Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

denisek

Hello Everyone

I am looking for a venue for my wedding in July next year. I was wondering if anyone could kindly email me Marriott's package for 2006? [email protected]

Do they accept smaller weddings as we are having only about 110 guests...

kitty_li

Hi Denise,
I think it would be better for you if you call them direct. coz they would be able to advise you right away based on your intended number of guests. Don't worry abt the team at Marriott. They are really friendly and approachable. And who knows?
If your date is not those HOT dates, the hotel might even offer you something really good to attract you to sign up with them (that's sales, isn't it?)

denisek

Hi CSI Fan

actually I am not in Spore and based overseas currently. Hence I am trying to find out as much info as I can via internet and emails etc. I was on their website but couldn't find an email address which I could write to.

Guess I might have to call them but sometimes its not too convenient due to time difference.

Would you by any chance by one of the coordinator's email address in which I could write to and have a first contact?

Many thanks!

denisek

Hi CSI Fan

I am actually not in Spore and based overseas currently. Hence I am trying to find out as much info as I can via the net and email.

I was on their website but couldn't find any email address which I could write to. Sometimes it is not too convenient to call due to time difference...but maybe I might have to give them a call.

Would you have one of their coordinator's email address by the way just to have a first contact?

Many thanks!

kitty_li

Hi Denise,

I would suggest calling. Email is ok, but they might be busy / on leave and replies to emails might not be immediate/fast enough. If you call, someone would pick up the phone, and at least they can straight away tentatively block out the date you want so that nobody else can book it. Emails...by the time the emails "ding dong" up and down, the date might have been blocked by others. Yah, agree with you that the website doesn't have much info. I gave up on the webby and called them direct. You can call 6831-4761. It's the manager's DID, but if she's not around, her colleagues will answer.

Think a number of us in this thread signed up their package during the open house promotion / wedding show promotion...where there were some discounts. So not sure the discounts are still available (or perhaps even better!! hehs).

Hope you can get the date you want!

micong

Hi Denise...

I saw an advert, in the magazine, frm Marriot hotel n i thk they have a offer pkg for pple signin up next yr's banquet...$40nett off per table...which means ur banquet will be ~$728 per table. Maybe u'll be interested in chking w the Marriot staff abt dis promotion...

i agree with CSI Fan dat it's faster to call n they can book a date for u str away since u roughly have planned for the wed to be in July... n they can tell u if the dates u wan r still available...

I've also signed up with Marriott during their promo! Mine is a weekday dinner.

Just to share that I went for a wedding lunch at Marriott last week. Rest assured, the food was nice and large portion too. Service was also good.

The only complaint I have was the stage decoration. Think it's not v nice. Also heard a few guests commenting that the 2 pieces of white curtain hanging down from the wall (on the stage) looked ghostly. So u gals might want to take note of this. The rest of the decor was ok.

hi babybaby,
i also heard from my auntie who went for a wedding lunch at marriott recently that food given was v large in portion, though her table (VIP) has 11 pax! For lunch, no decor provided by hotel ya? couple has to top up $ for deco right? Think for dinner, if we choose wedding themes provided by marriott, shld be nice bah?

Hi Irene

There's decor, it's vineyard theme. There's those metal grilles and candles on stage. But think at a certain point when only the MC was on stage and talking, they switched off all lights and left only a white light on stage. Toge with the white curtain, it really looked kinda of eerie. So, really must specify that the spotlights on stage must be on at all times.

Yup, the food was more than enough. In fact, we couldn't even finish.

ya, for the wall colour, better not choose white. too pale...

no problem abut sharing, Irene! Guess all of us want our wedding to be perfect right?

micong

Hi babybaby, Welcome!
kao_welcome.gif

Thanks for sharing...i'll be more careful when choosin colours/ lightings den...

I thk previously someone did mention dat Vineyard theme is plain too... so i guess i better thk twice if i'm gona choose dis theme...
Hmmm...hopefully the Garden of Love theme is nice!!

So when's ur AD? Glad dat u r a Marriot BTB too!!

Hi Mic

My AD is end of 2006. Heard quite good comments from my friends on Marriot so decided to take up the package during the promo. Luckily the food was nice when I went last week
However, think the shark's fins could be further improved, its a little too starchy.

micong

Hi Every1...

Wow... so fast n it's goin to be 2006 soon... guess most of u will be busy preparing for a BIG celebration...

