Silhouette the Atelier

candt

hi hira, i just only signed up with Silhouette recently and haven't had the time to start my EG designing session. I guess I can't give you much input since my experience with them is limited. Tonight's the first time that i'll be seeing them for designing my EG. As for my WG it'll be OTR, the gown is lovely! all of them at sil are friendly... so far so good...

candt

As for their gowns, I'd been shopping around and been to quite a few bridal studios. Silhouette was the only one where I fell in love with so many of their gowns. You'll know it when you find the right bridal place...

hira_dex

Hi Tonya,
Thanks for sharing your experience. I've seen their BEAUTIFUL series of WG, so grand and lovely

Actually have been to a few BS and was quite disappointing with one that I have signed up with. Fortunately, we're quite comfortable with Minda and find that she's helpful also. Oh, your EG discussion is just tonight? Discussing on the gown structure and the feel is very important. Have a great time ya. Wonder what kind of EG should I have?

hi hira,

my experience with Sil has been gd...however, my designer who served me till my AD last yr has left Sil..so can't share with u on designer aspect..but other stuffs like gowns, MUA etc. can still advice abit. will try to help when there is any specific qns u hv

hira_dex

Hi Midas,
Oh really??! what a pity huh. Mmmm, we're going to sign up Silhouette soon.

Just probing due to my curiousity when was your AD and can share with me your georgeous gowns? So nice of you to be so helpful still and actively helping the new SIL btb even after wedding, must be have done vast researches.

Oops my email address [email protected]

keypers

hira,

hi there welcome to the thread

I have just done everything with them already, love my gowns and their service. Now just waiting for my AD

What's important is to really go down and take a look at their designs, no use to view our designs
reason would be some of our designs may have already been outdated - years and months do make a difference. You wouldn't want to have outdated gowns for your once in a life time AD right?

Oh you have seen their beautiful series, its pretty!!! Good on you!

Whats important is to feel that you have click with the designer and that he/she can give u valuable suggestions and understand your needs and character

that's enough already! Everyone definition of beautiful gowns are different

Good luck in your choices!

brikette

I'm sourcing for my WG and just visted Sil. Was served by Caroline. Fell in love with one of the WG. Can anyone be kind enuff to share with me their WG from Sil?

hira_dex

Midas,

Thanks for sharing. Your gowns are nice but I still prefer the upcoming (latest) designs by Silhouette - more princessy look. And... seems like you've spent some big grands for your package.

Secret,

Thanks for welcoming and glad to hear that everything is settled for you. Quite agree with you, designs come and go, so we have to keep up with the latest trend. Haha.. I believe Silhouette will be keeping their designs up-to-date with the trend and not by duplicating gowns just like that. Thats what I feel..

Btw, I'll be an officical Silhouette bride tomorrow!

secretgarden

I am considering signing with Sil
Just call Caroline and to my surprise she still remember me after 1 month =)
probably i hope can sign with them by this week.

Hi Midas,
Could you show me yr CS? i am thinking of doing one with them? [email protected]

brikette

Thanks midas! you look so pretty!
Can anyone share with me your package?
i was quoted 4,700 for 1 WG (MTM), 1 evening gown to keep, 1 men suit to keep + the usual floral arrangements. Is it their usual quote or on the high side?

hira_dex

Im an official Sil bride now

Anyone can advise on PG? Triangles, Chris Ling, O-studio...

Midas, Secret, Tonya,
Who's your PG?

Secret, have you taken your PS?

hira_dex

hi midas,
How's Jaki style? I've seen your previous postings, wow.. you spent so much for photos. Your hubby never grumble?

hira,

Jaki likes to capture couple's natural affections for each other...those silent exchange of glances n xin fu smiles...the chemistry betw the bride n groom

i paid from my own pocket...hubby how to grumble?

keypers

hira,

Alo, I am done with my PS.
I am with Kelvin of chris ling.
I like his work, very arty mood feel.
but pre-wedding pictures are still pictures after all. After wedding they are in cupboards unless you decide to show off to everyone.

We didn't spend over 5k for it, not worth.

As for how to choose pg, you have to ask yourself, what do you want?
you want those lovey dovey feel? those fashion shots ? Mood shots? Normal shots in which anyone can do it? Sexy shots?
then narrow down to those who can deliver it

hope this helps

secretgarden

Finally ...hee i am offically a Sil bride now...

Any advise what details to look in for making CS?

candt

hi secretgarden, i just had my session last week with Caroline. Pretty easy to get it done since I already had a pic of a cheongsam that I liked. I'm going for a more traditional/classic look, with a little bit of a peephole infront. Some other people love diamond back like Dang's ones. But I chose to be a little more conservative. Still having two slits on the side tho!

