Silverlining Bridal Couture

• Thread starter Thread starter putise baby
  • Start date Start date
hi cheerio,
kekeke.... oops!
i'll def try to start doing my homework frm now on!!

oh gosh.. u tried all 3!?! tt means i must do homework for all 3 outfits!?!?!? oh no oh no... i really ve no idea leh!!!!! btw, can share wat shd tea dress b like???

i think i def wan a low back gown.. kekek.. tt's the major reason y i took jit as well!!

oh! u made a cheongsam as well?? may i ask frm where??? abt how much did u spend on it?? i've also fiddled with the thot of making a CS.. but not so sure if i can carry it off!?!?

hi cheesecake,
yeah.. we both must buck up n do our homework ah!!!

hi bread,
tho u'll b very busy this wk... but must do all these to b mei mei for PS mah.. kekeke.. enjoy pampering urself!!!

hi almondbun,
oh, so u signed with divine in the end ah?? but u mentioned tt u r stil meeting jit?? i think im a little confused leh...

may i ask who's ur photograher n make up artist then?? very curious leh!!

yeah, dun worry abt the additional cost.. most impt thing is to like the gown tt u r gonna wear!!!

hi cheerio,
hey, thanks for the tips you shared.. really useful
Great to hear that all your gowns turn out so nice and you love them so much!!
how's your gown like? can describe?
about the stick-on bra, i never thot of using leh cos i see all my gfs also never use.. but one thing about bustier is that it might slip down so got to constantly pull up.. a bit troublesome leh .. thats's why i dunno whether i want to do bustier or not..

hi cheesecake & forest,
me very kan cheong now!.. i also haven't think of my gown design yet, just a rough idea on what i want... been lazy to browse thru website and bridal magazines to find my dream gown leh
.. but got to do homework these few days lar cos no time liao.. good thing 3 of us at the same stage so i dun feel so lonely

hi fish,
woah your photo viewing so fast one huh... Travis really fast worker leh.. dun worry, i'm sure you will look good one
.. how many photos will you be choosing?

hi bread,
was just thinking of asking you what time you going down on Sun to collect your gowns for PS.. me meeting with jit early afternoon about 1pm.. dun think the design session will be so long that it will stretch until evening.. if not can say "Hi" to you

Thanks for the assurance, Bread

Will def show you gals the pics when I took them, but don't laugh at me lah, ba ba bui bui one

I think most (if not all) of you gals here are very slim slim one..

Forest

My teadress is a very simple pink bustier with length shorter infront, aiyah, difficult to describe leh
. But think teadress usually very simple one lah, shorter with no train no frills, something that you can also wear in future. You can ask Jit to show you some of the teadresses he has, they are all very nice! Choose one with your fav colour loh

My CS is made by my sewing teacher at Elna Sewing Centre, Tampines Spotlight. I used to learn dressmaking from her previously for a while. Her workmanship is $150 and my material costs $35. Quite affordable I guess, but don't know if the product will be nice, hope so..

Make one lah! I feel that Chinese brides look extra pretty in CS during their weddings leh, so far all those that I saw looked ravishing!!

Almondbun

Me also like Forest, very confused leh.. so you are with Divine and wanted Jit to make the EG for you isit??

Alexus

Glad that the little tips is helping you gals.

Err.. my gowns ah.. ok, WG is lace-top and organza skirt, bare-back(Jit's signature)with frills and lace details on the edge of my skirt. EG is fiery red bustier, mermaid, quite a simple number and I am goin to wear chunky costume jewellery with it. Teadress is purplish pink Shantung silk bustier, shorter infront than the back.

Bustier is a very very common neckline now loh, if you want something more unique then maybe you might want to consider off-shoulder or halter.

Hmm.. it will be great hor if we got chance to meet at Jit's then we can also see one another's gowns

hi almondbun,

your AD is in Dec .. hmm at least still can take your time to source for your “perfect” EG .. i ever saw 1 red EG at jit’s place, it was really gorgeous... so can give him a try lor ..

so you decided on divine.. their WG are really lovely too, i got a few frens who are with them.. who’s your designer? All my frens were singing praises about helen .. wonder if you got her.. i understand your frustration, i am always like that too, cannot make up my mind then after that cannot find the item and die die wants it hehe... but it’s not silly lar, at least MTM you can add in details that you like and will be more fitting than OTR.. me thinking of using fluv for my florist too, but for jit’s package got to top up so still considering.. good luck in your search for EG

hi cheerio,

i was just telling almondbun about this red EG i saw at jit's... wonder if it is yours leh!! i can't remember if it is a bustier though.. i was too stunned cos i really think it is absolutely gorgeous..
all your gowns seem really beautiful from your description leh.. can't wait to see your pics

hey dun say you ba ba bui bui lar.. think i also got room to improve.. especially my tummy area .. hope it doesn't show when i wear my gown..

wah, you like have a lot of change on your actual day leh.. WG, EG, CS & teadress!!.. so you going to have 3 march-in during your dinner huh?
if not, when will you wear your CS?

i agree with you that wearing CS is nice, got the womanly, feminine and oriental feel.. oh ya, does your package include the teadress or you got to pay extra for it? i am still considering whether to have the teadress or not.. cos i will be having church wedding and quite sian to keep changing in and out of my WG.. what do you all think about serving tea in WG huh?

it will be great if we happen to be at jit's at the same time.. shall keep ourselves updated with all our dates then see if got chance to meet lor ..

