The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

yiyi

Hi leo29,

Yes, I've seen their ballroom. It's quite unique in the sense that it has steps leading down to the ballroom from the reception area. The reception area is also quite cosy, big enough and most important private
. H/ever, I've not seen their actual wedding deco yet. They don't even have proper pictures to show you the types of deco they have. The one time I went down to take a look when there was a wedding, the deco was specially arranged by the wedding couple so not counted. But I guess if you are the creative sort, you'll like it that there's room for discussion on the deco part.

Yap, the liquor and wine qty is the corkage free qty.

leo29

Yiyi,

I have give up Fullerton. The date I want already take up. Actually my HB love their menu very much but too bad we are too slow.

rag

Was just wondering if anybody had an experience working with a banquet manager named Danny? If so, please post your comments. Thanks!

binbin

hi all, does anyone has any idea how to go down the fullerton stairs gracefully? eps in a wedding gown....
no body has mentioned that in this thread....
we like fullerton, but is concerned abt the steps and the not very long aisle....

any comments?

tealeaf

Hi Bin bin

no problem at all! usually during a march in, you should choose songs which is not too fast. when you walk in, just look in front and 'feel' the steps. Have not seen any body having problems, that's why it was not discussed here.

Anyway, if you have been to fashion show in fullerton, you will see most model walk slowly and 'feel' the steps, instead of looking down. This way, you would walk more gracefully, i think.

Have you book with them yet?

rgds
tealeaf

kare2711

And for the record and for the encouragement, I asked Elizabeth and she said that no brides has fallen from the stairs (yet).

binbin

hhehee thanks for your inputs.

I have asked Elizabeth too. but she teased me that perhaps there will be one in 2004.
*Touch Wood*!!!

Well, heard from someone who had attended and researched weddings b4 in fullerton. she said the bride will tend to lift up her skirt or look down at her feet/steps....and it looks like she is searching for diamonds.....! And she don't look graceful loh....
so quite worried.

so over here, who have oredi had wedding at fullerton and has successfully "felt" the steps and yet went down with a smile on her face huh? pls reply....thanks!

jane

me one of them!

I had my wedding in June this year and it's is fantastic!! Every cents spent is worth it!!

Dun worry about the steps! The steps are wide and you can hold on to your husband's arms!!

regards
jane

josephine

hi jewels,
went to ya website,..but under wedding dinner, there's no pictures...

but i would say u look great at your ROM!!!!

cutiepie

Hi everyone!!
Jus had my wedding last weekend..It was the most memorable time of my life.

The ballroom was lovely....the staff..the food ...and my banquet manager Elizabeth and Dickson of cos..
We were very very well taken care of.

The 2 nites stay in the loft suit was relaxing and u r really being served like a princess .
Both my hubby and myself were happy that we make the right decision to have our wedding there and my guests had a wonderful time too .

Thumbs up for The Fullerton!!!

besse

Hi CutieP

Wow.. yeah, happy that your wedding went great!!!

Anyway, 2 chk... Fullerton perceived to be v expensive .. how much is your package? and wat other additions will they throw in?

Also, how many tables did you have and did you recover or have to top up on the outstanding?

jellybeans

Hi Cutiepie,

jellybeans here. Glad to have you back on the threads. Happy to hear you had such a wonderful wedding. Very excited to hear about your wedding day. Care to share? Hope to chat again soon.

cutiepie

hihi Jellybeans!
Yes yes love to share with u abt my wedding day.

Hi besse,
It is all worthwhile to made Fullerton my choice. Service was great and received lots of cvompliments from my guests..keke some of them ask me to quick have a baby so that I can invite them to fullerton again for dinner when i celebrate my baby's first month ahhaha.Dunno must wait how long ahhh..:p
Well, if u have ur wedding in Fullerton ....got to top up ah unless ur guests average angbao is abt $100.U must also consider beer and wines...I had 2 barrels of beer and used 40bottles of red wines.So theses r additional cost.cos corkages only first 12 bottles . However over all the top up is below what my hubby and I expected so not so bad lah.
But the 2 nites stay in the loft suit was heavenly!! good breakfast ! N very relaxing like being on holiday.
I strongly recommend Elizabeth cos she is very nice n helpful on that day. Even the waiters were briefed thoroughly by the cpt n manager.Overall the whole thing was a geat success for me !! I must also thanks my coordinators they really did a good job !

