Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

princessxiaomei

joyce, when is your AD? You are taking the gold theme.. which is those with the candles??? did you go to the wedding show? I'm quite surprised with the way they do this wedding show. It's unlike other hotels. I don't really get to see the wedding favours etc. I can't visualise the one with white roses.. i like the pink one but i find it hard to match with my EG..

bearyblur

hey hey, i also went to the wedding show.

I like the pink theme (sweet submit??).. very nice.. will be using that for my wedding end this year..keke

princess, ya agree with you that the wedding show for this year is very different as compare to last year wedding show. Like something lacking like that.. Maybe to save cost??

As for their wedding favours, you can check with you coordinator to let you have a look.. Tink is inside one of their room where they display all their wedding stuff there.

princessxiaomei

i also dnw all 3 themes call wad.. i tried snapping photos but end up the ppl there ask me to stop.. like that how i show my in laws and parents the layout.. and how i choose my EG.. so fed up... i took photos at other hotels also not a problem.. dnw why they dont let us take.. grrr...

Anyway, your AD is end of the year but you using 2008 themes? So that means i can use 2009 themes for my sept 2008 wedding?? =D

I just dont get it why they don't allow us to take photos... everyone is taking at other hotels too... and yet they never update they website.. grr.. kinda angry loh...

Any idea what is the maximum number of tables the ballroom can hold?

sensech

Hi all, I think Marriot ballroom can accomodate more than 40 tables easily. I had 41 tables and there was still reasonable space in between the tables for us to move ard easily. In fact, I was told the minimum number of tables was 30 for a weekend that time. And I dont remember there is any pillar... *scratch head*

Perhaps the ballroom looks small becoz of the layout. It is not long like some other ballrooms. It is wide so maybe that's why it appears to be small?

Yes, Marriott can hold max of 50 tables.

There is indeed a pillar at the side of the ballroom and the ceiling is also lower at the front of the ballroom.

But even though there is a pillar, but no view will be block at all coz it is really at the side and it is also at the back of the room.

princessxiaomei

hmmm... that time they mention they renovate the ballroom right.. what did they do actually? the ceiling indeed quite low at the back but i think should be ok right? Sigh. During Wedding Show hb was asking , how come the ceiling so low we never notice. If i tell him there's a pillar, he gonna humtam me. LoLs.

bearyblur

hmm, i tink the entrance portion of the ceiling is lower as compare to the ceiling ard the stage area.

But i tink the guest will not notice that much on the acutal day.. they will be busy chit chatting ..

bearyblur

haha, i guess so..believe the guest will be busy looking at the the 'zhu jiao' that day..haha

well ladies, if you are a Marriott BTB, just enjoy during the actual day and have faith with Marriott..I believe we have 'done' our research already and that is why we finally choose this venue to have our wedding there...

pr1s

hi ... i'm considering to have my wedding at marriott too ... i went down to see the ballroom with the wedding setting and found it too simple, not sure whether coz of the theme chosen or wat. anyone has any advice on the decor?

regarding capacity, they have up to 50 tables but more than 45 will have possibility to be blocked by the 2 pillars at the side

however, those 2 pillars are really close to the side walls so actually i thought there shouldn't be any problem at all. as for ceiling, it is only low at the entrance part near entrance door, but i found it ok for the dining area and stage

btw, anyone tried their food yet? i would really appreciate some comments

purpledropz

Hi ladies, I had my ROM & AD last Sat at Marriott. Great service from their wedding teams to create a beautiful & terrific wedding day for us. It was memorable & fantastic. All the events went on smoothly. Nice setting. I loved their junior suite. Very nice & spacious

Regarding food, my guest feedback the sharkfin wasn't nice. Too starchy. Tat's wat we feedback before food tasting cos my aunt had attended a wedding at Marriott jus before. During food tasting, the sharkfin soup was really good. But it's definitely different on the AD. Too bad it happened the same way

Nevertheless, generally we're very happy to choose Marriott & I'll like to comment Charlene & Moe for their great effort & excellent service. They're very friendly & helpful in many ways. We're very comfortable with them. Moe was our banquet coordinator, a very nice man, who gave us lotsa guidance & assistance during the ROM & banquet. Many thanks to them

To all the couple with Marriott, I hope you'll enjoy the moments & all the very best to your special day! Cheers

due to charlene great service, its no doubt she got promoted to deputy sales & catering manager.
she was just an executive in feb 07.

elitegal

wow..that's great news!

i will surely congratulate her when i see her next time round! =P

for food-tasting, mine is in 1st week of nov. will definitely share with all on how the food is..=P

pr1s

momo .... was ur ROM in the ballroom? would you mind to share some pics? thanks in advance ...

great to hear that some of you will be going for food tasting ... will look forward to ur comments

purpledropz

Hi pinky, I had my ROM & tea ceremony in their function room. It was a nice place & I like it tat way. Waiting for pics from my PG & will let u know again ya

lyndx

hi all, just had my food tasting on sunday. the food was good and i sure hope on AD, the food will be just as good! the chef came out after all dishes were served and he committed that on AD standard will be the same! the fish with yellow bean paste, the wan hao chicken and the yee fu noodles were very good.

bearyblur

hey lyndx,

that is good..

but prephas u have to tell the chef to take 'extra' care for the sharkfin soup. Cos i heard many comments that usually the sharkfin soup is very starchy on the AD.

