Swissotel The Stamford

lunrock

I'm with STS as well.
Banquet booked at 26/09/2009 (Saturday).
Coordinator : Dannis.

Just a note:
According to Dannis, that weekend is F1 racing week. And the suite is being given to those F1 drivers i think. STS will be giving me a deluxe suite. But will compensate us the presidential suite to be claimed within 6 months after marriage. Dunnoe if this is good or not.
Any comments on that?

stariez

Hi Linrock,

For me, i think i will not accept it.. cos the the most important day is wedding day.. any nicer suite after AD is useless.. special day with special mood gone.. no point..

But Dannis told me that the bridal suite is the best suite that they have in STS.. and they have 2 levels of them.. which makes up more than 20 suites.. i didnt know they have presidential suite..

But if they are really fully booked, also no point arguing with them.. dun have means dun have..

Another point to note, since it's the F1 week, then roads will be close.. How are your guest going to go to STS? very troublesome for them leh..

I suggest you either change place or change date.. or have you already booked the place?

Above are all my personal opinion.. hope you dun mind my straight forwardness..

pandas

Hi lunrock,

you can think of it this way. After your wedding dinner, you and your spouse will be too tired to appreciate the bridal suite, no matter how nice it is.

Why not come back next time and really enjoy the nice nice suite? ;) It will be 2 stays rather than the usual 1. hahahaha

lunrock

Thanks for the feedback. As I have already placed the deposit 2-3 months ago, I'll have to stay with the hotel. But according to Dannis, he say that guest will be able drive into their carpark.

According to him, this year, the guest arrives a bit earlier due to the F1. And for me if guests are able to drive and park at the hotel, it should be fine.

As for the suite, what me and by WTB thought of, is actually Pong & Mi suggested. Because on the AD, both of us will be tired and we would not be able to enjoy the suite, must well come back another day to enjoy it. Can even take the suite on a Christmas Eve:p

As for the thought of changing dates, I will not be considering it too as its quite a nice date, lunar 8th day of the 8th month. 2 days after my mandarin birthday and 4 days after my calendar birthday. LolZ.

But anyway, thanks for all your feedbacks:p

pandas

Hi Lunrock,

by the way, my WTB and me faced the same dilemma as you guys. Our AD is on the 27th. hahahaha

So let's hope that both our weddings go smoothly bah. ;)

lunrock

Hi Panda,

Congrats. So did STS contact you about this issue? We don't hope for it to go smoothly, it will definitely go smoothly:p

pandas

We contacted them before they contacted us.

I emailed our coordinator once the F1 schedule was out. Hahahaha! ;)

uk_fung

uploaded all my pic la
http://uksportgal.multiply.com/

lunrock personally will just take it! hahaha coz that's the date and venue u want.... and the suite, with my experience... u really have no time enjoy... if they give you the president suite which is sth u dun get to enjoy normally.. if not wrong.... this kind of suite is not open anyhow to anyone for use.... (only those with status ba) maybe u can try to go their deluxe suite to see see look look 1st.. most impt is they have place for you to do make up that's it...

Regarding F1 race.. is already the 2nd yr, they already have experience!.... isn't it good if is F1race hahahah so your guest Confirm will come early and u start on time.

jlo10

Hi all, my fiancee and I will be holding our AD at Collyer ballroom on the 03Oct09(Midautumn festival). Heard from Gladys that day has been fully booked.Like find out anyone having their AD on the same day as well.

yaoxian_junjie

Curious to know, anyone manage to get wavier for corkage or per table one free wine? Course it seem common for hotels to giv these deals but its not in the package for the stamford

Can anyone share these info? keke

helper_sos

hi BTB.. i heard wedding is great helper during wedding day.. any recommendation.. is there any hotel tat provide wedding concierge to wedding? apart from swissotel..

ruachgall

i was looking at the swissotel package... it seems to lack a few things that are usually provided by the other hotels, e.g complimentary food tasting, free 20l beer, corkage waiver.. etc etc

anyone managed to negotiate for them?

chikita

How many wedding shows will there be for one hotel in a year? My AD is in March 2010, think they're not open for booking yet rite?
If i'm having 30 tables, which ballroom will i probably get??
Thanx much much!!

uk_fung

just suggestion ...BTB should email the hotel to get the most accurate information regards to the package and also the date of wedding show

gilliebean

Hi Jiajun and Strawberry shortcake...so sorry about not replying! I wasn't sure how often ppl were checking this forum, so I've not checked for ages...plus been so crazy busy at work!Pai seh

I think meeting up is a great idea...will make the 20th more fun/less awkward..hehehe..I'm actually based in UK..but I'll be back in Jan, before CNY...is that too rushed for you?