1fullerton

I love the outlook of Fullerton and told my bf that I would love to have our wedding dinner there. As he is the youngest son, her parents prepared to make it grand. I want to save the sharks so planning not to have sharkfins. You know, the sharks are so poor thing, the fishermen just sliced off their fins and throw the sharks back into the sea. Eventually, the sharks drowned...
I told his mom and she told me not to watch that programme... Haahaa...
Can I know how good is the food there in Fullerton as I think his mom is planning to get 1K per table.... Dunno can't confirm.

besse

CutieP

Gee.. that sounds like an awesomely heavenly wedding you have had.. Haiz.. wish I can quickly confirm the date of my wedding in 2004 so to start to book...

Actually is planning to use only red wines and no beer.. so at least controllable and not so expensive.. and perhaps more class perceived!

Will let ya know when I can confirm!! At least now i hear positive commments...

swan

Hi 1fullerton,

I had my wedding in Fullerton and did away with the sharks fins. I also think the sharks are very poor things to be drowned like that.

I should think the cheapest table for weekend booking is already more than 1k after adding gst, wine, etc. But if all expenses are paid by ur FH's parents, you are so blessed!

besse

Hi Gals..

my wedding date confirm on 28th Feb 2004.. called Fullerton up and was served by this lady called Phyllis.. anyone hv any encounter with PHyllis?

Phyllis said not yet open for 2004 booking.. so what should i do next? hmm.. was wondering if i can cut down on the min. no. of tables on the Saturday... else next date will be sunday - 29th Feb!

dude

i heard that the fullerton books up pretty fast... up to one year in advance... one more thing... if you book the 29 feb... be prepared for anniversaries once only every 4 years!

dud(e)

pam

Hi There,
My wedding dinner is also going to be held at The Fullerton on 28th December 03.
I was attended by Elizabeth and I have just faxed her my confirmation and I will pay the $3,800 deposit next Saturday.
I think the service provided by Elizabeth is great but not too keen on the corkage price. First 12 bottles cokage waived is their standard practice, i think.
Any brides from Fullerton has any advice on the amount likely to be spent on beverages. And any other hidden cost which I may miss out on?

besse

Pam..

Elizabeth adviced to budget ard S$2000 for the beverages..

My date changed again.. and when i checked with Fullerton again, was told the date i wanted has been booked.. am so disappointed.. guess no choice but to look for other venues

besse

HI gals and guys

Finally, after many many rounds of checking and dates swopping, i managed to get a sunday slot in Nov for my wedding in Fullerton *YIPEEEEEE

Am going to discuss the contract details with the catering Mgr on Monday.. anyone has any ideas what I should be negotiating for????

besse

Hi Yiyi

Can you please share who is your wedding coordinator and how you manage to get your wine and liquor corkages waived for 10+12? That's so much a better bargain than wat i was offered - only 12 for both Hard liquor and Wine..

Yiyi, can please email me at [email protected] to share ASAP as I will be discussing the terms and conditions on Monday.. thanks

cookiemz

Hi Besse,

How did your discussion with your wedding coordinator go? Is your coordinator Elizabeth?

Mine is Danny.. I was also offered corkage waiver for 1st 12 bottles of liquor/wine only and subsequent corkage charges of $30 for wine and $40 for hard liquor. The rest eg 30% parking and 60% cards are quite standard. Did you manage to negotiate for more things?? Please share.. thanks

Anyone tried the weekday fullerton menu before? any comments?

pam

Hi Cookiemz,
Looks like the corkage charges went up otherwise the rest seems to be the same.
I guess most of us got the same deal. I cannot remember what I got in my package but I will get back to you tomorrow on this thread. Or can u give me ur email address.

poox

hiee

i'm also considering having my wedding banquet at Fullerton.

any of u having it on a sun?

what's your views on the stairs and the cost of the LCD projector?

besse

Hi Poox

Me having it on a Sun, in Nov 2003..

The prices is quite ok for Sun Banquet..

wrt to the stairs.. ysday we went down for a visit to the ballroom.. 13 steps altogether.. hehe.. looks pretty intimidating... esp if we wearing a gown and all... but den again.. it is the difference between Fullerton and rest of the hotels... cos understand that Fullerton is the only ballroom with steps down... But frankly.. the people at the sides will not be able to see you making you sweeping entrance down the steps since you will be blocked by the two pillars beside the steps.

For the projector wise.. it is Expensive. .. S$450 for rental of 1 and $600 for both.. we probably will be bringing in our own projectors..

