Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

kitty_li

Hi augustina,
ah...i see...you friend's banquet also in Marriott? coz seems like so far, most of the Marriott BTBs are having their AD in 1st half of the year.

yzml21

Hi MIC and ladies
So strange, wrote my message yesterday night but can't find it today! hmm..anyway Mic, abt Feline, I don't think u need to worry, I have faith in them. They are more Designer gown and I like their personalised service. Though I did not sign up wz them, I recommended my gf and they also gives me good service. If I can choose everything again, I will def opt for them.

Hi Shermaine and Pink Dolphin
Welcome to the thread.

I also like Garden Theme but my hubby like Red Rhasp. Hmm...think must see the full set up next yr to decide. Red is more grand and garden theme is more romantic...both have their pros and cons.

RainZ,

I'm actually thinking of combining the two themes. I like the decor of garden theme (without the fruits for the table setting) but I like lots of roses for my wedding. I also like my VIP tables to be in red. Not sure if Marriott will allows that or not

yzml21

Hi Shermaine
Wow...u v smart! I nvr even think of that. Tmrw I try ask Angela k. Ya hor now that u mentioned abt the fruit..I realised there are 2 apples, not v pleasing. Why not you take a look at the ballroom on someone actual wedding for both theme and decide? Yr AD in Nov..so u still have lotz of time to think. Dun worry so much now

micong

Wow...dis thread seems active today!! i love the Garden of Love theme...simply love white roses... sooo innocent n romantic!!

Welcome Pinkdolphin!!

Hi CSI Fan,
I was also at the open hse on sat...was hanging ard since 1+pm coz Stephine asked me to meet up with her dat day to confirm n pay deposit. lotsa pple there...maybe u r 1 of them!! btw i was so bored there (coz of long q) dat i fell asleep comfortably on the sofa!! if u happen 2c the "sleeping beauty"...dat's me!! =p

Hi RainZ,
Thanks 4 telling me abt the open hse...otherwise i'll still be blurblur!! (din noe till u told me!!)
Hmm...i'm still thking if i shld sign up w Feline coz initially, i was quite set on signing up w Venus @JB..the photographer there supposed to be quite good, got alot prizes b4. But now dat i fell in love w the gowns in feline, i'm having 2nd tots...n signing w feline spare me the trouble of travel to JB.
How abt urself? u started PS or gown fitting liao? muz act fast coz ur AD in june...=p

leiatsh

I am Marriott's BTB
. I have signed up for their Luncheon. My planner is Yiwen. She quite nice

Hi Pinkdolphin,

You have signed up for the luncheon? Besides carpark coupons, wedding cards & favours, what perks did you bargain for? I only manage to bargain on the carpark & cards.

minpooh

I'm also a Marriott BTB. Signed up for their luncheon too. My planner is Stephine
My AD is on 18 Mar.

Ivy & Pinkdolphin...mi also only managed to bargain for favours, carpark & cards.

Can any1 advice me on how do i go about printing the wedding cards? do i need to arrange to drop by the printer - lil art? how does the 70% cards work? Marriott pay for 70% of the cards without printing & the rest paid by me? Helpp....veri blur liao *grin* Need to arrange for printing soon b4 CNY...Thanks in advance....

phetcharat

Hi peeps...I booked with Marriott for the dinner package in April but the dishes were a little on the 'low range' side...so I top up to change the dishes and it became 800plus per table...what irks me most is when i saw the contract...the projector cost 450 each!!...i intend to have 2 of them to showcase my photos with my guests and now i am 900 bucks poorer...

tried to talk to my co-ordinator but she was not even in the office and could not even call my wife back when she left a message...i will give her a call tomorrow to see her respond..

can anyone tell me what level of service does Marriott provides??....went to my friend's wedding at Fullerton and the service is horrendous....ask for beer and the waiter ask me to pick it up myself....what crap...

so nice people....share with me some of your experiences..thanks in advance

phy_o

Hi Mindy,
70% is usually for friends and relatives. Hotel usually assumes that 30% of these are families. So no need to give each member one, just one per family. That's where the 30% comes in. Hope that helps.

phy_o

hi Richard,
You could try to email your coordinator if they aren't around.

