Strategic Design aka Yin Feng

hi jme,

workmanship and his co-ordination is good i would say... we din have any misunderstanding nor unhappiness... maybe bcos we treat him alright also.. we did not pick on minor defacts.. we were quite chin chai in fact...

we wanted to ask him to help us get the glass guy to make one more glass shelf for us.. in fact we were intending to pay for it.. but Melvin say its ok.. he will settle it for us... but its been 3mths.. i think he hack care us already... thats quite disappointing...

Hi guys, been away for awhile.

Hi Jme, some of the things done quite badly are my parquet flooring and homogenous skirtings amoung others. I'm considering seeking 2nd opinion. By the way, my ID is K*nny. He is really not up to standard in my most humble opinion.

Hi Flora, wish you luck!!!! Just remember, written black and white is best.

like wat? next time before u do anything u ask need to add money anot first. does it work? if its their fault then they shouldnt make u pay wat.

i got numerous of hiccups non stop....too.

I think ID nver go monitor & always not at site to supervise and also given wrong information to workers..

alot of hiccups..

carpenter works really cannot make it..

floral..who is your id?? i am quite worry olso arh..my id is mel***.cos alot of things he olso say wanna do for me..and he never tell me the cost till i ask him lei..so pek chek!! everthing wanna add $$$$!! I think he olso take it for granted tat everything is like per last customer (cos he claim he do alot of the flats at my area)...so he will just assume and go ahead giving the same instruction as per previous contract to the workers...like example..i requested timber skirting for living room..and i got a shock of my life tat he do homo skirting lor!!! so angry call and confront him....although he say he wanna hack and redo for me..but the trust is not there liao lor...Then i very unhappy wif him is..he is kind of impatient lor...whenever we choose tiles or even colour to the walls...instead of helping us make the decision..he just tell us the colour tat he proposed..if we objected..he will ask us to choose ourself..then while me and my hubby discuss..he will have tat kind of impatient gesture..like singing to himself....then look away....SO FRUSTRATING!!!!

but one things for sure unlike yours twinkle, my ID he do listen to wat i explain & we willing to compromise...

jus tat hiccup hiccups make me very sad..

yesterday i have put all my hope on the solid top to be done nicely as tat was my favourite color which i wan long wait even since look for this ID...

yesterday my solid top up, noe wat..sigh... underneath the solid top there's a big gap which they closing the gap with very thick silicon? (its front drop!!!)

astonishment.. i tot solid top shld be all the way solid not hollow and cover with silicon... tat my long wait top....

the gap betweet the cabinet & solid top front drop is around 1.5cm..

and also the divider look so horrible.
argh...

so tiring. of explaining & explaining...although he listen & verify.. but...

tired and disappointed. especially a hard day work.

flora,

hiccups are bound to happen. i dun think there is one single renovation which is totally smooth sailing. i think wat is important is that ur ID is responsible n willing to rectify when there is a need to. sometimes it is really not the ID's fault. many factors involved. must really communicate alot with ur ID. so that both are clear of what is going on, and what is going to happen.

not sure about the silicon thing. can ask ur ID lor. he should be able to explain to u why like that.

btw have verify with all my fren who done up their renovation recently all their solid top fix nicely without any gap.

oh u talk bout communication..ya..

My ID ever mention to me tat he dont have the time to really sit down & tok to his client.

cuz he got so many projects in hand he cannot afford to do tat

http://img390.imageshack.us/my.php?image=solidtop9pw.jpg]
url]
[/URL]
http://img390.imageshack.us/my.php?image=solidtop9pw.jpg][img=[url="http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/7247/solidtop9pw.th.jpg"]http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/7247/solidtop9pw.th.jpg[/url]][/url]

Hicups are bound to happen in all renovations but there should be a clear line drawn between hicups and poor attitude/workmanships.

Feels sorry for you.

hello fatpig.
did u also hv ur renovation done with strategic? where is ur house? how is the renovation so far?

Hello popie,

We have just selected our unit last week and am now looking around for a contractor first. Any good ones to recommend?

Your is done by strategic? How is your reno? Can share with me your quotation?

yah. mine is done by strategic too. my flat is a 5-room flat. n quote is about 20-25K. this includes tiling, laminates, carpentry. i din do false ceilings. but watever u commit, think u should go n talk to the ID n talk to them yourselves n gauge for yourselves. cos different ppl got different working styles. wat i like might not be wat u like.

my reno is still in progress, so wont recommend as of yet. =)

Mine is a 4-room and I'm on a tight budget of $15k... max stretch to $18k. I'm afraid of.. "Pay peanuts, you'll get monkeys!".

Anyway, will definately be sourcing around. Think a good contractor is also very important as I would not want to go through some of the nightmares as experienced by some others.

Ooi Ooi...

hi Fatpig, not too worry.

infact personally my ID is not a very bad person, jus tat things jus keep on hiccups i believe so much tat he dun wish to happen.. or watever reason.. it is.

for me i feel tat its quite an unnecessary Stress to have

Hi Flora, your reno seems to be giving you a lot of problems. Can you not do anything about it?Surely you can seek redress from somewhere to help you tackle with your problems.

A question to all. What can we as home-owners do when our contractors are not doing a good job? Can we not pay them? Is there any governing body that can help us? What about CASE or RADAC? Or do we suffer in silence?

nolar not tat serious..

