Silverlining Bridal Couture

rchtym

Hi leo29,d
You try changing your nick and log in FBo and see? I just went and print out jit package price. I actually asked him to email me all his price list.

jan

just another question here, for photography wise, do we have to top up if we use The Edge? If not which are the ones we dont have to top up and are they good?

rchtym

Hi Jan,
If you took $3888 package, you will have a choice of choosing, The edge, Utopia, Ace pix, Robin, Photospace, Benny Ang or photo team studio. No top up needed.

lovely

hi to all the silverlining brides to be,

ya...basically i am quite happy with my wedding gown but my HTB's suit was quite a disaster....workmanship really not there...in the end....he has to remake his suit in a more reputable tailor in town....

was quite stress with that...but jit's service is really good...have to give him the thumb up...

an excited bride to be

cutiechar

Hi Lovely,

Glad to know that you are happi with your gowns! urs is tube?
hehe..when is your PS?

really ar the men's suit not good?hmm..I heard abt it too but I really praying hard my husband one don turn out as wat we dun wan...

singalong

hi, i am new in this thread. i am still looking around nice bridal shops. just wondering what's the packages that SL is offering? do they provide the accessaries FOC? how about kua which is only borrow just for ps, FOC?

chiffon

Does anyone knows which florist Jit ties up with? His package sounds quite value for money since the workmanship is good. But flowers are quite important to me too

V

vtoh

Hi Chiffon,
if i'm not wrong, i think Jit ties with secret garden

babysheep22

Just want to find out... does anyone know if the $3,888 package is still on?

I am keen on it, though I have spoken to Jit yesterday and he promised to revert to me yesterday night, still I have not heard from him.

One thing tho... I heard from Jit that he is planning to increase his prices in mid oct...

fish

Hi babysheep22

I've just signed up with Silver Lining on Saturday. Like you, I've asked Jit to email me the packages but he had not done so by the time I went to his shop one week later to sign up. I think it was because he's quite tied up recently. There seems to be a lot of weddings going on in November. During my 20 mins stay there on Saturday, 1 bridegroom-to-be and 2 other brides-to-be had already pop in and out of the boutique.

I've confirmed that all the packages are still at the same price as when I first went to take a look on 4 Oct. So that should be the price you've gotten.

The funny thing is I didn't even try on any gowns in Silver Lining and I just signed up like that
because I find Jit very friendly and bubbly.

Can any brides let me know whether Jit does any mock-up for you during the design session? My first session is in the 1st week of November. Don't know what to expect?

cutiechar

Hi Fish

I m oso aSL bride. My wedding is in Dec this year and so basically mine is almost ready.
first of all, jit is friendly and nice!
no worries! once u sign up, he will do a draft for you, you can show him all the designs tat you want and he will draw out for you on a white sheet.no problem one, he is quite ok one but abit insist on the netting, mayb its his signature..haha..

fish

Hi Cutiechar

Thanks for the info! Heehee.... I'm a bit of a 'dramatic' person.
I found the gowns Jit did are a bit plain in front... details are mostly at the back. I told Jit I like applique all over so as to create a flowy effect and he said he pitied my poor HTB cos he will need to carry a big fan and run after me during photoshoot to create that flowy effect I want.

bebee

hi al, i am BS shoppin and SL was 1 of the 1st shops i went to. from wat i c, everyone seems pleased w his svc. however, do u al hav trouble meeting him, & making arrangments since he is a 1 -man show? i was interested in finding out more n signin on w him, but I can't even get an appt to c him ;)

tanlea

jit allow me to try 1 gown and show me another 1 gown. how do i ask him to show me more gowns huh? i like his gowns but cannot put on my finger on what i like about his gowns. what is his speciality?

bebee, me going down to see Jit next Monday 7.30pm lor. if u dun mind, you can join me lor. I find Jit very busy leh, he din talk to me much the 1st time. but can see he is quite friendly person.

bebee

thx blueangel
, sounds good, I wil check on my work schedule & inform ya by mon morning. wow nice of u to share ya time with jit w me hee
i'm goin for bridalveil show 2nite...jus get some ideas..n bring my HTB too, he doesn't go n c all these stuff much..

sugar

I've been hearing good things about Jit & his gowns..I'm really tempted to book his BS, but customary will only take place in 2+ yrs later, so do you think it's ok if I book him now?

cutiechar

Hi Fish

wow, so u decided on flowy gown? Tat jit likes to joke one and you can see him laughing so loud away each time..wahaha
actualli flowy one veri hard to walk one coz material oredi veri heavy.but its a once in a lifetime matter, so must be comfortable hor!