Here's wishing all of u a HAPPY NEW YR!!
kao_babydust.gif

And see ya gers next yr!!

kohnancy

Hi CSI Fan,

sorry for the late reply, i was not in town. as for my concern is mainly on the gown rental, extra cost needed for the MUA, photographer. And also for a week day dinner, will people turn up on time, will people leave early? especially mine will be on a Monday. care to share your ideas?

kitty_li

Hi nancy, no probs.

yes, there is extra cost on the MUA coz "technically" speaking, we would be "preventing" them from taking on another job that day. Guess there a few ways we could do it...(a) negotiate with the BS to waive off that bit, (b) get a relative or friend to do the make-up for us for the dinner (afterall dinner is indoor, no sun, for abt 4 hrs or so) or (c) just pay the extra. I was quoted $150 extra by a BS!! I'm still thinking abt that bit...

Photographer...also the same thing. That one can't be helped. So, either get a friend to do the dinner photos or negotiate lorh...I was quoted $200 extra for one PG.

I think gown rental shouldn't be a problem, coz pple usually dun return them the next day anyway. (At least according to my friends lah. They usually return the gowns, say 3 days later, coz tired, got lots of things to do, etc...)

I think weekday, pple will turn up on time, coz they go after work mah...but be prepared that they might be pple who turn up in jeans (well, that depends on the guests u invite also lah). Well, so far the weekday dinners I've attended, pple leave right after dessert. Think gotta work with the coordinator to keep the flow of the dishes smooth and not too slow, then it'll end early.

micong

Hi babybaby...

My fren juz went to Marriot to attend dine...she oso said the food v nice...heehee...
I've nv been to Marriot for dine b4... glad the food is nice...cant wait for the food tasting to come...

kohnancy

Hi CSI Fan,

Thanks for your advise. When is your AD? Maybe after your AD, u can share with me your experience? I think most likely my FH and I will go for the Marriot package cos after asking ard, nt much places for the actual date that we wan also.

kitty_li

Hi Nancy,
My AD is long way more....abt half a year after ur date. More likely it is "Can YOU share with me Your experience..." hehs.

kohnancy

Hi CSI Fan,

Oh...so I will keep you updated on my experience then. keke...

Hi piggypig,

think it is better for you can call them directly to check. according to information for the promotion package, the minimum tables is 15 or 20 for weekday. weekend, i m not sure. cos most of the weekend for the promotion is already taken up.

circuit

Hi Babybaby,

Wow that's a very good deal! Pity I miss it. The promo now doesn't seem to apply for Dec06 weddings. :-( Enjoy preparing for your wedding. :)

micong

Hi Circuit...

have u booked ur banquet w marriot? i saw frm a mag dat they have a promo for jan-dec 06 weddings... $40 off per table...maybe u can chk out dis promo instead...

mic

micong

Wana ask those who had been to marriot weddin... did any1 remember eating the dish "Wanhao signature crispy roast chicken"? Was it nice?

I'm juz curious coz i juz attended a fren's wed dine...n one of the dish was roast chicken...but it was not nice! the chicken tasted very dry...so every1 was fighting for the drumstick n wings...the leftover breast part was too dry...end up throw away...

Irene, how did u find the roast chicken when u went for the food tasting?

Hi Mic

I went for a wedding there 2 weeks back. The wanhao roast chicken was v nice, very tender and juicy! mm...think the standard is not v consistent! guess it depends on the chef's mood that day.

flower1

the roast chicken is not too bad.However, would like to ask if anyone here had the roast chicken prepared in a different style before? Or just the usual salt and sauce.

flower1

the roast chicken is not too bad.However, would like to ask if anyone here had the roast chicken prepared in a different style before? Or just the usual salt and sauce.

leeing

hi guys.. i'm back from holiday.
wa..just a few days away, there were so much discussion going on..

Hi Irene.. U r right..I've been to my foodtesting yesterday. It was fantastic. Wanhao signature crispy roast chicken is indeed yummy..
, prawn was extremely fresh le.... well, hopefully the standard will be more or less there on all of our ADs....

Gift.

micong

Heehee...i forgot to mention dat the roast chicken i had wasnt frm Marriot... it was frm another hotel...furama...n their roast chicken was horrible!! very dry...

Glad to noe dat wanhao's roast chicken nice n juicy...the way u all describe...makes me drool...
kao_drool.gif
heehee....

Hi Gift... where did u go for holiday?? pre-honeymoon??

fatpig

Hi hi...

I'm looking at the 688 promo. Can anyone share with me what kinda of additional perks you managed to squeeze out of them for this package? I am heading down marriot this weekend to discuss.

Also, can I ask how much deposit is needed for confirmation? $4k or $2k?

Thanks in advance...!