I & my ID can works things out...tats the BEST..

after all his not a bad person..I would say.

sigh.. jus tat along the progress....

anyway jus had a hard quarrel with my hb yesterday..

cuz ID take photo without asking my permission moreover all design by my hb..

my hb are the one who mostly help out in all rectification works and save the whole situation..

too bad if he still dun appreciate..

floral..seriously..i am quite worried after hearing out your story..mine is at the initial stage of reno..except for the wrong skirting..so far so good...but i forseen more hiccups as more things coming up cos i dun think my id dun really communicate with us a lot. He just do his style and expect us to LIKE it! Now i m pushing him for prospective drawing..which he have no show us till i keep pestering him.Haiz..No doubt..my hubby quite click with my id..personally..i dun quite the way my id do things.I agree with floral tat my id personality olso quite good..but just tat i cannot agree wif his style of work ba. So now i am playing the bad person in this whole reno..and my hubby us the good one. I think this is important..cos they will tends to bully us if we are not fierce enuf..tot we are very easy and if both of us all very soft spoken..then jia lak liao lor..they CHI DING us lor! Now i just keep my finger cross and hope everything went on fine...

yalor.. kind person always kena bullied....

but nevermind god know, justice in heaven..

all we wan jus a nice home to stay in,wat more can we ask right. twinkle Star..

u better get ur ID to come out precise drawing & material use b4 he start his carpentry hor..

mus keep on reminding & reminding them one...

cuz i think one ID take alot of projects.

disapointment..

yesterday the crucial progress my ID whole day not at site..

My hb himself alone need to coordinate 5-6depts

Plumber,Carpenter,CityGas & etc

PHEW

Floral..i think your id quite bad lei..in my opinion lar...how come your hubby need to do the coordination work himself?shldn't your id do the coordination for you all ma? He is paid for the coordination work isn't it? If your hubby need to do coordination himself, i think you can must well engaged a contractor..no need to engaged him-id liao!We engaged id becos we wanna save the hassle of going thru all the coordination work ma..isn't it? I think you have the right to ask him to be there to do every coordination lor.........other people paying him..you olso paying him lei..how come he attend to other people more than you??? ever think of tat??? isn't it rather unfair?
For my case..ya...my id do all the coordination work for us lor..i only visit my house once a week to make sure everything is in order.For the drawing..i keep rushing him and rushing him.......he keep saying things are more or less confirm liao..no need to hurry!Still at the early stage!WHAT EARLY STAGE? my wetwork, flooring for living and kitchen done. I saw their contractors bringing some plaster board over liao..means they are starting the electricity work and ceiling liao..STILL EARLY STAGE?????????????!! Then finally..yesterday..when we meet him to go and choose lightings...he show us the drawings....like usual..he just SHOW us only..ok?? he didn't even sit down and discuss if we like or not!!!he only ask me if i like the laminate colour tat he choose..i told him NO..he say if got time time we discuss abt it......again!! DRAG!!i ask him if can meet this weekend to choose laminate for kitchen as well as the laminate color..as i dun like what he proposed...he say this week cannot..next week lor!! haiz..drag again!!

hey twinkle Star.

you pay the $$$ and your the owner, you mus choose wat u like not the ID pull our nose away..

seems like all their ID working style rather alike ya.

they always like to take things for granted ya.. we owner trying out best to prevent hiccups why cant they.. think rectifying is fun isit. so tiring..

like wat u say earlier once hiccup the trust is no longer there esp when urs is jus the beginning ya stage

wa twinkle star i think u better demand to change a the person from company, b4 things actually started he already give u a hard time in terms of communication.or giving u attitude.

U must remember..critical communication needed when work are in progress.

especially when hicups happen.

solar..i have enable my PM.
My work is the process now..will it be more ruan if i suddenly change an id now? I did told my hubby abt my unhappiness abt the id. My hubby say tat give my id a chance lor...dun condemn him becos he made 1 or 2 mistakes.But i already have such a bad impression of him lor..sad to say tat. Maybe my hubby is more ching chai kind of person lor and dun look into details lor..as long as the floor is lay..the lights is up..can liao lor..where else for me..i am more particular lor!!Haiz..beside my work stress..now I have to worry abt whats the hiccups tats going surface next.....haiz...

my hubby doing the layout for the design , brainstorming with the carpenter, and measure here measure there to ensure everything fix in swee sweee..

And, End Result, ID jus take Picture without Owner Permission!!! which the design doesn't belong to him

hi twinkle we too think like ur hubby, nevermind lar, mistake one or two is ok til its really get into our nerves. really rediculars hiccups keep happening..

earlier you was talking bout ur skirting ya, we too have our skirting problem..

the skirting was place there & lay nicely when carpenter come take measurement for shelving, but Later ID instructed to take out, when carpenter comes with shelving its already with skirting hole on it BUT the skirting wasn't there anymore ???? phew !

Moreover we paid for the original skirting separately.

indeed all the rectification idea s*cks

even about the divider, unable to flash with the solid top the gap is 3cm, he too using some kind of white cement to cover them up.. and the divider sticking out, end result really look horrible and refuse to rectify further and if need to rectify further oso at owner own cost.

how can they treat owner house like S*cks, any O how rectify and expect owner to accept.