Simmons mattress - any advise?

Hi Eve and user,

I'm a felicity user and so far only found that sintex fitted sheets fits felicity...Moreover only the more expensive one (about $90) fits...

any other lobang to get cheaper brands ?

Hi user, are the King Koil sheets plain or printed ?

I was given a quilt cover FOC recently from Simmons when I bought a mattress. I am considering to exchange this with their mattress protector and pillows. Hence, could anyone advise if their mattress protector and pillows are better as compared to those other brands in the market like Sintex and King Koil.

hi jas,
simmons pillows got neckcare 1,2,3,4. I know the price of neckcare 1 is at $96 each.
the mattress protector is anti-dustmite worth ard $120. (you may check out simmons website for the price)
In my opinion, you may buy mattress protector from other brand, since it'll be covered by ur bedsheet, so can buy cheaper one.
as for pillow, it's better to invest better quality pillows, maybe a down pillow hehehe...
you mean simmons gave you a quilt or just the qulit cover?

I'm interested in buying Simmons mattress. But then, there are different types of mattress. Like Beauty Rest, Felicity for eg. Which is the better one?

Another thing, saw that a number of gals here got freebies when they purchase their mattress. May I know where you gals buy it? I've actually enquire about the mattress in S'pore Expo recently, however the salesperson din mentioned anything about free gift leh..???

Hi elmo2109,

Thanks for the tips. I was given the quilt cover and its worth $200+. From what I understand of Simmons mattress protector that is different from the other brands is that is covers the sides of the mattress as well. Most other brands only cover the top of the mattress. Do you find that useful so that the sides of the mattress are protected as well ?

Both FH and me prefer firm pillows rather than down (felt that it is too soft for us). Do you know of any brands of pillows (e.g. Sintex) that are firm ?

I have not gone down to select the quilt covers from Simmons yet so wondering if anyone has seen or used them. Are they good - heard that it is 100% cotton like their bedsheets ?

Hi Icemilo

Hope u remember me. SSL

I'm also checking out mattress and bedframes with hubby lately.

Heard from Taka salesperson that there maybe a simmons promo in 1-2 weeks time. And Robinson also having some promo for another brand of mattress this weekend (look out for the newspapers)

My hubby loves Simmons mattress but i find it too expensive. After lying on the bed for trial, did find that it's more comfortable. However like u, been confused by the numerous models.

hubby looking more into Apez and Backcare 2 or 3 cos me got muscle spasms so he always wanted to buy me a good mattress.

We may not end up buying the bedframe cos it's too expensive though it's very nice. Cant get the buy mattress get bedframe promo cos the frame too big for the space in my master bedroom.

so still deciding.

Anyone would like to comment as to the difference bet a divan and bedframe?? noted that the divan is on the floor so will the water from mopping the floor damaged the divan??

And other recommendations? FYI, the Apez is ex-stock which the Simmoms gallery doesnt have. I saw it at Taka so we asked the lady at the showroom in Paragon. She told us could be remaining stock. But very comfy to lie down.

Heehee

Hi SSL,

from what i know, a divan would be appropriate if you decide to build a wall feature behind the bed to act as a bedframe. However, if u are not, then a divan will look very plain and it'll be more appropriate to get a bedframe instead.

As for myself, i was also quite in a dilemma b/w these 2 but in the end, decided to choose a bed frame instead. U see, if u build a wall feature, and do not like it after a few yrs, it will cost quite a lot to change a new one. whereas, a bed frame does not cost as much or even if u don't like ur old bedframe, u can use it in ur spare room.

Also note that if u buy a divan, usually the mattress will feel softer than if u put it on a bedframe bcos the divan is cushioned. So if u want something firmer and using a divan, then make sure u get one grade firmer so that it'll feel just nice on ur bedframe.

Btw, have u considered other models like Felicity, Expedition instead? These models have a plush layer i.e. firm at the bottom but soft on top.

Ok, gd luck on ur mattress hunting ;)

i think i've tried the felicity before. i tried a couple so i cant remember the model name. heehee. will take a look again. probably will get bedframe from somewhere else. any good recommendations?