Hi bebe,

he is a one man show person and initially I hesitiate to sign wif him oso coz he dont haf a assistant to help us when we change..but so far still ok. need to keep calling him for appts. we oso find it hard to meet him but now used to it liaoz. he will reply you when he miss ur call.

Hi blueangel

actualli you can ask him to show u more gowns. he let me try 4 gowns. U tell him wat u want then ask him can try or not. he sure say can one.He quite flexible and can tell him wat u looking at.actaulli his speciality is netting behind the gowns. mine in fact all netting jus oli with different cutting of the gowns oli.

fish

Hi cutiechar

I still like the flowy gown leh.... This is the only time I can be so dramatic and people will still find it acceptable.

I'm going for my first consultation/design session on 2 Nov. I was supposed to have my session next week. But I'm in the States now and won't be back in Singapore until 1 Nov. In fact, I set my appointment with Jit through email. I hope he remembers and that I don't fall asleep in his shop half way through discussion.

Do you find him a bit blur? The other day when I dropped him an email to confirm the timing, he mixed me up with another bride to be.

aplle

can anyone compare SL vs divine for me ? i'm undecided who to choose.

do you feel inconvenient with a male designer.

fish

Hi Aplle

I have been to both shops but I can't give a really good comment on the difference between SL and Divine since Jit doesn't put many dresses on display.

Some similarities I found for both shops are:
(1) Low back with netting for most WG
(2) Most gowns are made from organza rather than duchess satin

I find Divine's gowns are very feminine and flowy. SL's gowns are flowy but give me the impression of being more bold. Hmmm... maybe its the effect of the lighting inside the boutique yah?

I've been to my first design session with Jit. It was quite fast since I already know what I wanted. I showed him the pictures and he sketched a few modified versions of the gowns and explained why he need to modify the gowns to suit my figure.

I didn't feel any inconvenience when he took my measurements or when he helped me to zip up the gowns I tried on. He's professional and fast with the measurements. Moreover,my fiance and cousin were there with me, so I didn't feel awkward at all.

Good luck for your BS search!

cutiechar

agreed that Jit's design's more bold..aiyo..but if you can accept sure no problem!

show u gals my PS link. the pics not done up yet..wahaha
anyway, you gals can see the crease line coz the bustier area is quite loose.actuali the gown fits but then after the PS pics, den I realised that the gown are not fitting.hehe..

http://community.webshots.com/user/cutiechar

fish

Hi Cutiechar

You are so pretty and slim! I'm so envy leh....

Is your wedding over already? ... forgot to congratulate you on being MRS! Gong xi Gong xi!

Jit said I can stay as I am now but in order to look really good in my evening gown, I got to lose another 3-5 kg. My evening gown is cut very low in front and behind, got to use masking tape all over... and I can't afford to have any fat on me
Don't know what got into me that day when I ask him to make that gown.

Btw, which photographer did you take up with? I signed up separately with Utopia because they had a promotion then. In the end, my package works up to almost $5K. A bit heartpain but my fiance says he rather we spend money on ourselves than on wedding dinner where there will be tons of people we don't know ....

cutiechar

Hi fish!

no lar..I skinny skinny one..

my wedding this Dec leh. when is your wedding?
yar lor, my wedding gown oso low cut in the back..wow kaoz my frds says veri bolding and I oso dunno why I chose those bolding designs..keke
yar lor, during the PS I haf tapes all over oso.

my photographer Lionel from Acepix. wow $5k..den how mani pics you can take back? it must be veri attractive das why you took Utopia rite?
actuali my hubby oso says that he rather spend the money on the house or tour rather than the wedding coz the banquet is oli to make our parents happy..hahaha

fish

Hi Cutiechar

Great mind think a like! Hee....

