Swissotel The Stamford

pekkle

Pls share about the ballroom, themes, service and food about their wedding banquet in this hotel....

ling83

I saw Atrium Ballroom on last saturday! loved it. We've decided to confirm our wedding at Atrium ballroom with them in 2008.

sleeping91

so which date you booked for 2008?..i thinking of booking it too...

so how was the ballroom?..high ceiling? pillarless?

ling83

The ballroom ceiling is not very high, has 2 pillars, but we're looking at about 20-25 tables so it would't affect our guest. We saw the chamgagne theme on Saturday, We liked it!

sleeping91

did you bargain for any extra things?..from the package that i see, there isnt any free house wine included and also, no free LCD projector or food tasting....seems like they only allow you to choose one item for free...

ling83

Hey..ermm, yah, we got him to give us free wines for certain amount of wines we purchased. Free food tastin

concert

Anyone had experience the Atrium Ballrm at Swissotel the Stamford? Are the pillars obstructive ?

Rick - ur coordinator is Dennis too? He's Director of sales leh.. seems very senior guy.

concert

Rick - which date are u looking at? 2008? Are u looking at the Atrium Ballrm too ? Im looking at 2009 dates.

What perks have u asked for ?

soramachi

Kodomo Concert (concert) : 19th of dec 08, i am looking at stamford ballroom. Have not actually negotiate for any perks yet.

clarence79

anyone can share with me their package for 08?
are we able to bargain for free flow beer, waiver of wine corkage charges etc?

suangan

F1 booked the ballrooms from my understanding :p intended to take 23rd Sep 08 n was told F1 took up a few ballrooms...

happiejollie

Hi all, i am new here.I have justed booked canning ballroom and found out that the foyer is not totally partioned off if there is wedding or function at padang or colleyer. It seems confusing and chaotic.Any advice from anyone who has held their wedding at canning or at the raffles ballroom?Thanks.

zephyrine

I'm new here too... would like to check if anyone has been serviced by Swissotel wedding concierge yet?

Anyone know who do they usually assign? any experiences to share, cos I understand it would not be Dennis who co-ordinated the sales of the wedding banquet.

yanyanlingling

Hi all.

I work there so perhaps i can share some info with you all..

Happiejollie (happiejollie): It is true that they dont partition the entire foyer so sometimes guests would get confused. However, there are ushers at the grand convention foyer to give them directions.

Zephyrine (zephyrine): The wedding concierge are assigned randomly. However, you may request to the sales manager which specific wedding concierge you want if you know any of them.

limahkow

my cousin is getting married at the swissotel..dinner on wkend on saturday...
how much angpow to give huh...?

dun really like him and his stingy behaviour...

any ideas?

poseidon_gal

someone mention that the raffles ballroom is not really partition off..does that mean if there are 2 weddings going on at raffles ballroom, it will be very confusing for the guest?
Are the partition sound proof? I cannot imagine hearing next door shouting "yam seng" at my wedding!

mwerkz

lim_ah_kow> de table price for 10 is oredi more than 1k. so definintely something abv 100?

poseidon> dey meant not partition is the foyer. before u enter the wedding dinner venue. de cocktail recep area. de banquet portion is definitely partitioned.

zephyrine

Hi LeAnn,
Thanks for the clarifications!

hmm... i'm also taking the canning room. concerned if it's really sound proof... =(

shilo

went to atrium today...sales person doesnt seem to keen, and was so stingy over giving parking coupon for me to view.

sales no enthusiam to sell
perks unnegotiable. forget it....

better get other hotel more comprehesive...

uk_fung

Booked Stamford Ballroom for Oct wedding
Been to Padang ballroom and Stamford ballroom for friend's dinner before and food are ok, just need to note the services as some of them are as usual part time... need to tell the coordinator to get better ppl...

Not able to get much perks.. they kinda follow quite stright to their package....

My coordinator is Glayds, she is friendly and ok.. she also give fast reply to my qn.

As about the issue of partition... erm.. ya... I do see the guest go to the wrong place...hahaha my friend when to the wrong hall after toilet break... hahahahha so I guess... maybe you can have some deco?? or ... your poster lor.. or big big name at the reception.. so when ppl walk to the reception there they know who's wedding it is...

shilo

hello

to me atrium is not attractive at all. Sales person not eager to sell, and piss off with her. Her name is Shalica. Not a single perks offered at all

no flexibility at all!!!

ivan_hazel

Hi Claudia,

I totally agree! (two hands two legs up in agreement!) Met up with Shalica just earlier this week, she was totally not interested in sharing more with regards to the packages, telling me that she need to go off at 8pm sharp to meet frens.. While we understand that we've reached late, but hubby n myself knock off at only 7.. only able to reach at 7.40pm.. Having spoke to her for that just 20 mins, i just couldnt have the once-in-a-lifetime wedding put in the hands of this coordinator.. Perks were non-negotiable, n she appear not very keen in showing us the ballroom.. furthermore, she's the only wedding coordinator that did not follow up with an email post-meetup.

haiz, all i can say is disappointment.. (with the coordinator)

shilo

Hello Hazel

Me feel the same also. She is not keen to show me the place at all. I was so keen in Fairmont, now I drop my plan with them, even though this is the date I wanted really.