Service wise, you can read previous threads from satisfied Marriott customers. The recent threads are from those whose weddings are next year. But to know more, you can read those in Sept, Oct. More informative.

kitty_li

Hi mic,
yah, we may have seen each other leh...but so many pple, everything was like a blur. haha.

Hi shermaine,
just realised that i've "seen" you in the Nov06 brides thread too! heehee...yeah, then we have more things to discuss about too!

Hi Richard,
sometimes the coordinators are meeting with potential couples who may book with them, so they are not at their desks. Emailing them is better.

Hi mindy,
I'm not too sure, but I had always thot that 70% means they will provide us with the cards for 70% of the confirmed guests, and that it excludes printing. e.g. I have 100 confirmed guests. so I will get 70 cards from the hotel. Then I have to go to lil'art to print 70 inserts/hotstamping at my own cost. If I need another 10 cards for eg., then I have to buy the 10 cards and print additional 10 inserts/hotstamping. That's how I understand it to be. Can anyone clarify? Thanks!

elmo_78

Hi Rin,
Looking forward to see ur AD picture liao....the 1st n only to use the new theme...
BTw, is ur PS pic ready? Can share with me? If I remember correctly, urs is from Milan right?

Hi CSI Fan,
You are right! Therefore it is better to print inserts instead of hotstamping....at least u don't waste d card if it is written wrongly.

Hi Rainz,
Congrats! Glad to noe tt u are signing up with Marriot too....

pinkdolphin

Hi RainZ and mic!

Thanks for welcoming me...

Hi Ivy and Mindy!

Hmm... beside favours, cards and carpark, i manage to get 30L of beer from them at a cheaper price instead of $800. :p Cos i have a number of guests drinking beer.
Hey, did u gals manage to get any wavier for wine corkage?

twinkles

Hi elmo_78

Yes me from Milan. I have forwarded my photoshoot photos to you. Do share with me yrs as well.

Yes me using the Garden of Love theme cos I find the Red Rhasp too red and I simply love to have the canopy stand on stage.

pinkdolphin

Hi Richard,

I think u can try to bargain for a better price for LCD projector if u r yet to sign up. At first, they also told me have to charge $450 for it... but after much bargain, they charge me $200 for the LCD projector. hehe... :p

yzml21

Hi Richard
Did you use their Montage Video fm their wish list? I thought if I choose that then MAriott will provide us free use of LCD? Pls correct me if I am wrong. I also dun want to pay extra.

Hi MIC
Hmm, ya I be meeting my Designer and will go pick some gowns this afternoon..so excited
I reckon if u always go to JB then its ok to take yr bridal package fm them. If not it will be a hassle to travel there. Will be v tiring and what's more u spend more on petrol! ha. I guess we can't have the best of both worlds. Nice gown and award winning photographer. Go wz yr heart ok. Is it a lot cheaper if u sign up Venus? And wat is it they offer that Feline dun offer? U can try talk to Feline and see they can throw more things for u.

Hi Elmo

Hi Mindy and Ivy
Welcome to MAriott Thread

flower1

hi pinkdolphin,

dun think I'll wanna top up for the decor. But ever did tot of switching over to the latest dinner promo package. But most likely i'll stick to the lunch.

Free stuff... as usual.. the wedding favours which is the tea leaves and use of a projectors. thats all.

hi augustina,
my package is almost the same as yours: $738 nett. But i think the current promo is more attractive - $40 nett off per table! Even if the price is $768nett, after $40 nett discount, its only $728nett. The promo during styleweddings show is even better. Each table is $768nett but there is a free table with every 10 tables confirmed. I have 40 tables, thus, the average cost per table is only $691.20. Haiz...

elmo_78

hi pink dolphin,

Me too..didn't get the waiver for wine but I ordered their wine instead...the taste of their cheaper wine (about $22++) is quite nice. Furthermore it is on consignment based so u can return those tt are not open.