Hi alexus

Yalor! Quick do your hmwork and show it to jit what type of gown u like or jit will design for u
Btw, have u confirm a date for your PS? I am oso very kan cheong for gown designing

Hi almond,

As for you EG, you can ask jit to do it for you. His EG is really nice

Heh heh, Alexus, also not sure whether the red EG you saw is mine leh, but hope that people will find it gorgeous lah

I am going to have a dance with my hubby, so am still wondering whether to wear my CS or EG for it coz EG got a small train and I might step on it. Teadress I will wear when seeing the guests off loh

Actually having a teadress is good coz you can wear it during the morning ceremony when you goin back to your own house or IL's place from your Mum's place. Or you can simply use that for PS, to add more variety.

I am thinking of not having PS table to table so that I can have more time changing outfit

Cheese

Its like that one lah, when you see people around you going for fitting, PS, gown designing, you will also become excited for your own
, chain reaction, hahaha..

hi alexus,
do start doing ur homework now!! no worries.. im sure u will ve something in mind.. n jit will b a good advisor on it!!!

oh, im gog to top up for the tea dress.. cos my mum wld prefer me to go bk in the tea dress for the tea ceremony... as for serving tea in WG.. actually its alrite.. my SIL did jus tt.. i wld ve done it too.. but since mummy prefers me to change, so i'll jus do another dress lor...

hi cheerio,
wow.. all ur gowns sounds soooo lovely!! hey, im sure u r well-shaped to ve a mermaid EG leh... mermaid dresses must ve hourglass figure to carry off leh!!! gosh, do take pic of it next time so tt we can see leh!!!!!!

hey, can u take pic of ur CS when u go for ur fitting?? im very curious of how it looks like leh... then mayb if u find it good.. may consider making one at the same plc???? tat is, if i've convinced myself tt i can carry it off!!!

hi cheesecake,
gosh.. let's b gan cheong queens together with alexus lah.. kakak..

hi cheerio,
wow... u're gonna dance with ur hubby?? wat dance??? so nice!!! me n my hubby can nv make it man!!!

Heh heh Forest, I buay pai say one leh, not very hourglass but still wear body hugging, that's why can see my tummy, think got to go on hunger strike liao
, I love it coz its very glam looking. Me very drama one

As for the dance, I am a bit worried that we will look like robots on the dance floor, but wanted to do it coz its sooo romantic

Might need to sign up for dancing class real soon

Hi Hi

Wah, you gals are so happening..... just one afternoon never log in and I read until my eyes pop out liao..

Heee... cheerio.... Hmmm... I don't think you are bui bui. If not, Jit won't make mermaid cut for you. He actually advises me against halter neck top because I've very broad shoulders... he suggests bustier or spaghetti top for me instead.
I saw a fire red EG when I go and collect my gowns too. Very beautiful. Really regret why I never choose red colour gown when I saw it.

My EG is ice blue colour. But then my SIL's EG is also ice blue colour and her WG is also bare back with netting behind. So end up, both of our WG and EG looks about the same. And her wedding was just over in January. So the guests will be thinking how come the 2 of us wear the same clothes. Somemore she also wear kwa for tea ceremony.....aiyah... I guess I really must take the silver kwa instead of the red one already.

Harlow Alexus... actually I was quite surprised when Travis told me to come back for photo selection 2 weeks later. He requested for 3 months PS prior to my AD. So I thought I'll only get to select photos like maybe 1 month later. But I'm really scared that the pictures won't turn out nice leh. My FH is even more scared than me cos he knows he don't nice in pics as he always get tensed up when taking photos. That day when we were taking pics at Robinsons Rd, he kept rattling about how come so many people walking around, so paiseh, things like that. I can practically see his eyes glued to the floor.

Hi Almondbun. Divine's gowns are beautiful. Very fairy tale like. My colleague's wife had both her WG and EG from Divine. Her EG is a fuschia pink mermaid cut bustier gown. Very glam also.

Cheese

Heh heh.. I hope that its romantic and not.. comical

Fish

you must log in more often leh..
actually, I AM BUI BUI
, I got big butts leh

Actually red EG is very very common, ice blue is more unique, but I suit red coz I not fair mah..

