Simmons mattress - any advise?

racherlle

hi icemilo!

maybe u wan to try the Sealy store in IMM?
though the sales girl is not very friendly.. but there's a wide range that u can see and try there..
oh ya! the Crown Jewel is superb comfy! hehe :p

u can try the Royal Monarch too.. nice!!

Hi Racherlle,

been to the one at IMM. Was just seeing if I can get a better price elsewhere.

Hi AK,

yes. we prefer the springs of Sealy. Somehow, don't like the feel of pocketed springs that other brands offer.

b2b5

I'm wondering if you know which mattress provides better support during pregnancy to prevent backache? Sealys or Simmons? The Sealys sales person claims that Sealys is better, but I'm not sure if it's just her sales tactic. Thanks for your advise

Hi b2b5, for better back support. Get something more firm. Both brands have beds that are firmer. Yes, it is definitely her sales tactic.

For me, its a matter of preferences. I prefer sealy feel than the pocketted spring feel. Majority of the brands with the exception of SeaHorse which uses form, all use pocketed spring technology.

a_k

hi icemilo, maybe u look out for any sales coming up. robinson normally got sales on sealy from time to time. i would recommend u to robinson at raffles city (look for marilyn) or centrepoint (I-Peng) if u want really good service. maybe u try asking them if any sales coming up. u nvr know lor.

Hi AK,

been to raffles city, it was Marilyn that served us. Yes, I agree that her service is good. But I think its cheaper to buy elsewhere. The Manchester is selling more than the Royal Monach.

cassie

icemilo

was at robinsons yestery. in fact the manchester is cheaper than royal monarch. imm's price is >3K for the royal monarch, but the robinsons price for manchester is about $2600 (if you're a robinsons cardmember). they're both 14" tho, so a bit scarey when it comes to buying bedsheets

was told imm and robinsons carry some similar models but different name. i think crown jewel selling at imm for 6K+

hmm, wondering if a firm mattress is better for pregnancy, would a latex plush top be unwise? i prefer pillow top cos firmer and don't really sink in, but was told will have depression after some time while latex will hold its shape

Hi cassie,

the royal monach mattress after discount is also abt $2600. You pay $3k+ if you want the bed frame as well. I find the bed frames in IMM nicer and cheaper than the other outlets selling Sealy mattresses.

cassie

oh? didn't realise 3k+ included the bed frame. i have a bit of problem cos sealy headboards too thick - then the king mattress won't be able to fit into my room
i'm looking for storage bed, maybe will use dunlopillo, now still having headache over bed frame

demi

Hi Milo,

Didn't know you were interested in Sealy also. Me and hubby are lemming very long already, still undecided to which model to get, either Dynasty or Majesty.

If you buy from IMM, get this lady called Giovann to serve you, she is very good. And you can ask any of them to match the price another dealer offer.

Taka offered me a 10% + 10% discount for Crown Jewel, Giovann says she will match it too.

Try to get more freebies from them!

Hi Demi,
we haven't buy the bed either. Still have time to shop around. Who knows, there might be a sale after CNY.

Thanks for the tips. Will look for Giovann. Crown Jewel is truly beyond our budget.

Hi Cassie, I have the exact same problem. The platform bedframe is simply too huge for my masterbedroom. But its really nice. The only way would be to have a feature sliding door to my room instead of the normal swing door. But that will cost me even more money on the renovation.

racherlle

guess all of u r having ur wardrobe in ur MBR?
hmmm
i'm able to accomodate a King size mattress as my walk-in-wardrobe eats up the space of the room beside.. else dun tink it can fit into my MBR too..

Hi Racherlle,

my MBR is pretty small loh. One wall is behind a wall which the previous owner places his wardrobe. Can't use that wall cos its bad for fengshui to not see the entrance from the bed.
We are only left one wall possible to use.

Will use that wall behind the wall as the study area instead.

kero

Wonder why HDB din review the space for MBR since soo many couples hv to crack their heads to find space to place bed and wardrobe....

It's sooo silly tat my guest room are much bigger than my MBR! Really put the guest at comfort but host in stress...haha...

Hi KeRo,

that isn't my biggest problems. My house is on the 2nd floor. HDB has idiotic water pipes servicing to 2nd,3rd and 4th floor all running thr my kitchen. Somehow, the stupid waste piping is not with the water pipes but almost a meter apart. After my contractors tear down the cabinets, I'm in for more surprise. The PUB gas piping is in the centre of another wall. What an idiotic design and the gas meter is also located beside the pipe and cannot be relocated. I want to strangle whoever the IDIOT who design the piping of my HDB flat.

He must be an idiot who wears his singlet outside and underwear over his head and has should pads on his Tshirt and wear misfit socks.

racherlle

hi Kero!

same situation here!! the room beside my MBR is bigger too.. crazie rite? i was quite amused when i saw the dimensions.. geee..
lucky i'm prepared to hack.. or else dun dare to imagine hw i'm going to fit in the King size mattress..

ya milo.. looking at some of the wierd shapes of the HDB flats.. i'm also wondering hw they design some of the flats....

bookworm

do u have the measurements for the king size bed, the length and width. i forgot to check the measurements, now i wonder if it fits into our room

racherlle

hi bookworm!

for the Glendale King size the measurement is as follows:
W:182 x L:190 x H:12

hopefully it helps

oh ya gals.. juz saw frm the newspapers.. Takashimaya is also having sales on their mattresses.. those who are interested can go and hav a look..

bookworm

thanks for info...think pop by the IMM simmons gallery for a look. Anyone has any idea when will be their sales period?

