Swissotel The Stamford

wifey_vicky

Hi Susan,

urs already over?

the printing shop, that day we met up for the selection of card. he is very rude and attitude like he is the customer. and u guess what he took out 2 books of card design but told us that we can only choose from 2 design, 1 is white 1 is maroon color. they have very limited choices unlike other hotel. think this is the way they earn extra. if wan to change design, $1 per card not inclusive of ribbon, ribbon $0.3 per card.

they are very smart only gave us 1 white and 1 maroon to choose, being a custom chinese wedding and for the sick of the elderly and parent we cant choose white. and the maroon also like very down.

anyway, HTB was very angry and disappointed. and we gonna complain to STS..

dreamies

Hi Vicky

sorry didnt state the yr hehe mine is 2nd sept 2011. we were served by the wife who is friendly and we didnt like the colors too but like most hotel they normally gave v limited choices. our tots is tat we'll not pay extra for anything tat aint practical. as long as it's presentation we're quite okie. beside we're not the only couple from fairmont using those cards rite so i guess our relatives can take it. for your case with the elderly may i suggest u go w the maroon then invest a bit to buy some gold ribbons and diy...cheap and classic

Hi Yako
the supplies name if i'm not wrong is Javy i think. they are the official printer with fairmont

jarlslee

My name is Jarls Lee from Singapore and I am an undergraduate at a Hospitality Management school in Switzerland. For my undergraduate dissertation, I am looking at the negotiation behaviour of prospective wedding couples looking to hold their wedding banquet at 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Your response is kindly appreciated and will aid in the completion of my paper.

This survey will take up 15-20 minutes of your time.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/negotiated_decision_making_weddings_in_Singapore

jarlslee

My name is Jarls from Singapore and I am an undergraduate at a Hospitality Management school in Switzerland. For my undergraduate dissertation, I am looking at the negotiation behaviour of prospective wedding couples looking to hold their wedding banquet at 5-star hotels in Singapore.

Your response is kindly appreciated and will aid in the completion of my paper.

This survey will take up 15-20 minutes of your time.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/negotiated_decision_making_weddings_in_Singapore

orientalfrost

keldeb: swissotel the stamford is the same as fairmont hotel
all sharing the same ballrooms..
you may read their thread for reviews as well

ginko59

anyone book wedding lunch? I wanted to book Oriental, but dont have the date we want. Have not seen the themes Swissotel have, can share yr experience? Also wonder if they are also flexible to change the items in their menu..

Pls share!! =)

pinkdaylight

Vicky: OMG me too, the J*svy guy asked "which hotel?", When we answered Swissotel, he took this stack of cards then just tossed this red and white card on the table and said, "red, or white, want to print on the cover need extra $" his attitude was F***ed up,

Asked him whether got any other design he said "extra $1/card" and the designs were just vaguely decent.

Ribbons = extra $,
string = extra $
Inserts on nicer "tracing" paper = extra $

I was like WTF??!!

HTB was so pissed off and cheesed by his attitude that we're just going to print our stuff outside.

Florist experience was much better, Florence from Impact Creatives was very patient when trying to understand what sort of theme I was going after, and showing me examples of other jobs that they have done (not just the standard package stuff). She was also thoughtful in a sense telling us on which floral decor can save and not upgrade, and which are the ones that are more worthwhile to pay abit more for.

dreamies

oh gosh the attitude tat bad?? we met up with them during the bridal show at fairmont..than we were served by the wife and she seems nice...guess it's the show at fairmont tat's y they are friendly bah...and yes it's sucky tat they are charging for EVERYTHING when EVERYTHING needed like the string should be part of the deal lor

pinkdaylight

Dreamies: Yar, totally agree that the sting should b part of the deal, The HTB said "The card looks like it's going to fall apart w/o the string", and the printer has the cheek to say that it's optional....

wifey_vicky

magdalene,

yup.. we experienced that, when HTB went to collect the cards also give Jason that kind of face, just that how he treat us. he's like the customer instead!

HTB very pissed off, only given 1 maroon and 1 white to choose. With only these 2 color, it makes thing difficult for us, being a customary wedding, and we are not christian, parents simply cant accept white, and the maroon is like 'lao sai' color. Obviously he want to make money from here.

