Simmons mattress - any advise?

racherlle

hi Kero!

hmmm u can get it frm Robinsons too.. but if i'm not wrong.. the models there are not the latest.. but if u r getting the backcare models.. tink it's more worth it to get frm Robinsons..

my tinking was that since i'm going to spend so much on the mattress already.. might well get the latest models.. tat really depends on individual..
Simmons Gallery would also refund u the price difference if u are able to get it outside at a cheaper price

cassie

The sales lady at Simmons gallery said most of the models there are exclusive to the gallery, and are more luxury range compared to the dept stores, which are more affordable. i guess the robinsons range would be cheaper

hi racherlle
my hb and i went around imm trying mattresses yesterday - dunlopillo, simmons, sealy, sleepmaker.... cos they all have galleries there. and we're now considering one model from each brand hahaha. looks like this will take some time

racherlle

hi cassie..

oh hehe u went to try all the mattresses ah?
hehe.. i only tried Simmons and Sealy..
for Sealy, I like the Royal Monarch! very comfy!!
the price before disc is 2.7k i tink.. after the 5% disc shld b cheaper..
but the disturbance level is quite high.. hehe still like my Simmons.. oh ya.. btw which Simmons model are u aiming for?

bookworm

Thanks all for ur kind advice.

i will try the back care range. haha, any idea how much it cost for queen size with bed frame.
also the tribute range, how much it cost with bed frame?

racherlle

hi bookworm!

hmm sorrie.. dun really noe the price w the frame.. but wat i noe is that Simmons bed frames are quite ex..

Hi pple,

was at IMM last week to shop for mattress. The salesgal at the shop has one kind attitude one. As if look down on us. So pissed off.

So, if you are shopping for Simmons bed, avoid that shop.

Hi Racherlle,

I like the royal monach too. really comfortable! And sales pple there much friendier. Did u try the Crown Jewel? It is super!!

racherlle

hi icemilo!

which sales girl pissed u off? the one with long or short hair?

yaaa the Crown Jewel is like WOW! super comfy!

so how have u decide on which to choose?
hmm i find that the sealy sales girl is also quite rude.. she's like rushing to close of the sales.. and if u show a bit of disinterest, she will juz go and serve someone else...

bookworm

what ? u mean all of ur beds are without bedframe?huh? ot u mean that all of u bought the bedframe somewhere else?
pls advice

kero

Hi icemilo,

I went to IMM previously and was equally pissed off by the sales person. She juz simply not customer oriented....

Onzz,
I got mine for $1k plus, almost $2k during the promotion. BUt it's back care series.

Bookworm,
You can get the package deal, ie. with bedframes. It's more worthwhile cos you hv better bargaining power for more freebies like mattress protector and pillows too. If you are considering backcare, I think they can only discount to certain extent on the frame...i think i was quoted ard $3k for the backcare n bedframe. Otherwise, i think there's another package where if you buy the beautyrest series or some selected series, you can the bedframe at $1, which still adds up to $3k plus.

kero

Oh yes bookworm,

I forgot to add on tat mine is King size, I think it should cost lesser for Queen size

racherlle

yup.. personally i dun really like the bed frames they offer.. tat's y wanted to get my own.. or get my ID to custom-make one for me...

steventay

the simmon bed frames very ex...

i get only the Tribute queen mattress for 2099

with bedframe it cost around 3000+ (forget the actual)

Hi Racherlle,

most likely we are getting the royal monach. Crown jewel is beyond our budget

I forgot how the salegal look like. Only remember her lousy attitude.
Perhaps I was luckier to get the 'correct' salesperson to serve us.

Will buy 4D this weekend. If win top 3 prize then I will get the royal monach.

Ladies, need advise on a dilema. My 4room masterbedroom isn't big enough to fit the King size with a platform bed. The corner of the bed will knock onto the door. So, we are thinking of a queen or should we get a smaller bedframe instead?

kero

Hi icemilo,

i have the same prob with space too but in the end i still bought a bedframe for K....maybe you wanna consider divan's set? But it's more ex...

racherlle

hi ice!
haha okie...
everyone's hoping to strike 4D!! can buy alot of tings!!! :p gd luck to u!

oh dear! ice ur MBR can't fit a King size bed?
mine's also a 4rm.. but frm my floor plan... my MBR can fit a King size bed...

kero

after seeing all the recommendations on the new models, my hubby and I went to try the Glendale and Tribute. Guess what, now my hubby prefers Glendale....

do you think there will be other promos in June? wonder if the mattress prices also drop like COE...haha...