Hi pple,

finally got the mattress that we like so much
Went down to Taka to see. Their pricing not that good leh.

thanks for the recommendations, gals. Went back to IMM to look for Giovann. We got a queen size instead since the bedroom is so small anyway. It would be ridiculous with a King size and its almost $1k cheaper

Can't wait for my house to be ready and can sleep on my new bed! YEAH!

kero

HI milo,

I understand your prob...i went to my neighbour's place and saw many big pipes running thru the kitchen and toilets. I was surprised...i can imagine more headaches trying to find ways to hide them....

racherlle,
You were lucky tat you could hack the other bedroom wall. I can't cos if I hack my connecting wall, I would be placing my bed under a stupid beam which fengshui strongly advise against cos it is like something heavy above us...causing more headaches....well, juz keep my hubby and myself "closer"....hehe....

racherlle

hi milo!
u got the Royal Monarch?
hw much did u pay for it?

hmm did u take a look at Serta mattress?
i saw it on the advertisement.. looks luxurious too.. and not too ex.. i tink they are having like 50% off..

hi kero..
ohh okie.. but can't u place the bed somewhere else from the beam? hmm coz if hack off a room.. ur MBR would b bigger.. and looks better too..

hi rachelle,

I got the Crown Jewel in the end. Been thinking of the bed, ever since I tested it. Got it at 10% + 10% off retail price. But topup $609 for the platform bed which I think its a very good deal. A platform bed outside can easily cost over $1k.

Hi Racherlle,

its $5k * 0.9 * 0.9 = $4050.
And $609 for the bed frame with alteration of the bedhead by 5 inches higher.

bookworm

oraia (oraia)

hi, i went to check backcare as well.
hmm, they have few series on that as well. I am deciding between backcare and tribute. aiya, went to the one at great world city. Didn;t have the time to check it out as the sales assistant is busy with soemone else. this weekend will drop by IMM.
u have anycomments. Think the back care is firmer than the rest and i think its from japan? or was it candana?

cassie

4050! *gulp*

my mbr and guest room also same size; yah, dunno what's this with hdb! just bought a storage bed frame with the skinnest headboard suitable..... crossing fingers that we'll be able to walk around in the room!

Hi Cassie,

to us, its better to spend the money on the bed than on feature walls etc. To cut cost, my hall is basically all DIY and off the rack. No fancy customed made beds either.

We are getting the Aromax system wardrobe which is also moveable.

At the end of the day, the bed is where we spend 1/3 of our lives on. Paying $2k more than the ordinary beds. If you do the math, its $2000 / 10 years = 54 cents more a day. Not really a big sum for 10 yrs * 365 days * 8 hours = 29,200hrs of more comfort sleep.

As for your bed, why not you get the exact dimension and visuallise it at your MBR. Don't need to wait for a rude surprise when the bed is delivered.

oraia

hi bookworm,

i went to the simmons gallery at paragon... ya i think the backcare series has a few like backcare3 and 4 or something. the one i got was advanced with the plush top, which i love.

the mattress will be delivered tmr, but fr what i tried, it's v comfy!
v pleased! the advanced series is fr canada. but the 3&4 series i think they're fr japan/ korea or something.

bookworm

hi oraia,

u mean u bought the bed with the bedframe. Hey i am intersted as well, care to shre how much u pay in total? which series u bought? backcare or tribute?

racherlle

hi milo!

4k... price is pretty reasonable for tat bed!
hehe..
yup agree w u.. having a gd nite's rest is definitely more important than anyting else!

cassie

hi milo,

i totally agree with you about the importance of a good bed

about the frame.... i've been walking around the past few weeks with a measuring tape in my bag heheh. measured and re-measured and re- re-measured the frame; should be able to fit unless they add another 2cm during the manufacturing process! whatever it is hb and i seem to need a lot of sleeping space, so anything less than a king is unthinkable. since we insist on a king, we will somehow work around the space problem if it arises ;)

oraia

hi bookworm,

i didn't get the bedframe. pd about 3099 or something (can't rem!) for the bkcare adv series mattress, 1 protector, 2 pillows. there's some promo gg on.

bookworm

Hi oraia,

can i know where you get yours from? I bought mine on sunday, at IMM. But i am not sure i gotten a bad deal. Mine is the Backcare series, with bedframe, cost me $3888. Flora gave me only 1 protector, she said no pillows wor.The advanced series cost like 4k plus???

anyone care to share ?

kero

HI bookworm,

So far, my encounters with the various shops. They usually would throw in 2 pillos and 1 protector if you purchase the full range, i.e, bedframe and mattress. It's strange tat they din wanna give ya pillows...maybe u can check with other outlets again and inform Flora?

bookworm

hi Kero,
exactly, i called her and she said no....what pianz, shld have change another branch, told me to buy 2 for $139 for the pillows.

oraia

hi bookworm,

i bot mine direct fr simmons gallery, paragon.
mine just mattress, no bedframe. yes, the advanced series is qt ex before disct i think. shd be over 4k.
my protector is half price, pillows are buy 1-get-1 free. and i got extra 5% disct.

mabbe the simmons gallery and retail distributors got diff promos??

bookworm

thanks racherlleand oraia ,

i don't know but i think i got a real bad deal lor, cos i bought it with bed frame and it cost me $3800 with 1 free protector, did not check the discount price.

i will check with her again

kero

bookworm,

Talk to her again and let her know that other outlets such as Taka, Robinsons got additional disc and items...worse come to worse, threaten to cancel lor...anyway, you can always go to another outlet to get the same at a better package.