My ROM cum wedding is in June 2004 and my photoshoot is in March 2004. Which means I have only 4 months left to 'bia' to lose weight. Very difficult man... cos I love to eat. sigh!

My WG is a bit like yours. Bustier in front, low back with netting behind. But its considered as no big deal compared to my EG. My EG is cut with a deep V below bra-line in front and bareback (no netting at all). I think my dad is going to faint when he sees me wearing it all the actual day.

Can't wait to see the gowns in end December. Do you think it is still possible to ask Jit to change the design a bit if the gown designs doesn't really suit me? I did check with him before I confirm the design whether I can carry it off and he said I can. But because he doesn't have a similar design like that in his shop, there is no way I can test it out on myself before committing.

Oh, my promotional PS alone costs $2100. Can take back 24 pcs 12x15R, 2 sets of collages, 1 16x20R portrait, 1 8x10R tabletop and 24pcs 3R. My fiance said that should be enough for us not to top up for any more photos.

buttercup

Hi gals....

I've been reading till my eyes are close to popping out!! I'll be seeing jit this sun. Quite excited. My wedding is in may and i know I should have at least booked a bridal package by now, unfortunately, I have yet to..

Frankly, at this point of time, divine has caught my attention and close to stealing my heart. Loved their low back gowns...that was the same thing that attracted me to Silverlining.

Just wondering, did you manage all managed to do much bargaining?

fish

Hi Pei Ee

I didn't bargain with Jit cos I'm really bad at bargaining. So what I did was to check out this site for a few bridal shops that receive good comments and went down to get a feel and quote from them and then choose among them. Jit's price is relatively lower than the few bridal shops that I've been to... if you take into account his package allow you to include Bridal Car and takes care of the drycleaning charges

buttercup

Hi Fish,

Which bridal shops did you go to? I do like his gowns but he has limited gowns to show me, especially the evening gowns...So although i love his white ones, i would hope the evening gowns would be just as good. Have you designed yours already? When is your wedding?

fish

Hi Pei Ee

I went to The Wedding Present, Flamingo, Le Galleria, Silver Lining and Divine Couture and happen to pop by Z Wedding Design.

I felt most at ease with the first 4 boutiques I went to because all the people attending to me from those boutiques are friendly and warm. The staff at Divine Couture didn't spend much time with me... maybe its because I pop by over lunch time and look like I'm in a hurry. I didn't feel comfortable in Z Wedding Design because the people there are too overly attentive...4 of them were serving me at the same time... makes me feel pressurised. So, although their package is the cheapest among all the boutiques I went to, I didn't choose this boutique.

Jit only offers MTM package, so the existing designs don't really matter, especially if you have done your 'homework' and know what you want. Just show him the design you want and he'll alter it to suit you.

I've been to my design session but my first fitting is somewhere in end Dec/early Jan.... so I don't know how the gowns will look like.... keeping my fingers crossed.

buttercup

Hi Fish,

I called Jit just this afternoon to inform him of my wish to book a package from him! So exciting!! My wedding is in may next year so he says we will have to arrange to meet soon. What is your wedding gown like?

I am also unsure if i should take the photography from him? Will you be? So far, the only one that i prefer is Utopia, not that the rest are bad or anything, just that i think i prefer that style.

fish

Hi Pei Ee

My wedding is in June next year. If you scroll up, you'll see my description of my WG and EG to cutiechar posted on 5 Nov.

I took up the photography package separately from Utopia because they were having a promotion then. After calculating the number of pics and size of the photos, my fiance and I felt that it would be more 'wu hua' to take up photography directly from Utopia. But that makes my total package (bridal + photography) work up to almost $5K. However, with the extra pics thrown in, I don't think I will take any more pictures than what's included inside the package.

Maybe you want to go down to Utopia to take a look at their albums. Their pkg offered directly to Silver Lining and all other bridal shops I went to are 8x10R size. But their 8x10R pics look really small to me because of the border surrounding the pictures. That's why we took up the promo pkg which included 12x15R pics.