elmo_78

hi pink dolphin,

Me too..didn't get d waiver for wine too. But I tried their cheaper collection (about $22++) which is quite nice. Not too bad...n they go by consignment based so u can return those that are not opened. Think there is only a minimum req to open at least 12 btles....think need to check with your coordinator.

pinkdolphin

Hi elmo_78,

oh... if their cheapest wine taste quite nice then i'm more relieved. hehe...
hmmm... i'll ordered their wine then. min 12 bottles shd be quite alright for me... shd be able to finish. Their corkage is so ex... $20+++ per bottle of wine... better to order their wine at $22+++ instead.

leiatsh

Hi Mindy,

My AD is on 17th Dec 2006...still a long way. Hee hee

Marriott also provides me 70% cards but without printing. From my understanding, we need to print the insert either from Marriott's printer or outside printer. Since I still has time, i would try to source for external printers to compare prices....

leiatsh

Hi Pinkdolphin,

I will be serving wines only during my Luncheon
I got free wine corkages since I will be purchasing from Marriott directly.

When ur AD?

leiatsh

Hi Rainz

Tks tks for welcoming...hee hee.

Hi Mindy

What theme are you choosing? I know they have 2 new themes ie Garden of Love & Rhasophdy. Are you taking their new theme?

Are you taking their complimentary favours (tea leaves)?

Are you adding anthing to your Luncheon?

I think for 1st half year wedding prices still not too bad. Sept onwards weddings there will be an additional $30 for each table. That means we are all paying $800 plus for each table, beer and wine, so would suggest those BTBs who have yet to sign up to bargain for more perks. This could actually contribute to a huge savings.

pinkdolphin

Hi Ivy,

oh.. u serving wine only?? ur guests dun drink beer? Hmm... it's a good idea as can save some cost. but i'm afraid guests will grumble if i dun serve beer... like very paiseh if they ask how come no beer... :p
my AD is on 12 May.

snow_baby

just to share.. my offer fr marriott

758nett thurs dinner
free flow beer,
all corkage waived
one day room for helper
12 btls of wine free, subsequent wines fr mariott
fd tasting for 12 ppl

augustina

HI IRENTAN
i m still trying to ask them to waive off some corkage charge for e wines lor. hv not gone for food tasting yet

hello marriott btb,
wan to ask how to arrange the collection of card from marriott supplier? cos my coordinator as k me to call the supplier and tell them wich design i wan. then how. can anyone done b4 , explain the procedure. thank

augustina

hi shermaine,
it very clever of u to think of combining two theme. me too also like the red rasp table arrangement. very classic lor...

elmo_78

Hi phy*0*

Mine is as follows:-

908nett Sat dinner
Free flow beer
2 night stay @ bridal suite
3 wedding wishes
food tasting for 10 pax
70% wedding cards + 30% carpark passes
FOC projector
Dessert - Love is Sweet (mini cakes)

Not sure if I paid a higher px as compared to u all....can anyone share?

yzml21

Hi Elmo
yeah..yrs is the higher end package plus wkend but def believe yr food also better. I love the dessert, but understand if I wan chg need to top up 35 per table which is quite ex. Over budget liao.

Shermaine
Yes check wz my coordinator she said if we want can mix the 2 theme but she would discourage lor which is also understandable cos they need to arrange more things I guess. Anyway I believe they will do it for us if we wan lor

bluetomato

HI girls,

Anyone of you know whether all the tables at marriott will be decorated with table-top flowers/decor or only the two VIP tables will be? Cos I peeked in today to check out the banquet set-up for someone else's wedding dinner and i saw that other than VIP tables, the rest are not decorated leh.. looks quite plain.. anyone knows about this?

leiatsh

Hi PinkDolphin,

As we are not planning to "Yam Seng", we feel it is alright not to have beer. Our parents have no objection and in fact they prefer to have wines served.

