The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

cherimoya

Hi all, I'm very interested to hold my AD at Fullerton. Very convinced that it will be a ideal place for my Fiance and I. However, read quite alot of bad comments about the food and portion. Any idea to make things better?

My wedding planner managed to get quite alot of perks from them. My godbro(has his own business) may be holding a big event in March 2007 at Fullerton and he said if he confirmed with them can help me ask for better stuff. I hope I can get more from them, heard they are really stingy. Hee..

Anyway, for the small portion food size, my Fiance and I are thinking to have a chocolate fountain for pre-dinner reception and we will get a real wedding cake and serve to everyone before the dessert dish. Hopefully it will do some good cos we don't really know how to get them to prepare more food for the guest and also the food quality. Guess it's hard to control since there are so many tables and both of us really like the place.

bellybuttony

hi lifeisgood - for my wedding, i had no problems with the food portion or quality of food. had good feedback from family and guests. food portions were definitely generous and food's yummy and fresh too! as for perks, yeah, Fullerton's quite tough to negotiate cos their policy is to give the same to every couple. so it'll be really good if u can indeed get more perks thru your godbro. =)

bellybuttony

hey bigfoot! i'm still waiting for a copy to be sent to me by the editor to HK! dunno when will i see it! hahaha. i think The Fullerton got very good publicity cos my frens said the article paid quite alot of attention on Fullerton. ;p how's your wedding prep coming along?

bigfoot

Yes Ash, your article consist of 4 full pages with many many photos!! While i was flipping thru the mag, I found the gown very familar then when i looked up i saw it was u

I have less than a mth to my AD...after the food tasting & collection of invitation cards, i have yet to settle the remaining stuffs with coordinator cos very busy with house renovation lately. All last minute jobs haha...

cherimoya

Hi all, I've signed the contract with Fullerton. I'm a Fullerton BTB. Hee..

My wedding planner managed to get some perks for us and I think it was quite enough, don't need to wait till my godbro to sign up with them. Hee..

Hi Bigfoot, share with us your experience after your AD. Btw, who is your coordinator? Was the food tasting good? I still got 10 more months. Hee..

I'm now looking for BS and ID... Haiz.. I'm still studying Final Year in NUS. So stressful...

bigfoot

hihi Ash..i've dropped you a PM to ask you something

Hi lifeisgood will definetly share my experience after my AD. My coordinator is Agnes. Food tasting was good so hopefully when they mass produce the standard & quantity won't drop that much!!

bellybuttony

hi bigfoot! dun stress ok? the last few weeks of wedding prep would be the busiest, but most fun too! u will definitely miss every moment of the prep once your wedding is over i assure you! =) haf replied your PM. i really hope it comes thru for you! ;p

hi lifeisgood - wow! u're getting married sooo young? a very very young bride! *envious* take your time wif the BS shopping. i love dat part best! haf u shortlisted any?

cherimoya

Hi Bigfoot, I shall wait for you to share with us. My coordinator is also Agnes.

Hi ash, I'm not that young la. I'm already 23 this year. Getting married next year at 24. My wedding planner shortlisted 8 for us. Went to see Margaret Brides and Julia Wedding News on Sat. I love those princess fairytale look gowns. So have decided to drop Bridal Veil and Silhoutte. Going to see Sophia Wedding Collection, Allure Charix and The Wedding Present. Then if still can't see what we like then we'll go to Tan Yoong and maybe Silhoutte. It's kinda fun to wear those gowns. Hee..

ni_côle

Hi everyone.

Any advise on who will be a better coordinator whom I should get in contact with? Any bad experience with anyone, whom I should avoid? :Þ

bellybuttony

hey lifeisgood! 24 is very very young!!! i feel ancient man!!! oooo i see u've got The Wedding Present on your list! hehee. i got my gowns from there. u shd try their tulle gowns since u wan princessy feel. =)

bigfoot

Ya man lifeisgood, 24 is young!! I started preparing for my wedding like a year ago and now its like 3 more weeks left to AD..seems like only yesterday when i just choose the auspicious date. And the funny thing is im still left with tonnes of last minute stuffs to do!! Haha...

