Silhouette the Atelier

Hi Secret & Midas,

I am actually choosing between Linn photography, Utopia or O Studio. Anyone of you using them? Guess I need to fix up an appt with them discuss before making a decision.

Secret: my designer is Caroline and my MUA is Gin

hi Minn,
I think Utopia pictures are nice although I never engage them.
I am with kelvin by Chris Ling.
my Designer is minda

I personally feel you need to go down to those 3 photographers and have a chat with them and see more work

Tonya: Hi there, welcome to the club!

I can't give you comments about MUA

who is your designer ask them who are the mua they have then ask them which might suit you

hi minn,

my PS is done by O-studios...my MUA is Gin too

pls drop me ur email addy so i can send u the link to my pix..

hello, sorry to hijack the thread here, but i have a silhouette package to transfer. i have already paid $3000 for it, the package details can be changed up to your preference ie mtm, otr etc. i have not gone for any rounds yet etc, so this is as good as new. please contact me at [email protected].

Hi citrus... do go down to try their gowns.... they are lovely! I never thought I could get something OTR but in the end I changed my mind...

Hi midas.

Saw yr pic they r beautiful, thanks gal

Hi Gals, by the way, i went down to SIL today and i also found their gowns lovely. But their price range is at a high end, can i jus check with u gals pro how much yr spend in total. And is it worth it? They really have quite a number of lovely gowns even their OTR are so nice that u may nt have to MTM maybe except for EG.

I hope to have yrs advice as my hubby does not want to spend too much too.

Thanks Tonya, so the others u ala carte?

Thanks Secret, so did u also took their photography? wow... $4280 ex lei, u must be very willing to spend. Their gowns are great right that is why u r willingly to pay for it. Im nw so confused wonder which BS to take? : (

hello all silhouette brides! can any of you give me some advice on which MUA to pick?? So far only heard about Gin. How about the rest? any piccies to share with me?

HI Sharon, well I guess the other part is just the groom's suit and he's quite adamant about doing it himself somewhere... I guess we'll both be surprised on our wedding day

No photographs for us... AD we will DIY with friends

How about you? How's the shopping comig along?

Hi Gal,
i also went to SIL today, i'm love the gown so much,anyone can share the pic of their gown with me?

Hi lynn (chowielah),
can you share the package with me?
what it included in the package? etc

Btw who the designer that you sign up with?
why you wanna transfer it out?

you can email me at [email protected]

sharon: hi there
mine 4280 does not include photography
i love their gown construction and their ability to play with different fabrics different trimmings
best part it does not turn out like some lianish gowns
I don't quite like those :P
I love the people in there too :P

yes Secret u r right. i went down today and tried 3 gowns but i also saw some others tat are really beautiful. Cos of their pricing im quite reluctant cos my hubby will nt allow to take the package of $4k man. How? plus some pple say photography is impt plus they dun hav a package and this may lead to at least min $8K.

sharon:
then work with the OTR lar cheaper
yeah photography is important but silhouete is tied up with a few good ones
like moomedia, chris ling, utopia ... ...
but photography is subjective
you ask them to work around for you?
who did you speak to today?

I hope this helps :P

sharon:
I find that it is important to be good at what they do best
those comprehensive bridal studios although they have everything in together, most of the times their gowns are just too similar they just change abit here and there
photography may just be at a norm standard

Silhouette I feel they are good at gown construction and design
The photographers are then branched out to various so that they can cater to different peoples expectation and style but they do have tie up so its more affordable?

I think this is how i feel, personal views
so you need to ask yourself what you want

I have wasted heaps on those comprehensive bridal studio deposits and i regreted not going straight to silhouette
just personal experiences

hi sharon,

thks for the compliments

my total spending at Sil w/o photos is $5430..
MTM WG (keep), if rental...less $600
MTM EG (keep)
Man suit (keep)
Flowers for PS & AD
Makeup 3x sessions
MTM matching veil (keep), if take their veil FOC..less $250

if i din top up for the MTM veil n buy back my WG, it wld hv cost only $4580
i hiao mah hehehe..

as for photos, their tie up with O-studios cost $1.4k for 20pix in album (non-mag style)...i topped up alot for mag style n selected 100+ pix so tat one spent alot...i tell u the price u will faint hehehe. both BS & PS i paid from my own pocket so i dun hv a bf to stop me from spending on wat i want

another thing is tat those one-stop BS who promised u $3k 'comprehensive' pkgs may not end up cheap either...they will hv tons of hidden costs tat they wun tell u upfront n then when u find the plain plain gowns not nice, u need to top for grander gowns, like the EG if want diff color also need top up...albums also got pple charge for converting from landscape pix to portrait pix etc...very very the unethical. n i heard the merc car they gv for AD is old old one hehehe..

P.S. all prices stated r last yrs price..