We chosen a red card, top up $1 per card, and $0.3 per string. Cost us another $200. By right, we shouldnt have top up even 1 cent for printing of invitation card! My friend from other hotel, all given over 100 designs to choose!

We are meeting Dannis the director this saturday, we gonna feedback on this! STS should have control over this! i can simply say we are not the only couple encounter this!

wifey_vicky

magdalene,

the jason's attitude very bad right, makes us feel like slap his face! yaya papaya! super angry super pissed off that day! now talking about this, still very unhappy and unpleasant experiences, even though everything has been finalise. cards all collected.

all the BTB here going to the printing shop must be careful, maybe can choose to meet Ivy instead. not sure is it jason's wife.

good luck!

chew_the_gum

hi Dreamies, Vicky & Magdalene,
may i ask,so we'll only have that pathetic 2 cards to choose from? but how are the designs like? Omg..so upset..i was thinking of meeting them this weekend though. my AD is in 2mths time..
so anyone complaint to Dannis? not sure it'll help in anyway also.. =X

and by the way, on the card it will be printed as Fairmont instead of STS right? So is it actually right to tell your guests it's at STS or Fairmont ot Raffles City Convention Ctr?? Really confusing..and if you say its RCCC, it's not even a hotel. If you say Fairmont, not everyone knows.. when i wanna tell my friends..i also dont know how to explain..

wifey_vicky

caroline..

1 is maroon 1 is white colour.. both not nice it's like forcing ppl to upgrade and pay more.. hais.. i will be meeting him, HTB will feedback on this, even though we already paid full cost, but just want to complain, so in future couples wont have that kind of treatment.. hehe

initially the printing shop suggested we print Fairmont, but after we discussed with Dannis, we decided to change to STS instead as STS are more well-known than Fairmont, many ppl might not know where is Fairmont. and the invitation card we printed as STS try not to confused the guests..

chew_the_gum

hi vicky,

not nice but is it those simple ones? so boring right.. i just told my bf abt this..he's replied..huh? so lousy one? 2 choices only? then i asked if that guy sounds rude he says abit but still alright.shall see how he actually looks like in person!
i went to search other reviews on Jasvy and their reputation is really negative..but no choice, though cards ppl will throw but just dont feel shiok that we dont have more variety of designs to choose. =(

oh so , you mean we can actually choose between to print on STS or Fairmont? then that's better! =D..if not Fairmont is really unknown to many..

whale8

Hi BTBs!

Can anyone share with me the perks offered by Swissotel Stamford during their wedding show in Sept 2010?

Lots of thanks.

treecom

Just like to find out from which menu and ballroom did you chose when you had your wedding at STS?

I am very interested in the Stamford Ballroom..

treecom

Hi Caroline,

Thanks for your reply.

Yup yup we are thinking of upgrading our Friday menu to Grandeur therefore would like to hear some comments on the menu.

Merry Xmas!

lovelyday

Hi, just had wedding there last month.

check out the vids:

Highlights: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jitQEMM0ZGc

Pre-Wedding Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PC55N0YR9g

Used Canning Ballroom, had 33 tables.

- No extra charge when I brought in my own wedding cake from outside vendor.
- Decor was nice, I chose the Winter theme and upgraded the guest tables' decor. Lights were beautiful.
- Baked Alaska as the dessert was great! It really left a good impression on the guests. But it's considered a dish upgrade so u either minus 1 dish or pay extra.
- They provide individual plating service (side stations)
- Provided a function room for us to do Tea Ceremony and provided the tea too. At no extra charge.

Dislikes:
- Their AV team didn't allow my wedding planner to plant our own cue person in the AV room (other hotels do allow after you plead with them). As a result, music and video cues were late. Then, for background music, they repeated the first song of our CD 3 times because someone must have hit the "Repeat" button by mistake.

- Doors opening for march-in was done by 1 staff only. The doors so heavy and the poor staff had a hard time, in the end, our march-in was not at the 'music moment' we wanted.

- Wedding favors: I specify 2 alternate gifts for each seat but I got feedback from guests that some tables only got 1 type of gift or had unequal numbers of the different gifts.

