Swissotel The Stamford

miss_sunshine

hi RK! Mine's in december too. I believe they will not contact you regarding the decoration, rather you have to select a theme, coordinate with the florist yourself on other deco matters. I heard these are done during the food tasting, taking place 2-3 months prior to AD.

ngie22

Would like to ask... any difference if I book my banquet through FARIMOUNT or SWISSOTEL STAMFORD?

Understand they share the same ballrooms... but any idea if the Bridal Suite will be the same?

Am confused... hahah... In my opinion, i feel Swissotel got better name... hahaha

vala

Gene: Sorry cant PM you as you choose not to receive private message probably you could give me ur email address.

nic21

May I have the price list too? What are the perks they gave or we can ask for? is there any MOQ for tables?

ngie22

-eve- (daybreak_rose) ,

dont be sad... come to think of it... the Atrium Ballroom also okie. At least the foyer, all belongs to the Atrium Ballroom. Unlike the Raffles Ballroom, the foyer will be shared between 3 ballrooms... Wat if there are other weddings on the same day as u, at Raffles Ballroom? Then u all will be sharing the same foyer, with partitions! Not that ideal right?

Agree that Gladys is great! Even though the hotel is very strict with additional perks... but she could explain to u, why and such the hotel don't see the reason for additional perks... As compared to their current package promotions. So far, Gladys is the best Manager, I've even came across!

One thing very pleasing is... i find their service very personalised.... unlike other hotels, which work off a template.

vala

Nicole: cant PM you as you choose not to receive private message probably you could give me ur email address.

Eve:I am taking the Raffles Ballroom which will be split into 3 individual ballrooms and i m taking the extreme right room as the outer room had been booked. Just hope that the centre one is not booked if not there will be 3 weddings on the same day and i think the foyer will be very crowded.

jlo10

Hi All, Just to share the printing experience. Went down to Jasvy yesterday for the printing...initiately fax over and they show me a template by email within a day. Efficient but however the communications is real bad if tended by jason. He is a nice person(in person) but not someone you will feel comfortable to talk to while on the phone. Ivy is the better choice in terms of over the phone.
I will encourage fellow brides and grooms to go down personally as you can choose the color of inserts(need to top up $$$ for translucent), the stamping for example hotstamping $$$ as well , cartoons print on the insert, ribbons to bind the cards and inserts, fool proof filling in of details and even request samples from them should you need to show it to your parents. Ribbons 30cents each which are not included in the Swissotel and Fairmont package even though it include 70% printing. They also charge me $2 for every additional 10 inserts for my buffer. They promise me delivery by next mid week which is within a week. They sell ang bao 10 dollar for 50pcs too. You can also customised by require$$$

ryakris

Eve > You may want to try Dannis. He is my coordinator. I booked my wedding with him with a minimum of 30 tables instead of 35 tables. My ballroom is the canning room, not atrium.
This is his contact - [email protected]

jigglez

I am also interested in Swissotel for AD. Are they having any wedding shows anytime soon?

Do you gers managed to get a day helper room or 1 bottle of wine per table? Is it possible?

can like that one ah! different coordinator different no. of tables?! vicky mind telling ur wedding date? izit becoz 2009 n 2010 is different? thanks anyway!

miss_sunshine

I'm thinking of starting a list to have details of our wedding plans at Swissotel. Pls add your details too! So here goes.

Steff - 5th Dec 2009 (Stamford Ballroom)

kittydia

Hi Vicky

would you share your quotation with me? I'm interested in the place too..tks tks =) My wedding oso in Dec 2010, prolly 31 Dec 2010

wifey_vicky

Shufen Lydia,

do u have a copy of their 2010 prices?

im taking the $800 per table menu, maybe upgrading some dishes.

erm.. actually gladys didnt give me any additional perks, that means just like the original package. the only things i got was managed to bargain for 30 tables.

maybe u can let me know what exactly the things u need to find out? =)

kittydia

Hi Vicky

i do not have a copy of their 2010 prices.

Would you be able to send me a copy of the Swissotel banquet prices for 2010?

Thanks a lot =)

keithcaz

Hi all BTBs

Just want to share some of my experinces with regards to wedding banquet packages at Swissotel/Fairmont. This is purely to share my personal experience for your info when you negotiate with them, not to impact your decision.

I was hunting for an ideal venue to hold my wedding dinner for 2010. Since we have 40+ tables, we need a bigger ballroom, so we shortlisted Grand Copthorne, Merchant Court, Regent, Marriott, Hyatt and Swissotel/Fairmont. Out of these places, Swissotel/Fairmont provided the worst package...

I was initially attracted by their pricing, which was a bit cheaper than the other places I shortlisted, and the fact that they have a lot of rooms to choose from. Don't be lured by it. There are a lot of hidden things not covered in their standard package. If you are considering them, please be mindful of:

1) I was shocked to learn that their pricing do not include food tasting (reason: some of our clients have tasted our food, so they do not need it...), while ALL other hotels I went to gave it as part of their standard package.