Thanks Gals.

i will be bringing down one of my gf(best fren) pro today to take alook too, maybe she can also giv me some advice. Ha ha...

wow, midas i guess yr hidden costs must be 5 digits so u also better nt scare me (joking) ha ha... Yup their merc very Old Kind (those 2 Big eye)

Secret, i spoke to this guy call Kenjing (He's e fasion designer). Anyone else that can intro and best is Lady at least when changing i feel more comfortable. They have their own coordinator or jus their designer tat will assists u all e way?

hi sharon

kenji is a nice person! he is so funny, yes they will all will help you in a way
I am with Minda :P love her heaps :P alot of great advice and she really put her heart and soul into my gown hehe :P

good luck!

hi sharon,

no lah...no hidden cost..professional PS studios dun do unethical things like tat..juz tat my spending on my PS is rather high hehehe..who ask me hiao lor..go n make gowns with multiple looks..in the end choosen lotsa pix haiz..but i nvr regret lah..all the pix r too nice to gv up

Sil has no coord one...the designers will serve u all the way n they know wat to do if u hv any problems with the gowns. coords at those one-stop BS knows nothing..a lot of times they say reserve gowns for u but forgot n let other brides take the same gowns also..so their 'new' gowns actually already duno hw many pple wear b4 liao..

if u prefer lady designer...u can either ask Caroline or Minda to be ur designer in charge during sign up

Hi all SIL brides,

I'm going to sign up with SIL as well cos I'm so in love with their gowns
By the way, there's a current promo with DBS Women's card @ $3800 for its MTM WG (Rental), MTM EG (Keep), MTM Men's Suit + Vest(Keep), 4 make-up, 2 bouquets and 1 car deco.

I'm topping up to their $4280 package cos I'm taking their corsetted cut gown. Hope this helps!

I love Silhouette too! Went down twice to check out their gowns and the photographs. I am so in love with one particular OTR WG....it's just so perfect.

However, I have signed up with Precious Moments Bridal cos I wanna save money.

I hope I will not regret for not signing up with Silhouette.

Hi Secret,

My AD is on 19 Mar 08 and my designer is Minda. She's great and super patient with me. I went down twice and tried abt 10 gowns in total!

How abt u? When's your AD and where? Do share your experience with Chris Ling Kelvin too. Might be choosing him too

Hi Ashley,

I also like 2 of their OTR gowns, one is with black trimmings (with corset) and the other is an ivory one with laces. I am thinking of doing a MTM combining the 2 effects. Hope Precious Moments can provide u with your dream gown too! Saw quite a lot of positive comments abt them

I'm new here. Actually I'm sourcing for a BS now, very interested in Silhouette...after seeing their gowns on their website....really very nice.

I am hoping whether can anyone please share ur package and photos with me?

hi anyann

Wow, your ad is in 2008 and now you are sourcing for bs liao!!
fast fast fast

mine is also Minda :P super patient lady and puts her heart into the design

my ad is on nov 2007, I like kelvin he is such a funny guy! The pictures I feel are taken more with feelings stead of those regular wedding photos we see most of the time

I haven't gone thru ps yet thou :P

Hi girls, I'm searching for nice shirt and pants for my bf's ROM outfit.
I saw in Her World they have nice shirts with ruffles/designs at the chest area.
Are their shirt collection good? How much it costs to tailor pants there? Normal material, no need the wool kind.

Hi Secret,

I feel it's not so far from actually.. Cos most designers told me to prepare 9-10 months b4 AD for the MTM gowns if I am going for PS.
Minda highly recommends Kelvin for PS but my hb loves the works of Kuang from 39 East. He decides the photographer while I decide the designer. We shall see how far we can stretch our budget cos Kuang is so ex! Do share your experience with Kelvin after your PS.. Would love to see more photgraphs b4 we decide

Hi Wanqing,

I personally find their men's collection quite limited. They onli offer OTR men's shirts, but nicely tailored ones though. If I din rem wrongly, the shirt costs ard $119. Pants wise, I'm not so sure. My hb tailored his ROM shirt and pants from a tailor at Penisular Plaza. HTHs!

hi anyann,

is it I think so I forgot to count backwards :P
i went to see Kuang from 39 East for AD shots but I don't feel it is worth it
Yes it maybe artistically done, but
having to interprete it for most normal people would be quite a killer.
My hubby couldnt understand what the picture trying to tell

Yeah will share with you once I go for my PS :P
Do you have any msn by any chance

hi anyann,

i've got a few links to kelvins works...PM me if u r interested to view

btw, i luv kuang's works too...but cannot afford him hehehe.

Hi Wanqing,
Emailed u

Hi Secret,
We both went to see Kuang too and my hb fell more deeply in love with his works!! *faints* I have to agree that his shots are very artistic and even I feel differently abt his pictures as compared to other wedding pics. He managed to capture the moments, the expressions very well, which I think is the main reason why pple are paying the price tag. However, the con is that he does not do the nice editings like what we see in the album if we do not take his art work (read: $650 per hour). If we were to take him for just photography, he will do the normal editings, which may not bring out the "feel" we got from the albums we saw.