Anyone say the model "Apez" (cant remember how to spell) at robinson centrepoint? Saw at Taka but lady at Simmons Gallery at Paragon told me it's ex stock cos no more that model liao. aiya

hi jas,
oic, cover the side....I bought my mattress protector at $12, not covering the side, hmm...I dunno lor, mattress protector is to protect the mattress from dirt/h2o, so think side may not nec.
if you dun mind paying huge money, you may buy neckcare4 (the firmest). Or alternatively you may choose higher % of feather and less down, then ur pillow will be firmer. I think most of the cheap pillows are quite firm (actually is hard).
Since you will buy ur quilt soon, why not just take their quilt cover, I'm sure simmons cover is good since it worths $200. No point changing somehting that is less than the original value.
100% cotton is very good but maybe need to iron.

Have anyone heard of this brand called Sealy?? Saw it at Taka and centrepoint robinson.

Saw this posturepedic plush mattress. cost $1800 for queen size and their PVC headboard is only $294!!! If divan and mattress will cost $2960. Fior every $500 discount $100 and 5% additional dist for robinson card holders. Not to forget the 6mths interest free instalments

Promo now got two free pillow and one mattress protector. The mattress itself is abit plushy and has a soft feeling.

Not sure if to buy or not leh.
aiya

Need advise urgently.

SSL,

what is the actual use of having a mattress protector?

Just curious to find out.

Is it a must?

And what's the difference between normal bed sheets and comforters?

hi kk

as the word says, it protects the mattress.

It makes the mattress feel firmer when u lie on it. simple as that.
not a must lah.

If i'm not wrong, comforters are like quilt cover type (or they are quilt sheet) abit spongy to the feel cos they got a layer of sponge in between the cloth. feels very good if u are sleeping in aircon room.

Oooo...SSL, that means hor, i place the protector over the mattress and then the bedsheets over the protector? heeeeee... me a bit sotong one *grinzz*

Hi, SSL

Yup, heard of Sealy. I understand that Sealy is one of the top mattress brand in USA...top selling mattress than even Simmons! I guess in singapore Sealy is not as well known as Simmons 'cos it is prob relatively new to the market here but it is a really gd brand. You can go to www.sealy.com to take a look at their website

Hi kk and Kat22

I've one more item out from my list.

Managed to get a real good bargain (well at least to my hubby and me) for our mattress and bedframe.

We went anchorpoint and saw "Sleep Post" (name of shop) and went in. To our surprise, they have good promo for Dunlop Pillow mattress and divans.

Promo: Q size mattress + divan is $799. Pay $100 - $200 (depending on designs) for additional PVC headboard.

We also bought another set without mattress intending to use for our current mattress. Only paid $299 (divan) + $100 (the design we choose) for the headboard.

Also got 2 Dunlop Pillow pillows and 1 mattress protector FOC.

Like the feel of mattress. just nice, not so hard not so soft. we were served by Regina and we really feel that she's very helpful.

So we made a happy buy which was not within our expectation. It's cheaper than what we want and yes, it's within my original budget of below $1000 for the whole set.

Heng hubby ok cos initially he BERY insist on Simmons. Cos he slept on it before so he really like the comfyness lor. heehee.

Opps hope i'm not being too lor soh but just want to share my joy with anyone who's also happen to be looking for mattress.

Hi,everybody

i bought my simmon backcare from robinson somewhere in january.i think mine is a good deal after reading through all your comment.
i bought it at $1487.50 which incl. 2 spring pillow and mattress protector.

try your best to bargain with them they will give in.happy shopping

HI SSL,

yours sound like a gd deal to me. Does the headboard looks okay?? I'm also looking or rather my FH is looking for something below 1.2 k cos we have blow our budget for other things. Sigh!!

Btw, what's a divan? Sorry a bit "sua-ku"..Hee

Hi fish

It looks ok to me and hubby.
divan looks something like a mattress. some has got legs but some hasnt. normally it's without a headboard, however, for wedding maybe it's good to attach a headboard. (you tou you wei mah)

So the mattress just put on top of this "mattress lookalike thing" called divan lor. hope u understand what i'm saying.