U can also email me at [email protected]

leeing

hi mic.
hehee..
me&hubby went to bangkok for tailoring suits and both my mother and mother in law dresses.. so, took a long holiday to rush up for all these stuff. Buying some home deco things too at the same time..

fatpig

Hi gift,

Are you able to share with me the contacts for the tailoring in bangkok? We are also thinking of doing the same but do not know where's good there.

fatpig

Hi gift,

Thanks a zillon! Is it much cheaper to talior in Bankok? Do share with me the dollar saving also okie... We need to make 2 men suits and my MIL dress.

cheersgirl

Halo...

i 'm new in this thread. wanna to know tat anyone use other supplier instead of supplier reccomend by marriot hotel for the card printing? any good recommend? i only need to print 30-50 insert...that's problem!!

micong

Hi Gift,
Lucky u...
..can go shopping in BKK...i've booked a trip to BKK liao..but it's in Sept n my wed will be over liao...so slim chance dat i can go there to shop for dress...

i'm oso looking for nice dress for MIL...since u have already made the dresses...can give any suggestions wat kindda dress pattern to look out for? she's 50+...dress sense is conservative...nothin too "bao-lu" or transparent...

Hi cheersgirl... WELCOME!!
Have u booked ur banquet w Marriot? when's ur AD? muz be comin soon dats y u lookin for printin supplier isit?

Here's my previous posting...hope can help u...
"Saw from other threads dat some pple did their inserts printing at JB citysquare...cheap and good! Only abt RM80 for 200 inserts! I'll definitely chk dat out coz my BS oso in JB..."shun lu"..."

cheersgirl

Hi mic,

i oredi booked with Marrot coz my AD is March 06 ma..Can i know which part of JB u r refer? i'm going this weekend. When is ur big day?

btw, i oso serch dresses for my mum. no idea wat she hav to wear. headache lol.. getting soon the AD is coming, so many thing hav not done yet. coz my mum at m'sia, i hav 2 do on my own lol included buying things like jia-zhuang. think of going 2 chinatown hav a look.

kitty_li

Rin, are you around? Still in this thread?
I remember it's your wedding day on the 10th! Congratulations!
You must be all excited...Everything in place? I remember you mentioned that you are the first to use the Garden of Love theme right? Do share with us how the theme turned out, yah?

For now, just relax, and get ready to be a mei mei bride....

micong

Hi cheersgirl...
Sorry for late reply...guess u shld b back frm JB by the time u see dis... but anyway... the printing shops i refer to r at Citysquare...the shoppin centre nearest to JB chkpt,opp railway stat. there r quite a no of printing shops there,so u can chk out a few to compare...

Hey CSI fan...u r so totful...

Rin...CONGRATS!! u muz be counting down the hrs to ur BIG day!!
kao_wedding.gif

Have more sleep dis 2 days...n get ready to SMILE!! Really happy n excited for u!!

micong

Hi girls...
I'm just back frm JB... chk out 2 printing shops in Citysquare.

1) T & T instant print services
200 pc inserts at RM$80 without map, RM$100 with map.
minimum 100 pcs

2) Nagamas Printing Enterprise
200 pc inserts at RM$90 without map, RM$110 with map.

They will provide the insert template and map (if u wan) for u...no need to bring ur own. Can bring a sample of card there to choose the fitting template.
Can oso add some cute pics of cartoon couples in the print at no extra cost!
They provide both cream or pink inserts for u to choose.

Maybe those preparing to look for printer can chk out these shops...i tot the price really attractive, 200pcs at RM$80 (S$40) compared with lil'art...200pcs at S$100. U can go n have a look at the quality 1st... i thk it's quite ok... anyway most pple dun even keep the invitation cards... most probably end up in the rubbish bin faster den we can imagine!!

btw i thk dine at Marriot no need for map rite? really scary if tell me they dunno where Marriot is!!

kitty_li

hi mic,
hahaha...no lah. just that Rin's the first one to use Garden of Love theme mah...so can remember lorh. heehee...

Hmmm, printing the inserts in JB seems like not bad leh...do we have to wait a few weeks for them to do it?

micong

Hi CSI fan...
I've asked one of the shops (T&T), the salesger told me dat the customers will first come to choose the type of template, paper n ink colour...den the shop will straight away do a sample for u to see, but u've to wait for abt an hr (can go do some shoppin 1st...
)...
after confirming the sample is ok...den they'll do the amt of printing u wan...n u can collect after 1 wk...

Anyway u still have time to do more research...i rem ur AD end of the yr,rite?

kitty_li

Hi mic,
yap yap, my AD is end of the year...so still got time (at least it seems like there's still time)...but time is not on my side coz very busy at work lah. New management, so different kind of work now. haiz. headache...I dun even dare to think ahead on how things will be like in a few months time. But...I'll take things as they come lah. Will still research a bit more. Thanks for your info!

*cold weather*

shgoh8

I am planning to hold my wedding in 1st quarter of 2007. I am wondering whether the price for 2007 is out already. Anyone got good coordinator to recommend?

kitty_li

Hi SH,
hmmm....dunno leh. Better call them to find out.
They are all good lah. The wedding team is very friendly. There's Yiwen, Stephanie and Angela. Take your pick....

alternatively, you can read through the archives for a better idea....