Think it's all up to individual
In fact, marriage is between 2 of us n if we have to take into account on nitty gritty comments ....we be very tired instead of happily preparing for our wedding rite ;p

minpooh

Hi Ivy,

Not too sure wat theme to choose...most likely will top by for the theme lor. Will go for the magnets as the favours. Thot the magnet looks quite cute lor

Mi also will not be serving beer. Just wine lor. Don't think i've alot of friends who drink beer. Shld be getting the wine from Marriott lor.

phy_o

Hi elmo,
Mine package is $958 sat dinner.
You've got a real good deal! Free flow beer! I'm changing my dessert to a normal chinese one as I prefer those. Tried their ice cream desserts, so so la.
Other than that, my deal is similar to yours.

phy_o

Hi ICW,
The only deco is a bowl of petals. Quite simple I felt. But then again the petals won't be there the whole time. Once the first course is going to be served, they will take away the deco. So quite pointless to add additional deco.

kitty_li

Hi elmo,
can I ask, your FOC projector...it that part of the wedding wishes?

hey gals, any idea if its possible to ask them not to remove the table deco? like, put it at the side? coz like that I felt that it will still look classy and nice throughout the whole dinner. Otherwise, it would kinda look a bit plain throughout dinner leh. I've seen that done at some hotels...

Hi augustina,
i didn't get waiver of wine corkage. will check out with Angela nxt wk when i meet up with her.

Hi snowbaby,
how did u negotiate for waiver of wine corkage? I still couldn't get that.

Hi elmo,
u got a gd deal! For me, mine is:
$738 (wk day dinner) with:
-free flow beer
-food tasting for 10pax
-carpark 20%, cards 70%
-2 wedding wishes
-1 night stay at bridal suite

projector, wine corkage is chargeable.

elmo_78

Hi Rainz,
How is ur package like? I think it is not so worthwhile to top up...I had d same prob when we select venue. We chose Merchant initately cos it is only $808 nett for my day but they r not so flexible to throw in the freebies for us...like we request for foc beer, extra rm stay etc....so in the end, fed up by their attitude n service n decide on Marriot. Marriot was always our first and top choice but it is really exp...not sure if I hv made the right decision....scared cannot recover the cost back....hee hee

Hi phy*o*,
Oic, I haven't tried their ice cream dessert but it sure look good....but too expensive liao...cannot afford. We took up their mini cakes cos it is their signature dessert...thought it will be different from other hotels. Have u seen the cake layout? I took a pic when i went for foodtasting....it is really nice. My frenz already lookg forward when I told them...keeping them in suspense nw...

Btw, do u have foc beer? Ur package more exp than mine....

elmo_78

Hi CSI,
They only provide 1 projector when I signed package but stephine offered us another one at no cost...so sweet of her. Heard from her that u can pick the video montage which provides the projector too....

Not sure about the decor but it sounds like a good idea....

Hi Irene,
U got a gd deal too! Btw, which 2 wishes r u choosing?

twinkleangel

Hi ppl,

Went to the show last sat...
Saw both themes... initially 1 2 choose Red Rhap for my theme but after seeing the pics shown to me by Stephine, i decided to go for Garden of Love... cos for the Red Rhap, they use red roses to make into a 'ball' and hang it on the stage which reminds me of lanterns... so in the end, my hubby n i decided to choose Garden of Love.

kitty_li

hi elmo,
oh i see...when did you sign up? how did u manage to get the free projector thrown in? I think your deal is really good! yah, I also heard that we can choose the photo montage from the wishes, and then we can use the projector. But I forgot to ask if that one is just 1 projector or 2...coz they usually have 2 screens...1 for each side of the ballroom...must remember to ask next time. hehs.

augustina

Hi ppl,
me trying to look for my coordinator, yiwen. she seem to hv lot of holiday leh. when time i call her or write email to her. her email auto reply me that she is away. any ladies under her can same problem??

hi twinkleangel,
u mean marriott has photos of the red raphsody theme to show? I dunno how the red raph set up on stage will be like as they concentrated more on the garden of love at the show last sat..