Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

twinkles

Hi elmo_78

Nice to see u here too.

Our AD are very near to each other..in Jan 06.

Is it true that Marriott will show the actual set-up of the 2 new themes? cos the style bridal show..i went ..didn't really showcast the actual setup.

elmo_78

Hi Irene,

It is free n everyone is invited...no need to RSVP...just hv to pop in on the day. U wanna the details? Can u send to you, juz leave ur email add. I went food tasting liao...but not very happy wif some of the dishes n not much choices to change too...it is either u takes this or that...my package does not include the ala carte menu...so sad but overall, the dishes r nice...like the mini cakes, sharkfin, fish...all nice nice...btw, when u going for food tasting?

Ya lor...their choice quite limited for cards...I pick the red rose card. Do u intend to use their printer? The lady is not so friendly so I m using my own....

I m also quite excited to see their new theme...quite difficult to visualise when Step describe to us. I heard tt they wil hv new songs to go wif the theme too...

Hi rin,

Ya lor...our AD very near...I think urs is 10 Jan 06. How is your prep? Have u met up with Stephine liao? Not sure if they will be showing the actual set-up but I will check with Stephine n let u know....ya I went to style wedding show too n disappointd tt they didn't show much on the themes...

hi elmo,
Which printer did u use? can u send me the contact & pricing? I tried contacting their printer but she nv pick up my call and she also didnt return my call. I only know that red raphsody is a sexy theme and decorated with lots of red roses. but dunno how its gg to be like. I am supposed to arrange food tasting in Dec. Is urs a wk day wedding? how much was ur package? i didn't get waiver of corkage for wine leh. if its not convenient to reveal here, can u share with me over email?

twinkles

Hi elmo

My cards have been printed and I have just gone for my food tasting last week. Right now, I am preparing for my video montage.

I will be meeting Stephine this sat so I will check with her on the two new themes.

tweeties

Hi Irene, Elmo_78 and Phy *O

I'm also a WL bride.

Phy *O, I think our AD date is the same month...June 06.

Elmo_78,
If dun mind can send me the details, my email is [email protected]

augustina

hello emlo,

dint know marriott holding workshop on 3 dec. will check with my hubby, cos i hv 2nd fitting on that day at my BS. wat time does the workshop start?? if possible, will go n attend..
yap i agree with u that the choice of card is very much limited, unlike other hotel i check b4.
i hv not gone for food tasting but has call up marriott. my coordinator is on leave, michelle help her to reply. she say the food tasting is 3 mth b4 the dinner. she ask her to arrange a date n inform them. when i ask her when to collect the card and discuss the details such choosing the theme, the arrangment, her reply is not so soon. can decide them in feb cos my dinner is at 16 mar. m i to kan cheong???

hi rin,
surprise that step dint show u the new theme during the wedding show, they hv a ballroom showing the two new themes table layout lor.

hello irene,
do we need to pay the for using their printer??

hi tweeties,
nice to see u here!

Hi augustina,
i also checked with them when to meet to discuss details. Angela said i shld go for food tasting by dec (cos Jan and feb is peak period - CNY). Printing of inserts by dec too. After food tasting, then i arrange appt to meet angela to discuss details. I need to discuss earlier cos i wanted their video montage service. I dun wan to freak out or panic in Feb. And of course we have to pay to use their printer. Their printer charges 1st 200 inserts at $100. Subsequent 50 at $10.

the workshop is on 3 dec, 11am-3pm. not really workshop but an open house to intro their 2 new themes. u can walk in anytime to see.Its at
Legacy Suite & Belimbing Room, Level 2. I just checked with Angela on these details.

elmo_78

Hi Irene,

The printer is a friend's contact...will let u noe d quality & svc after I printed mine. Wil share on the details of my package in email to u okie...

Btw, u can also attend d sap demo by The Retreat Spa on the same day...U attending?

Hi rin,

That's nice! U taking their photo montage cos I taking it with my VG? I hv asked for 2 same wishes (wine). Glad tt Step is agreeable.

