Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

augustina

i hv finish my food tasting at marriott last week. the food portion for the cold disg is big. (hope they remain their standard on my wedding dinner) as the for "wan hao" chicken, it is crispy and yummy!! will recommend Mariott brides to e , dun remove this dish!!

as for their service, dun worry. they give great service. cos my mum is a vegetrian. when she goes for food tasting, i m told tat i need to pay for her share cos vegetrian food is not cook in hse. but end up, mariott wavie off the charge. hee. not only this, they will call u up to follow how the food tasting goes. they do read ur comments lor.

kitty_li

hi gals!

wow, we've been quite quiet in here...hahaha.

Anyway, Gong Xi Fa Cai to all! Happy New Year!! May we all have a wonderful and prosperous year of the dog....

Last chance to collect ang pows already, so must go as much visiting as possible...heehee...everybody collect lots of ang pows ah....

Have fun!!

elmo_78

Happy Prosperous New Year to all too!

Good health, Good wealth, Good Fortune for all...

Btw, I just hv my dinner last Sat and it is a great one! Kudos to the Stephine, Christine for doing a gd job to our wedding dinner.

micong

heehee...guess every1's busy preparing for festive season n weddin...

Like CSI Fan said...muz prepare big bag to collect more angpows dis yr...coz most prob next yr muz start giving liao!!
Haiz...but i've already ROMed...dunno consider married anot. though i'm not prepared to give angpows dis yr...thk maybe i oso wun take anymore...wait my relatives say i already ROM/married still skin-thick thick, wana take angpows!!

Hi elmo...

CONGRATS!! Glad to hear everythg went nice n smooth for ur weddin...a load of ur mind now!! Hmmm...but does dat mean u have to start giving angpows dis CNY?

To all... Gong Xi Fa Cai, Bu Bu Gao Sheng
To those still studyin... Xue Ye Jing Bu
To those married liao... Zao Sheng Gui Zi (den next yr got baby help u to recover some angpows!! =p)

HAPPY DOGGY YR!!

kohnancy

Hi to all,

Happy New Year to all!!!

Even though I ROM liao, I still collect angpows for the last time. haha...relatives all joking...asking me to quickly 'sheng' so that next year can have baby to recover some angpows...interesting...

micong

Hi nancy...

Heehee...same here....my relatives oso quite nice...they still gave me angpows though i ROM liao...they say my last chance...better treasure!

my turn to go for food tastin soon...shld be end feb.

Hi elmo...dunno if u still in s'pore...maybe u honeymooning away liao... but if u see dis, can ask how u find the actual banquet? is the food portion as big as some said? coz i quite worried my guests "jia buay ba"!!

Hi Mic

The actual banquet should be enough, don't worry. Attended one last month and portion was just nice. in fact, when it came to the noodles, most people were too full to eat it!

micong

Heehee...

thanks babybaby...coz i went to 1 wed recently n we were underfed...scare the same thg happen to my wed too!

augustina

Happy chinese new year!!!

Same with me, even toug I hv ROM too, my relatives also give me ang bao. but after the customary wedding, i hv a line of cousins n newphews to give ang bao next yr...

Hi Mic,
dunno worry abt the food tasting. they will respond to ur comments.

silverpen

I'm thinking of taking up the wedding lunch package at Marriott. Was comparing the lunch menu to the dinner menu and it doesn't seem as fantastic as the dinner menu.

Has anyone tried the wedding lunch at Marriott? Is the food as good as the dinner? How about the portion? Same portion size as dinner or smaller?

Any feedback? THanks

Augustina,

Understand that you have already printed your inserts. Which card have you chosen ? If you have chosen the Oriental charm one, would you mind showing me your inserts so that I have an idea how I should print my inserts since the card is the bottom up type ? I'm thinking of printing in M'sia. Thanks

silverpen

Has anyone attended any wedding at Marriott with only about 20 tables? How does it look? Does it look bare or awkward? I know the ballroom can hold a max of 55 tables. The coordinator said normally they will put bigger tables to maximise the space so that won't look so empty.

Anyone had any experience before?

silverpen

Has anyone attended any wedding at Marriott with only about 20 tables? How does it look? Does it look bare or awkward? I know the ballroom can hold a max of 55 tables. The coordinator said normally they will put bigger tables to maximise the space so that won't look so empty. But I'm still worried that it might look bare.