Caroline's got some pretty good ideas already... not much I can advise you on, but do try to have an idea of what you want.. it really helps the designer. I showed her pictures of a few details I liked from some magazines and she came up with lots of suggestions...

keypers

secretgarden

Welcome to the club

agree as what tonya said try to look for some pictures from magazine

Can't help much, as I didnt go for CS :p

enjoy

castle1

Hi secret, how was your photoshoot? Had fun taking pics? I am going for the appt to design my evening gown soon. How is your WG & EG?

hira_dex

Midas,

Natural affection.. I think both of us cannot make it, sure burst into laughter! We are much like "joker type".

Wow you paid from your own pocket? That's not worth, I believe that we should either spilt ( as wedding is a 2 person affair) or the guy pay lah. (pardon me) I don't like the idea, my htb will not let me do that otherwise what will ppl think of him. Afterall it is a chinese society, my hubby insist that he has a larger % of payment (thou MCP, but..)

Hey secret, I don't like to show off la, eh.. Its an affair and portfolio of our own, probably after wedding the album will go into store after AD over.

I prefer candid moments, maybe I'll do more research on that. thanks for the info.

hira,

then the 'burst into laughter' will be captured lor...its the natural chemistry of the couple he likes to capture..not posey type like make the groom jump up n down n make funny faces or bride pose until very seductive when both r not natural behaviour of the couple...but if u r the active type then the hops n jumps r natural n will be nicely captured on film/memory card..normally the best shots r the ones taken when u both r unaware

as for the money mah...its me who wanted to wear gowns n take PS, so better for me to pay coz he will be unwilling to coorporate when choosing MY fave PG n BS coz they r all ex hehehehe...many couples quarrel becoz of tis..no point. wat i wan, i pay for it...best policy. he doesn't question wat i buy one. we r not very 'traditional' pple...i prefer non-MCP guy

hira_dex

midas, don't get so work up lah
chill leh, we're just exchanging and sharing of info here.. No prejudice.

Quoted "but if u r the active type then the hops n jumps r natural n will be nicely captured on film/memory card.." Ermm.. We love candid moments but no jumping up and down type (aiyo, hope you won't conclude I belong to that category) tsk tsk..

It's good that you and your hubby really have an open mind, because in this typical normal society where most people think very "chinese". Like my mum keep emphasising that guy has to pay for this & that otherwise, we'll bound to have many people talking over our decision. How to handle that and how does he (my fh) face that? stressed..

secretgarden

Hi Tonya
Just realise our AD fall on the same date =)
I might do a normal EG then CS as i am worry that i might not carry off CS that well...
Next week i am meeting Caroline to design the EG ..headache...
Btw have you decide on the MUA?

hira,

i'm not work up leh...juz stating the facts..

u said u r 'jokers type' mah so i presumed u guys r the bubbly type hehehe..

my mum doesn't know i paid for the BS n PS on my own..i let her hv the perception tat we split the costs
the less they know the more peace we enjoy
but of course things like Pin Jin n GDL stuffs hubby must pay on his own lor...if not become we like cheapo free gift to him mah hehehe..

hira_dex

midas,
Oh no.. pls don't presume hor, I don't mind to answer. Jumping up and down is nothing wrong with it but definitely not for us as we objected it from the beginning.

Ya lor, if my mum knows she sure scold and say -why your hubby has no backbone.. hahaha. (For I know my mum well-enough over the yrs) In the end, she'll cont'd scold me for being cheapo - sponsoring myself to be married off. So if were you, I will also keep quiet and will not tell anyone about it.

hira_dex

Oh forgot to add on.. She told me and hinted me that before hand so I know her pattern well. Must read between her lines.

candt

HI secretgarden, i have decided to ask Freddy to do the make up... I haven't met him yet though...

Hira - am not going for any pre-wedding piccies... I guess we're kinda think that the more important/meaningful ones are the ones happening on the actual day... We changed our minds about having a PG on the actual day - we're pretty sure we're going with Tinydots - candid moments with a sense of humour...

hira_dex

midas, firstly like to thank you for sharing your wonderful pics, suggestions and your kind wishes.

think your words are really xxxxxx (no comments). Like I mentioned before I indicate my statement w/o prejudice. If my facts of my mum's comments also offended you, i really have nothing to say.

