Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

iceblink

hi phy,
can't remember whether they continued playing the 2nd march-in music for mine
but most likely they did unless you tell them otherwise.

happywifey

i jus had my wedding at marriott last month, and was reading the thread about how so many of the coordinators were leaving.. just want to let you know that the person coordinating the banquet on actual day itself will not be the person that you have been liaising with, so u dun hv to worry so much. my banquet coordinator on the day itself was excellent! her name is jasmine. even my wedding planner commented that she is one of the best he has worked with!

kitty_li

banquet coordinator is different from wedding sales coordinator....

banquet coordinator is usually the banquet mgr, coz they more familiar with banquet-related stuff. wedding sales coordinator (the one we've been liaising with), will usually hand us over to banquet mgr...

phy_o

I've clarified with Marriott. Went down for mango pudding tasting yesterday. Very nice!!!!

Ok, anyway, for the music, she told me is the same. As for the payment, it's by per table actually.

Yesterday the wedding theme was vneyard. Very pretty! So nice!
I'm glad I chose vineyard!

phy_o

Excited and stressed. A lot of things I realised not settled. Forgot to book the church for church rehearsal. Last min change date to this Friday. Also good, get it over and done with. Then Sun gown fitting and Guo Da Li. Will have to stay busy till next week. Wish I can just rest man!

twinstarz

hey verie, its 828nett for wkday (8 course). there's a seperate pricing for the 9 course one which i can't recall offhand (should be abt 900+). i hv the price list if u want it.

hey chick77! sorry i din see ur msg till now! do u still wan the price list? or hv u gotten it from marriott already? apologies for the oversight yah.

hey phy! i took a peek at ur pics! coz marriott did not hv the vineyard theme during the bridal show last wkend. im kinda keen on that theme so ur pics really help. just wanted to check, which colour did u use for ur vip tables n the remaining tables? was wondering if the red looks ok with the vineyard theme.

kitty_li

phy!! enjoy singlehood while you can! hahahahaha....

The rest of the stuff....try to not worry too much. They'll sort themselves out. (hmmm, think I need you to tell me that when it's my turn....)

At least it's sch hols now....

twinstarz

hey babyfluff! graceful image BS is hving a show on 25/06 at Marina Madarin. $40/ couple ($30 for UOB card holder) dunno if it means marina madarin will feature their themes? should be rite? heh, me blur...u still sourcing ard for venue?

cutie_gal

Hi Phy,

U mentioned tat u saw the Vineyard theme tat day? R they still display the theme at the ballrm? Or so happen that there's a dinner tat day? Cos me interested to c the setup as well.

Thxs!

redpinkroses

Hi, I'm just popping by cos I attended a wedding at the Marriott Hotel recently and I hope my comments might be helpful to you Marriott brides-to-be.

1) The wait staff rushed us through from dish to dish. I understand that there's a schedule, but the food had barely been distributed, when he returned to ask if he could set aside the rest of the food or give anyone seconds The waiter even tried to take away my bowl before I was done.
2) I sat through one entire course in darkness cos that's when the couple did the screening of their video. When the lights came back on, we all had to adjust our eyes to the light. It's really not necessary for the lights to be so dim. Similarly, the lights were too dim for the couple's march-in. And whenever the emcee spoke. I'm not sure who makes the decision on lighting, but if it's the hotel's technical crew, you might want to take this into consideration. I felt quite irritated after a while cos the lights kept being dimmed.
3) The shark's fin soup was bland and tasted a little funny, cos there was a mix of other seafood in there, and to me, it didn't go well - if I remember correctly, there was sea cucumber and other stuff. The fish was over cooked (although that's usual for wedding dinners). And the "tang yuen" was hard and not very nice. The stand out item was the Wan Hao crispy chicken - good!

What the hotel did well - nicely decorated foyer area. It's nice that the railings had ribbons draped on them all the way to the other side of the escalator. Nice stage decor, using floral stands and candles. Also, wait staff were generally polite and helpful. It's a cosy good sized ballroom for 30 tables.

Hope this helps someone

baby_fluff

Hi Twinstarz,

Me still debating between Marriot & Oriental...as for BS, I have placed a deposit wif AL already...both my bf and I were very pleased with her as she is really professional and nice.

There has been some changes to my AD...We may plan to ROM first before AD due to the fact that our auspicious dates are either too early or too late for us...there isn't any one date that is right in the middle of next year!! *sigh*

phy_o

Hi cutie gal,

A lot to do. Really stressful esp if u're shifting house at the same time. Got some tables with empty slots. Parents-in-law dun want to fill them as no one suitable to put with. Sian...

kitty_li

hey Baby Fluff...AL as in ALW?
Me too!! Love her designs....until I'm so spoilt for choice that i'm having a headache trying to settle on design and colour for EG....haiz.