Btw, which dessert did you intend to take for you AD??

wow all the food thing make me hungry..haha

princessxiaomei

*drooling*

By the way, i got a few menus in july this year for dinner in 2008. But during the wedding show, another few sets of menus were implemented for dinner in 2008. So, which do we follow????? The food ain't the same loh...

praisey

Any btb here considering luncheon? I am meeting one of the wedding planners next monday. Do share some experience if you are. Keen in the pool side ROM too, dunno can waivie bo...

bearyblur

princess, so good arh.. got new menus for 2008..

haiz.. me only can use the existing one.. no choice for me.

Photek, alternatively you can try to call Marriott to ask for a 2008 quotation. They will gladly assist you in this.

sensech

Wow, I didnt know Charlene got promoted liao! When I had my AD in March this year, she was still an executive. But she was really good and service-oriented. Must send her an email to congratulate

I think it's quite common that food during food tasting is good but not so fantastic on AD coz after all, it is different quantity and they hv to take into consideration timing as well. Esp when it comes to serving of the fish, it has to be coordinated nicely with your 2nd march-in or else it will not be too cold.

i think during foood tasting, its nice cos its cook in small quantity. but for actual day, its huge quantity..so quality not as good.
then on actual day is cook under pressure cos got time constraint.

kriskris

Met up with their wedding coordinator today. Their package seems like a good and comprehensive deal. Need visit few more hotels before i make my decision...

I have went for my food tasting last saturday.
find that most of their dishes are too salty.especially their shark's fin & fish maw soup, and jelly fish.

their Wan Hao chicken is nice.
Fish is super fresh. well done.
Yee Fu noodle is good.
Dumplings is good, not too sweet.

overall is ok. presentation is nice... serving, just nice.

lyndx

hi bearyblur,i'll be having yam paste for dessert. heard that Wan Hao is catonese restaurant so maybe for such teochew dessrts, the standard may not be as good as other restaurants. but it turned out better than we expected so we were quite pleased =)

bearyblur

hey lyndx,

ya lor i actually also wanted yam paste one. but my mum say canto rest yam paste not nice. so ended up choose mango pudding. but seeing u saying is good.. hmm maybe i thought of changing to yam paste too..haha

hey Cynthia,

the serving is it enuff for 10 pax? will you feel full? I scare not enuff to make the guest full.

lyndx

bearyblur, if u all fine with mango pudding can go ahead also. heard from charlene that it's like their one of the most popular desserts. but my family's teochew and we like yam paste so went ahead with it. it's not watery like some hotels and not too limpy. coconut milk just nice as well and the yam paste not have a layer of oil clearly visible on top.. at least my family and i like it ah =)

bearyblur

cynthia, i see. now worried the food not enuff for 10 pax.. haha all my guest big eater la.

lyndx, i see. i check with my coordinator to see what she recommend...or better still see can have mixed dessert to try.. hee hee.. thanks!

elitegal

i have just went for my food-tasting session in the noon.=)

so far, most of their dishes taste just right; not too salty or bland. hence, i hope they would maintain the same standard for my AD.=)

the portion is good enuff..in fact, most of us skipped dinner after that, cos we felt too full! =P

princessxiaomei

Just checking if anyone of you remembers what color is the carpet at MArriott ballroom?? =) My designer was asking so that i won't blend in with the carpet or table cloth... hahaa... anyone happen to remember or have photos of it?? haha.. thanks...

and are the table cloth RED?

the carpet is bright red...quite striking.
but i dun think you will standout but you blend into the environment...not advisable.

princessxiaomei

[bearyblur]
You gonna have red EG? Won't you blend in with the environment? My first intention is to get red but i think now i have to change. MAybe shocking pink. =)

[cynthia]
I wonder which theme is nice. I like the pink theme but if i get pink EG then i cannot get the pink theme. The white theme is ok but those standee at the aisle looks wierd though. headache~

hi princess,
i think the white theme you refer to is the crystal d'more..(something like that).
i just find the deco a bit too white and my old folks my not like it.

but u can get the vineyard affair..red color.

princessxiaomei

[cynthia]
I also think so... too white but the coordinators mentioned it's fine as there are lightings... i doubt for next year sept wedding there will be vineyard affair...