But your case, very coincidental hor that you and your SIL's gowns happen to be close in colour. She can't change to something else har? actually its goin to be tougher on her than you since you are the limelight of the night as the bride liao, people will think how come she dress like you

OR, consider making a CS lah, I guess you must be rather fair right? and slim (coz most gals here are slim, like Bread). Will look very nice in CS you noe.

Hi cheerio,

I think its unique n romantic but of course dont fall down. (Very paiseh if fall down leh) Hey! u not bui bui lah. i am even worse then u gals. i very very bui bui n ba ba. Yep i agree that most girls here are slim n pretty

Heh heh.. sounds very nice for a brand name hor?

Bui Bui & Ba Ba

can consider this if selling clothes in big sizes

I think the system is going bonkers, got error message asking me to post 5mins later then scar-ly both posts appear

Hi Cheerio

Don't say that. Be confident in your body and you'll look good. My ex-colleague who's a dive master has told me the reason why some of her cubby students look good in bikinis while slim people don't is because her cubby students look very comfy in their bikinis and carry it off with confidence while some of her slim students look too mousy and keep checking their bikinis. So if you are confident, you will look good.

My SIL (my FH's elder sis) wedding was 5 months before ours. My FH never bother to ask to see his sister's pics until her AD. So when we saw her gowns, the first thing that come to our minds is the colour is exactly the same!

But the difference is she's tall, slim, tanned with shoulder length hair and I'm the opposite. I've a swimmer built even though I hardly swim. So you can imagine lah, from the back I look like a man.... hahaha...
except that I'm short and fair and have long hair.

My aunties have asked me to make CS but I don't want the EG to go to waste leh. Somemore, since I'm holding my wedding in a clubhouse, I thought CS will look too formal.

Ohh.. so your SIL is wearing a blue gown to your wedding lah. Understooded, heh heh

So you are worried that your relatives might say that the two of you wore the same EG, but I think most people won't remember what your SIL wore one lah, so no worries, k

Since you are fair, you will look great in light blues. CS is something feminine loh, but not much chance for you to wear again unless formal dinner. But something different lah

Hi cheesecake

Just scroll down to the bottom of the page. There is an item called 'Emoticons' there. Click on it, copy and paste the typecommand into your text and bravo....there you go!

hi cheesecake,
my photographer says PS should preferably be in June, latest by 2nd week July... will discuss with Jit and see when the gowns can be ready...

hi cheerio,
the dance is a very nice idea
.. i would prefer to wear EG for the dance cos it will look so good but as u say must be careful cos of stepping on the train lor

hey forest,
why dun you ask jit to make a CS for you as a teadress? maybe can have a shorter CS so that it will not too formal?? just a thot ...

hi fish,
your FH a bit same as my FH leh .. he also dun like to take photos one so i also very scared mine will not turn out nice
.. but got to trust the photographers lor.. think they shd be able to capture the nice angles and moments

hi shanice,
sorry i have not gone for gown designing so no photos to show you yet

Heh heh, I got hourglass but is those big bottom type

Cheese, what cute icons? Are you referring to the emoticons? If yes then you just need to type in the name of the emoticons as shown in the bottom of this page.

Hi Shanice,
I didn't take pics of my gowns yet so nothing to show you now

Hi Alexus

I also feel that my red EG will look nice on the dance floor, but coz got a small round train lah, scared wait step all over it

You also having a little dance? I am either learning through tapes or taking lessons. THink Salsa will be nice but very "Gao Nan Du"

Hi fish,

Thanks for your help. let me try yeah!

Hooray! i got it.

Btw, where are you holding your banquet (which club house)?

Hi cheerio,

Yep! its the Emoticons. Now i know liao. Thanks

U really got to practise your dancing b4 u do it on AD. Hee hee! me too oso got big bottom

Hi alexus

Oh then you must really decide on what gown u want n tell jit on tis sun lor.

Hi shanice,

me too, no pic to show u 'cos i've yet to design my gown. sorry

hi cheerio,
i find it very sexy & glam to have a dance in EG esp if you are dancing salsa.. whoa!!
.. think teadress might not have that effect.. hmm why not let jit know of your intention then see if he can recommend any idea so that your little train will not get in the way??

me not having the dance lar.. though i think it's very sweet & romantic... but .. but me & FH cannot do it lar .. we chicken hand chicken feet one.. hehe

hi cheesecake,
glad you got it!!!

Hi alexus, cheerio and cheesecake.