Ok, if not, heehee, u can checkout this website where the headboard i've bought is featured (but different colour though).

www.sleeppost.com

Goto "products", "mattress", "Dunlopillo", "Ortho Master Pillow Top". tada thats how my beadboard looks like. But my mattress is the "Spine-O-Master Pillow Top" series.

If u look at the other mattress, they also have other headboard designs. Four colours, black, dark blue, beige and yellow. We choose yellow and dark blue cos we bought two sets. haha. but the yellow is for guest room (aka future baby room)

Hope my info helps.

feel free to ask me if u still have any doubts.

Dear Felicity owners,

I need some enlightenment. Does Felicity comes with the additional layer (is it call pillow top?)?
We 1st went to Robinsons, the lady introduced us to Felicity, it has the additional layer. But when we went to the Simmoms Better Sleep shop yesterday, wanting to check out Westbury
, the lady told us that felicity do not have pillow top. She can't show it to us cos she do not hv Felicity nor Westbury in the showroom.

So does how does Felicity look ......

Felicity doesn't have the extra pillow layer on top.. that is the Westbury Pillowtop range.. but i just got a felicity and am very pleased with it.

I am at a loss which simmons mattress to get. Something reason and comfortable. I do like the plush feeling when sleeping on the mattress.
Please advise.

May,

Get either simmons backcare 3 or 4.
i think retailers are selling backcare 3 $1950
and backcare 4 $2100.

for me i bought backcare 4 at $1600.

may

u can try westbury or canterbury....
both with the plush effect...
the diff is price is onli $100...
i bought my canterbury 4 $2499...

summer_onyx,

Can I know where and when you purchase your Caterbury? Thanks!

yoki

i bought my canterbury durin the pacific home fair @ expo in sept...
cost mi $2499 with a free $500 simmons voucher where i get my matt protector n pillows...
u can check out simmons gallery canterbury shd b on display nw...

i got a Westbury King, will be delivered tomorrow very execited

BTW, it is true that Westbury will be discontinued, & replaced by Canterbury....

nata

heard from the staff canterbury is the upgraded version of westnbury...
aint sure how true...

just want to conduct a poll. How many of you bought queen size mattresses and how many bought king size mattresses. Thanks.

oxyl: The new backcare series is very expensive more than 3K. How come yours is so cheap?

Summer: the canterbury is good? But quite x.

Nac: i plan to buy king.

May, my is the backcare 4 old model,
which is cheaper.

Takashimaya is displaying the new model
if i not wrong with negative...can't really
recall.

The simmons promoter is very honest, u can
check with him. He will explain to you
the differences and I don't think is worth
to pay another thousand for a new model.

Most of my friend find the old model
is good enough. But it is already discontinue
so you must check if they still have the stock.

Also Takashimaya giving 25% discount
of the selling price.

Check it out.

In the end i bought the Felicity King mattress for $2017 after 15% discount + 5% discount for Citibank Credit Card at Simmons Gallery. I got a pair of neck care 2 pillows and the mattress pad. So i think quite a good deal. I did not know that Simmons were having 15% sale.

can any1 advise, which brand of mattress is better???

how 2 select a good mattress?? waht r the things to look for ???

Tried Simmons, kinda of like it ...
what about Kingcoil, Sunderland etc?
Pls advise

Hi May,
what is the difference between the Apex range and the Felicity range (other than the price)? Please advice!

Nac: I think the apex range must flip. whereas the felicity no need? I am not sure too. I jsut feel that felicity is more comfortable.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">nac,</FONT>
if i'm not wrong, Felicity is harder then Apex. &amp; no, Apex dun need to flip.

i am thinking of buying kingsize canterbury from simmons gallery. the quote that i got is:

$2899 less 15%, less $200 for early delivery and less 10% if u have the kris flyer card. There are no free gifts if u take this option. After all the discount, price is $2,037.74

They will give u a free mattress protector and 2 neckcare 2 pillows (amounting to $321) if u dun wnatthe $200 discount. If u take this option, price is $2,217.74

Do u think the above is a good deal or there is somebody who got a better deal than this?