Phy, that's how it is...can't be helped. maybe put the cousins in between? I know my cousin did that to us when she got married. she made sure she put at least 2 cousins to fill up the empty seats at each table, so we won't feel lonely. Yeah, we didn't like it, but ok lah, can understand...

cutie_gal

Hi Phy,

I understand hw u feel even thou I hv nt reach the stage yet, cos I hv seen my bro doing it. Reali shack...
Jus move the necessary things over to ur new hse first, the rest wait till aft ur wedding ba.
U may be feeling stress n tired, but when u recall later, it seems fun rite? Hee...Take Care

baby_fluff

Hiya CSI Fan, AL as in Amanda Lee from Amanada Lee Weddings (ALW)...heehe...when is ur AD?? For me, I think I am gg to haf to change it to Oct 07 instead of my originally planned April 07. *sigh*

Wat kinda EG r u looking at?? Something flamboyant? or something sweet? or something sexy?? I am gg for the sweet look...For the materials wise, I am gg for duchess satin & some of their Shandong Silk..Do check them out..very nice materials..lolx =)

yzml21

I had my wedding dinner last wk and sadly I wasn't pleased with quite a few things, hopefully this will serve a reminder to all of u.

1. We weren't being welcome by our coordinators during check in (thought this was the usual practise) and also thru out the day, no phone call to check on us.
2. I specifically asked for Chamgange and Red Roses but there weren't a single red roses to be seen on that night (my hubby didn't realise that and told the Banquet Manager setting was ok, so pls inform yr hubby to check during the 5:30 briefing). Also, IF there weren't any red roses, why didn't anyone inform me?
3. Many guests feedback to me food was not v good. a. Shark Fins - starchy b. Fish and vegetables v blend.
4. There was no de-briefing the following day, only feedback form. I have to call the coordinator (Debbie) to feedback to her. Also manage to see her only happen that she will be at reception to adjust our billing.(if not I dun think I get to see her). I didn't make a big hoo ha that day but now thinking back, I thought I should! And she only apologies abt not having the red flower but I feel apology not v sincere and just feel their service recovery is not professional. Sigh!!

However I must say their front desk and Banquet Manager did a good job esp the Banquet Managers. They were v attentive to us and always informing and reminding us what to do. 5 mins before second march in, one waiter dropped a tray of glasses at the door but luckily the banquet manager quickly and swiftly gotten many helpers to clear up just in time for our March In!! Phew!!

phy_o

Oh Rainz,

I hope you weren't very affected by the mistakes. Not sure if they are suppose to welcome you at the check in. Usually not I think. I checked in for my God-cousin's wedding before. No coordinator there. But that's another hotel la.

I agree with you that their service recovery doesn't sound very professional. Maybe it's because their whole team is new except for Charlene. Charlene took over from Stephine in April. I think the rest are like beginning of June. Even Debbie is new. Angela didn't quit, heard that she got a promotion to Assistant Director of Catering in another hotel. Michelle is leaving for further studies and Yiwen also another promotion I think. They kana "poached" la. Haha ... Let's hope their service would be back on track soon.

By the way, your hotel coordinator usually contacts the male or the female? Initially Stephine kept in touch with me. Now, my coordinator only calls my FH, if engaged I don't even get a call. Think I must feedback all these to them. How come suddenly change their services styles so drastically? That day when I went for my dessert tasting, I was quite upset that I didn't receive a call from Marriott/ my coordinator for a confirmation. Good thing she was around. At first I heard that she went home. Almost blew my top. When she arrived, she said she called my FH's no which was engaged. But she didn't call my number. I wonder why? Two hp numbers were written there. Not very pleased. Oh well, all the hiccups.

kitty_li

oh Rainz,

thanks for your feedback! Hope you weren't too affectedd by it. So far, the only hotels that I know that welcomes the bridal couple and stay with them throughout (really taking care of them) are Four Seasons and Raffles the Plaza. Of course, it will be very much nicer if Marriott's coordinators could do that for us too....

Strange Phy, that your coord only calls your FH. I mean, "Hello??" if the line is engaged, you just leave it and not do anything further? That is totally unacceptable to me manz. In any field or industry, that is totally not the way to do things...

phy_o

Precisely CSI Fan,

That's why I said I will feedback only after my wedding. Must go and write all these points one by one. Then I'll remember. So far the thing that displeases me most is her calling service to confirm appt.