Fullerton will req 2 projectors - one of each side. If you can find two laptops and 2 projectors, you can do a concurrent run, then you wont have to worry abt the long VGA cable... i suggested that to my FH as well... Fullerton can take care of the sound system for us..

Cookiezm, Pam

My session went pretty ok... I managed to get an extra day use room for our helpers - primarily for the sword bearers since we will be having a military wedding, as well as a small function room for our solemnisation before dinner..

Otherwise, pretty standard stuff like
- up to 8 pax for food tasting
- carpark 35%
- Invitation cards - 65% on contract, but they can be flexible if you need more (with inserts)
- Hong Bao Box
- confirm waiter ratio in contract - 1:1
- Corkage - err.. not nice to reveal here, but think you can negotiate for cheaper wine corkage. Also, rem to get your catering sales mgr to put down the price of the wine purchase from the hotel in case prices might increase end of the year.

oh.. and not forgetting, do instruct them to keep portions of your dinner and serve it at your suite after the wedding. They can do it.

cookiemz

Hi Pam,

yup, the corkage charges are more expensive, I had the impression that it was around 20 per bottle last time. did you try asking them for an anniversary dinner/stay? mine is a weekday package, so no seat covers or pianist

my email address is [email protected] thanks

hi poox,

sunday packages at fullerton come with a pianist to entertain your guests during cocktail reception! the stairs are still manageable, perhaps with some practice, you should be able to glide down the stairs effortlessly ;)

if i remember correctly, 1 projector costs 450 to rent and 2/3 projectors cost 750, these are probably +++ prices.

besse

Cookiemz..

Sunday package doesn't include pianist.. only the Saturday S$838+++ package has the pianist thrown in.

I tried asking for anniversary stay/dinner.. but no such luck.. cos the reason Fullerton gave was that it is diff to track and account for inter depts... hmm..

The Standard corkage for Wine quoted is S$30+++. I suggest you try to bargain down the corkage charges and source for cheap and good wine outside.. cos wine sold in Fullerton comes a lil on the high side @ S$48+++ per bot.

poox

hee...so happy to see this thread alive!!

besse seems to have some good bargain.... just wondering...the walkin isn't gonna be very long so how are u planning to do the "sword parade" thingy?

have any of you personally attended a wedding at Fullerton? Feedback pls if any...

if they can't reduce the LCD price....i'll choose to go without.

Cookiemz, besse is right...pianist only provided for sat pkg. i'll probably get one of my friends to play

cookiemz

paiseh paiseh, dunno why i keep having the impression that the fullerton pianist only works on sunday.. heehee...

besse, you got quite a good deal..btw, wat is a day-use room? is it a normal hotel room for our helpers to rest in between our check-in and dinner? did they quote you any rates for additional room bookings for overseas guests etc?

poox, i attended one of the earliest Fullerton weddings in Dec 2000, they had lots of teething problems as operations had juz commenced, so its inappropriate for comparison. but i was impressed by the unique shape and design of the ballroom (the steps leading down), the ambience was quite good tho food was average.

judging by the past responses in this thread, the service & food seems to have improved vastly, quite encouraging!
few weeks back, i went down to peek at the ballroom which was done up for an actual wedding, it was nice and quite spacious for 40 odd tables, however thought the stage and ballroom could do with some more floral decoration as it seemed abit bare then..

when are you planning for your dinner?

poox

hi cookiemz
i've gone down to see he place twice already. really love the place but after hearing comments from our parents on the sec visit.....now reconsidering.......but can't find a better place.
just hope the food turns out well adn no one falls from the stairs....maybe i shouldn't worry that much.

i'm planning to have it sometime in may 2004. how abt yourself?

besse

Poox.. wat comments from your parents?? Share share?

we will probably have 4 pairs of swordbearers.. not v sure of the configurations yet, but that will slow the march in process
normal march in walk is abt 3 mins i think...

Karen.. yeah agree with you.. $450 is ex.. and not forgetting, S$450 is for ONE projector oni.. you need at least 2 projectors for the whole ball room..

Cookiemz

Day room is the guest room. I need guest room for my swordbearers to change and put their uniforms when they are enjoying the dinner. they will check out by 12am. I din ask for quotes for additonal rooms.