Hi midas,
Great! I would love to see Kelvin's works too! Will PM u later. Kuang is friendly and we were at his place for more that 2 hrs! He gives good advice and the more my hb feels more comfortable with him, the possiblity of bursting our budget just gets higher!!

hi anyann

To me that is quite expensive
$650 per hour?!?!?!?!?! what other photographers have you source out
I am taking tinydots by yuhsin instead.

Just based on experience, I think photos will be left in the cupboards after the whole event because we did just took 1 ps studio shots before. and now it is sitting in the cupboards

Unless you uploaded it up to the web and keep sharing with people and not lose the euthansium of your wedding then maybe it is more worth?

not sure just my personal view

good luck!
share with you more when I have done ps with kelvin

hi anyann,

i've replied ur PM

personally i think tat u shld choose kuang if u can afford him coz he is unique...an 'out of the ordinary' pix can keep the 'timeless' factor longer n not look dated 10 or 20yrs down the road...if u get wat i mean..perhaps u could explore juz doing a 4hrs outdoors shoot(no indoor shoot) with him? it wld juz be $2.6k for tat...errm hw much does it cost to purchase each photo from kuang?

if still ex...then i suggest u take a look at another PG who's style is also 'journalistic'...Kelvin koh from 'the ligthed pixels'...i think he's not bad too.

there r 2 more WPJA award winning PGs in tis forum...stephen loh(lyrical moments) & william chua..u may also check them out

hope the above info helps...coz i'm rather particular about photos too hee..

Hi Secret and midas,

If I really have the budget, I will definitely choose Kuang. He charges $400 per hour for photography and returns all photos in CD.

Minda sms-ed me ytd and recommended me another PG, Gilbert from 9frames. Any comments abt him?

I engaged William Chua for my ROM and he is really value for money! He really uses top-notch equipment and prints the photos at Beautiful Memories (50cents per pc of 4R). The pics turned out beautiful and sharp, and not to mention, he stayed for almost 6hrs during my ROM (supposed to be ard 3-4 hrs) and nv charge me extra
For $388 (when he was still a freelance on 6 Jun 06), I got a nice shantung silk slot-in album with more than 120 pics and all prints returned in a CD with a matching shantung silk CD cover. I have nothing but all positive and nice comments for William. He is also in our consideration list of PGs but what we both personally feel is that he can take nice pictures with nice angles but his photoshop skills does not bring out the beauty of the pics as much as Kuang's.

My hb saw the works of Lyrical Moments and is interested as well. We will be making an appt soon and we shall see whether we have 'chemistry' with Stephen!

Thanks to both of u! I have gained much knowledge here

hi Anyann,

I heard of 9frames but haven't seen their works yet.
I am not sure about william Chua or Lyrical moments.

For me criterias of choosing a photographer is quite simple, and we did not look much because it will confused out.

1) The comfortable level with the photographer (1st in priority)

2) The feel of the pictures

3) The price (what I did was I went to search for photographers, I saw kwang, fieldberyl, tinydots, and hurricada) but found it was somehow similar, so which is more affortable I took)

4) Where will the photos be after wedding? No doubt photos will be there for memories, I don't agree that a more affordable photographer work is not good for keeping sake or. just think thru, when we were young, our parents took photos of us, they are still valuable today, while looking back at it, so whats important is the feel of the photography

These are just my own personal opinons

hi anyann,

$400 per hr with all photos(high-res) returned might actually be a better deal than taking PGs such as chris ling...the key here is ALL pix u get back instead of paying like $80+ per pix when u select extra pix on top of the usual 20pix in the std pkg. and trust me, u WILL choose more pix especially when the PG skills is damn gd...my damage was $7.1k for PS alone u know..

I've heard of Gilbert...he's getting married soon too
hmm..i've seen some of his works..not bad but personally i think lose to the 3 PGs i've reccomended to u..more closer to william's kinda std lor. he's not cheap too..$200+ per hr if i din remember wrongly..

i think where the hardcopy photos ended is not important...coz when u keep it in the cupboard(or elsewhere) means tat u r infact KEEPING the memories..not throwing them away, so u r technically NOT throwing away ur money
most important is to get back all beautiful photos in high res softcopy...u can decide to develope them into hardcopy later if u wish but the virtual copy can be put online n share to anyone u wish..even strangers

juz my 2cents...

P.S. u want to view kelvin's(lightedp*xels) works? i hv a link to his entire gallery..can PM me

Thank you gals for giving me so much information. Initially, I thought all pics will be returned in high res for PS, be it any photographers. $80+ per pic is so expensive if I want to take all my pics back! Guess I will take that into consideration

I'm going down to SIL later to confirm my final package with Minda, probably try more gowns ;)

Anyone heard of the wedding show from SIL on 18 May? Can't seem to recall where I saw this piece of information.

Hi ppp,
I know SIL does MTM evening gowns. No OTR ones available cos I did ask if I can rent any EGs for my PS. They have KUA for rental but no EG.

Kuang's works are good. But $450/hour... Lighted pixels is good too. If you like these two, you can try Eadwine from Plush photography. He's at the same location as Kuang but charges $350/hour.