Hi Augustina,

They gave me the same reply too....wait 3 mths b4 wedding. Share the same sentiments too....good 2 b kan cheong a bit cos we will hv lotsa of things to do 2-3 b4 actual day. I think they hv tis calendar to track when u hv to taste food, select theme etc..

Hi tweeties & shermaine,

Check out your email....

augustina

hi irene,
thank for ur info!! so wat time u going. maybe can meet up with u n elmo.. keke
i hvnt arrange any food tasting with them yet. i m waiting for yiwen to call me...

elmo,
at least u hv try their food n collect ur cards... but i very worry wat will i miss out if i dont settle thing early.... dun wil kana "wun qian you yu zheng" ???

hi elmo,
i won't be attending the demo by The Retreat. Just pop by to see the 2 themes only. Thanks for ur email. I have replied u already.
BTW, when will ur inserts be printed?

Hi augustina,
i dunno wat time will i be there. I will keep u girls updated nxt friday! Hopefully can see u girls there!

twinkleangel

hi augustina,

no, hv nt paid any down payment.
cos on dat day, there's a tentative booking for a co. function and they r oso quite keen abt it.
so stephine is checking wif dat co. whether they can confirm by tmr... if they cun, dan i will get it...

elmo_78

Hi Irene,

I just spoke with Ivy Toh from Jasvy Mktg...they also do card printing n they hv done marriot before...she quote me about $180 for 350 inserts which is much cheaper than the printer Marriot uses...

I am actually interested in doing customised angbaos for AD...hee hee...$42 for 100 pcs.

Btw, I m planning to print inserts by end of next wk...tis is FH's duty..not sure if he has contacted the printer...sian~

twinkles

Just my recommendation, I think it is better to use Marriott's printer because you can collect from Marriott once the card is ready and they are quite fast with the printing.

hi elmo,
can u send the contact of jasvy mktg to me? I think Marriott's printer might be cheaper. Not too sure though cos i think its 1st 200 inserts at $100. Subsequent 50 at $10. So if print 350 pcs, cost abt $130. But i am not sure if this pricing is a one colour print or is it hotstamping? Does ur price include hotstamping?

augustina

hi rin,
how ur food tasting. is ur wkday or wkend? cos i think the food is different... i heard that the big chef wil be with you while u go for food tasting, is he friendly??
cos i m arranging vegetrain for my mum.. they say got to pay...

ebell

HI all,
M considering Mariott for my 2nd day wedding. Goin for their promo.

Hey Twinkle, if u havent sign yet. Good news! Promo: $688nett for all weddings dinners from Jan to May 2006. Jus saw from the homepage of Sporebrides.

yzml21

Seen so many happy MAriott brides-to-be here
wonder anyone have taken less than 30 tables on wkdays and is Mariott flexible in this area? I really like Mariott only thing is may not able to meet their min.

phy_o

Hi Tweeties and Irene,
Nice to see ya here!

Guess everyone knows this but just to repeat:
Marriott will be showcasing their new themes on the 3rd Dec from 11am to 3pm. No registration fees. No RSVP. A good time for us to go down and ask them questions! I'll definitely be going. After that have to rush down to WL to confirm my FH's MTM shirt colour.
See you all there!

twinkles

HI Augustina

My AD is on a public holiday.

I did not see any chef during my food tasting. I was only given a form to fill to give comments.

They charging vegetarian at $65 nett per person during yr AD.

I will be the first to use the new themes cos there is no one before me in Jan 06 to use the new themes.. I have confirmed to use Garden of Love.

augustina

hello rin,

ihuh, tout the chief will be attending to ur response abt the food as Marriott has mention durign the wedding bash. chay so it is jus a gimmick only la....
wow, u choose garden of love!! that great!! they hv the music to go along with the theme, r u using it??

hi rainz
u can call them n check.

twinkles

Hi augustina,

Yah, the chef not around.. the food might not be even cooked by him. The fish was the best.