Hi Ash have u seen your write up on Her World yet??

cherimoya

Hmm.. 24 really young? My sister who is 19 is getting married next month but reason being she is pregnant.

I feel that if found the right one then settle down lo. Hmm.. All my close friends said I'm lucky cos I got a good guy. Haha.. I feel very blessed and happy. Can't wait to graduate and get married. 9+ more months to go...

ash, FH and those designers think that my face is suitable for sweet, princess and lacey look. LOL.. Somemore, our theme might be fairytale kind. So will prefer that.

Bigfoot, last minute stuff to do always happen to many ppl. So don't worry, I'm sure you're enjoying the process! Hee.. ;)

bellybuttony

gosh bigfoot! din realise it's soooo soon to your AD! dun worry abt the last-min stuff ok? somehow, they'll all sort out by themselves. hehe. dat's my experience at least. so dun panic too much ok? and rely on your family and close friends to help you out as much as possible. you....jus concentrate on being a gorgeous gorgeous bride ya? =) abt the HerWorldBrides feature, haven seen the real thing yet. still waiting for a copy to be sent to me by the editor leh! so slow. haf only seen the scanned version. but i wanna see the real thing!!! hey, u got any PS pics to share? i wanna see. hehe. email me k?

hi lifeisgood! wat can i say...u're one lucky lucky gal! your hubby must be really capable and financially stable all on his own cos u haven even graduated! hang in there...your AD will come in no time! ;p

nitestarz

Hi lifeisgood, great that u have chosen fullerton and YES,23 is young, I will never have thought abt marriage when I was 23. And indeed I am enjoying the preparation process.. so fun.. haha.. so many things to buy. Hi ash, I still couldnt get hold of the magazine, cant wait to see it. I bet u look gorgeous inside.

cherimoya

Hi ash, he is one of the rare kind and I have never expect myself to be with. Anyway, think I have to go grab a copy of the magazine to see that article on you. Hee..

Hi nitestarz, I've always wanted to get married later around 27 or 28. But then again, life is just unpredictable sometimes. When it comes, it will just come.

nitestarz

Hey, I am 27 this yr, my fiance is 28 :p Anybody same age as me? Ya... I can understand that kind of feeling "When it comes, it will just come" Actual Day got to wait a year so I will be getting rom first at Amara Hotel this December then wedding next December. Right now, I am happily preparing my rom.

cherimoya

Wow.. You're preparing so early.. My FH only proposed to me in July and got a flat on the same day, after which we went to look for dates and venues. Anyway, have a fun time preparing.. Hmm.. You booked Fullerton for your AD already?

nitestarz

Yap, I booked Fullerton and have signed the contract. My fiance will be busy with work next yr june due to a big project thats why we got to push our wedding to December. I preferred that way too cos I am presently studying for my Master, by the end of next yr, more or less waiting for graduation, can understand your feeling again for being stressed. :p Anyway, wedding preparation is the best way to de-stress. heehee

morghanjess

congrats to all Fullerton wedding couple ;). i envy u guys as you can prepare for your wedding. as for me, my poor fiancee got to wait for me in singapore as i am currently away on business trip. i guess my fun will comes when i return to singapore.. i have 15 months more to go to our AD!!! whenever i think of the renovation, the photoshop, the creation of our anime .. and the suite ..it really makes me look forward;)

hopefully when it comes to food sampling, it will be real fun for the group of 8.

aldora11

I'm so happy to read on everyone's write-up about our hotel! Haha I'm so excited too cos I only have 3 more months before my AD on 29 Dec. And suddenly I feel like I have a lot of things to do! Hee..I'll be collecting my wedding cards from American Treasures tmrw, anyone got a place to recommend for nice printing of the cards? Any extra tips to share from any of you guys before I start my intense preparations? I'm so nervous!

cherimoya

Eh.. I think I'll just leave all the planning and worrying to my wedding planner cos afterall, we've paid her for the service. LOL.. I'll concentrate on my studies after I got my BS and ID.. And renovation problem, leave it to my FH.

Hee.. The food tasting is for 6 right? Anyway, guess we may pay extra to let some relatives go too.. Hee..