Hi Racherlle, it can fit a king size bed but the platform bed that we like has a wide border surrounding each side. The dimension is 228 x 212. For the queen bedframe, its 197 x 212.

racherlle

hi Kero!!
Glendale is real comfy rite? hehe
the only problem is that it's 12" so u would have to get 14" bedsheets..

hmmm i'm hoping for the prices to drop too! hehe
so i can get a refund back haha :p
hmmm tink they will have promo every nw and then..
eh keep me updated if there are any revision in the prices! hehe

kero

racherlle,

Yup yup...very comfy....

I'm also worried abt getting bedsheets for it but the sales girl said tat it's very common and Aussino has the range for 12"

If we put 14", isn't the bedsheet gonna look ugly on it?

Okok, will update ya if i find better prices...

a_k

hi racherlle, 12" is quite ok actually. mine is 14". to me, only problem is we hv to go for higher range of bedsheet meaning it is more ex compare to the norm ones... but i supposed good thing no cheap...

kero, i think it is better to get the right size of bedsheet cos it look neater also. wont hv those crumpled edges.

racherlle

hi Kero!

tink u r mistaken.. hehe
for 10" beds.. u have to get 12" bedsheets.. which is very common.. where u can get off the rack at any stores..
for 12" u have to get 14"..
if u put 12" bedsheets.. it will not fit the mattress.. tink it will slip out very often..

I've actually checked with Aussino.. they do not have 14" bedsheets anymore.. they used to carry 14" range.. but tink they stopped already..
I also checked with Metro.. and the sales lady say they dun have it too..

so guess we have to get it from Robinsons or King Koil...

hi AK!
oh ya.. i noe u got the Manchester rite? I heard it's the same as The Royal Monarch.. wah 14" tat means u got to find 16" bedsheets.. is it easy???
hmmmm.....

racherlle

oh ya gals..
i tink Robinsons having warehouse sales in the Expo rite?
hehe anyone been there already?
any gd bedsheets offer?
hmmm tink i might go down there in the weekend to grab some bedsheets hehe :p

a_k

hi racherlle, yap but i not sure if it is same as royal monarch cos wo promo is abt 4k. i juz inform the sales that my mattress is 14", then they recommend me the brand i can go for. in fact, the sales whom i bought the mattress help me on that too. she go around looking for the salesgirls on bedsheet when i went to buy on another day. heehee... the bedsheet fitted in nicely onto my 14" leh. so i dun know if it is 16"... i tot it is 14" since it fitted well. only thing is u need to pay more cos it is higher than normal mattress lor.

racherlle

hi AK!

ohhh dun tell me the sales lady told me wrongly?
hmmmmm...
last week after buying my mattress, i went down to Aussino and ask abt the bedsheets.. i told her my bed is 12".. she told that Aussino dun have bedsheets for 12"..
then i went Metro.. i saw a few bedsheets having 12".. i was so hapy! then realise a lot of bedsheets are 12".. then later the lady told me cannot fit into 12" bedsheets???
hmmmm

kero

huh.....confused...so do i buy 2" higher bedsheet or the exact measurement? Or different brand hv different measurement...

aiyo....*blur8 *Blur*...

Any current users advice?

a_k

is it, racherlle? dun know leh, i juz tell the salesgirl at robinson my mattress is 14", then she recommend me the brands liao. then happen to see the salesgirl whom we talk to when was buying the mattress from her col at another branch, she help us with the choices & selection. they didnt mention must get bigger in size leh. maybe if u juz tell them u got a 12", then ask for their recommendation of brands leh??

racherlle

hi gals!

gosh i'm equally confused!
hmmmmm...
ak ah.. yup i asked the Metro sales gal that my mattress is 12".. then she say they dun hav bedsheets for 12" mattress.. then i took a look at the normal bedsheets and saw that they are 12"... the lady told me that these bedsheets are for normal 10" beds..
hmmmmm

any advice anyone?
blurblur too..

a_k

i wonder hor normally people said 12" mattress, does the term for bedsheet applies too... meaning 12" is the height of the mattress so if u buy 12" bedsheet it also apply to the height and it doesnt include the overlapped cloth beneath the mattress or that the 12" count in also the overlapped cloth (cant be rite?). now i also confuse.. maybe next time should ask them if i got a 12" mattress normally people go for 12" exact bedsheet or 14" bedsheet? let them crack their head.

Ok, bought Man U vs Liverpool total goals 8 at 85 times odds. Whether I can afford Sealy Crown Jewel will depend on this match. Wish me luck!

kero

I've juz went to check out more on the mattress again this evening. Ok, this what I found out.

The Glendale mattress is actually abt 11". However, becos of the plush top, it's another 1" higher. For bedsheet, it's better to get ard 13" and above and there's quite a no. of range to choose from. E.g. King Koil, Elle Paris, Peri something etc. The only setback is that these available range are usually more expensive.