We checked out some other photographers too but my fiance prefer Utopia's work most because he felt the X-factor running through the pictures.

Have fun with your design session!

siewyin

Hi fish,

I attended my HTB's colleague's wedding dinner last nite & it was such a coincidence that the couple took their package with SL! So I had a 'sneak preview' of what SL's dresses looked like! I must say that the bride looked very good in her simple bustier gown,the detailings on her back was sparkling like mad!!Very nice! I suppose those were crystals...juz wondering whether we hav to top up for lots of crystals?
Her evening gown was very refreshing as the colors were bright & complimented her skin tone very well. In fact it was a good combi of different fabric colour.. i'm impressed!

Her makeup was really very nice, not wayang & I loved her hairstyle(bride let down her hair) cos it's the way I want mine to be...romantic,soft yet not looking too casual. I've seen some brides looking like mama-san on their wedding dinner & it's really hideous!

Her photography is done by this photographer named Acepix.I tot it looked conventional but my HTB said 'like tat then classic'
yawn.gif

Anyway I told my HTB to get her makeup artist's contact so tat I dun hav to scatch my head to tink of getting who to do my ROM!

So when is your photoshoot & wedding?

siewyin

Hi Fish

Sori I blur-blur...didn't read properly...your wedding in june right?

Do you knw whether SL have any ROM package? Cos I tot it's more worth it if I get dress+makeup from same place..since i knw tat makeup artist is tied up with SL..any idea?

Sori,bombard u with so many questions!

buttercup

Hi Fish,

I read your description of your evening gown..wah, low back and front. *nosebleed* Not bad man!! I tried on an evening gown at his place the last time i was there... Wah lau...holes everywhere and so loooooow. HTB shook his head in disapproval. LOL!!!!

fish

Hi Siew Yin

Not that I know of SL offering any ROM package. But you can check with Jit. If he doesn't offer ROM package, you may want to check out the ROM package from Empire. The last time I checked, it costs $399. The Wedding Present also offers ROM package but at higher prices (btw Empire is under the same mgt as The Wedding Present but positioned as lower end). I wasn't captured by the dresses in Empire... but this is really up to individual taste.

Which make up artist did your hubby's colleague use? Jit recommended Ivy to me, so I will be using her MU services. Hope she's good. I like to be prepared, so I did quite a lot of homework on the hairstyles I wanted. Guess I need to check with her whether the hairstyles suit me on my trial MU session.

Hi Pei Ee
.... I hoped I won't regret when I see the EG at my 1st fitting. The initial design was actually cut even lower, and instead of a deep V, it was an open bottom V... so imagine how 'nosebleed' that was! But Jit, my cousin and my friends keep telling me that it is okay. Only my HTB kept nagging about how low the cut is. So eventually, I ask Jit to close up the V neck.

cutiechar

Hi Siew Yin

I took up Acepix as well. He is my brother-in-law's shifu..wahaha. actuali I dunno how is his work but then we are overall happi with it so far so good lor. I got a CD ROM of all my pics and we actuali film down the whole PS process in video cam.
Lionel, the photographer is a nice guy and I feel comfortable working wif him. His pics not "taiwanese" tat means not those smooth touch, with lightings shooting in the face.

show u my untouched pics.

http://community.webshots.com/user/cutiechar

Hi Fish!

oh, so fast! how is your preparations and banquet?
sure you can change last min, my EG is supposed to be halter neck but I actuali ask Jit to change into tube just last week..so shld not be a problem coz normally 1st fitting is oli wearing the "linear". my 1st fitting was just a white tube gown oli, no crystals or designs as up yet.

anyway, Eric the makeup artist is good, if can better request for him, I got a lady instead.

siewyin

Hi fish
Tks for sharing info. Actually I havn't even settle on my wedding date& venue yet but now checking abt gowns,photography,makeup etc cos i kan cheong,hehe..
The makeup artist name is vicky,i tink she's tied up wif SL too,unless my HTB's colleague took a makeup package on her own?! i called her to check on her rates for trial and rom. Very helpful, kept telling me no obligations & even suggested how I shld do my hair! May be u can check with your designer. Anyway ur EG sounds really sexy...actuali as long as it stays in place & dun look obscenely revealing, then go for it lah!! EG meant to look stunning wat,hehehe!

