookiemz..

Haha.. my coordinator told me that Fullerton usually will not chase for the 2nd deposit. so if they din bother to chase, then you keep quiet.. hehe :X

So you went for your trail.. wah so fun.. i looking forward to mine!! Must show us your photo when it's ready k?! excited for you!!

Poox..

Hehe.. you almost wanna impulsively sign with Flamingo? Haha.. me feel that way with TWP too when i visited.. must stop ,myself from the temptation to decide on the spot! heh.. when's fiance coming back?

Like wat cookiez said, you can have a clean cut gown for your day, and a dreamy romantic one for the nite!!
think night gown will looks v nice with chiffon.. flowy and dreamy..

Hi Cookiemz!

Yah lor, heh lucky both of us different day, if not Yvonne also go crazy... Who is your co-ordinator at Fullerton? Mine is Elizabeth. I collected the wedding cards already, now only have to send for printing...

Actually, i was quite hesistant about choosing Fullerton at first was because of the stairs...i have nightmares that i will trip and fall down the stairs during the walk-in, much to my humiliation... touch wood!

oh yah, wanna ask you guys... which printer have you guys chosen? Fullerton recommended Jasvy...are they any good?

Also, do you guys know how much it costs to rent a projector? i understand we need 2 for fullerton, and each is about $450+++?

Hi Poox,

I am thinking of a short dress, think it will be too hot and troublesome at ROM to move around in a long dress... think i will go try shopping around...not looking for a rental...

Hi Besse,

Am moving in with in-laws... house just renovated, so we have one floor to ourselves... now have to go buy furniture...ack, broke liao...

Cin

Haha.. you worry wort. Don think so much, will not trip and fall one lar!! Juz hang on tite 2 hubby's arms!! i worry for my bf since we will be having military wedding, dunno what those guys will sabo.. sekali they wanted him to carry me.. he will FAINTZ!! Hehehe

Not sure abt printing.. bf said he has contact to print it cheap from a fren's family biz..

Abt projector, Fullerton min need two.. and the rental cost is v v high.. if you get two, you can request for them to charge lower.. i think Elizabeth quoted S$600 or is it $700 for both.. squeeze them lar..

So you moving in with in laws.. hehe.. lucky have whole floor to yourself. i think my FMIL will be quite fussy one.. she oledy said - best don have jie meis to block door on wedding day! How can?! aiyo... then it will be so boring and so quiet.. told my bf that i don care, and he's to protect me agst his mummy.. but all in all she's very nice lar!!

hi girls...

wonder if anyone tot of postponing your wedding due to SARs? I am kind of worry here though mine is on Nov..

Besse, you leh?

hello!!

wow....so many postings!!

cookiemz: good idea but plan to do something stunning, sexy and glamourous for EG leh....so vain hor...think my fiance will go crazy when he joins me for round 2!! hahaha
brillant idea to waltz down...try to persuade your hubby lah!

besse: no lah guess it's the first shop that drew me a gown, good sales tactic. confuse now;P

cin: try to bargain for the projector...i oso think it's too expensive
the stairs was oso a concern to me but kinda overcome it already, just need to be careful :P looking for short dresses, those places i mentioned sell their short dresses. have fun, good excuse to buy new clothes.

tealeaf1: dun worry, by nov this sars should have been solved, why dun u see how it goes when it's nearer the date?

hi besse,

i hope he forgets too..dunno if he will suddenly remember when i call him for the cards! :@

when's your gown fitting? took some pics at my first fitting and gosh, didn't realise that i look so fat in those gowns!!
hope the photographer can airbrush off some of the bulges.. hahaha... but the trial makeup was good

hi Cin,

my coordinator is Danny...are there any new designs for the invitation cards? i'm still thinking whether to get the invites from outside or stick to the hotel's...hmmm... do we get better rates if we use the hotel's recommended printer?

dun worry about the stairs, so far all the past fullerton brides had no problems with the steps(according to danny)... but my hubby said he may trip instead of me!ahh.. that one i worry.. kekeke

the projectors cost $700++ for both 2 or 3 projectors... ask you hor, did you borrow a suite from fullerton for your photoshoot?

hi tealeaf1,

dun worry about yours, there's still plenty of time till Nov

i am waiting till end May before deciding whether to proceed with my dinner in july, the SARS situation looks quite uncertain at the moment... but i'm postponing my honeymoon trip indefinitely until things get under control.

hi poox,

u cld have the elegant gown for your customary/church, the dreamy WG for dinner march in and the sexy EG for champagne pouring + phototaking! heehee... then you can have all your dream gowns!

