Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

phy_o

Hi Rainz,

I think for Oriental Charm, instead of small candles in the RR theme, it's the long candlesticks with flowers. I think one of the Marriott brides Irene did use it.

I'm giong down on Monday for food tasting. Now coughing like a fish and sniffing. Feeling so sick. Sigh ...

yzml21

Hu phy
Hmm..I better go take a look at Irene pics then. Wow..have u selected yr dishes? Is yrs the wkend or wk day package? My wedding is 1 mth away...getting stressed liao...Arrrgh...
Better drink more Water and rest more ya. U tried Clarinase? Its suppose to clear the nose without drowziness. But make sure you have not allergic to it ya

hwee_pheng

anyone knows if the minimum tables can be negotiated? really want to have banquet in marriott, but 2007 weekend min tables is like, 38 (they lowered from the first quoted 40 minimum)??!

Puppy, i agree with you that they are slow. my fiance mailed them last weekend and no reply. i called them on friday morning and they promised to email me the package but they have not. quite frustrating!!

phy_o

Hi Rainz,

Me already selected my menu long ago when I went to meet my coordinator b4 she left. Today I'm going to food taste. Will tell you the outcome later.

With wedding coming so close, really stressed. Somemore there's a lot of work to do too.

Drowned myself with cough mixture bought from the dispensary since no time to see doc this weekend as I was on the election duty. Then dug for pills for my nose. Went to my new house to clean the kitchen cabinets and put plastic sheets. So tiring. Forgot to being measuring tape so got to take out the shelves and measure one by one.

Haven't sent out the wedding instructions. Heard my AD is a hot date. Intend to send out all cards by this weekend. Need to clean floor this coming sat and bring in the fridge and dining table. SO many things to do.

Sorry I'm complaining. Just so stressed as FH flying this Tue for overseas work attachment till June.

kitty_li

Hi Pengpeng,

Wow, they lowered the min!! that's good! 40 is like wah.....quite high lorh. But since they already lowered...dunno how flexible they are in negotiating that...

They are prob a bit busy as there are several weddings in May, and a coordinator is leaving...yah, my coordinator is leaving...so sad. I like her a lot...

Phy,
how was election duty? had to stay until 1am?? Relax, relax...You can do it!
If you stay calm and relaxed, you'll be able to get more things done too.

twinstarz

hey pengpeng & puppy! i have the 2007 marriot price list. i dropped them an email earlier this yr and got it from 1 of the coordinator. if u are interested, drop me a mail at [email protected] so i can fwd it to u yah.

hey rainz! im interested in the vineyard theme too. do u have any pics?

yzml21

Hi twinstarz
Sorry I have pic but in my HP but my cable is not working so unable to download the pics. Will try borrow the cable fm my friend and insert the pics here.

Phy
Yr coordinator is Angela ah? If yes, we same fate...I also like her a lotz. So sad, I am trying to confirm everything before she leaves so at least there won't be any mis-communication or cork up wz the new person.

I thought of using the Vineyard theme along the aisle with RR theme but according to my coordinator, she say not v nice..hiazz...think worse come to worse, I just chg to Vineyard theme.

phy_o

Hi Rainz,

No la, my coordinator used to be Stephine. She has left already. So I settled a lot of stuff already, except for hotel tables arrangement.

monkeyjay

Oh shocked to hear that Angela is leaving. When? My AD is in Nov, dun think i can settle much with the new coordinator. Agree that she's a nice person but quite strict on certain items.

yzml21

Hi phy
wow so many of them leaving ah...wonder why. Prob being head hunted by others hotels..hee.

Hi Jay Leong
Oh you find Angela strict ah..hee..tot she seems ok to me maybe I didn't squeeze her enuff :p Think the person who replace her is Doris. Hope she is nice too.

kitty_li

Hey Jay,

my AD is also in Nov, so can't do anything. Just gotta wait till someone else takes over our file from Angela, then can start to "settle" anything regarding the banquet. Also abt there lah...it's usually 3 mths before banquet then the coord will call to start making appointments to settle stuff...

monkeyjay

i received Angela call last week but never ans, dunno why she call me for. i think maybe she wants to chase me for more money before she leave.. hehe.. till date i only pay $2k .. bo bian wedding very poor..

hwee_pheng

CSI, they quoted me 40 at first. then the person automatically told me "actually we are quite flexible. we can lower to min 37 for you" hahaha.. but then, they have NOT mailed me anything yet. so bad!

twinstar, you've got mail!

yzml21

hi CSI
Think they are quite flexible on certain months when its not peak period and if its on wk day also IF you did not book like 1 yr in advance. For me I book like 7 mths in advance and I told them I only have 25 tables and they are ok with it. I find their service v good. (so far )^^.