The sales person said that 15" would also fit cos we can pull to hide the extras at the side near the bedhead.

Racherlle,
I think i may choose Glendale too...can't resist the comfy....hehe....so far, the price quoted is also $2999 after less $1000. However, if we get at dept store, we'll get the additional rebate of 5% (e.g. Robinsons). The nett cost would be abt $2850 i think. Also no vouchers or further discount

kero

Oh yes, btw the sales persons mentioned that the mattress is going to increase in its price around Feb/Mar. So better grab to lock the price if you are still considering.

Of cos, this could be their sales tactic too....anyway, for info if anyone still considering.

racherlle

hi kero!

yup.. the mattress sheets that we hav to get will cost more than the normal bedsheets.. hmmm tat's the only setback i guess.. hehe

hmmm can u get Glendale in Robinsons also? hmmm i tot Glendale is a new model? sold only in Simmons Gallery??? u mananged to find out that it is selling in Robinsons?? hmmmmm...

oh ya btw..
i juz saw the straits times today...
Simmons Paragon is having a move up sales.. tink they are moving up one level.. they are havig like 60% off their DISPLAY sets only..
those who dun mind, can actually consider these

kero

Hi racherlle,

Well, I think tat the dept stores and gallery can sell any models tat the cust request for but they may not be able to display some models due to space constraint.

I saw the ad too and went to check out Simmons Paragon today. Unfortunately, all the display units were snapped up within an hour. By the time I went, it's only left some Backcare series with additional 15% discount.

racherlle

hi Kero!

ohhh i didn't noe abt tat!! then i tink it might be more worthwhile to get it frm Robinsons coz i tink there's an additional 5% or 10% rebate rite?

hw much are they selling for the display units? did u managed to ask them?? hmmm.. u didn't get the mattress??? still deciding??

kero

Hi Racherlle,

The sales at Paragon din comment on the price. Guess she's not interesed in selling me the mattresses....she juz kept saying tat he special promotion is over, only left with those with the usual promotion.

bookworm

hi hals , went to the furniture mall to check out, and reliase they only carry , beauty rest or sleep and also back care. The lady was very nice but she is not sure of certain things. Very new shop but limited beds. Asked for tribute but not on display.
will check out Glendale the next time. Now i change my mind , will go for King size. haha

i was wondering if anyone is aware what series of bed are Shang-rila using?

kero

hi bookworm,

Why dun u try IMM? They hv Glendale, tribute and lakeview (i think) next to each other. As for the backcare, they also hv 3-4 series. It's a good gallery to try a few models at the same place...

Racherlle's right. Also heard tat Shangrila uses the beauty series except that they may be a few generations before since Simmons had evolved new models like Tribute (from Canada) and Glendale (from Korea).

cassie

icemilo,

try having those bed frame that fits exactly the size of the mattress, and a narrow headboard. i'm looking at that as my king can hardly fit my bedroom as well. or you could do a divan - their headboards are prob the narrowest around

nelle

beauty rest is really good & comfy. my sis have it and that's why she always nuah in bed whenever she can..

kero

Hi bookworm,

errmmm...my feel when I rested on both is that Tribute is softer and more cushioning on the top wherease Glendale is firm but still very comfy with the pillow top. In terms of technology, both are same except Glendale has the edge coil and the side is zip instead of valco. In terms of price, Glendale is more ex by $400.

For me and my hubby, we were equally confused cos we tried soo many tat we can't recall which is which. We decided tat we like firm but cushioned. So tat's why we chose Glendale. My advice is to know if you prefer firm or soft and budget. Then, juz try those tat fits in your criteria. You will be able to narrow down.

Hope the above helps. Last but not least...since u are paying soo much...Bargain!! haha...

bookworm

yo kero
thanks for the advice, actually wanted to buy some cheap mattress till i stumble on this thread. Than we changed our mind. haha

we prefer to have something firm..yap we need to get bed frame also. is urs king or queen? how much did ur cost? we tried a number of it, frankly, duuno how to choose, everything also so comfy. haha
will drop by the one at IMM.did u get urs there?

nelle

mega mattress at NTUC lifestyle centre offers many range. Gotten the whole family's mattresses there. salespeople are helpful.

Hi cassie,

we like the platform concept. Its really nice but simply too huge for my room

Went down to harley Norman during the weekend. They are displaying the Sealy Crown Jewel. The stupidest thing is none of the sales pple even know the price of the mattress. So idiotic. Ask them all say around $6 to $7. That's a $1k range leh. So damn stupid. I hope Harley Norman can do something abt their pushy and yet irrogant sales staffs.

Hi nelle,

went down to Megamattress and mattressSpecialist. They only carry very limited Sealy mattresses.