Yo gals..

wah.. so happening today!!

Tealeaf1

Hmm.. i keeping my fingers and toes cross that the SARS situation will be under control soon.. else it'll not only impact on the wedding preps, but also vastly on our day to day life!!

My office currently going on a 50% backup schedule. Only 50% of the team working from office at any schedule time - alternating shifts of one week. the other 50% will work from home.. Me working from home tomolo till end of week.. hehehe

Poox..

Sil also drew the designs down on the 1st visit.. did they not sketch for you?

Ysday went down to TWP to have my measurement done.. keke.. then gossiped with Patrick.. so fun!! i enjoyed every trip down to the bridal .. my 1st fitting will be on 9 May.. haha.. so excited!!

Cookiemz.. can show us the picts of your trial?! wanna see wanna see!!

Hi Cookiemz,

No, i didn't take any photos in the suite. Went all over the grounds of Fullerton except the rooms haha...

Jasvy quoted me $110 for normal insert printing and $180 hotstamping for 250 cards.

Tell you guys something discouraging... my friend went for one wedding dinner last weekend, and his whole table was empty except for him and his wife... terrible right? sigh...

Hi Cookiemz,
I have asked Elizabeth to book the bridal suite from 2pm to 5pm for my PS in November.
U can do the same if the suite is not occupied.

hi pam

i have asked Danny to book the suite for me too.. looking forward to my PS! when's your first fitting with michelle?

hi Cin,

juz spoke to Danny this morning and he told me the attendance for last weekend's wedding at fullerton was unaffected. i guess if we invite mostly relatives and close frens, attendance should not be too bad...

hi besse,

paiseh leh... hehe.. the files are quite huge, let me find a way to upload them first okay?

Cin

Do show us your pictures when they are ready!! hmm.. which part of fullerton did you go ard to take the picts? haha.. i suddenly find it quite weird to wander ard in the wedding gown for PS.. :}

Hmm. think wrt the wedding dinner attendence thingy, do RSVP with your frens as much as possible.. i was thinking of sending out the invites two months ahead for the 1st round, the RSVP and send out the 2nd batch one month before.. like that not so bad right?!

Pam

You had your PS already last nov? when is your wedding? got picts to show?

Cookiemz..

No prob, me v patiently will wait for your mei mei pictures!!

here;s the list in case it got archived!

Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Poox - May04

Hi Cookiemz,
First fitting on 25/6. Have to lose more weight by then :P

Hi Besse,
No.... PS is on 11/11/03.
I KS so ask elizabeth to book now. ;)
PS a bit late but Kim only needs a month to put all the pics together. I can actually view the pics the very next day. So by mid Dec, I should get my album, juz in time for the wedding.

Hi Besse,

Yah lor, tell me about it...the photographer made me walk into the cafe, sit at the atrium/lobby, walk to the swimming pool, walk along the Singapore River etc. in my wedding gown...needless to say, everyone was staring...

Yah, i agree with you. Thinking of sending out 10-20% more invites. Maybe send the bulk out about 6/7 weeks before wedding, then another batch 4 weeks before wedding. Then will follow up with RSVP constantly...

Pam

Wah.. so late then take photos? hmm.. ok lar, Kim uses digi cam.. so no prob! Andrew was telling me that although i take picts earlier, they will not do the album until last min! ;) But no choice, wanna do the PS before the 7th month..

Cin

Hehe.. you mei mei, so no worries.. people look cos they envious! wahahah.. me n my ah-Q mentality.. but think i will also feel weird.. why din you go up the suite?

You went for food tasting oledy?? Selected your color theme and flowers oledy??

hallo ladies

thread so quiet today!

i'm also thinking of taking ps in fullerton and the suite. don't really wanna go under the sun so plan do my outdoor shoots at indoor location...hahahaha

Besse, i was attended by heath at SIL, he didn't draw me a gown but he's a really nice guy

Hi Besse,

I didn't go up to the suite cause i didn't inform elizabeth before hand. Actually, we weren't intending to go Fullerton to take photos... it was a last min decision (ie. the day before photo shoot then decide), so lai bu ji to ask Elizabeth to arrange lor...

Anyone finished their photoshoot and collected their photos already? Can share?

Poox

Ya lor ya lor.. me oso thinking of doing "indoor" outdoor PS.. hehe.. wat am i rambling abt?!