Anyone had any experience before?

mist

hi silver,

i had my wedding at marriott in Nov 2004, with 20 tables. it looks okay. and they spread out the tables with sufficient spacing. yeap, they also gave me a bigger table, which can accomodate 12 pple, instead of 10. Guest were happen, cos not so cramp. and usually the VIP table and seats are bigger.

lingi

Hi to all,
I am a BTB of Marriot. MY AD is 10/06. Need help and advise here.
Do you all used Philip Tang & Son for your video montage? Are they good? If i dont used them, i have to rent the projector from Hotel at over $500 and engage my own source to do the montage. tat work out to be around $750 and is way out my budget.Anyone pls help.

dv1adm2

hi lingi,
went down today to the fair..and i also asked if i just want the projector but not the montage. they were telling me its workable. din state anything bout $500..
did not get to see the ballroom though..can anyone of u give some feedback on it? nice? pillars? walk-in cool?

hi froggie,
the ballroom has one pillar. However, if you have less than 45 tables, you should not be blocked by any pillars.

hi lingi,
i am currently working with Philip Tang & Son for the video montage. It is in the process of making and i hope to see the sample in 1 to 2 weeks time as my wedding is in March 06. Will share with you whether it is good once i view it.

twinkles

Hi lingi

My video montage is done by Philip Tang & Son, I don't think they are very good. Mine was not very nicely done and creative enough.

lingi

Hi Irene,
thks. remember to share with me, ok?

Hi Rin,
Do u only have the video montage during your dinner? can i used the projector for other things? will Marriot provide the screen, player etc in order to play the montage? sound silly question but afraid of those hidden cost.paiseh...

twinkles

Yes, I only play the video montage during my AD.

U can try negotiating with your coordinator cos I got one of the projector foc.

kohnancy

hi rin,

how did you manage to get your coordinator to provide u with the projector foc? i was thinking of doing the highlight and montage but finds tat it will be over my budget.

mist

hi lemonade,

hmmm, i think i managed to negotiate for beer, think was 1 barrel free only. anyway, it's sufficient. wine need to purchase by bottle loh, but waive the corkages fee cos i buy from them.... still cheaper compared from buying outside loh. mine was lunch package too, but in Nov 2004 lah.... ;p

kitty_li

It's good to see this thread move again!!

Rin, ur AD is over already right? Which theme did you use? Would it be possible to share with us some of ur banquet pictures? To see what the setup really looks like...

lingi

Hi Rin,
pls share your banquet pictures with us. thks

To all brides,
if i dont have any highlights or montage, will the entire dinner be boring? Pls share your view.

kohnancy

hi rin,

oops...i didn't nego for the projector. but did mention to my coordinator on my concern on the charges. wait till i meet up with her again, then i will try to get her to at least reduce the charges.

hi lingi,

i am also considering whether to have the montage and highlight. without it, will there be something missing?

kitty_li

Hi lingi, Nancy,

Hmmm...I guess if you gals are not going to have any montage / highlight, it's still ok. Maybe ur emcee will have some games for you to play to entertain the guests, OR make sure you go around the tables more, to talk to your guests (then they wtun feel so bored), OR maybe you can do something special for FH (eg. sing a song or something)...I've attended several weddings without montage/highlight. They're ok. didn't feel like there's anything missing.

Montage/highlight is quite common nowadays (probably that's why you gals feel that there might be something missing), so without it, ur banquet will be special from the others.
On the other hand, there are more pple trying to make their montage/hightlight stand out/more different from the montage of other couples...If you have the budget, good.
If not, do it differently lah...

That's just my opinion...

twinkles

HI CSI Fan and lingi

I use the Garden of love theme. Everyone commented the canopy stand on stage was very nice, just that the flower stand along the aisle was quite plain.