Hi Alfi, 3 more months... So fast... I'm not sure about printing of cards. Maybe you can find out from the ex-Fullerton brides. Hee..

morghanjess

lifeisgood, food tasting, it was initially 6. managed to negotitate for pax of 8. tried for 10 but 8 was the max. If you have signed the contract already .. then hard to changed liao ..but you can try ..because Agnes is a very understanding coordinator. 2 up for her!

cactus_79

Hi lifeisgood, you may wish to negotiate increasing the food tasting session to 10 pax.I don't think it's difficult to do this cos some of the dishes are actually portions for 10 pax.. ie. the fish. We had only 6 people for our food tasting earlier this year, but we were VERY FULL! We were later told some dishes had to be presented in portions for 10, but I can't recall which other dishes apart from the fish were presented in portions for 10.

cherimoya

Hi morghanjess, I have signed the contract liao. OMG, means I can't negotiate. Nvm, my wedding planner very li hai to bargain one cos she actually got quite alot of perks for us liao. Hee..

cactus_79, I think I'll ask my wedding planner to do it then. Oh btw, what menu did u get and did they portion out the food beside the guest on a side table or bring somewhere to portion?

morghanjess

really ;)that's great isnt it. not to worry if you have a good wedding planner. I am just curious, is anyone's AD in fullerton here 11/11/07?;)

cherimoya

Hee.. Yup. I'm pretty comforable and confident with my wedding planner. My AD date also has 1,0 and 7 but not same date. It's 01-07-07. Haha...

cactus_79

Hi lifeisgood, my parents chose the then-cheapest menu for my engagement party. After taxes, it was about or just above $1100/table, for a Saturday dinner. NOt sure about the exact price though cos my parents paid. We signed the contract in December 2005. Not sure if it affected the price.

We did request for food to be portioned for all guests. The dishes were also presented to each table before portionning. My coordinator back then was Diana, whom I understand left Fullerton middle this year. She was fantastic. My parents loved working with her.

cherimoya

Hi cactus_79, thanks for your info. So good, your parents paid for your engagement dinner. I guess I'll ask my wedding planner to check with Agnes.

cactus_79

Yeah.. my parents are great.. they didn't really have to.. but I guess they always wanted to have an engagemnet party for me. These days dun really have formal engagement parties. It's something of our parents' generation. I was almost embaressed when my friends and colleagues asked how come got engagement. Grin. But we enjoyed ourselves and the turnout was great. We had it on an auspicious date and over an extended weekend... but only 10 pax from our original guestlist rsvp cannot attend. On that night itself, everyone turned up and the dinner started only 10 min late.. cos I insisted on waiting for the 2 latecomers... haha.

belsi

I've also sign the contract and the food tasting is for 6 pax... My coordinator is Evelyn.. Not sure whether if she's flexible to nego for 8 paxs... ~grinz~

I heard from Evelyn that they're getting new favours... Wondering if it's nice...

e0pigy

Hi gals..
As i read through the thread..i am also getting all excited!! I'm planning..just started planning to have my AD cum Rom together on the same day at Fullerton. Do your have any photos to share? Is there any min no. of tables? Do you think it is too late to book for next yr weekend? Sorry for the endless questions..

cherimoya

Hi cactus_79, so have you planned when to have your ROM or AD?

Hi bElSi, Try to negotiate with her and see how. I think shld be ok. ;) Hee.. I'm not going to get their favours. Going to get it my own or maybe go without it. Haha..

Hi Elene, Fullerton is nice. Have you start looking at their package and viewed their ballroom? If you need their package, I can send u. There is min. no. of tables for most hotels. It depends on what month you are looking at, weekend may be a little hard especially it's an auspicious day. I don't mind your questions.. Hee..

bellybuttony

hi elene - it really depends on which month u're looking at. cos for me rite, we went to Fullerton to check dates in Oct last year. we did not haf a specific date but only wanted sat. surprisingly, we managed to get a sat in Feb this year. we thot we had to be looking at like quite a far faraway date since we only started booking towards the later part of last year. so just check with Fullerton - u might be able to get a slot for all u know! =) wat's your email addy? will share my AD pics with you.