Yes, they have music to go along with the theme. I am still waiting for my coordinator to email me the song list they have, then i decide from there.

micong

Can i ask wat's the minimum no of tables for wed at Marriot on wkend? i've got the hotel's brochure but it's not stated.

yzml21

Hi Augustina
Thanks..called them already. Spoke to Stephine, she mention if I take their promotion package Jan-May 06, she can give me 25 tables but if Nov then have to be 30. So now cracking my head if I should go for May wedding. Do you gals think its too rush? I really like Mariott and I dun wish to just get 300 guests just for engaging them. But on the other hand if I take May, I can take the promo cum 25 tables which sounds so attractive. Any comments?

Michelle
Guessed I answered yr question. BTW if u read the thread above, Mariott is having a Wedding Open House Special this Sat, and if u sign up on that day, u will get $40 off per table plus free flow beer. I will be going down to find out more. Wish me luck.

twinkleangel

hi ppl,

tks... i'm so glad...
met up wi stephine ytd...
she's drafting our contract...
will b there on sat 2 c the new themes...
m considering red rhapsody...

yzml21

Hi Phy
Yes and no...anyway long story. MIL rushing us to marry in May but guess I will go down this Sat to see how's their package like. Most likely I will go for Nov cos I figured its quite rush and dun feel good abt it.

How abt u? Are you Mariott Bride or u shortlisting them too?

phy_o

Hi RainZ,
I'm a Marriott bride except I'm not so active. keke ... Signed up with them half a year ago. Not very updated with their new themes so I'm definitely going down to check it out this Sat.

Before you sign, make sure you list down a list of things you want from them. Think through carefully and if possible, get your friends to go through with you too. At least after you sign no need to worry so much.

yzml21

Hi phy
Thanks! Yup will def squeeze them for more things. Can you advise what are the things that we can ask for? Who was yr coordinator?

elmo_78

Hi Irene & Augustina,

The contact is Jasvy Marketing
Blk 54 Kallang Bahru
#02-02 JTC
Tel : 62992263
Contact Person : Ms Ivy Toh

Hi Irene,

I will pass u the contact later cos need to see the final layout b4 recommending to u just in case it doesn't turn up to be well..hee hee

Hi Augustina,

I chose 12 bottles of wine X 2 and deluxe room stay for the wedding wishes...thot they are more worth it n we also need it...

Hi twinkleangel,

Congrats! Welcome to the Marriot grp....

Hi rin,

I wanted to print my card with their appointed printer but the lady I spoke with is not so friendly...so decided to go for another printer instead.

Hi phy,

Nice to see u here too!

elmo_78

Hi Irene,

Just found out from FH tt Marriot is using the normal kind of paper...not very gd quality.

As I prefer those rice paper or shining glittery paper so decided to source for own printer. You may wanna check with the printer b4 deciding.

I am choosing their oriental charm's card so will be using pink inserts....hopefully it turns out well.

phy_o

Hi elmo_78! Are you preparing for your AD already?

Hi RainZ,
My coordinator is Stephine. I asked for 10l more of beer and a dayroom for my bridesmaid. The dayroom is up to availability. She gave me the beer and I chose another 20l from the wedding wishes. Actually, I went through many hotels before deciding on Marriott. That's why I had many experiences of knowing what can be offered and what to bargain la.

yzml21

Hi phy
Is yrs wkend or wkday package and how many tables do u have? a few gf told me if yrs is a higher price package and have lotz of tables then your have the upper hand. If not usually they not so flexible
Anyway hopefully they will be nice to me this Sat

phy_o

Hi RainZ,
Your gf is right. Mine is a weekend package and at that time I have to fulfill a min of 35 tables. They're quite nice, so don't worry so!

hi elmo,
thanks for the contact! Yes. The kind of paper that Marriott's printer has is the normal kind. I'm keen to use those shimmering glittering paper. I might be having 2 types of cards.. the oriental charm for relatives n ivory for friends. So, its going to cost me even more! If we use our own printer, do we have to collect the cards from Marriott before hand?

elmo_78

hi elmo,
no prob...I think it will cost even more cos if u hv 2 designs. Muz check out the price difference hor...
Yup, we can collect the cards from Marriot n bring to our printer for hotstamping printing...n that includes the ribbons and envelope.