I may be young and have a traditional thinking but it is asian society that we're in afterall. I still try to hold on letting him manage (if he insists) but if worst scenario turns up i will still help and pay but not breathe a single word out as I know that MAN'S pride is as vulnerable. (that's how and why husband and wife is for...)
If I ever put myself in his shoes I can imagine the inferiority

hira,

i'm NOT offended in anyway by ur comments leh..wat makes u think i am??? me clueless...

i think u r kinda worked up instead?? i apologise for anything tat lead u to thinking tat way..me juz trying to gv ideas..no prejudice too. notice tat i din mention anything about ur parents in my sentences hor..

secretgarden

Hi Tonya,
Never heard that Sil have Freddy as a MUA?
Is he a new MUA link up with Sil?

Getting married is a joyous occasion.
And all of us can share ideas but end of the day is one's decision.
So lets keep this forum as chirpy as possible here =)

secretgarden,

in my knowledge, Freddy has always been Sil's tie-up MUA leh..or maybe he juz renewed his agreement with Sil again..he is pretty gd at unusual hairdos

candt

Hi Secretgarden, I think his name was mentioned to me when I signed on as well... but he's not going to be doing any more make up for the second half of this year, I heard from Caroline. Which ones did she tell you about?

secretgarden

Hi Tonya,
She mention Gin, Amy & Jacqueline.
Oh think she did scribble on 2 more names which one of them is Freddy ( additional 200 bucks)

hira_dex

midas, *nod nod* understoodz.. no worries man. No need to apologise la, I ain't offended in anyway. I jus want to "Gracefully" tell you that I prefer talking to ppl here of same age grp/frequency.

Btw, jus to share with all - that i've been bumping on to many lame ppl nowadays.. sigh..

Lame: boring, old-fashioned, and neither streetwise nor having street credibility

candt

hi secretgarden, there it is... yes, Freddy costs a little more, unfortunately, and yes, apparently he does nicer hairstyles... but have you decided on your MUA?

secretgarden

Hi Tonya,
Hee opps .....not yet confirm the MUA.
Also Caroline don't any MUA portfolio for me to view hence not really sure which to chose?

She just say that most of them quite ok as long you know what make-up & hair style you want....

hira,

phew...i tot i upset u somehow..i've no intention of upsetting anyone here.

i juz say a piece of my mind here..they r purely my own views so i hope i'm not saying the wrongs things here

happy preps ladies

keypers

hi secretgarden and tonya,

I have tried Gin myself, but I have decided to go with another mua due to personal reasons.

I have heard that Freddy has about 20 years of experience under his belt. Thus might be good, but I haven't seen his brides yet.

I did call Freddy up but his attitude on the phone was not very approachable, thus I dropped him off my list. I needed a mua that I can connect with. I think that is important so that you can discuss with them what you want.

As for pictures, I think it is best to go over to MUA freddy under singapore bride you may get some answers there.

I don't think it is quite ethical to just see other people's link without asking permission from the person herself, especially if the link wasn't stated on the forum.

Hope my experience helps

keypers

Alo Hira,

Chill! Life is short, take it easy gal!

As for photos, it is very subjective. As we all know or maybe seen, some couple love to act cute with silly props like blowing bubbles ... ... some may agree with it and call it beautiful and sweet, some people like me find it rather kiddo and silly as what has wedding got to do with blowing?

Its perception and maybe it has to do with a little bit of age? giggle :p

So do something you and your hubby like, or try something different like doing sensual poses but not those cheaply poses but rather arty kind, something you will never do in life and enjoy the whole process?

We all can capture candid shots any time of our lifes isn't it, do something adventurous, something fun might be a good experiences.

Remember it is the process that is fun, dun let anyone dishearten you

Enjoy!

keypers

hira,

I am going to be abit of KPO about the "chinese tradition" matter.

I do have some views on it.

I feel in this century, as husband and wife, we should share out the load of $$$$. Wedding is indeed an expensive affair.

However, some chinese culture and tradition has to stay intact its a Asian country afterall.

To me it is important for a man to have his own backbone, then I know I can rely on him if one day I cannot cope with something
Woman always have some sort of weakness no matter how strong we may want to be seen with :p

I also agree with you that "MAN'S pride is as vulnerable" or rather whose pride is not vulnerable, would you like your hubby to go around telling people what he did and put you down while doing it? I think the answer would be no. It is important to spare a thought for your love ones, if not why marry?

Just my thoughts ... ...

Hope you don't mind me putting my thoughts into it

Hey Tonya,

do u still wanna see the pix of Freddy's brides? coz i think secret is kinda rite about the ethics thingy...do u want to try asking in the Freddy's thread instead? i dun mind sharing the links in private though if u r ok with it...do let me know ya.