- Wedding favors: Though we instructed the hotel to give us the leftovers, they claimed that there isn't. Our VIP table didn't take at all. My guests (the last to leave) also saw some leftovers here and there. We asked the hotel again and they said ok, they found 10 items. Sad!

Overall, I find Fairmont / Swissotel good. I like the service except the AV team and the Wedding Favors portion.

whale8

Hi Lovelyday,

Congrats and Happy 'BUNNY' year! Thanks for sharing your well-taken video and so much on Swissotel too. The winter theme is so special, looks sweet and cozy. I didn't know Swissotel offers yummy Baked Alaska, any idea how much extra to top up?

Thanks. Have a good day!

lovelyday

thanks whale8!

i can't rem how much to top up coz i chose to minus 1 dish....when i surveyed my friends after the dinner, they didn't even realised that 1 dish was missing..heehee. My opinion is to minus 1 dish instead of topping up, unless your parents prefer otherwise.

Winter theme is based on the colours purple, white and silver. They have another red and black theme which I thot looks quite grand...I think they call it Autumn theme if I rem correctly.

whale8

Halo lovelyday!

Thank you for your prompt reply. I shall order Baked Alaksa during food tasting session to hear the views from our parents. We are thinking of Grandeur menu, all looks so yummy, don't know which one to 'sacrifice', dhaha... Guess you were in the same dilemma too right? haa...

I love purple so like the Winter theme very much! However i am having a lilac evening ballgown so there's 'colour clash'! Hmm we shall give it some thots. =)

Thank you once again!

lovelyday

actually for food tasting, the hotel didnt give us the baked alaska...they gave us the standard menu -- which is the standard dessert lah. The hotel reassured us that the baked alaska will be very nice so we took their word for it. I didn't even get to taste it also during the wedding dinner night.

But based on feedback, the guests really liked the dessert. (They didn't give comments about the other dishes..hahaha)

whale8

Oic! Thanks lovelyday!

I suppose we'll have to skip the desserts on the AD too, since we have to thank our guests. Hope i'll remember to order it during food tasting. Have a good day.

ginko59

I just went for the food tasting last night. Just to share that the food quality was satisfactory but we feel they have got more to improve compared to other 5* hotel weddings my fiance and I have been to. Was a little disappointed with the layout of the table and music during the tasting, just a tiny bowl of flowers and techno/trance music??? Not v appropriate. Food portions were good. BUT serving of individual portions was a little too slow, which is exactly commented earlier in this post. Seems the chef was pretty open to our feedback last night. Well, hope the management can also take the comments here positively too.

smooch

Hey Lovely Day, your wedding videos were very well done! Did you hire a professional photographer or was it taken and edited by your friends? Can share contact? Please email me at [email protected] , thanks!

whale8

Hi Ginko59,

what's your banquet menu? Is there any particular dish that we've got to pay special attention to? Thank you.

ginjean

can anyone share with me past wedding show perks for swissotel/fairmont? not sure if i should wait for swissotel/fairmont's wedding show to sign up.. or go for other hotels..

leslieehy

Hey JN

Are you attending the show?
I just made a tentative booking on the Collyer Room.. Quite bothered with the shared reception!
How about u? made any bookings?

babydino

For those who held their wedding at Swissotel, can i jz check did you top up for the flowers. I have been told that the hotel only provide 15 blooms for each aisle stand and 12 blooms for the VIP tables. Was wondering whether it will look bald as the flowers seem quite little.

chew_the_gum

Hi Babydino,

i didnt top up for flowers, what they provide is sufficient, dont worry.

Eternal Bloom is with the bell shape stand is it? If it is, i took up that theme..no regrets.. ;)

babydino

Hi Caroline

Attached the pic for u to see the theme.. according to the florist the hotel only provide 15 blooms for the aisle stands & 12 blooms for the VIP ... worry will look quite bald..

Do u have any pics of ur wedding decor can email me? [email protected]

THanks.
1777997.jpg

babydino

I will be going for my food tasting soon. Is there any advice/feedback on the food? Which is nice or not nice..

Many thanks