The suite is heavenly, that's why we prob wanna do sm shoots there..

Heath is nice. he's my fren's designer.. i was attended by Miah and Minda at two separate occasions. Miah was the one who drew me the design

So how's gown design coming along??

Cin
So i see. hee. you din try call last min to arrange with elizabeth?? She's pregnant now, you know? hehe. i think she's v doll like.. pretty!

Hmm.. think most of the fullerton brides who have had their weddings all disappeared and not coming to this thread anymore leh..

Check with you gals.. which Invitation card did you choose? the simple white and silver one or the one with the roses??

hiee besse

i haven seen the suite....only saw the one in the webpage. the suite is one reason why i choose fullerton :P

i'm thinking of printing my own cards probably in bangkok or indonesia
much nicer and cheaper

i think the white one is nicer but a little small

Hi Besse,

No lah, cause my photoshoot was on Monday, and sunday she not working mah...

I chose the white and silver one... think that word 'invitation' in the middle of the front cover, is so annoying... want to print something else on the cover will look out of alignment...

My FH and I went Jasvy yesterday, and we settled on two design templates. So now just waiting for them to fax me the mould, then we will choose one lor...

Sucks man, have to tie the ribbons ourselves...me very bad and this kind of thing leh...guess my fingers too fat haha

Poox

YOu should ask for your coordinator to try to show you the suite, esp when you go sign the contract and book the package. It'll reaffirm your decision and make you look forward to your big day!

Cin

O i c!! No wonder never book the suite for your PS! Nevermind, take more nice shots on your actual day k?!
hehe

Abt the invitation cards, you meant you did designs on it?? how? hmm.. i agree with you. The silver "invitation" words in the middle makes it so diff to add in any designs.

Is Jasvy cheap? or avg?? hmm.. you going for silver or gold words?? hmm.. how, no ideas leh..

Ask you gals... what kinda wedding bands you bought? you gals ROM oledy?? Should we wear wedding bands for the PS even though not yet ROM?

hiee

cin: so are u going for hotstamping or insert?

besse: heard fairy's inc has got some nice bands, can check it out. guess it's up to u whether to wear the bands during PS or not. as for me? haven decided.

yawn good nite

Hi Besse, Poox,

I went for hotstamping... then i added the double xi chinese word, and our names & date on the front cover. We arranged it such that it was all centered around the invitation word. I chose silver words... gold looks funny, bronze and red also funny...although red and bronze makes it easier to read the card. But because of the silver invitation word and ribbon, i feel that any other colour looks mismatched. Jasvy rates are reasonable i think. We are paying $210 for hotstamping for 300 invites, and $0.20 each card for additional printing on front cover ($0.20X300). So total altogether is $210 + $60 =$270.

My ROM in May, but the photographer told us to wear the wedding band for photoshoot. We got our bands from Larry Jewellery. We wanted simple, plain bands, and after scouting several shops, we finally decided on Larry. But i think some of the shops like Soo Kee and Aspial have nice diamond wedding bands...

Btw, need some help from your girls, can help me with the following questions please?

1. Based on what you know, what is the market rate for the following?
- ang paos for jie meis
- ang paos for helpers?
- ang paos for children/cousins/kid who opens the car door?
- ang paos for emcee, photographer, videographer, banquet manager
2. When do we give out the ang paos? at the start of the day or after their duties? and do the parents give to the jie meis/brothers or we give?
3. Do all of the jie meis follow me to the groom side, or only one or two of you?
4. Also, in the morning, when do i wear my wedding gown and when do i change into my tea dress?

hi cin

i was helping out at my fren's wedding as jie mei and i got $28 from the groom saboh session...not too sure about the rates for other helpers though...

yes, parents do give ang baos to the jie meis....think i had $12 from each family...

i think usually the jie meis all follow to the groom side and then come back together to the bride's side.

as for when to change into tea-dress, i guess it all depends....i had a fren who changed before coming back to her mum's place to serve tea and another who changed at her in-law's place before serving tea to them...

hi besse

how's your preps??

as for your qn, i've already ROMed so will be wearing our wedding bands for PS...

All
I'm also a Fullerton bride. But I believe I'll be the first to go
Mine's on the 30th May.

Cin
I read with interest about your card's design. Do you have photos of it? It sounds really good. Though my wedding is sooner, I've not collected my cards yet. Will do so very soon though.

Hi Kare2711,

Yup, your's is earlier...any plans to postpone due to the SARS thing? personally, my FH and I quite against postponing, therefore going ahead with printing of the cards. That must be one of your considerations also right...