I went down to Jit but he seems really very busy. Alot of phone calls.. he seems distracted while talking to me.
But I like his gowns (low back).

wow! this thread is so happening!! i didn't come in for one day and there are so many posts!

hi hi cheerio and forest,
sorry, i've confused you. hehe. i signed with divine, so i'm going to have my WG, make up and flowers by them. but i converted the EG to another MTM suit (to keep) for my hubby because i love jit's EGs!

i signed with jit to make 2 EGs yesterday - one for my mum and one for me. even though now i've ended up spending too much money by going to 2 bridal boutiques, i think jit gave me quite a reasonable price for the 2 EGs.

hey fish,
think i saw your EG! i remember it because there were not many ice blue EGs in his shop. it's very pretty. it really stood out because it was the only blue dress.

alexus,
you're psychic. i'm thinking of having a red EG. either that or a fuschia one. and yes, my designer from divine is helan. she's very nice. i'm quite reassured.

feel great now that i've settled the gowns. now i've gotta think about shoes. have you girls settled your shoes? care to share where to get shoes? i need to get flats (slippers with crystals?) or something with very low heels because my hubby is shorter and my mum insists. she nearly killed me when i wore heels for my solemnisation.

oh oh, btw, since i've gone past budget with the gowns, i'm not making a tea dress. i'm just going to wear the dress i wore at my solemnization. i thought never mind, since i'm not going to have any other chance to wear it...

So clever, Cheese

Alexus, actually Jit did say can modify the back but I like it this way so don't want to spoil the look leh, maybe I practise practise more and see how

Shanice, yah Jit very very very busy, when I visit him he also got to entertain calls and sometimes walk-ins. But believe me he is customer oriented, and yes, low low sexy back is his signature style. If you like it then give him a shot lah! He is a good designer.

Almond, you ever consider those flat pumps to go with your WG, those that resemble ballet shoes with bow infront and round tip? Its really quite sweet and unique and easy to walk on

I got mine from Metro Paragon and Bata, you can also check out OG and the shops at the basement of Far East Plaza, esp Vie Vie. Nice shoes there too.

hi alexus,
kekeke.. will consider, but thot of making a teadress such tt next time still can wear, cos its to keep mah... also, not too sure if i can carry off wearing CS leh...

hi shanice,
same here, i also hve not started designing my gowns, so no pics to show u... Jit is handling everything on his own.. tt's y he's very busy... but no matter how, his designs appeal to me alot mah.. n he's very sincere whenever he speaks to us...

Hi shanice

Of cource he get distracted 'cos so many incoming calls. U have to forgive jit 'cos he's doing it himself and moreover his business is picking up oso. (getting more n more customer yeah)

But dont worry 'cos he is a friendly guy. Maybe you can make appt with him again and then talk abt the package

Hi almondbun

Welcome to SL family!
I'm not sure if that's my EG you saw. Mine is 2 piece since I cut off the top and buy a separate blue top to go with the skirt. While blue is my favourite colour from young, I think I a bit 3 hearts 2 minds (san xin liang yi) one.
After I settled with blue, then I regret not choosing lilac, lavendar, fire red, peach ..... anyway, for every bride dress I see at Jit's shop, I think its nicer than mine and then I start regretting my choice lah. Don't know is it me or is it a typical woman behavior
Heehee... anyway, pasture is always greener on the other side.

Wah, I think cheerio suggestion is very good. Ballet look-a-like flat pumps are very beautiful. Would love to wear those...but then hor, I'm too kat-tek leh....will end up looking like hobbits if I wear those.

Hi Shanice, I took some pics during my fitting but they are very blur except the one with my big head lah. But then hor, that pic show only my head only. I told my FH to take my frontview and he ended up taking only my face....
I'll load up some pics of my gown this weekend but then I wasn't wearing it, so it look a bit 2D.

Heehee cheerio and cheesecake... you both are really funny. I'm always very entertained when I read your postings.

Hi cheesecake.

My wedding dinner is at Yacht Club... my youngest aunt says I wear T-shirt and shorts more suitable for the place

<font color="0077aa">Cheesecake, preparation so far so gd, cant wait to c my gowns
... juz got to pray hard weather is gd cos these few days always rain in e afternoon or evening....</font>

Hi fish,

Wow! so nice 'cos wedding dinner at yacht club. Aiyo! cant wear T-shirt lah. Also, it's very normal to feel that other bride gown is nicer than yours. (Some brides find their pics not nice and they find others nicer). All brides are beautiful especially SL bride. (aiyo! i very thick skin leh)

Cheese, we must ask Fish to pay us for entertaining her liao

I just went for 1st fit of my CS last night and I like it. But my friend felt that I looked a bit more mature in CS coz the prints and everything. But I like the very demure look that it create. Plus, its very very CHEENA
like those Shanghai gals in the olden days, if Vicky can creat those wavy slicky hairstyle to go with the CS will be great.

Fish, is yacht club the one that can have outdoor solemnisation overseeing the sea? er.. isit the one in the west area? I have seen a pic of the place before and its sooo romantic, esp in the sunset.

Bread, don't worry lah, the Met Station said that weather will clear up in a few days' time