Btw, this promotion ending on 24/11.

hi delimma, i'm also thinkg of taking up the offer. sounds like a good deal to me. we r buying felicity king. i think i have add. 5% for citibank credit card and also a friend has PPS card, so will be borrowing from him to get the add. 10%. so price is abt $1600 (actual $2499). we r not taking the mattress &amp; pillows offer.

TLC: Please note that you cannot use both the krisflyer and citibank credit card together.That was what i was told. Plus, if you use PPS card cannot enjoy citibank instalment plan.

I think the deal is not good at all. It is either you forfeit the $200 discount or you can the free mattress protector and pillows. Similar to buying from them. Just a marketing gimmick. Actually, the offer is not much different from their past offers. If you don't need it urgently, I suggest you wait. Every sales person in town just scarring everyone into buying by saying GST is higher next year. Actually, the GST is only 2% higher (in absolute terms) than this year. If the economy goes into a double dip, then there will be a lot of promotions next year (quantum of discounts likely to be much better than last year). Remember that Simmons is a US brand. If sales in US are not doing well, then they would need to clear inventory by dumping it in other markets. I foresee more promotions next year as the US economy slows further.

Hi nac,

What is PPS member? My hsband has got the card and showed it to the sales lady and she say its ok.

Hi TLS,

what May say is true. I think u can only use 1 card, its either the kris flyer card or the citibank card. But another lady at great world told me that besides kris flyer card, u can also use credit card like DBS &amp; ... (can't remember) to enjoy 10% discount instead of 5% by citibank. Maybe u like to double confirm with them on that.

Hi Tie Li,

actually i am not very in need of the mattress at this moment, but i felt that it was a rather good deal cos u enjoy another 10% with the kris flyer card. If they throw in the free mattress protector and pillows with the $200 discount, it would be even better. U do have a point there that they might give better discounts next year. So what should i do???

oh yeah, i remember the sales telling me that they will rebate u the money if the price went down b4 delivery. But i think to enjoy the $200 discount, the mattress must be delivered b4 Jan. And i feel that i can wait longer cos i am not in a hurry to move in. Hai.... should i take up this offer??

Hi dilemma,

I think after all the discount you have mentioned, the simmons mattress is still too expensive. By the way, is there any special features that make this mattress worth so much?

Also, I think I don't you need to spend more than $100 to buy a real good mattress protector and 2 pillows from any department stores.

Hi dilemma,

You might wanna check out Robinson's for Simmons. I think they're having 15% off. Plus an additional 5% for Robinsons card holders. I bought mine last year and paid by instalments (interest-free) 'cos my house wasn't ready yet. Just before they delivered the mattress, I saw that the prices had dropped and Robinson's refunded me the difference (equivalent to one installment, out of 6). I was very pleased with their service.

No doubt about it.. Simmons mattresses are worth the $$.

hi Tie Li,

i think most of simmons range for s'pore is exclusive for asia markets - or even s'pore market (which means not sold in US). i went to simmons s'pore website and they list down the range that are sold in different markets. so i don't think they will 'dump' the mattresses in other markets if the economy is really bad in US.

i think if you think the deal is good, then just grab it, if not, can always wait for a better deal the next time!!

hi angelia - u do manage to get the 15% discount &amp; $200 deduction right?

I wonder if they have any discounts i buy both mattress &amp; divan??!! or only discounts for mattress only??

hi all,chanced upon this thread so decided to contribute what i know.

pinocchio, this mattress is really good for the back and it is an established company since many many years. my dad had a back injury some 20+ yrs ago and the doctor recommended him this brand of mattress. i can't say exactly what is so special abt the mattress as compared to other brands such as King Koil, Seahorse, etc but it is just different.....and it is more expensive....

and as for the rest, i've heard of a Simmons showroom in IMM Building that has the range of Simmons mattress available in Singapore and there are some offers (eg free bedframe) that are only available there.... but i heard this quite some time ago, not sure if it is still the same now....can go and check it out if you are interested....