2) There is only 1 projector provided in the 'wishes'. If you need another, and it is likely that you need since there are 2 screens in most rooms, you have to rent from them at about S$300++.

3) Look carefully at the alcohol pricing. No free flow beer (reason: we have many couples who do not encourage drinking - huh????), waiver of 1 bottle for wine corkage (not free wine hor...). 5* hotels like Marriott and Regent can be 'pushed' to provide free flow of beer and 1 bottle of wine per table, so they are quite 'stingy'.

4) Car park lots might be a problem. They are very stingy about upping the complimentary lots. Since the area is a shopping place, and there can be many weddings in 1 day in the Convention Hall and the restaurants, it's one area to think about.

Erm... and my opinion of the wedding specialist... not going to name names here (not so nice), but I must say that she's not professional. Wanted to meet us before 6pm (reason: we work office hours???), when we arrive, she was late by about 15min, did not give any reason, did not even give us the package and her namecard, just rattle off the items they can't compromise. Faintz!

There are more to it. Anyhow, after adding all the additional items, we realised that the pricing is more expensive then others. Also, our confidence level in the wedding specialist is super low... can't trust my big day in that person!

I was contemplating between Regent and Marriott. In the end, we opted for Marriott, which is in a better location then Regent. Both offered similar pricing as Swissotel/Fairmont, but both were more flexible and generous. More importantly, the wedding specialists at both hotels were very professional, helpful, accomodating, understanding and give the feel that you can trust your big day in their hands.

kittydia

Hi Cazzie

i can understand how you feel...I wish to have good customer service also.

1) Yes, their food tasting is one of the wedding wishes. I do hope they can dish out as one of the freebies though, like complimentary upfront, this would makes us feel better hor?

2) Projectors wise, can borrow from our companies coz they don't own so many projectors, their projectors oso rent one so they have to charge us back.

3)Yes, no alcohol, so i will choose as wedding wishes.

4) 10% of carparks lots, i think our guests won't even be able to use them...why? coz their lots are so limited, so if our guests are late, prolly, they wouldn't even get to park inside Raffles City Carpark coz it's aldy full...so negotiate for more carpark lots, actually wun help much. Anw, the parking is $2.50 per entry, i think the guest won't really mind paying $2.50 lah...

I understand that GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE is impt and i am aligned with you on this! Hope to see improvements from their end soon!

keithcaz

Bee Geok >> Sorry can't send to you... the coordinator didn't give email us a copy of the package before we met. I had to ask for a hard copy when we met.

Hi Lydia, are you a Swissotel/Fairmont bride? I agree with you re the food tasting. It's a must-have regardless if the couple tasted the food or not. It's an occasion for the couple and respective parents to gather mah... it's the event that counts! And re the projector... they use quite high lumens, so normal company small projector may not be suitable. Output may be grainy... if you are doing your wedding there, must check on this :)

kittydia

Think they're really strict leh, but every hotel manages their perks differently...aiyo, i haven't sign up yet, contemplating to sign up with them...but a bit buay song, coz they're a bit ngiao with their perks and and i think their customer service needs a bit of improvements leh...i think it would be very da fang, if they can just give the complimentary table upfront lor....the coordinator told me the lumens is pretty normal lumens, any company projector sld have this standard...hmmz...i really gotta check it out...but normally, yes, i agree with you...the hotels will usually provide them =)

vala

Mac: Yup i sign up with them. Although their perks are quite stringent, but i fall in love with their bridal suite. haha. Anyway, as my wedding date is a hot date, alot of hotels are already taken up, so i dun have much choices left too.

misa_misa

haha.. i went to view the place too.. gotta say the bridal suite is really pretty!!
might be signing w them as well.. just wondering if i can get extra parking coupons cos 10% seems really insufficient. did u manage to get them to up that for u?

vala

Nope they din increase that for me, saying that their place is quite accessible so might not need the extra parking coupons. And if I want extras, i can purchase it a few days before.

spqing17

anybody belong to the "old" package where u have to choose between 2 florist for decorating the ballroom? Namely Impact and Woodsville.

i heard that Swissotel Stamford or Fairmont has tied up with 1 fixed vendor. Seems kind of good!

pameley

Hi spqing17, I was under the old package. I chose Impact in the end. To me, they win hands down both in terms of service, and in terms of the creativity in their floral designs and wedding favours. I heard that Impact has won the exclusive rights moving forward for all of Swissotel the Stamford's weddings.

Didn't have any issues with their perks, coz got all of the ones we wanted anyway given the number of tables we're getting. For us, Swissotel represented by far the most compelling deal value-wise. The only other places that would have been even more value-for-money might have been GCW & Meritus Mandarin, but they were already booked. Mac, I managed to get top up of parking coupons a bit to 15%.