hi cactus! all the best for your ROM prep! things must be getting really exciting! where's your ROM venue btw? and will your AD be back in Fullerton? =)

cactus_79

Hi Ash, lifeisgood,
my AD is at Shangri-La. It's a bit out of the way, not as convenient as Fullerton, but think my guests will be bored with Fullerton. About 1 in 3 AD guests would have attended my engagement. Just 1.5 years apart, dun think they would like going back again. Also, I didn't quite like the steps leading to Fullerton's ballroom.. knowing the clumsy klutz I am, I'll just roll down!!

cactus_79

opps, forgot to add - ROM is at Ritz. Function room cos only have 30 guests. They only have a ballroom for min 60 tables on weekends.. no way I could make up those numbers even though my ROM date is a Saturday.. even my best friend can't attend my ROM cos she's helping another friend with her AD prep on the same day. I think lunar 8th month weekends are very popular with weddings/ROMs.

e0pigy

Hi Ash,

Whoa...you managed to get everything done within such a short period of time!! Wow.. Btw, do you know what is Fullerton's min no. of table? Thanks for sharing your pics with me.. Do email me at [email protected]

e0pigy

Hi Lifeisgood,

Thanks..nope..nothing is done..hee...Coz i may only have 22-25 tables..thus pretty worried its too small an affair for Fullerton. Can you share with me the package you have? Can email me at [email protected] Btw, how do i arrange to see their ballroom? Can i just walk-in, or do i have to call and make an appt?

cactus_79

Hi Elene, if I recall correctly, weekends at Fullerton's ballroom is 40 tables. Max is 48 tables.

There are other smaller venues, like EDP room, GPO room, but about 3 and 5 tables respectively.

There's also the Straits Room, where I held my engagement dinner. But max is only 12 tables. Min is 8 tables.

You can just walk in to see their ballroom. The doors are never locked. Do go in the afternoon though, cos lunch and dinner may have functions.
If you want to see the wedding set up, you can call the hotel up to see when the weddings take place. Chances are the weekends in Oct are all taken up by weddings. So it may be a good time to go. A good time to visit would be between 330 to 530pm.

cactus_79

If you have 22 to 28 tables, you may wish to consider Raffles Hotel's ballroom. It's pillarless with mirrors. Very nice. But the reception area is not airconditioned. Max is 28 tables, I believe.

You may also want to consider The Regent. The set up is very pretty and the food is good.

Four Seasons would also be suitable. The max is 32 tables. Min number, I can't recall though. THink it could be 26??

cactus_79

hi Ash,
The soft copies of the engagement photos are with my fiance. I'll mail them to you once I get them back from him.

Fullerton was really my parents' choice.

I like Ritz. My fiance like Shang. But in the end, the numbers of our guest list determined that Shang would be our AD venue cos we only have about 400 guests.. Ritz is min 450 guests for weekdays and 600 guests for weekends.. We can't bump up our guest list to 600!! Esp since my future inlaws tell me my AD is auspicious so am concerned pple receive more than 1 wedding invite.. Shang's min is 350 guests. So we went along with that for the AD.

cherimoya

Hi cactus, I went to view Shangri-la too but it was really out of the way unless we get a bus to pick the guests up else many will not even consider going. Haha.. Anyway, FH and I prefer Fullerton than Shang cos we like the stairs. Keke..

Hi Elene, I've sent you the fullerton's package. Sad to say, their minimum on Friday & Sunday is 35 tables whereas Saturday is 40 tables. So maybe you will to look around other hotels if you don't have so many guests, maybe Hotel Intercontinental, Conrad or Goodwoodpark. These 3 are places which I did consider but they can't accommodate the number of guests I have. Hope this helps. ;)

bellybuttony

hi elene - yup, was quite a mad rush but it was great fun! cos everything was happening all at once instead of waiting and waiting. biggest worry was whether my gowns wld be ready for photoshoot! haha. and then whether the photoshoot pics will be ready for AD. oh, haf sent u my AD pics. all the best for your venue hunt ya? cactus and lifeisgood are the experts! =)

hey cactus - ok...looking fwd to your pics!