Anyway gals, i suggest you exchange your wedding favours (Chocolates) for additional wine or wine corkages.. I m going to do that and buy our own wedding favours... kekeke

I've not seen a wedding set up before and i've never attended a wedding at Fullerton before. hmm.. hehe.. just went with my gutfeel to book lor.

cookiemz

hi poox,

mine is on jul 10 this year.. will be finalising the contract and paying 1st deposit this weekend.

my in-laws had some reservations on the food, but i think that can be improved by changing some of the items on the standard menu. besides Jade's food can't be that bad hor??

are you worried that the elderly folks would have problems manoeveuring the stairs? read somewhere that there is a service entrance to the ballroom which might be easier for the elderly.

poox

hallo besse

my parents were quite concern with the stairs and my fiance's mum felt that the walk-in would be a little short and people from the side can't see us when we walk down the stairs....we all felt that the cost of the LCD rental is quite steep...esp when most hotels are throwing that in for free.

as for wedding favours.....i think i'll choose to leave it.

right now, gotta wait for the church to confirm if the date we wanted is avail....so tentatively still can't book.

meanwhile i'll just visit more hotels to convince myself.

Think the wedding setup is really nice.....i've seen one western dinner setup....very elegant but the couple paid extra for additional deco

u can visit their website and take a look at the ballroom (with wedding deco)...bet u'll love it

http://www.jtree.tv/fullerton_virtual/win.html

hallo cookiemz
10 jul...that's less than 6 mths away....cool...then u can share your personal experience with us.

guess i'm being overly concern over the stairs :p

wen

Dont worry about food. I told my coordinator about my concern and he assured us that they only allow 5% variance from food tasting. If you don't like any of the dish or find them salty or whatever, just let the chef know during food tasting.

Btw, they will also get feedback from guests on the actual day.

Hi Besse,
We are in the same forum again. Have you decided on bridal shop?

besse

Wen..

hi hi.. we meet again!

Me not confirmed on Bridal.. not even actively looking.. cos in a v lethargic mood these days..

Poox thanks, I saw the virtual tour. Anyway, I think Fullerton is my dream wedding venue.. so am just going ahead with it..

Oh, you can also organise to do some indoor photoshoot there if you wan, just let your coordinator know wor

cookiemz

finally confirmed my banquet booking, really had no luck bargaining... either its becoz mine is a weekday package, or my bargaining skills are real lousy :p

guess i will juz have to source for good affordable wine and exercise more control over the beverages.

kare2711,

we can bring our own projectors and setup at no additional costs, but the quality image will much depend on your projectors.

pam

Hi Cookiemz,
Dun worry abt the bargaining part. Guess most of us, fullerton brides, got nowhere wif that.
As long as that evening goes smoothly wif no nonsense from the Hotel, I think it is worth every cent.

besse

Me back in action. Sorry for not responding as i was out of town. Well, i;m not very sure abt you gals, but I will be taking the wedding flavours and invite cards out from my package, so exchanging for wine and all.. if you all want details, let's chat private in emails.. am v wiling to share!

Just click on my nick for my email

miumiu

i will be having my wedding at fullerton, but not at the big ballroom but at the Straits room as i only got 50+ guests. so happy to confirm the booking!
cos like u gals out there,fullerton is also my dream venue!!

just to share:i went to fullerton to c my coordinator who happen to be the coordinator for the wedding that was held at the ballroom last night.we were shown the ballroom. must say it was tastefully decorated n the stairs was magnificent. also, we got to c the bride when we were on the way out. does the bride happen to be in this forum? guess she must have a great dinner last night!

poox

hi miumiu

i'm waiting to be a Fullerton Bride:p still trying to confirm the dates before we sign on the dotted line.......but really not sure if i should spend so much on a wedding....esp with the war around the corner....gloomy economy....

so who's your coordinator?

besse

Me back! true, fullerton is a dream venue.. but i hate the fact that some of my frens commented - you having your wedding in fullerton?! Gosh, you must be loaded!!

^%%$#^%$#

Haiz.. why people muz make this kind of comments

But true leh, poox, i oso wondering - esp with war ard the corner.. the economy gloomy.. is it wise to spend so much on a wedding!? *sigh... why muz it happen now! Grrr...

Juz in a bad mood .. so feel like bitching! Sorry!

tealeaf1

HI BESSE,

me felt the same too. I booked my wedding for
a nov saturday 2003. a lot of frens commented
'wah, you so rich huh?!'....so sick of it...

i meant it is once in a life time ya?

same here.. was wondering if i can afford to pay for the dinner or not. dun want to end up having debts!!!!