Hi pengpeng
Guess there are many wedding these 2 mths. Prob u can call them again and higjlight to them u made 2 calls on yr enquiry but sill no news yet. Prob they will reply u asap..hee...

esther_lim

Can anyone share with mi for those in the midst of selecting their themes. For the themes we choose, some are using fresh flowers. For the flowers, can we choose wat flowers we want or the co-ordinators help us to choose n decide???
Thanks!!!

little_puppy

Hi Peng Peng, I have not received any package yet. Have you received? How much is it per table?

Can anyone advise, how many ballrooms do Marriott has? What is the minimum requirement? How many coordinators do they have? Any coordinator to recommend?

twinstarz

hi peng peng! will fwd u the price list tonite..something wrong w my crazy comp last nite.

hey little puppy, i have the price list for 2007 marriot. send me ur email add? i will fwd it to u tonite as well? think marriott has only 1 main ballrm rite?

im hoping to get some good recommendation of their cooridnators also...anybody can advise? =)

kitty_li

yap, Marriott has only 1 ballroom. The rest are function rooms. I've been to company briefings where they partition the ballroom, but I don't think they do that for weddings...so it's only 1 ballroom.

all their coordinators are good...
I guess, at this point, only Yiwen is left. Stephanie has left, Angela is leaving (consider as left also lah, coz her last day is like...soon)
, so I dun think most of us would have much experience with the new coordinators. So, my guess is, we can only "recommend" all the coordinators there or Yiwen.

phy_o

Hi esther,

Your coordinator will show you photos. They use fresh flowers except for the ones on the stage.

So a lot is up to you.

phy_o

I've chosen dark gold for my VIP tables. I think it goes with my vineyard theme.

As for the other tables, I chose green organza. Any comments on that? Can't remember how the green organza look like.

little_puppy

Hi Phy_o,

Does the ballroom has high ceiling? Are there any pillars? How many theme decorations do they have? Do you have any wedding photos to show?

Hi Peng Peng,

I have dropped you an email. Please send the wedding package to me. Thank you...

kitty_li

hi little puppy,

If you scroll through the archives, there are some photos of some themes there. They have 4 themes. Why don't you go down tmrw to take a look? There's a wedding on over there tmrw. I'm not sure what theme it will be.

esther_lim

Hi Phy_o,

thanks but are all the fresh flowers using roses or other flowers?? For the green organza for normal table, it is like apple green more to lighter green. Mine AD is june 06. When urs? Saw the vineyard setup tink last wk quite nice especially the cast iron stands along the aisle, it is much more bigger compared to other themes which is quite tiny.

yzml21

hi phy
I will prob opt for vineyard theme too. Do you think it look weird if I stick to RR theme for the rest of the tables? VIP - Maroon red and normal tables brownish red? I just afriad the green will look like Malay wedding which some of my colleages commented. Any advice?

phy_o

Hi esther,

My AD is in june too. 24 June.
I think I will meet my cooridnator one more time to look at the organza when I pay my $2k deposit.

Hi Rainz,

Is there a RR theme for the tables? What do you mean? The candles huh? That one got no theme ma, just choose which one you prefer that's all. Green look like Malay ... Hmmm ... I will look at it again and decide. Cos now change theme. I'm choosing gold for VIP. I think your Maroon red is all right. I didn't really like the brownish red at that time cos the theme was RR, already so red, so I didn't take it. Now with a diff theme, just think again.

celestial_star

Hi all btb,

I'm a newbie around here. Thinking of holding my AD at Wan Hao Resturant in Oct '06 but haven't fully decided on the venue yet. Totally stressed out! I only intend to have a small cozy party with max of 8 tables. Not too sure whether they cater for such a small wedding and what the prices are like... Anyone got any suggestions/ideas to share?

yzml21

Hi phy
ya now that I decide to chg the theme, I not sure if I should chg the table cloth colour too. Prob I think I will go meet up wz the new coordinator and choose again..hiazz...so troublesome. My hubby sure think I nothing to do..hahahah.

hi celestial
I find Wah Hao a bit too small to hold 8 tables. I rem when I went for the food tasting, there weren't many big tables prob U wan to check. The ambience a bit too cozy and private for wedding events...hmm dun get me wrong, not say not good but prob some relatives or friends wanna have fun will tend to be a bit rowdy so find may not be suitable. That's my personal opinion. I heard some of my gf saying some hotels do cater for 8 tables but it will be custom made price liao instead of the normal table price so may be a bit more pricy.

I do have a nice place to recommend. Its called Peony Jade at Clarke Quay. The setting is v fusion and heard they serve v good food, think Sichuan Cantonese food. They are facing the Singapore River too so nice ambience as well Here's the web site. www.peony-jade.com. Hope this may be of help to you.

phy_o

Same here Rainz,

I will have to go down again too. I was not happy with my dessert tasting, got to go down anyway. Hubby told me to settle it. Haha ... Men are all alike!