My AD photos not ready yet, will show u girls once I have it.

augustina

shermaine,

Hi sorry for the late reply. we print the inserts ourselved as we find it more personlized to do so and more creative lor.
if u need the chinese wroding format i can email u. jus write to my email as i hardly come in here..
my email: [email protected]

augustina

shermaine,

Hi sorry for the late reply. we print the inserts ourselved as we find it more personlized to do so and more creative lor.
if u need the chinese wroding format i can email u. jus write to my email as i hardly come in here..
my email: [email protected]

elmo_78

hi rin,
Nice to see u here...
I have sent my AD pic to u...did u receive it?

Btw, I hv chosen garden of luv theme too n here r one of shot taken by my PG.
350165.jpg

kitty_li

Hi elmo78,

Thanks for putting up this shot...nice, nice...
So there were no apples on the centre piece (think they used apples in the centre piece during their open house last year)? And you could change the colour of the flowers?

am_blessed

Hi Elmo,
wat a lovely table set up and great lighting too ^_^! Do you have any pics showing the ballroom or stage set up? hehe...And wat's the furry thing and the bamboo basket in your table? Issit given by Marriott?

Hi Rin,
Yeahh...the canopy stand in the stage is great!!..but same as u, i oso found the flower stands along the aisle are too small (i mean as compared to that in oriental theme or metal gate in vineyard theme)

Hi CSI Fan,
err...somehow I could still see the apple in elmo's picture =)

ayane

hi elmo,
thanks for sharing yr pix, it looks really sweet! u chose pink lighting? can u share yr AD pix with me too? [email protected] thanks!

augustina,
how hv u been? yr big day is coming soon! am also not intending to use lil'art's inserts.. hv u decided which theme to choose? and are yr gowns all almost ready??
so excited for u

ayane

hi elmo,
thanks for sharing yr pix, it looks really sweet! u chose pink lighting? can u share yr AD pix with me too? [email protected] thanks!

augustina,
how hv u been? yr big day is coming soon! am also not intending to use lil'art's inserts.. hv u decided which theme to choose? and are yr gowns all almost ready??
so excited for u

twinkles

hi elmo

I didnt receive your AD pics till now. I think you have to email me again.

I haven't upload mine yet, will email you too once ready.

kitty_li

hi am_blessed, oh is it?? hahaheehee....oops. Must be my eyes. Haiz, that's what you get when you work till 3am everyday for 1 week....heehee...

micong

Wow...some brides muz be nervous now... a few of them March brides i rem...Irene, gift-of-god, W...
R u all ready liao? am sure everythg will be fine n smooth...

Hi CSI Fan...long time no see... i've been quite busy lately preparin for my own wed in 2 mths to come...just finish taking my wed shoots!! Yet to choose...so have u taken ur wed photos liao? Guess gd to prepare early...not like me, everythg last min!!

I just went for food tasting today...Wan Hao rest is sooo posh!! n the food portion is BIG! maybe becoz my food tasting for 9 pple...n their servin size for 10! n i simply love their Signature Crispy Chicken...the skin so crispy it feels like eating "peking duck"!!

micong

HI rin n elmo...
nice to see u all back here after ur wed!! Congrats!

Glad to know Garden of Love theme is nice...i'm oso planning to use dat...

Can ask how u all find the smoke machine? Coz i know Marriot only provides the smoke machine dat gives out smoke at front door...but heard dat when u walk near the stage no more smoke liao...
So my photographer told me better to get my own dryice to create more smoky effect...

Any comments?

micong

HI rin n elmo...
nice to see u all back here after ur wed!! Congrats!

Glad to know Garden of Love theme is nice...i'm oso planning to use dat...

Can ask how u all find the smoke machine? Coz i know Marriot only provides the smoke machine dat gives out smoke at front door...but heard dat when u walk near the stage no more smoke liao...
So my photographer told me better to get my own dryice to create more smoky effect...

Any comments?

kitty_li

Hi mic, yah, long time no see...

ooohhh...ur wedding is in 2 mths...so exciting! Everything more or less ready? For me, I haven't even found my BS yet (I can't make up my mind...
). Targetting to do my PS in June...I only got my venues, WG shoes and kua. Still looking for PG also. haiz...me ah....so slow, right?

Wah, their Signature Crispy Chicken is that good huh? hmmmm...ok, will bear that in mind.

elmo_78

hi rin,

Sent to you liao...
Can't wait to see urs too...

hi delirious & ayane,
I hv sent the link to u liao....please do not circulate okie...