Hi cutiechar
Tks for sharing your pics! I'm going to show it to my HTB & we shall compare wif other photographers b4 we make a decision. Ur makeup looks fine wat...but u sound disappointed to get a lady MUA instead of Eric..why? May i knw who did ur makeup?

fish

Hi Cutiechar

I still have one more month to go before my 1st fitting. I told Jit that I wanted to wear Kua for my wedding day, so I gave up the teadress. Hmmm.... maybe I should request to try the kua at my first fitting. If I look horrid, then maybe can request for teadress instead. Do you think its too late?

I agree with Siew Yin that your makeup looks good. Its very natural leh... why don't you like it? Which makeup artist did you take?

Actually, we can top up for more well-known makeup artist like Ponnie and Sam. I've seen Ponnie's work but I find her hairstyling too elaborate for my liking. However, the bride and the rest of the "sisters" love it. I've been through make-over before so I know I can't take elaborate hairstyling or makeup... kind of make me look very mature and fierce. And my HTB is so baby face.

Meanwhile, I'm busy with house renovation. I think that is a much bigger project.... so tiring.

Hi Siew Yin

You are most welcome. Its a nice feeling coming to this website and get to know some brides from the same bridal shop I went to!

cutiechar

Hi Siew Yin

my makeup artist is Ann. Overall she is ok coz she provide services but I dun realli like her hairstyle.but anyway, I tot Eric was good coz I saw a lady returning her gown after the PS when I was in Jit's shop tat day and her makeup so nice and naturally and mine so cakey I felt.keke..
so who is ur makeup artist?

Hi fish!

u know when I wanna to wear kua Jit says he is anti-kua. ask me don wear kua, teadress nicer but end up I haf decided not to wear my teadress oredi.
yeah Ponnie veri exaggerate one.keke.

where is ur new house? mine oso having renovation now.so headache abt designs.

fish

Hi Cutiechar

I hope Ivy is good. Jit recommend her to me and help me book her for my PS and actual day already. I saw some good comments about her in other threads. So, I decide to give her a try.

Heehee... great minds think alike! Taste is really subjective.... different people have different preferences. I didn't fancy Ponnie's makeup like you but I saw a lot of good comments about her makeup skill in her thread. My cousin is also very pleased with her makeup and hairstyle though I thought it look a bit 'Taiwanese'?

My new house is near Yew Tee MRT station. HDB did the cement screeding yesterday, so probably my renovator will start work next week. Very excited.... can't wait to see the finished product. There are a lot of sales and promotions going on now but I can't buy the furniture yet... can only drool over them...sigh!

Btw, where's your new house? What design concept are you adopting?

siewyin

Hi cutiechar & fish

I havn't book any bridal package yet...i'm in this thread cos i happened to attend my HTB's collegue's wedding dinner last week & happened to knw tat her gowns were frm SL. Very impressed wif her WG+EG!! And doubly impressed with her makeup& hairstyle!! Tat's y i kpo,kpo come inside here to check whether Vicky is tied up wif SL..hehehe!

Anyway I called Vicky already, she's also with The Wedding Present & dunno where else...can't remember now.. She'll be doing my cousin's ROM makeup nxt week,so i'll be getting yet another 'preview'!! Kekeke!

Btw,i'm hoping to wed in dec 2004 but i havn't even cfm my venue yet...so jus relax..in fact abit too relax but very sian to check htl rates leh! I'm trying to get my cousin to do it for me cos she also planning her wedding.

In the meantime, i'm very hapi to read abt different experiences frm u gals...so interesting!! My HTB say nowadays keep seeing me near CPU instead of him...hahaha!

fish

Hi Siew Yin

Have fun in your BS and banquet search. Its extremely fun! You get to try gowns from different designers. Vicky is a nice and warm person.... She was the one who served me when I went down to The Wedding Present. However, the designer didn't talk to me or give any comments about which gown suits me throughout the one and a half hour I was there, so I didn't choose TWP in the end.