Celestial,

My fren had 10 tables at Ritz Carlton. You can check it out over there. I know Sheraton also caters to a smaller no. Can't remember how many already.

little_puppy

Hi CSI & Phy_o, thank you for your info. Unable to go down, currently in oversea. But have seen some of the decors in the archives. The decor very simple, looks quite empty. Who is their florist?

peaches

hello all btbs...

i'm rather new here...joined becaused my coordinator Yiwen called yesterday to inform that she will be leaving..i am so sad!! read from the previous threads that many of the team has also left...really wonder if the new person will be as good as yiwen. does anyone know any of the coordinators there now? do you think we can request??? please help really don't wish for any mishap on my big day

kitty_li

*gasps* Yiwen is also leaving? That's maciam the whole team like that...Stefanie, then Angela, now Yiwen...so who's left? Their boss...Debbie.

Wow....the economy must really be picking up fast, that they left soon, one after the other.

Sorry Cloudno.9, can't answer your question, coz I only know those 3 coordinators, all whom have left / are leaving. Have absolutely no idea who are the other coordinators liaoz...When's your AD?

peaches

hi CSI...

My AD is in September 06.

and it's true Yiwen will be leaving too.
she said her last day will be end of this month..which is really soon too! she mentioned that there will be a new girl called Alicia taking over my file.although Yiwen says she's also experienced..i still don't feel very comfortable...personally i signed up with Marriott partially because of her great service and we could click...now i understand how the rest who "lost" their wedding co-ordintaors feel as well!

phy_o

Wow, really the whole team leaving?

Gosh! My coordinator has been changed to Charlene. She seems to be on course most of the time.

I went to see the vineyard theme. More things than the RR theme. Took some photos but not too good cos the lighting was horrible. Will post up soon!

kitty_li

eh Phy_o,

if the lighting was horrible when you tried to take shots of Vineyard theme, how would the couple's (the one using that Vineyard that day) PG take it then? And if we were to opt for Vineyard, would our lighting be as "horrible" too? For photos, I mean...I'm sure the lighting is quite romantic.

yzml21

Hi phy
Have to chosen yr normal table setting colour? Still sticking to Green Organza? I supposed to meet Debbie and Angela last Wed but due to last min changes, can't meet them. Now I only left with like 3 wks to my AD. My gf who had their wedding last 2 yrs back also used Vineyard theme but opted for white table cloth for normal table. And I thought green is nice except not sure if it will look like Malay wedding. I am so loss. I dun think I will have time to go down see the real setting. So I just check around here. Any other brides choosing Vineyard theme can give advise?

phy_o

Hey CSI,

Lighting horrible cos banquet have not started ma. So basically no lights ma. That's why cannot compare to when there are guests and all.

Hi Rainz,

My FH and I are requesting to see how the setup will look like with green organza for normal tables before confirming. You can email Angela to request for that too. My coordinator won't be around till 25 May, so I got to wait for her reply.

I'm still quite keen on green, something different, but really scared later it turns out like Malay wedding la. Also cannot take red organza cos my evening gown is pink. Later I look like the table cloth. White is too common. Besides, vineyard theme is like garden, so the tables look like the garden so i tot not too bad a combination.

You email your coordinator and let me know when. Maybe we can go down and see together!

peaches

Hi CSI,

Angela has left already.today i heard that Michelle is also leaving.so i think practically there is gonna be a change of the whole team...

kitty_li

hi cloudno.9,
yah, that's what I thought...Angela told me her last day is 17th...so when RainZ and Phy_o mentioned her, I was a bit confused lorh...heehee...

phy_o

Hey Rainz,

I went through my multiply photos and noticed that the RR theme I took was using red organza table cloth. Not bad.

dera

Hi.. ladies,

i've signed up with marriott for wedding lunch this year... i remembered angela told me that food tasting is chargable at $48 per table for 6pax... i dun think i heard wrongly. but now angela has left, no one can verify that. so wonder if anyone of u know hz much for food tasting? thx much

cutie_gal

I've booked with Marriot too!Like their ballroom and heard the food is not bad. My friend told me the guest like the desserts a lot. Hee...
Can share with me is there anything I should take note of and which theme are u gals choosing?

yzml21

Hi phy
ya agree think we should how it looks like in the real setting. But u know after my coordinator left, I find so difficult to get help. I even called and asked them to check out somethings but till now still no news. I called a while ago and someone say will ask someone to call me back.

I feel my coordinator now not v friendly leh, not v approachable type. Hiazzz....worry worry....

peaches

Hi Rainz..

I experienced the same thing too!i think they are really pretty short handed now...yesterday i called Michelle to send me the photographs to the themes..but have not received till now...rather worried that new coord will not be efficient as yiwen...sigh....

peaches

hi cutie gal,

Yup my coord is Yiwen. Agree that is is very nice and very accomodating!! she informed that a new girl Alicia will be taking over...still waiting to hear from her and see how she's like...hopefully she'll be as nice....

anyway Yiwen has not informed you that she's going?? think she's going down the list....my AD in Sep...when is yours?