My email is [email protected]. Can one of you email me if you guys are interested? Thx!

Hope everyone had a good Christmas!

ptbear

I've just seen STS. Am the final occupant for my AD banquet for my hot date. Going to make a confirmation this weekend. Seems like STS is very difficult to bargain for any other things. I held my ROM at Conrad and they were very accomodating, giving us waiver of wine cockage and increasing the carpark complimentary when we ask for it. Tried asking for it, but its kinda difficult to squeeze out anything, just give a "We'll try lah" response.

Any comments to help me squeeze mroe perks? hehehe...

yaoxian_junjie

We tried too. But i think they are quite firm with their package and not much leeway they give.

But the ballroom is great. Instantly, we fall in love with the ballroom and we din even look @ the suite, we book the date! haha...

pearlypearl

Hi ladies, has anyone viewed only half of the ballroom before?

I have made an appointment to view the ballroom, but tomorrow can only view half of it, as the other half will be occupied with an event. Is it feasible?

Appreciate your advice please! Many thanks!!

ptbear

This reply may be a little later..

Yes I did. First view was a full ballroom, the second time I view was half only, cos bring my in-laws go look see, look see, no appointment.

Even half the ballroom looks so beautiful already. Looks cozy. The full ballroom (Stanford) looks pretty and rather grand. If its the other 3-in-one ultra big ballroom would be even bigger and even more grand.

pearlypearl

ping> I'm looking at 45-50 tables on Christmas day, 25/12/2009. I have viewed the Stamford ballroom and the suite yesterday!!! I simply love it! :D

The complimentary carpark for guests is only 10% and the invite cards only 70%, I was thinking to request for an additional 10% increase, or at least a 5%, does anyone think this is possible from them??

faultgal

Pearl > I dun think so they are quite strict on their perk should be hard if u manage can let me know hehe.... But invitation usually all 70% right ??
So is the date for christmas available ?

pearlypearl

ping> hehe... the manager say she can give me additional 5% for the carpasses, but invite cards cannot since the printing of the inserts are also included.

I have tentatively booked for Christmas, will be going down this Fri to pay the deposit.

ptbear

mine is Shalica Oh.. normal sales manager lah... Seem to have read some not so nice comments about her, but so far, she was okie.

I haven't been able to view the suite yet... My AD falls on the F1 racing dates, so no suite for us on that day. We go back another day again to stay. I hope they would at least give us mid-level room to compensate. Facing the F1 routes even better!! Hahaha...

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

cheeriosting

Hi, I'm a STS BTB and I'm wondering if anyone knows when will your co-ordinator contact you regarding the choice of themes, flower etc?

My AD is Dec09 and wondering if the new themes have been out this year. I remember STS told me that they change their theme every year

pearlypearl

hi Ting, i'm oso a STS BTB and my AD is on christmas day 2009. when's yours?

If i remember correctly, i was told the new themes will be out around June/ July.

cheeriosting

hi Pearl! my AD is 6 Dec 2009

that'll be pretty later than i've thought.. cos i am thinking of choosing my gowns in 1-2 months time based on the themes that i'm likely to choose.. so maybe i could reference on current themes.

Could anyone share with me the themes if available? Thanks in advance

pearlypearl

Ting> Oic.. hmm, perharps you can contact your coordinator and do a check? I think that would be the best!

Btw, my HTB and I paid the deposit via cheque, how come they have not bank it in?

cheeriosting

Pearl, thanks i'll check with them. hmm, the CHQ should be valid for quite some time, maybe they'll bank in all at one-go? maybe you can check with your co-ordinator..