Even she is meeting her frens, u still came before 8pm, she still has to do her job well.

I dun like to deal with sales people with zero flexibility. So are u chosing other places then?

ivan_hazel

Hi Claudia,

Yup! I'm actually looking at other places right now.. ermm, currently shortlisted a few: Conrad, Oriental, merchant court.. my hubby still prefer swissotel stamford, so we're asking ard for other coordinator contacts.. =) when's ur AD? n have u managed to choose a place oredi? =)

jayin_fairyland

Is swissotel the stamford the same as Raffles the PLaza? I called Dannis, he mentioned something like they will give us 1/3 of the main ballroom if we can hit 35 tables. Is this main ballroom pillarless & high ceiling? Is the sound proof good enough so that my guests wont hear other ppl yum seng??? thanks!

goukisg

My wedding is coming sept, Appreciate if you can PM me your videographer so that I can call them. Kan chiong liao, havent get one yet.

My budget around $800-$1200, Thanks.

strawberry2009

Jayin,

Nice seeing you again here.
STS will give us 1/3 of the main ballroom if you can hit ard 33-35 tables. Accordingly to my gf who hold her wedding dinner there last year, she says confirm sound proof enough.

jayin_fairyland

Hi Strawberry! =)

Raffles ballroom consists of Canning/Padang/Collyer ballroom. ya, ard 35 tables will entitle us to 1/3 of the raffles ballroom. Shared recept foyer.

Stamford ballroom has own foyer but min table is 45.

I wait for Dannis to come back den i ask him more. You check with Gladys den we share info LOL!

strawberry2009

Hi Jayin,
I already KIV the Canning ballroom.
I only heard before atrium ballroom.. Hmm never heard before Stamford ballroom? Where is it located same level or ?

sssc

Checked out the Collyer ballroom during the weekend, was quite like it as it is pillarless & having high ceiling, according to Gladys, there is also fleixiblity on the themes.

Really like it but now, it is a matter of preference versus budget as we are looking at 35-38 tables...

mwerkz

jayin_fairyland> last time stamford ballroom use to be min 35 tables. they juz up the standard. stamford n atrium is better den raffles becos dey have their own private foyer for wedding recep. unless of cos u r taking the whole raffles ballroom which is de canning+padang+collyer. =)

jayin_fairyland

Ya! the min for stamford is now 45 tables, which i dun think i can hit. so i can only choose from the canning,padang,collyer. I prefer padang cos its rectangular shape BUT its right in the middle! The other 2 ends are triangular. For those who held ur wedding at canning/collyer, any feedback on the shape of the ballroom?
Have made appt with dannis for this sat evening.. There are really pros & cons for each ballroom. =(

uk_fung

Hi sorry strawberry.. din come this topic often :p yar choose Stamford ballroom coz it have private reception area.. you can view my pic at http://uksportgal.multiply.com/

Yup I agreed that cord. is very impt.... dun give up the hotel coz of one cord... if u really like the place.. can always find others... Dannis and Gladys are good cord...
Just one thing about this hotel.... their perks really kinda fix one.. infact most of the more popular hotel are like that.. but small things u can still try your best to bargin.. see if they willing to exchange sth / add in for you.... er.. min table can talk talk and try try if they can lower it abit.. :p u never know if u dun ask ...

Difference btw ballroom is Att

Swissotel Stamford = former Westin = Raffles by the plaza :p

atrium is for less table quite nice still but got pillar abit I guess... din really see that ballroom... canning(triangle ballroom)= +padang (retangular ballroom)+collyer (triangle ballroom)= Raffles... V high ceiling very nice ballroom... just depends if u like to share your flyer with others? triangle ballroom? and of coz min pax... I Was offer canning ballroom before but end up we like standford ballroom more.. more exclusive and also with high ceiling

er... seeing is more easier.. go my website see see the theme and things they have ba
Overall Swissotel Stamford is really good wedding place ;)

strawberry2009

Hi Mrs Chiew,

Thanks. When is yr AD ? This year Oct or 2009.
So sweet of u to share with us yr lovely pic. You looks so sweet. Which BS u sign up with ?

uk_fung

my AD is Oct 2008

I did not sign up any BS. DIY

PS is done in Macau and the singapore one is done by 1950photography

ROM n fun shots also by 1950photography

hmm I guess some of your are at the beginning stage of your wedding planning.. maybe my this website is helpful :p Just sth to share with you all on the wedding planning http://littleweddingstuffs.multiply.com/