I have also encountered some minor problems with my co-ordinator. I think she is still trying to adjust to the new environment so that's why I'm still pretty patient with her. First she called me and mistaken me as another lady. Secondly, I had no replies from her for my enquiries despite my reminder. However, she was able to give me the answer when I called her up to check on the same thing. I hope I'm not being too sensitve with all these little issues. I'm actually pretty worried since basically the whole team is so new. Sign...

Does anyone here has pic on vineyard theme to share ? Pls send to [email protected]. Thanks

phy_o

Hi Nancy,

Didn't know that you were a Marriott bride!
When I saw the first shot of your dinner photo I found it so familiar!

By the way, does anyone have any advise for the colours of the lights to use? I was told that I had to choose three lighting colours:

a) 1st March in
b) First Dish presentation
c) 2nd March in

Was thinking of:
a) - use purple light
b) - use multicolour light
c) - purple again? (no idea)

Any comments?

phy_o

Hi shermaine,

If you can wait, I'll show u mine a few weeks after my AD. Haha ... Will be using the vineyard theme. That is if you aren't in a hurry!

kohnancy

Hi Phy,

Yes, I was a Marriott bride. Got your contact through this forum also while I was trying to figure out what theme to use... hehe...

For the lighting, we didn't decide until the actual day. In fact, I dun even know is it my hubby made the decision or not. cos actual day was so blur for me.

kitty_li

Hi Nancy,

Thanks for sharing your pics. They are really lovely. You look really pretty...Love your train!!
Your PG is not bad...considering that Marriott's lighting is quite tricky, it is not easy to take table shots or stage shots without over exposing. I think your PG did a great job!

kitty_li

hey Phy,

are you getting posies for your bridesmaids? Coz I saw this at a wedding just over...instead of holding flowers, the bridesmaids carried the unity candle (1 held the couple's candles, the other held the unity candle), as they walked down the aisle in church...

phy_o

Hi CSI Fan,

My bridesmaid not carrying anything leh. Cos after she walks down the alsie then it's my turn then she has to take the bouquet from me. So we both agreed better to free her hands so that she can help me la.

Unity Candles and couple candles will be given to the altar servers before mass, that's what the wedding couple told us.

Anyway, my bridesmaid gown is a statement by itself. Haha ... no need posies.

phy_o

Hi Nancy,

Wow ... I'm glad my photos on my multiply helped you.

By the way, can you ask your hubby what lightings did you choose? I'd like some reference before confirming my decisions.

esther_lim

Hi Nancy,

Care to share ur AD pics with mi !!!! My email is [email protected]. I also juz have my wedding dnr at marriott last fri. Pics have not upload yet. Will share with all marriott brides when I receive my AD pics. My theme is a mixture of RR and oriental charm.

esther_lim

Hi babybaby1007,

Sure will share the my AD pics when it is ready!!! The dnr was quite ok. The co-ordinator is always prompt to help you out thru the dnr. My colleagues even told mi they need not request the waiters to serve them drinks, they are prompt enough to serve them once they have already finish their drinks. But the lighting for the march-in is quite dim and the smoke machine is slow as well. Some told us the shark fins is abit starchy. Tink during the meetup wif the banquet manager is important, you need to test ur montage, oversee everything like decoration is it correct!! Tink need to ask ur hubby to oversee all these coz for mine case I was all the way at the hotel room doing my makeup till evening time.

Yup, think the usual complaint is that the shark's fin are too starchy. When I attended my fren's wedding last year, the same thing, too starchy! think will have to remind them again during food tasting.

kitty_li

Hi Phy,

ooohhhh....I can't wait to see your bridesmaid's dress...hehs...

yah, the candles are usually given to the alter servers, but I guess you can always request for things to be done differently if you wish, as long as it's not a big issue.

So exciting huh...it's next week! heehee...

Hi babybaby, esther....
Oohh, the shark's fin is starchy ah....ok, will take that in mind. But even if we tell them abt it, it's mass production. Can't g'tee that all the tables will be good. Frens also may be "pai sey" to feedback to you till a much later date...haiz. But at least we tell them, better than not doing anything.

twinstarz

hey nancy, hope i can still catch u here. do share ur pics w me too? [email protected]

hi esther, do share ur AD pics w me too when its ready?? thanx in advance! =)

hey phy! rest well n all the best for ur AD next sat!! =)

esther_lim

Hi Nancy,

Thxs alot!! for sharing ur pics wif mi. Will share my pics as well when I get it.

Hi twinstarz,
Yap sure will share my pics when I get it with all marriott brides. My theme is a mixture of RR and oriental charm.