I don't have photos, but when you go down to Jasvy, they will show you the various options you can print... because this batch of fullerton cards have that word invitation in the front cover, quite hard to design it lor... you chose the silver one or the rose one?

Our card very simple, just have the double xi word on top of the invitation word, and our names below. So that instead of looking lopsided or bottom heavy, everything will be in the middle of the front cover. Jasvy should have the design... hope this helps.

Cin

Wow.. your design sounds cool.. can we take a look?! Please?!

How much did you pay for your larry's wedding bands? Any diamonds on them? i personally like the plain bands better.

As for your questions.. will try to answer best of my limited knowledge

1. Based on what you know, what is the market rate for the following?
- ang paos for jie meis - parents will give.. abt S$8 per jiemei or xiong di. The open door angbao is diff.. deps on how much they will wrangle from the groom

- ang paos for helpers? - same as jiemeis.

- ang paos for children/cousins/kid who opens the car door? - hmm.. maybe a $18 or $28

- ang paos for emcee, photographer, videographer, banquet manager - that will depends. I don hv angbao from my fren when i was the MC.. maybe a token of S$8 or $18 if you feel rich.. and if photographer and videographer is a fren who is doing you a fav, then probably give more - say like S$118.138.168.188 for whole day effort.. and less for just the dinner.

2. When do we give out the ang paos? at the start of the day or after their duties? and do the parents give to the jie meis/brothers or we give?
jiemei and xiong di at start of day is good. Given by parents. other than that, the MCs etc will give at end of banquet lor..

3. Do all of the jie meis follow me to the groom side, or only one or two of you?
usually all jiemeis will follow. so have to provide for transport

4. Also, in the morning, when do i wear my wedding gown and when do i change into my tea dress?
Wear your WG to marry out of your house, to the groom's house, and serve tea in your WG to the groom side. and if you going to your new house, can change to tea dress or kwa there before you go home to mom's plce

hope it helps!

Poox..

preps ok, almost done.. now starting on house..

Hi Kare2711..

Wow.. wedding's real near! better quickly get the invites done!! and RSVP.. esp in times of Sars!! Where did you sign for bridal and PS??

Must update us after you have had your wedding k?!

Here';s the updated list!!

Kare2711 - 30May03/
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Poox - May04

My update:

Kare2711 - 30May03/Silhouette/Greymatters
Tealeaf1 - 1Nov03/Blush2
Poox - May04

I was close to choosing Ted Wu though.

Cin
Nope, not postponing because my in laws are not for postponement.

I haven't taken my card yet. I guess sending the card on the first week of May is fine. No hurry. No mood to get married with all these problems.

What's the contact for Jasvy?

popping by while taking a break from work... :@ haven't slept in 2 days.. @@

hi besse,

larry is quite affordable as compared to soo kee, aspial, goldheart etc.. i had my wedding bands custom made at larry's and it cost me only $800 for a pair of plain white/yellow gold band in satin finish which they rushed out for us in 10 days.. ;)

good night.. going back to work.. *yawn*

HI Besse,

the wedding card is a very simple design nothing fancy...Will try to take a pic of it when i get it back from the printers. Right now, i only have a fax copy...unless you have a fax no.? i can fax it to you...

another idea we were toying with was to print a double xi word at the bottom of the front cover, then use photo paper and print out our wedding studio photo and then paste it in the centre of the cover, over the word invitation. So the cover will just show our wedding photo in the middle, with the double xi word somewhere at the bottom of the photo.

As for the wedding band, it is completely 'designless'...just a simple platinum wedding band. it is the flat kind, not rounded... but it is a shiny platinum, not a matt platinum...cause matt doesn't go with my diamond ring band; i am intending to wear both rings on the same finger ie. wedding band first then diamond ring on top. We paid about $800 for each band and engravement is free too...can't remb exact figure cause receipt with FH.

Hope this helps...

Hi Kare2711,

Fullerton didn't give you their contact? The number is 62992263. Look for Ivy or Jason.

Have you girls decided on who your emcees will be? Also, does the groom give the speech or both of us? I prefer to have my FH do all the talking while i stand beside him...scared i become overwhelmed with emotion and start crying if i give a speech...

inauspicious to cry or not, at the wedding? Me very emotional one...watch other people's wedding videos also will get teary eyed... my own wedding, think even worse, will be like a tap overflowing...how? mascara run, later look like raccoon...