Me and HTB are really laidback. Less than 3 months ago, we were still shaking legs and not doing any bridal shop or banquet search although we have roughly fixed the date to be mid 2004 then. So, you are actually better than me in that you have started checking things out one year in advance

gintonic

new.gif

I am new to this thread and saw the feedback on SL. So decided to seek HELP from you gals.

Can anyone pls advise me on the bridal package that SL is offering now. I am now searching around for a BS. We signed up with one BS in Sep, but lately that BS close down. So now got the phobia that it will happen again
. But heard from my friend sister who also signed up with SL, and feedback very good. So now need to see their package due to budget constrain.

Pls kindly advise though I personally like SL but if is too X, maybe got to give up the idea lor...

Pls help...

fish

Hi Gintonic

Roughly how much is your budget? SL doesn't offer OTR package, only MTM package. However its MTM package costs about the same as Divine's, TWP's OTR package, I think. Its cheaper than Kai Bridal's OTR package as well.

I paid $2888 for my MTM package (without photography). The package includes:
1 MTM WG
1 MTM EG
1 MTM tea dress or 1 OTR Kua
1 MTM Men's Suit
3 Makeup sessions (Trial, Studio, AD)
Accessories for rental
2 handbouquets
Car and Car decorations
4 or 6 corsages, can't remember

SL pair up with quite a few professional photographers, eg. Acepix, Utopia, Beetle @ Work, Robin (I think) etc

If you have a budget constraint and want the package to include photography, then maybe Whitelink or Milan might be cheaper. These 2 are 'bao dao wan' type of bridal shops. The pictures taken there are a bit 'posey' ones, so don't know if you'll like it or not. And from what I see on their threads, the salespeople tend to be pushy so just watch out for it. But these 2 boutiques have been around for quite some time, so should be quite safe loh.

Btw, kaypoh a bit, which was the bridal shop you signed up with previously?

cutiechar

Hi Fish!

yah, hope Ivy is good. if don like must tell her lo..keke

your house is near the yew tee, is it the blk 600 plus one? mine is in Jurong West. yah, now got mani discounts, I buy until broke liao leh..
My house mainly is simple and modern zen concept and using much of zebrano(dunno if u heard of it).
I am so headache abt the designs, materials, colour,sink, hood, tap and mani mani mani things undone. veri stress man.mention abt the cement screeting, did HDB do it for you or ur renovator?my house was delay abt 1 week coz HDB could not do it for me.sigh.so mani prob! :p
I din wear teadress coz I wanna to wear my gown for a longer time so i just keep the teadress lo.me wont be changing for tea ceremony anyway..wahaha..not wearing kua coz ex to rent it..keke

hows ur preparetion oredi?

Hi siewyin!

OIC, haf fun in bridal searching.if you look for all those MTM bridal, it shld be fine.
wow dec 2004, so can still relax but time flies, I was veri relax this year Jan but now oredi Dec..SO FAST!!! :p
true oso, I have coming here for info coz here can share mani things. so feel free to share and xchange info!

fish

Hi Cutiechar

Yup, my new flat is Blk 600+. Actually, we opt for a flat in JW. Not long after that, CCK release new flats, a bit 'dui'
, then on top of that, I received some not so good comments about JW area from friends and relatives living there, so in the end, HTB and I decided to forgo our option fee and take up another flat in CCK area.

We are quite pleased with the current flat except that its too low as considered to the earlier JW one which is on the 12th floor.

CCK HDB quite fast leh. They finish correcting the defects we feedback to them within 2 weeks and finished the cement screeding within 1 month. Very efficient!

Are you targeting to move in immediately after your wedding? Your wedding should take place soon right? Its already mid December.

Luckily, we are not in a hurry to move in cos our wedding is in June next year. So we ask the ID company to take their time. Yup, I've heard of the Zebrano series. Its the new laminate/veneer series in the market. Very nice and hip but it costs more than the normal woodgrain laminates that have been in the market for a longer time leh. My home is resort style, so more towards oak laminate/veneer type of colour. Have bought a lot of the decor items but none of the furniture because most companies refuse to hold sales items for long. Still drooling ....